Recommitted Leek Aleer - likely to re-sign with the Giants after St Kilda walked away

Can't afford him after upping Wilkie's contract...
Yeah but in that case, get him to hold off formally asking for a trade. "Look mate, we need to get everything else done first and then we'll see, sorry can't guarantee".

Or at least make some public trade offer that's semi-reasonable, that you can spin as "we tried but couldn't get it done" if you decide to back out.

Going so far then walking away is poor....

Gotta love Big Footy. St.Kilda were throwing away money on an overpaid, talentless spud when negotiating a trade but are now a disingenuous pathetic rabble for not taking him. Can’t win it seems. I think he has some potential and would have been happy to see him in our colors but once JSOS was recruited and Wilkie re-committed he was perhaps surplus to requirements.

And he's hardly 'in the lurch'. GWS keen to keep him and had tabled a 2-year deal.
I never said that.

Yeah but in that case, get him to hold off formally asking for a trade. "Look mate, we need to get everything else done first and then we'll see, sorry can't guarantee".

Or at least make some public trade offer that's semi-reasonable, that you can spin as "we tried but couldn't get it done" if you decide to back out.

Going so far then walking away is poor....
Embarrassing, actually :$

Don't really like the look of this (unless something has happened in the background), but also didn't want Aleer to begin with -- not really sure how to feel

Saints loaded up on a bunch of B-graders and then just completely tanked their reputation to all player agents.

Mission accomplished.

Emoji Laughing GIF by Twitter

Giants trying to play hard ball so we walked away by the sounds of it

I reckon he ends up at North through the PSD
How so? 4 days into trade negotiations would barely of started.

Sounds more like you just changed your mind, weirdly as you have been after him all year.

Someone actually checked up on Gubby's spending after ruining GWS and Collingwood's salary caps, it seems.

Aleer the unfortunate casualty after 12 months of courting.

Guess we now know this is St Kilda's last chance saloon with Ross before the wheels fly off.

SOS playing football manager signing all these players and not having enough $$$ to cover the transfer fees and wages.

Wilke laughing getting a payrise because of a player they didn't even get.

Wilkie is staying and GWS wanted too much for Aleer, that's the crux of it.
Saints still have cap space.
There's a week to go. You don't make this decision this early because the other party is 'asking too much'.

They're all in right now. As if they care about the draft next year.