List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
Tom Morris said on Trade radio earlier that GWS would take Leek back on a 3yr deal @ $200-$250K per year!!

I don’t believe the reports of $700K per year was what we were offering. I always believed it was $600K…. It says a bit about why his manager went ham on losing out that much
Leek won’t be on a list in two years. He not that good.

Yep. In that Johnno Brown podcast that someone posted a few pages back, he said that it was the right thing to do and sometimes tough calls have to be made. He also said none of the other clubs 'give a f***' about it and the only people actually upset were Aleer and his manager. Was a good call in the wake of recruiting JSOS.
I agree, I don’t think the other clubs give a stuff about it.

Although it was interesting to hear that jerk from the Western Bulldogs (involved in list management) and then Brady Rawlings pointedly mention how sad they were for Aleer.

Grandstanding campaigners.

Let's look at the Marshall thing in context...both he and TDK want to be number 1 Ruckman, both play their best footy as a sole ruck.
Ro isn't a natural forward, most of his goals come from him drifting forward as a ruckman.
Ryder had a very good season in 2020 but Ro stagnated somewhat, then flourished after Paddy retired.
I still believe Ro will get to Geelong IF the cats are serious about their offer!
Do let me know where we finished in 2020 versus the years since?

Maybe he wants to be #1 cos its best for him, but for the team??

We probably give the guy a little too much credit. He is a human, he wants to be irreplaceable, he wants to be the main guy cos thats best for his personal brand and $.

From personal experience I have been in a role where I handled a huge % of the load, it was tiring but every time there was a push to get me help, I resisted. Why? Because it wasn't as good for me, plain and simple. I could deal with the strain and saw that as preferable to having a lot of help and not being seen as a key person risk. Selfish, yes. Smart, yes. I am absolutely key now and the company knows it.

Not quite the same but there are similarities. Ro has one more contract to sign for his career and in 2yrs time if other clubs aren't circling and he is our #2, he wont get paid. Whereas, he goes to Geelong and solidifies that, it could be the difference between a 500k contract and 800k.

We should NOT be accepting Cats pick 19 (Will be 25) for Roma

Nowhere near what he is worth, also nowhere near what he is worth to the list as a 2nd ruck/tall who can play fwd

So Cats need to pay up or he sucks it up and stays. Definitely no pressure on us to take 19 like the media want us to

They all acknowledged that stkilda have said he won’t be traded.

But also acknowledged that Geelong haven’t made their best offer for him like they did for Curnow and are going to circle back and double down from today.

All tipped it gets done.
We’ll see.

It will cost them. Self entitled sooks.

i wouldnt call it an F up...its like having your heart set on a brand new mazda for a while and negotiating with a dealer, but then when you test drive one, you realise its not for you and you end up getting a toyota from the dealership down the road.

we spoke with Aleer well before he debuted, we watched him play in some games and obviously werent enamoured with what we saw so walked away when the deal didnt suit us...just business. Aleer, like the mazda, should have presented better when given the opportunity
Hindsight says we should have walked away from Aleer when we got JSOS...then we wouldn't be in this predicament!

I don’t believe the reports of $700K per year was what we were offering. I always believed it was $600K…. It says a bit about why his manager went ham on losing out that much
Someone reported last week the Saints were offering 1.5m guaranteed over 4 years last week + incentives. So essentially the deal was $375k a year which could be up to $700k if he made the AA team amongst other criteria, in which case $700k would be a great deal for a player of that calibre.
A far cry from some reports of up to $900k a year

i wouldnt call it an F up...its like having your heart set on a brand new mazda for a while and negotiating with a dealer, but then when you test drive one, you realise its not for you and you end up getting a toyota from the dealership down the road.

we spoke with Aleer well before he debuted, we watched him play in some games and obviously werent enamoured with what we saw so walked away when the deal didnt suit us...just business. Aleer, like the mazda, should have presented better when given the opportunity
You’ve been taking lessons from gringo2011 I see…

On the "supporter eye test", Marshall looked good in 2019 and then again in 2023, with the Ryder years then in between.

In 2020, Marshall finished 4th in the St Kilda B&F ahead of Ryder.

I still think the recruitment plan was always to play Marshall with another ruck and unless swept off our feet, that is what we intend to do.

To me Geelong's future first is nowhere near enough.

The more I think about it, the less sense trading Ro makes.

Why give Geelong one of our best players when he's still contacted to us?

The deal would need to be way overs.

I don't care what Ro wants... particularly if his contract was front ended.

Really hope this deal doesn't get done.

We should NOT be accepting Cats pick 19 (Will be 25) for Roma

Nowhere near what he is worth, also nowhere near what he is worth to the list as a 2nd ruck/tall who can play fwd

So Cats need to pay up or he sucks it up and stays. Definitely no pressure on us to take 19 like the media want us to
I find it quite humorous that the f/s and academy rorts are finally affecting the untouchable clubs. Albeit in a roundabout way where their first round picks are being so devalued that us poor cubs making up the numbers can’t see any value in trading for them.

It’s funny listening to all this crap from Damo about us just accepting basically whatever we can get for Marshall (who’s contracted and a required player).

I remember vividly when we were going after Brad Hill because his young family wanted to come back to Melbourne, the line from Damo at the time was that he was contracted. And that if we wanted to go after him we had to effectively pay overs just to get the deal done. And if we hadn’t it was a terrible look for us.

Don’t see why he’s not saying the same about Geelong, especially after all the carry on about us wining and dining Aleer only to pull out
Geelong are his love child

Do let me know where we finished in 2020 versus the years since?

Maybe he wants to be #1 cos its best for him, but for the team??

We probably give the guy a little too much credit. He is a human, he wants to be irreplaceable, he wants to be the main guy cos thats best for his personal brand and $.

From personal experience I have been in a role where I handled a huge % of the load, it was tiring but every time there was a push to get me help, I resisted. Why? Because it wasn't as good for me, plain and simple. I could deal with the strain and saw that as preferable to having a lot of help and not being seen as a key person risk. Selfish, yes. Smart, yes. I am absolutely key now and the company knows it.

Not quite the same but there are similarities. Ro has one more contract to sign for his career and in 2yrs time if other clubs aren't circling and he is our #2, he wont get paid. Whereas, he goes to Geelong and solidifies that, it could be the difference between a 500k contract and 800k.
Exactly he’s contracted to us and we signed him for a reason.

In the absence of some extraordinary circumstances which clearly there aren’t our only duty is to do what’s in the best interests of the club.

Seriously it’s Geelong, he has no more case other than better opportunity’s than if he’d requested Essendon. If Geelong don’t offer something crazy like a first and SDK or two firsts then why weaken ourselves to strengthen them ?.

sos should be criminally charged
sos not letting marshall go
sos destroying st.kilda
sos overpaying his son

just some of the highlights,

i hope it stems from cats not getting marshall for a thankyou from st.kilda for lowering yourself to actually deal with the saints,no picks no players,just the glory of having the mighty geelong give us the time of day
That caller was another self entitled sook.

It was unbelievable to listen to.