Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Football Thread XVIII

• Thread starter Thread starter jannissary

He gave me a laugh react when I posted after Geelong won the qualifying final that I think Brisbane will still win it. I don't usually bump posts but I just had to this time.
he's a giant flog

Swannies continue to get people because they continue to pony up.

3 firsts and Hayward for Curnow, they’d want to be confident in his body.

I’m pretty confident the Hawks would have also got their man had they been prepared to pony up, but I’m not sure how you explain this to non pony people…

1760518537297.jpeg

Swannies continue to get people because they continue to pony up.

3 firsts and Hayward for Curnow, they’d want to be confident in his body.

I’m pretty confident the Hawks would have also got their man had they been prepared to pony up, but I’m not sure how you explain this to non pony people…

View attachment 2457712
I also note that Carlton sent some picks back, presumably to actually get the deal over the line

The human spirit conquers all.

Additionally from what I can gather a lot of the haggling on the Curnow deal was money, not picks, so it is a little bit different, but they did put their money where their mouth it.

I would like to note that Hawthorn didn't bring in anyone this trade period, after all that posturing about being aggressive and making their footy club better.

Sarcastic Oh No GIF by Saturday Night Live

The human spirit conquers all.

Additionally from what I can gather a lot of the haggling on the Curnow deal was money, not picks, so it is a little bit different, but they did put their money where their mouth it.
Also if you're getting a handful of frst round picks those later picks are less useful.

Hawks are going to better, Will Day is like a new player! Please ignore all the injured Brisbane players!

Also their young players will grow organically! Please ignore that Brisbane & GC's youth are leagues better.

They might not even make finals if Gunston drops off

In a funny way I see the results of this empty trade period from the hawkes playing into the minds of the list as they'll interpret the desperation from bitchell as him not having much faith in them to do it as is.

He admitted in the post-prelim presser after the mention of Merrett that his inclusion was "obvious" in the aftermath of the loss because of how below par the midfield was. Obviously he said that with the smug belief that Zach was as good as delivered. Tosser.

Surely Crom have the ‘hard to deal with’ tag now after butchering the Ah Chee trade.
They have a habit of being campaigners at trade time with the Hately, Dawson & Ah Chee trades.
Just give up p16 and get the guy you smug campaigners
crom and hawks stood still / went backwards while all the other top 9 plus sydney improved.

Hawks are going to better, Will Day is like a new player! Please ignore all the injured Brisbane players!

Also their young players will grow organically! Please ignore that Brisbane & GC's youth are leagues better.

They might not even make finals if Gunston drops off
I actually think their list is pretty overrated, for all the teams to make the top 8, I think it's easily the worst. It pains me to say it, but Mitchell is a pretty bloody good coach. Plus, they haven’t improved their list whatsoever, if anything, they’ve gone backwards, while many teams around them have added some pretty nice additions. I reckon they won’t even make the top 8 next year. Hell, they barely made the 8 this year!

Agreed

Doggies, Swans and Saints can easily go past them next year, heck I think even Carlton will in 2-4 years (Jagga might as well be a new player, Dean and Walker F/S, will probably get one of Richmond or our top 6 pick this year etc)

Assuming teams are generally healthy (i.e Brisbane don't do 4 acls in the first 5 weeks)

Top 4 - Brisbane, Gold Coast, Geelong, Crows
Top 5-11 - Giants, Freo, Collingwood, Hawks, Doggies, Swans, Saints

So do we think Mitchell is desperate enough to approach Tarryn Thomas?
as much as i dislike the dawks i'd find it hard to believe they'd torch themselves like that