Senior 39. Talor Byrne

From the Rookie Central profile
"His power was evident with strong results at the combine, which compliments his on-field feats." even though he wasn't top 10 in any test
Looks like he’s got some footy smarts and is a quick thinker which you can’t easily measure with a combine test, but is probably just as important if not more than a top ten result.

The below is from a poster on another board who watches Talor play all the time -

Not one of the small forwards comes even close to Talor Byrne on the pressure gauge, stylistically he's much much more Kossie Pickett than Nick Watson and aerially like Kossie he's extremely good overhead and just like Kossie as junior has played a lot of midfield with their hard edge and fearless attack on the footy and opposition. No reason in time he can't be effective on ball in squirts either.

Ideally he played more forward for the Rebels but unfortunately the Rebels midfield stocks in 2025 were very ordinary with Fraser Molan and Wilbur Shea both hard triers but not AFL prospects. Compare that with Dovaston's Eastern Ranges midfield of Oliver Greeves, Sullivan Robey etc. Talor showed what's he capable of forward with his 5 goal game against Vic Metro at the Nationals, the best individual small forward return from any small forward at the Nationals

Will Dovaston, Byrne, L.Pickett, L. Kickett or any other small forwards in this draft be as good as Kossie Pickett or Nick Watson? Who knows? I certainly don't but I've seen Talor Byrne up close on numerous occasions and he's a ripper prospect IMO. Personally I think his type of pressure and desperation is a big need in our forward line.

And by the way I don't give a flying fig about where others have players on their boards, I remember being mocked for rating Joel Freijah and Kai Lohmann very high all year too, how's that looking now?

and

If Taylor Byrne had been in a stronger CTL team and not forced to play mostly midfield all season for the Rebels he'd be rated a lot higher. He has all the attributes to be an excellent AFL small pressure forward, quick, agile, powerful, high octane pressure, booming left boot and for his size extremely good overhead. No small forward had a better game at the Nationals than his 5 goal bag for Vic Country against Dovaston's Vic Metro.

Tested very well in all tests at the Combine.

Reckon we have a spot Talor made for him in the forward line, rotate through the middle.

Haven't had a really good one of them for a while.

I know highlights packages show case the best of the player but his highlights vid is very impressive, especially for where he has been picked in the draft. The attributes he displays are exactly what we want from a small forward. Defensive intent, agility, skill, aggression, zip and as a bonus some marking ability. I look forward to seeing him develop with us. He could prove to be a very canny acquisition. Go well Talor.

Waving Stephen King GIF by Mr. Mercedes

Senior 39. Talor Byrne