Training Saints preseason 2026

Statement also mentions a net loss of $137,000. Which is it lol?
Without seeing the books both are possible. The former is probably EBITDA. The latter after that is taken into calculation.
Profit is never a good indication. Statements of cashflow is always a better indicator, while a good analysis of the Balance Sheet is always a telltale of an entity's health, especially non current liabilities.
Still 3 mill profit is red meat to the great unwashed financial illiterates 😉

Had a lot of fun watching training today...last year i made a call on Hally early, this year I'm earmarking Darcy Wilson to elevate himself into a top player, also Kye Fincher to surprise once he gets his chance.
Also, keep a close eye on Charlie Banfield, who will get a senior opportunity at some point in '26.
Flanders will make a big impression also, so clean and has a high footy IQ with great hands.

Had a lot of fun watching training today...last year i made a call on Hally early, this year I'm earmarking Darcy Wilson to elevate himself into a top player, also Kye Fincher to surprise once he gets his chance.
Also, keep a close eye on Charlie Banfield, who will get a senior opportunity at some point in '26.
Flanders will make a big impression also, so clean and has a high footy IQ with great hands.
Is king continuing to run in his rehab?

Thanks for the update mate!

If you’re right about Wilson, we are in a seriously good position!

Out of interest - what made you say that about Kye?

What's the general vibe with Wilson's contract status? Is there some sense he's purposely holding off to back himself for a big year and therefore a bigger contract? Or is he slightly unhappy as rumoured a while back and might be looking elsewhere? Anyone have any confidence he'll re-sign with the Saints?

I’m not concerned at all. I don’t think he’s got anything to gain by signing now compared with a couple of months into the season. If he has a good first month his bargaining power goes up a lot.
The club would probably love him to sign now but why woukd he do that if he thinks his value will increase?

I reckon he was unbelievable this year. Apart from Nas getting noticed by the footy world I'd say he was the best thing about 2025. Absolutely loved his season.
Was one of the best afield in our smashing by Crows round one - and his first game.
I saw him live. Was very impressed and watched him keenly ever since.
He’s been an outstanding recruit.

I do recall you claiming Hall early. I didn't jump on the bandwagon until I saw him in the flesh in Round 1.

Im already a fan of Wilson. He reminds me a lot of Isaac Smith. I put most of his 2025 form hiccups down to a lack of confidence which is not uncommon with 2nd year players. Extra muscle will give him extra confidence. I think a lot of externals will sit up and take notice of him next year.

Promising to hear your report on Flanders. He is such an important asset if we are to make a charge up the ladder.

Is king continuing to run in his rehab?

Thanks for the update mate!

If you’re right about Wilson, we are in a seriously good position!

Out of interest - what made you say that about Kye?
Understandably, the club is taking a conservative approach to Max King's path to playing again.
He is running and importantly seemingly pain free.
Regarding Kye Fincher, he's got AFL traits...Tough, smart, confident and very capable in the air.
He's also a good set shot for goal!

Understandably, the club is taking a conservative approach to Max King's path to playing again.
Regarding Kye Fincher, he's got AFL traits...Tough, smart, confident and very capable in the air.
Cal Twomey also mentioned Kye was on his short list of drafted players likely to play AFL in his first year. He must have impressed as he was in good company.

Gone

Not being a smartarse but I cant name one player on our list who doesn't have AFL traits.
Haven't been able to say that about our list, well, ever. Even in the 2004 to 2011 days we would have half a dozen busts on the list.
The drafting has been excellent so not surprised Fincher and Banfield fit the mold.

Having the best players available during the season is definitely one big key to success, and the pressure will be right on our fitness and conditioning crew from now on, as we seemed to lack strength across the ground in pressure games this season- especially in one on one contests. Hoping to see an improvement there.
100% this. Injuries really dented our chances last year.
Losing Battle to the Hawks was bad enough, but losing Howard as well in preseason meant our backline structure was destroyed. At the other end of the ground no King and no suitable tall replacement was just as bad.
Losing King and Howard was a disaster

Throw in the likes of Pou, Henry, Dow, and Butler who all never got going and we had to resort to playing a lot of debutants who weren't quite ready and/or still developing eg LOC, Keeler, Trav, Tauru, Heath, Boyd, Dodson. The benefit no doubt is that experience will have fast tracked the first 4 mentioned in particular.

I'm excited about the depth we are building, but we still can't afford to have 5 or more of our best 23 unavailable most weeks. Injury prevention is the one area we don't seem to have made any improvement in since Lyon 2.0

Backing himself to double the $$ between now and sometime next year

pam-sploosh.gif

Well I tell you what. He was woeful in the running today. Looked out of place. Not sure what was happening but he was a long way back.

This is consistent with past reports re Ryan's fitness, its an ominous warning sign IMO. I wonder if WCE knew something about Liam's off field application we didn't?

Backing himself to double the $$ between now and sometime next year
Wouldn’t it be an amazing position to be in with not needing to add players - Walsh, Humphrey as our kids take the next step.
If Wilson has an amazing yeah, we pay him, year after potentially the Viking etc etc

I just asked the question re Ryan on the WCE Preseason thread and the general consesus is as follows -

Sounds like the turned up to the Saint's preseason much the same as he has West Coast's in the past. Historically bad trainer and left multiple training camps early - but that may have been for personal reasons.

That is exactly why I was never keen on him, being a 29yo things are not going to change now!

Let's debut Banfield against the Eagles ;)

Garcia and Hall are both potential A+ IMO. Garcia's ceiling is Zac Butters. Hall is probably in the conversation for the best high half forward in footy and he's just completed his first season of AFL level footy. He could move into the midfield and become and absolute superstar. I reckon his current output is A grade now. Owens is probably a B- at the moment, Windy slightly ahead of him but probably still a B. Both massive improvement left. Windhager looked on track to be a very good player late in the season.
Yea agreed re hall. I think I just want to see him back it up. High half forward is one of the toughest positions on the ground Espescially as a small. Guys like
Billings, wingard, Jamie Elliot, Brent Daniels, Dylan Moore have had a couple good seasons but to get to the very elite level requires more mid time. I have no doubt on his ability more on if he gets the midfield development and time he needs.

Just don't get wound up about it, is all. He runs out games, he's just a shit house trainer when it comes to fitness sessions.
I would add, after he has a really good game or some incredible moment within a game, don't bother falling down the rabbit hole of how great he could be if he had even a median level of fitness for an AFL player. At this age and experience level it's safe to say he is what he is, and is usually a really handy player despite being one of the least fit players on the ground (cardio-wise).