2026 AFL Draft Prospects And Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Mutineer

This is what I find strange. How far back does it go? Was this the intent ever of the NGA program.

Family Background: Dougie's father, former AFL player Stuart Cochrane, recently explored and verified the family's Indigenous lineage on his maternal side. The family had disconnected from their cultural roots over several generations, leading to a delayed discovery.
Dougie Cochrane's Aboriginal heritage, which qualified him for the AFL's Next Generation Academy (NGA) program with Port Adelaide, traces back to the Ngunawal (Ngunnawal) people. This Indigenous Australian group is traditionally associated with the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and surrounding New South Wales regions, such as around Canberra.

i call BS

NGAs were meant to be about identifying young talent from diverse backgrounds at like 14-15 and supporting them in getting onto an AFL list. No issues with that e.g. Port and Pilot in 2027.

It shouldn't for signing up the best 17 year old in the country who is already part of the established pathways and was always getting drafted.

Port getting access to Cochrane is one of the biggest draft rorts in recent years and that's saying something. I'm surprised other AFL clubs haven't highlighted the insanity of it. The AFL made the sensible decision with the Hawks and Greeves but, in their "infinite wisdom", did the opposite with Cochrane.

NGAs were meant to be about identifying young talent from diverse backgrounds at like 14-15 and supporting them in getting onto an AFL list. No issues with that e.g. Port and Pilot in 2027.

It shouldn't for signing up the best 17 year old in the country who is already part of the established pathways and was always getting drafted.

Port getting access to Cochrane is one of the biggest draft rorts in recent years and that's saying something. I'm surprised other AFL clubs haven't highlighted the insanity of it. The AFL made the sensible decision with the Hawks and Greeves but, in their "infinite wisdom", did the opposite with Cochrane.
Port picked a good year to be rubbish and miss the finals

If they were threatening, looking ominous then it would have been a Riewoldt/Lions ruling

After reading through this post it made me start to think about the handover of the AFC from the AFL to its members. I havent seen any updates about the timing and whether its still happening. Has any one got and new details regarding this .I

Reckon it’s 2028. The first thing we hear will be how the board have decided to not hand power to the members and will continue appointing themselves.

Can someone explain how luke Hodge's son qualifies for BRIS Academy ......this is just demented playing with the system

Same way Nick Blakey got to the Swans as a member of their Academy during his development years with his family residing there.

Can someone explain how luke Hodge's son qualifies for BRIS Academy ......this is just demented playing with the system

its just a complete and utter joke. as if he wasnt naturally going to play afl anyway so hardly needing to 'beat off' rival codes.

whats to stop buddy franklins kids ultimately then playing for the suns? ditto anyone else moving to seq, the fastest growing part of australia for the last 25 years (if not longer)

i can see the whole northern academy thing becoming one of the biggest stories this year in the game as lions and suns look likely top 4 imo. and the scary thing is, esp for the suns, is that the real impact of their 8 nga first rounders in the last 3 years (half top 10, and 3 x top 5) hasnt been felt yet.

Random question.... I got this crows supporting mate that has been talking about a certain inside mid from my SANFL club which is South Adelaide.

Apparently gonna be looked at as a possible top 10 pick.

Inside mid with pace and only 18 years old

Random question.... I got this crows supporting mate that has been talking about a certain inside mid from my SANFL club which is South Adelaide.

Apparently gonna be looked at as a possible top 10 pick.

Inside mid with pace and only 18 years old
Kodah Edwards?

Was in the AFL national academy I think