Training 2026 Bulldogs Pre-Season

State of Origin is okay, let's see if there is a genuine reason to doubt it
The sad part is it's being talked about on a pre season thread. :)

My $0.02 regarding State of Origin.

1. None of our guys get hurt
2. None of our guys get hurt
3. You get the picture
4. Chris Scott coaching doesn't give me much hope of a Bont, Richards, Butters centre bounce combo for the Vics.

Understanding the return of SoO is pretty simple really. SoO is a ratings and commercial juggernaught that the NRL builds their entire competition around. I think its fair to say that their regular season is little more than icing on their cake.

Because the AFL haven't had an original idea since they miraculously came up with the concept of SoO. They have been looking on enviously as the NRL runs rings of innovation around them. So they're doing what they do best. Taking successful innovations from elsewhere (even if it was originally theirs) and claiming it as their own.

For mine. The AFL is going to run into the same issue that it ran into before with SoO . One that saw the concept fade away like a sneaky fart. That of it being a multi-cornered competition between 3 states and the artificial construct of the leftovers that were given the ridiculous moniker of The Allies during the concepts dying days.

NRL have the massive advantage of their SoO being built around the clockwork regularity 3 games between two states who have genuine enmity towards each other.

It'll remain little more than a meh for me as I watch players half arse it. All for a big fat pay cheque.

NRL have the massive advantage of their SoO being built around the clockwork regularity 3 games between two states who have genuine enmity towards each other.

This is why it won't work. Victoria is undiputably the home of aussie rules. But if they want to grow the game in these states they should have just copied the whole concept.
Make it a NSW and Queensland thing and make them play in blue and maroon. The outrage alone would bring more attention than anything the plastic clubs have ever received

They'd be playing practice matches anyway. There is a risk either way but you can't wrap players in cotton wool all preseason just because we have had a few injuries in the past.

Bont did his calf in a bog standard scratch match. Doesn’t need to be SOO for someone to get injured in a preseason game.

They'd be playing practice matches anyway. There is a risk either way but you can't wrap players in cotton wool all preseason just because we have had a few injuries in the past.
Yeah. It we don’t have to fly half the squad to Perth either

Don’t really understand the concerns around SOO. It’s preseason - if a player tears a hammy or whatever, who is to say it wouldn't have happened in Round 1 anyway? If our season is already so vulnerable that the entire thing could be derailed by one of our guys injuring themselves in SOO, then we probably shouldn't have had our hopes up to begin with.

I reckon the indigenous game vs Freo was a great watch. I'd love to see more of that on offer

Don’t really understand the concerns around SOO. It’s preseason - if a player tears a hammy or whatever, who is to say it wouldn't have happened in Round 1 anyway? If our season is already so vulnerable that the entire thing could be derailed by one of our guys injuring themselves in SOO, then we probably shouldn't have had our hopes up to begin with.

I reckon the indigenous game vs Freo was a great watch. I'd love to see more of that on offer
Could benefit us too. With Bont, Richards and Dale delivering the ball to them could see forwards wanting to come us to get that kind of service every week

I get that view mate, but this one is an artificial construct designed solely to line the AFL's pockets, with unequal representation, not involving our medical and conditioning staff, not our coaching staff and additional flights thrown in as well. I'd prefer we had absolutely nothing to do with it, but I might be in the minority.

However, very happy for Brisbane, Freo and Hawthorn players to knock the stuffing out of each other and tear hamstrings left, right and centre.

Or in the preseason scratch matches that happen every year.

The only real concern I have is that we are likely to be one of the most represented sides with number of players

Stay tuned for last minute “hamstring tightness”, “a virus”, “concussion protocol”, “rolled ankle”, sorry, can’t play 🙂

We should all be proud that our talent remains the cream of the competition.

That being said. A long-term Injury to Bont, Richards, Darcy, Naughton. Would be a genuine disaster.

Effectively blowing up our season before it begins.

Made worse because we've been ruthless with cutting depth, and history shows this squad falls to bits without It's basic pillars of talent.

Hope each player has a preplanned game time. They can't go over.

People need to grow up. Enjoy the SoO while it's on. Have some bloody fun and watch some good footy.
It will be a bruise free borefest. Like the legends match, but with current players. Not a patch on nrl origin. Just a made up make believe afl circle jerk

Training 2026 Bulldogs Pre-Season