Building for 2026 - The Off field

• Thread starter Thread starter Colonial

Ok,

Taking away from your opinion on Giants being Full time Western Sydney or Moved to Canberra or split even between the two or kept as is.

There was an obvious jump at Giants games in Western Sydney in the passion and noise, in the numbers too.
Can’t say in the capital, told by some there was.

What can the club do (without changing the locational setup) to build on that?

Opening Round has been really good. It's allowed us to start the last two seasons with packed-out games at Engie. I feel like that has also led to bigger crowds at the next game or two before the Easter Show.

The problem, and I'm not sure what we can do about it, is that once we have that big break during the Easter Show all that momentum is lost. We don't come back to Engie until round 10 or something, and despite having great atmosphere in those early matches, especially Opening Round, that pretty much gets forgotten about by the time we get back there.

It's a shame because those early matches have such fantastic atmosphere, and you have a lot of casual fans attending and having a good time. But by the time that break is over it's back to normal crowd levels. All that excitement gets forgotten about and people who might have become regular attendees have moved on to other things.

I don't know what thr solution is, but I think it's a big thing that's stopping us from building our crowd numbers.

Unfortunately that gets into the “full time Sydney” discussion.

There are ways to play in Sydney during the Easter show. The away derby is one.
A double header at the SCG is another.
It doesn't necessarily need to get into the full time Sydney discussion, because frankly that has been done to death.

Having the away derby is a good to get an extra game in Sydney during this time, but it doesn't address the problem of getting people attending at Engie Stadium. Which, at the end of the day, is what we want.

I think one thing the club needs to do is make the game when we return to Engie after the Easter Show (round 9 this year) one of the biggest dates on our calendar. They need to make that as big of an occasion as they possibly can, in every way they can. Request that the AFL fixtures a club with a big fanbase for the match (we have Essendon this year so that works) There should be food trucks, rides, competitions. There should be as much advertising and promotion as possible. With the end goal being to jump start that enthusiasm from the beginning of the season as much as we can. Remind the people who came earlier in the year how good watching footy at Engie is and broadcast a very clear message "We're Back".

It doesn't necessarily need to get into the full time Sydney discussion, because frankly that has been done to death.
I shall leave that alone.
Having the away derby is a good to get an extra game in Sydney during this time, but it doesn't address the problem of getting people attending at Engie Stadium. Which, at the end of the day, is what we want.
100% and we can’t use Engie during Easter so for me to keep the ball rolling is having games in Sydney. Still local.
I think one thing the club needs to do is make the game when we return to Engie after the Easter Show (round 9 this year) one of the biggest dates on our calendar.
Agreed a Celebration that we are back home.
They need to make that as big of an occasion as they possibly can, in every way they can. Request that the AFL fixtures a club with a big fanbase for the match (we have Essendon this year so that works) There should be food trucks, rides, competitions. There should be as much advertising and promotion as possible. With the end goal being to jump start that enthusiasm from the beginning of the season as much as we can. Remind the people who came earlier in the year how good watching footy at Engie is and broadcast a very clear message "We're Back".
Unfortunately that would involve the AFL putting effort in again. Hopefully they do.

I would opine that, despite putting on Opening Round to support the northern teams, VFL House then acts to undermine that with its scheduling for GWS thereafter.

Look at the fixture this year. We had 5 weeks before the lockout of Engie due to the Royal Easter Show. And yet we only had 2 rounds scheduled in that 5. So, after opening round, we had 1 game in a month, before disappearing for almost 2 months. Absolutely shocking, terrible programming for Giants fans. Particularly after purporting to have Opening Round to attract fans. There is no way that we should have a bye round in that space, when we then can't play at home for several weeks. We should have had a minimum of 3 rounds (no bye) and I would argue 4 rounds, to hopefully ride the impact of OR in the time before we have to vacate Engie.

Given that there are 3 periods late in the season when GWS has 3 home games in 4 weeks (one of those being a Manuka game, so only 2 at Engie yes), we should be maximising the home games at Engie before we lose Engie.

Next year is perhaps not as bad, presuming the lockout of the stadium occurs in round 4, one week in advance of Easter. That's only 3 rounds, and we have two of those at home. But the club needs to be pushing VFL House to give us more home games in that pre-show block. Ideally, we have all 3 home games, then start with away games, Gather Round, the bye, and Manuka games.

The blocked-out period needs to have the bye, Gather Round, and the Sydney derby at SCG. The only way to mitigate the block is to move one other game to SCG - but that requires getting Swans to stop being jerks.

Been rewatching all our 2025 games, in mini form, on Kayo.

Wow you really can hear and see the difference between Open Round and the Hawks final. The noise, colour and passion grew in the space of 1 season and the difference is remarkable.
Hopefully continues to grow.

I know it’s not ideal, but during the Engie show period, why not have a game at Blacktown International Sportspark?
Public transport hurts it I would say.

Now I know I get questioned over this but.

I would have either a double header at the SCG with the South that we could celebrate the history of the game in Sydney and the grassroots clubs being in the coal face for over 100 years. Could have stalls for all the clubs showing their history, with sign up sheets for kids and players wanting to join.
Or
would have 1 game out in country NSW. Central West or even further West.

Now Canberra supporters would say this hurts my fulltime WS argument but it’s 1 game not 3+1 and doesn’t have the only region named on the kit not being WS.

I know it’s not ideal, but during the Engie show period, why not have a game at Blacktown International Sportspark?
It's really not an AFL standard ground in terms of visitor experience, both in getting there and in terms of corporate facilities and us pleb facilities.

Public transport hurts it I would say.

Now I know I get questioned over this but.

I would have either a double header at the SCG with the South that we could celebrate the history of the game in Sydney and the grassroots clubs being in the coal face for over 100 years. Could have stalls for all the clubs showing their history, with sign up sheets for kids and players wanting to join.
Or
would have 1 game out in country NSW. Central West or even further West.

Now Canberra supporters would say this hurts my fulltime WS argument but it’s 1 game not 3+1 and doesn’t have the only region named on the kit not being WS.

While the SCG isn't ideal, it's still only one game a year, and much more accessible to fans in Western Sydney. In terms of what's best for fans in Western Sydney, it's still definitely better than three games a year in Canberra.

I just wish they'd planned the Tom Wills upgrade with a decent capacity. It could've been a good alternative for a low-drawing match during the Easter Show.

If they were to play a game outside of Sydney, I think Newcastle makes the most sense. A decent-sized metro that could pay for a game, but not too strong of a market that it clashes for resources like Canberra does.

Newcastle is South territory supposedly.
We get south Sydney and Canberra they get the north till Gold Coast, or somewhere up there.

Newcastle is South territory supposedly.
We get south Sydney and Canberra they get the north till Gold Coast, or somewhere up there.

So was Olympic Park.

The territorial boundaries will need another redraw ahead of the 20th team coming in.

A game in Newcastle is still down my list of preferred options, but it's not like the Swans are doing much there, anyway.

So was Olympic Park.
Nah not really south hated it there and don’t recognise anything further west than Glebe as Sydney. **** em.
The territorial boundaries will need another redraw ahead of the 20th team coming in.
Absolutely. Canberra gets obviously the ACT and Riverina. No issue. Would mean the club would have to focus on Western Sydney and Western NSW.
A game in Newcastle is still down my list of preferred options, but it's not like the Swans are doing much there, anyway.
Hey Newcastle, probably promoting Newcastle City, is my preferred team 24.

Edit. Wonder him many people did a spit take when reading that.

Nah not really south hated it there and don’t recognise anything further west than Glebe as Sydney. **** em.

Absolutely. Canberra gets obviously the ACT and Riverina. No issue. Would mean the club would have to focus on Western Sydney and Western NSW.

Is there actually anywhere west of Sydney that could host a game?

Feel like Orange would make a good spot for a preseason match.

Hey Newcastle, probably promoting Newcastle City, is my preferred team 24.

Edit. Wonder him many people did a spit take when reading that.

If we get to 24 teams, I can easily see Newcastle getting one.

In the meantime, I'd like to see a Victorian team play two home games there against the Swans and Giants.

Is there actually anywhere west of Sydney that could host a game?

Feel like Orange would make a good spot for a preseason match.
Maybe some investment in Orange or Broken Hill. I would like the Central West but don’t think Mudgee, Bathurst or Dubbo could host.
If we get to 24 teams, I can easily see Newcastle getting one.
My next. 19- Tassie, 20- Canberra, 21- Perth, 22- North Shore, 23- Adelaide 3, 24- Newcastle, 25- North Queensland.

Obviously a shrinkage of Vic teams would help. I mean it’s a national comp.
In the meantime, I'd like to see a Victorian team play two home games there against the Swans and Giants.
Hey I’ll happily play an away game at the Showgrounds, get to know how Collingwood feel.

I agree that the show period is a real momentum killer and needs to be dealt with somehow. Losing traction in a growing market is never good for business. Long term, the growth around the showgrounds will really accelerate once the housing and transport projects come online in a few years. That could even line up nicely with the entry of a Canberra team, which would be close to ideal.

The options, as I see them, are:

SCG – The Swans might have a sook, it’s not Western Sydney and the stadium is probably too big, but it’s great for away team support. It presents really well on TV and there’s a genuine chance to convert some SCG members into new fans.

Henson Park – I really like this option. It’s a footy friendly area, 'technically' west of the CBD, and would likely draw a solid crowd every year. It could also bring in new Giants supporters since the Swans don’t play men’s footy there. The only real concern is whether the field dimensions are big enough and the stadium amenities.

Blacktown – I’ve only been there once, but this could work well as a one-off novelty game. Push it hard locally and you’d probably get a lot of first-time AFL attendees right in the heart of Western Sydney. The ground is a good size and it would also help counter the argument that the club isn’t truly Western Sydney.

Olympic stadium - I think Canberra Pear suggested this earlier, but during the show you could take a game (say against Collingwood) to Olympic Stadium. That would likely attract more first-timers than you’d get across most of the rest of the season. The downside is that a big stadium that’s only half-filled could look a bit rough on TV. I’m also not sure whether the NRL already use the venue during the show period to boost their own crowds, which might complicate things.

All of these options are better than having no footy at all during that period. If done right, it could fast track the attraction of new fans and become something people genuinely look forward to each year.

Blacktown – I’ve only been there once, but this could work well as a one-off novelty game. Push it hard locally and you’d probably get a lot of first-time AFL attendees right in the heart of Western Sydney. The ground is a good size and it would also help counter the argument that the club isn’t truly Western Sydney.

I know a big complaint of Blacktown is that it's hard to get to, but it's directly next to a train line, just not near a station.

Would it be considered accessible enough if a new station was built closer?

Rooty Hill Station is more than a 2km walk, but a station could be built just 150m away from the oval. I know it's not the most frequented line, but that's a station closer than any other stadium in the league (that I can think of).

The Blue Sox also play there in the Australian Baseball League and would probably be keen to lobby for better transport.

Olympic stadium - I think Canberra Pear suggested this earlier, but during the show you could take a game (say against Collingwood) to Olympic Stadium. That would likely attract more first-timers than you’d get across most of the rest of the season. The downside is that a big stadium that’s only half-filled could look a bit rough on TV. I’m also not sure whether the NRL already use the venue during the show period to boost their own crowds, which might complicate things.

All of these options are better than having no footy at all during that period. If done right, it could fast track the attraction of new fans and become something people genuinely look forward to each year.

Something I also think is worth mentioning is just how much the Easter Show has boosted the annual NRL fixture there.

In 2025, the Easter Show match drew 65k, the same fixture later in the year drew 23k.
In 2023, the Easter Show match drew 35k, the same fixture later in the year drew 16k.

If done right, the Giants could absolutely capitalise off that. People are opposed to Accor, but I went to the Swans v Giants final in 2016 and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere is there if you can get enough people in.

I know a big complaint of Blacktown is that it's hard to get to, but it's directly next to a train line, just not near a station.

Would it be considered accessible enough if a new station was built closer?

Rooty Hill Station is more than a 2km walk, but a station could be built just 150m away from the oval. I know it's not the most frequented line, but that's a station closer than any other stadium in the league (that I can think of).

The Blue Sox also play there in the Australian Baseball League and would probably be keen to lobby for better transport.
Would likely need to move the rail tracks to create enough space to build an island platform. Sadly, if a station wasn't built for the Olympics, I cannot see the Government building a sports events station there now, would be nice, though.

Regarding playing games for premiership points at Blacktown International Sportspark, Dave Matthews had the following to say in the SMH article published August 19, 2025 - ‘Not going to happen’: Swans chairman declares SCG off limits to Giants

The oval at Blacktown International Sportspark would require further investment to get up to scratch for home-and-away fixtures, Matthews said, and was therefore not an option for 2026. The Giants have played only one home-and-away match at Blacktown, in round three of their debut season in 2012, as they awaited the completion of Engie Stadium’s redevelopment.

“That’s more a question for the AFL,” Matthews said of Blacktown. “You can play pre-season games there, but just in terms of broadcast facilities, corporate facilities, access, public transport … there’d be a fair bit of work required.”

I'd say AFL games there are off the table for a while unless there's further investment upgrades announced for BISP.

Would likely need to move the rail tracks to create enough space to build an island platform. Sadly, if a station wasn't built for the Olympics, I cannot see the Government building a sports events station there now, would be nice, though.

Do the doors only open inwards? There could be a platform either side.

But regardless, by the time it's lobbied for, agreed upon, designed and built, you'd hope the Giants would have continued to grow and be beyond being able to play games there.

They already got 10.5k against the Suns in 2025. Without a redevelopment, Blacktown is already obsolete for the Giants' men's requirements. I'd say similarly for Henson Park. Which leaves just Accor and the SCG as viable alternatives.

Blacktown is not even close to being a good enough facility to host AFL games which is a shame because I agree with what one poster said about that being a convenient response to the criticisms that the club is not western Sydney enough

I’d support Accor as an option

Blacktown is not even close to being a good enough facility to host AFL games which is a shame because I agree with what one poster said about that being a convenient response to the criticisms that the club is not western Sydney enough

I’d support Accor as an option
Blacktown is not good enough.

I honestly don't know why it gets brought up as much as it does but when I went there I was shocked how bad it was.

Blacktown is not good enough.

I honestly don't know why it gets brought up as much as it does but when I went there I was shocked how bad it was.
I'm guessing most people haven't been there, even for a preseason game or reserves or anything.