I’m not too fuss about qualification

• born in a state
  • spent the majority of your childhood in a state
  • have significant cultural links to a state

Player gets one opportunity to pick one state they qualify for and that’s that

Yep. Imagine if it was the FIFA world cup and they went "you guys always can't get very far so what we'll do is combine Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia and a bunch of Pacific nations and we'll see how you go." No one would get behind that and I can't imagine anyone in NSW/QLD/Tassie getting behind the Allies.

I think NSW and ACT is the only one that could really combine. Queensland and NT would be nice but idk how they'd feel about that
I wouldn't even do that. ACT unfortunately wouldn't be competitive even against NT, Tas though.
For ACT, offshore territories (I'm not sure we have ever had a norfolk islander for example play in the AFL), and international players then the first club in an eligible area can be used or they are just origin ineligible.

Except for womens origin, Ireland might get their own spot - and probably beat Tas and NT

If it was ever to become a semi-regular thing, use three tiers. I've had a few different thoughts of systems, favourite at the moment but could change again.

Seeds in (parentheses)

Year1
Vic(1) v WA(2)

Year 2
Vic(1) v SA(3)
Tas(6) v NT(7) [tier3]

Year 3
WA(2) v SA(3)
NSW(4) v Qld(5) [tier2]

Year 4 - no Origin

Year 5
Final (1st v 2nd tier1)
Tier1Qualifier (3rd tier1 v winner tier2)
Tier2Qualifier (loser tier2 v winner tier3)

A couple of year of no Origin, to stop it being overdone. But it has to be shown to have support over more than a one-off game before being formalised in any way.

Repeat based on previous cycle seedings, with the non final/qualifier games alternating home venue.

No player plays more than one Origin game in a year, a full structure of seven teams and it remains irregular enough that players don't get that many chances to play.
Downsides:
Even that will highly likely be too often for clubs to allow players to play.
It makes a very long cycle
Tier2 and 3 games are likely to draw an audience for broadcaster/streamer of approximately bugger all on a good day unless a "big 3" falls into tier 2.
Three tiers for seven teams does seem overkill but Tas and NT are so far behind being competitive with NSW or Qld it seems the only way unless they get the same treatment as ACT and just not included at all.
Matches, especially the "tier 2 qualifiers", have the potential to be blowouts of AFL club versus Suburban club proportions.

I wouldn't even do that. ACT unfortunately wouldn't be competitive even against NT, Tas though.
For ACT, offshore territories (I'm not sure we have ever had a norfolk islander for example play in the AFL), and international players then the first club in an eligible area can be used or they are just origin ineligible.

Except for womens origin, Ireland might get their own spot - and probably beat Tas and NT

If it was ever to become a semi-regular thing, use three tiers. I've had a few different thoughts of systems, favourite at the moment but could change again.

Seeds in (parentheses)

Year1
Vic(1) v WA(2)

Year 2
Vic(1) v SA(3)
Tas(6) v NT(7) [tier3]

Year 3
WA(2) v SA(3)
NSW(4) v Qld(5) [tier2]

Year 4 - no Origin

Year 5
Final (1st v 2nd tier1)
Tier1Qualifier (3rd tier1 v winner tier2)
Tier2Qualifier (loser tier2 v winner tier3)

A couple of year of no Origin, to stop it being overdone. But it has to be shown to have support over more than a one-off game before being formalised in any way.

Repeat based on previous cycle seedings, with the non final/qualifier games alternating home venue.

No player plays more than one Origin game in a year, a full structure of seven teams and it remains irregular enough that players don't get that many chances to play.
Downsides:
Even that will highly likely be too often for clubs to allow players to play.
It makes a very long cycle
Tier2 and 3 games are likely to draw an audience for broadcaster/streamer of approximately bugger all on a good day unless a "big 3" falls into tier 2.
Three tiers for seven teams does seem overkill but Tas and NT are so far behind being competitive with NSW or Qld it seems the only way unless they get the same treatment as ACT and just not included at all.
Matches, especially the "tier 2 qualifiers", have the potential to be blowouts of AFL club versus Suburban club proportions.
Why are there these assumptions that the southern states automatically get a teir 1 status? With all the talk WA might get smashed by Victoria, why is there an assumption that they are a level above Queensland, for instance?

It is an assumption, of course, and maybe before a first cycle a carnival could be held with seedings following from that. It is possible that NSW or Qld could beat one of the traditional "big 3". Over time the promotion/relegation system can sort that out. Maybe the gap would be elsewhere, longer term and the structure have to change to a 4 or 5 team top tier.

Agreed. I personally think Queensland has a very very good chance of beating WA.

Assuming Victoria beats WA next month, do you think this could work next year?

Mid Feb 2027
Friday - Queensland v Western Austalia @ Gabba
Saturday - South Australia v Victoria @ Adelaide Oval

Give Queensland the home ground advantage and just see what happens with the Ashcrofts leading the charge for QLD.

From what I can tell, the plan is to have South Australia host Origin in 2027 and I'm guessing the idea is for SA to play the winner of WA and Victoria for (presumably) some kind of Champions of Australia game. It's basically been confirmed by Mitch Cleary already:

The SA Premier Peter Malinauskas also confirmed that they want it in 2027:

So I reckon it almost definitely happens in 2027, unless this first game is a complete flop. If it's a massive success then I suspect there will be moves made to include QLD + NSW in the future and that's likely why Ashcroft has been told that he can't play for Victoria. Assuming it's a success, I'd have SA host Victoria and QLD play NSW on the same weekend in 2027. Create an actual national state competition that people have a reason to get into and rotate it around every few years so it doesn't get stale.

Should have implemented proper state of origin years ago, but not midseason, they're doing the right thing making it preseason.

No you couldn't.

Why do you think it died in the arse in the first place?

We had a national comp and people stopped giving a shit about SOO.

Just because the muppets in NSW and QLD get all excited about this kind of crap doesn't mean the rest of the country does.
Most fans have been begging for its return for decades. Even those pseudo state of origin games in 2008 and 2020 were getting big crowds. Fans really like how the skill level is through the roof by comparison to regular games.

Nonsense.

I don't know a single person who has been "begging" for its return.

The % of people who don't give a shit if it returns or not would be much higher than the % that's excited for its return.

Should have implemented proper state of origin years ago, but not midseason, they're doing the right thing making it preseason.
Victorian coach Chris Scott said it well in the initial press conference when asked about the timing. He said not only does this preseason timeslot cause minimal disruptions in club land when compared to mid/post season state games, it is also going to be played virtually at the same time players would typically be competing in a practice match anyway. So obviously the clubs and players have taken a pragmatic approach to this and said it doesn't matter if you're lining up for a practice match in Wangaratta or State of Origin game at Perth Stadium, the level of risk for injury is essentially the same.

We saw that on full display last year when Errol Gulden fractured his ankle in a practice match against the Suns so the injury argument doesn't really stand up when presented with evidence of people getting injury in practice matches. It's up to the clubs to sort out their player's preseason training/playing loads around representative games if they are lucky enough to be selected.

Nonsense.

I don't know a single person who has been "begging" for its return.
I've heard it from many fans in person and it's all over social media and even on here people have been dying for the return of it. They see the high skill level of state of origin as one of the main appeals.

Confirmation of over 50k tickets sold already and there's still more than a month to go before the game is played. Shows there's strong interest in the concept and it'll definitely sellout from here to pull a capacity 60k attendance on game night. You can tell the WA boys really want to knock off the Vics haha.

Don't know where you can buy these extra 10k tickets because nothing comes up on Ticketmaster at the moment.

"It's not gonna be an exhibition match by any stretch. It's going to be very serious."

Sorry, but it is nothing more than an exhibition match. Only two states represented. There's a reason the concept died in the AFL when it became a national competition.

I'll no doubt watch the game but will do so with fingers crossed that players from my team aren't injured.

Pretty cool to see second generation Origin players getting picked in this game. As detailed in the article below, [PLAYERCARD]Noah Anderson[/PLAYERCARD]'s father Dean represented the Big V in the 90s and now his son will pull on the same jumper in the 2020s. Nick Daicos is obviously another second generation player picked after his father Peter played for Victoria in the 1980s/90s. Sam Darcy is a very rare case of a third generation state player, but uniquely his father Luke represented South Australia and his grandfather David played for Victoria. Are there any other second generation Origin players playing in this game that I've missed? Did [PLAYERCARD]Mitch Georgiades[/PLAYERCARD]' father John ever play for WA? I know [PLAYERCARD]Brandon Starcevich[/PLAYERCARD]'s uncle Craig played for WA in the 1990s.

Don't know where you can buy these extra 10k tickets because nothing comes up on Ticketmaster at the moment.
It’s just the restricted view tickets on sale now. Would expect a crowd of at least 58,000…as long as it’s not 40deg.

Will be a massive bust
It's sold out mate

I really don't understand the people who literally attacking and wanting this to fail....I get that you won't take it as seriously as the AFL comp or other people but it seems by the calibre of players who have signed up.....the attention and interest it's getting here in WA and the fact the game is sold out more than a month beforehand means it just might be ok.

Why the **** wouldn't we as fans of the game not want an occasional rep game featuring the best to showcase the sport in another way from the usual and to get the old school state pride blood pumping

The afl throwing WA a bone with an exhibition match in presumably boiling conditions well before the actual season starts. I'm getting indigenous all stars game vibes, which I attended (and left early).

Is the whole state V state thing even relevant in 2026? I don't know the figures but I'd argue that a large portion if not the majority weren't even born in the state they are living/working, most people I know have moved interstate at least once in their life. The golden old days of tribalism is long gone, IMO.

Also ticket sales don't mean much, WA fans will always sell out an AFL game, Exhibition or not. We've been starved of footy outside of reg season eags/dockers games since 2021. I mean, i recall the indigenous all stars game crowd was healthy too.

The afl throwing WA a bone with an exhibition match in presumably boiling conditions well before the actual season starts. I'm getting indigenous all stars game vibes, which I attended (and left early).

Is the whole state V state thing even relevant in 2026? I don't know the figures but I'd argue that a large portion if not the majority weren't even born in the state they are living/working, most people I know have moved interstate at least once in their life. The golden old days of tribalism is long gone, IMO.

Also ticket sales don't mean much, WA fans will always sell out an AFL game, Exhibition or not. We've been starved of footy outside of reg season eags/dockers games since 2021. I mean, i recall the indigenous all stars game crowd was healthy too.
Jeez you must be a fun person to hang out with.

Do you have the exact same breakfast every day too?

****ing hell at least give it chance and see how it goes, at least it's generating a bit of chat and excitement (over here at least)