Test The Ashes Fifth Test January 4-8 1000hrs @ The SCG

• Thread starter Thread starter Gough

Who will win?

Green would go back and dominate the shield. You just know he would. He has already.

I know we’ve been saying this for a while now, but he just needs to get a couple of big scores and he’ll be away. Settle him in a spot and give him the confidence to go out and dominate. There’s just too much talent there to work with.

Also - please just let him bowl line and length rather than using him as this Neil Wagner donkey bowler.

Another poor series or two and I will revisit this.
It’s brutally obvious what a different bowler he is when he pitches it up, they’re killing him as a bowler with what he’s being made to do tactically. And don’t start me on those tactics.

If his detractors can’t see, at the very least, how much better a bowler he is than Webster then I’m just not watching the same vision.

He’s 15k quicker than Webster, minimum.

Webby batted very well this arvo, and looked way better than Cam. With a little older ball etc.

Cameron still, for mine, is the best thing we have at his age in Australia. Full stop.

Sure, but nothing is said about Stokes and his batting this series.

Think we’ve laughed a lot at Stokes’ batting this series. Have you been hearing people praisie him for going out to Starc for less than 10 every second innings?

This is a bit of a false equivalence. Nobody has played as well as Green at Shield level, not even Webster - Green would have equalled Webster's record breaking from a couple of seasons ago if you gave him more Shield games to play.

Merely "performed" at Shield level is not close to Green's literally dominance in two facets of the game.

I disagree. With Khawaja retiring, and Weatherald a factor too, I think that Green is within the 7 players most likely to score the most runs for Australia among all the options we have. He might have dropped down to number 7 on that list now because of his current form, but I'm not convinced we've got better options.

If we weren't a weak batting line up and a strong bowling line up, I would otherwise agree with dropping him like we did to the players you listed.

Not convinced by McSweeney's Shield form this season either.

At what point would you consider dropping Green? How poorly does he have to go?

Read you for a few Tests about how Webster shouldn’t get picked because he didn’t score runs in two Shield games this season and ignored three years of strong batting form but you don’t seem phased at all by 7 innings without runs from Green and 5 brain dead dismissals

At his best, I think Green is clearly in our best lineup but it’s quite obvious he isn’t near his best. I think it would have been better for his long term game to be replaced and faced repercussions for some of the dumb ways he has been getting himself out. Think he has got very complacent knowing that his place is assured however he performs. We’re going to need him desperately in our busy schedule starting in August, hopefully this blind faith pays dividends. I’m concerned he is going to keep making the same dumb mistakes like our friends the Bazballers because they face no consequence

How good is another couple of days of this going to be?

if Australia gets a 200 odd run lead, good chance both teams will be on the beers by tomorrow night

lol

thanks for the wafer thin analysis and in depth cricket knowledge
Stokes is used as front line bowler. Bowls with a newish ball, attacking fields. his role is to take wickets

Green plays as a 5th bowling option. Filling gaps here and there. 2 overs before tea. 3 overs of short stuff with the field out..come on to bowl before the new ball with an old ball. Defensive fields. In Adelaide he didn't bowl until about the 60th over (from memory)

but sure its exactly the same ... hilarious
No one said that, but the reason Green is not asked to produce what Stokes does is not because of his role it is because of his ability.

He has leaked runs all series basically and not been overly threatening. Stokes has both built pressure and been able to take wicket taking deliveries.

But keep flexing that in depth cricket knowledge you came to have.... Hilarious

What would Green’s bowling average be if he brought himself on for cheapies and bowled himself into the ground to martyr himself for the cameras?
He'd injure himself if he bowled more than a handful of overs and still continue to play for Australia because he's got such potential.

Had a drink with a few of the Barmy Army in Richmond after they won the last test. Absolutely ripper blokes and all class. It surprised me to hear that a lot of the English fan base are dedicated cricket fans in the sense that all other sports come second. In Australia the average punter watches a few tests per year in the summer holidays, but over there it seems to be a smaller but more dedicated fanbase that will follow England and their county side all year round.
I said this a few weeks ago, there's a stigma that they are a bunch of drunk arrogant louts but it's not the case, they just like to come to the cricket have a few beers and enjoy themselves. How is it any different to the Ritchie's in the outer which everybody seems to love. The fact that they are still in full voice knowing they will go home empty handed should be commended. Most of our fans wouldn't turn up and would be asking when the footy starts.

England can’t win now.

Give Smith a session and a half to attempt the 200 and give ourselves 140 off overs to bowl them out.
Exactly, this obsession with batting them out of the game completely and sucking the life out of the rest of it is silly. They would have to make 400 to give us a challenging target to chase on the 5th day. And if we decide to chase it great, if things start going a bit pear shaped play for the draw. We still win 3-1. If you bat till tea you may as well shake hands and call it a day the series is dead anyway.

lol

Stokes is used as front line bowler. Bowls with a newish ball, attacking fields. his role is to take wickets

Green plays as a 5th bowling option. Filling gaps here and there. 2 overs before tea. 3 overs of short stuff with the field out..come on to bowl before the new ball with an old ball. Defensive fields. In Adelaide he didn't bowl until about the 60th over (from memory)

And Green has had Steve Smith as his captain on this tour. And Smith's entire captaincy has been absolutely terrible at making use of the fifth bowler.

The selectors continually picked Mitch Marsh in the side as an all rounder and bowling option, and Smith would just refuse to throw him the ball. Instead bowling the frontline bowlers into the ground with the old ball. And then having to continually rotate through different the bowlers across a Test series.

lol

The point is he's not physically capable of doing much more.

I like his potential as a bowler, but his bowling generally looks underdone because he hasn't been able to bowl enough to hit a consistent length. He just hasn't bowled enough over the last few years.

And Green has had Steve Smith as his captain on this tour. And Smith's entire captaincy has been absolutely terrible at making use of the fifth bowler.

The selectors continually picked Mitch Marsh in the side as an all rounder and bowling option, and Smith would just refuse to throw him the ball. Instead bowling the frontline bowlers into the ground with the old ball. And then having to continually rotate through different the bowlers across a Test series.
You can not blame Smith

Green took 1/85 this test, well if that is because of Smith lets use all of 2025...

3 wickets @ 52 for 2025

Well 2024 was much better with

5 wickets @ 31 for 2024

How about 2023?

7 wickets @ 56 for 2023

Smith is not the reason Green has not impacted with the ball

I said this a few weeks ago, there's a stigma that they are a bunch of drunk arrogant louts but it's not the case, they just like to come to the cricket have a few beers and enjoy themselves. How is it any different to the Ritchie's in the outer which everybody seems to love. The fact that they are still in full voice knowing they will go home empty handed should be commended. Most of our fans wouldn't turn up and would be asking when the footy starts.

I think the booing of Smith has had its day, so too the ''saw you cry on the telly'' song. The Alex Carey song is a shocker. Other than that, I don't mind them but the caveat is I've never sat near them and had to listen to them in person for 6 hours.

Green would go back and dominate the shield. You just know he would. He has already.

I know we’ve been saying this for a while now, but he just needs to get a couple of big scores and he’ll be away. Settle him in a spot and give him the confidence to go out and dominate. There’s just too much talent there to work with.

Also - please just let him bowl line and length rather than using him as this Neil Wagner donkey bowler.

Another poor series or two and I will revisit this.
Honestly think part of the reason his runs haven't followed his talent is just that lack of defined role. He's asked to bat in all different positions in the line-up, be the youngest bloke in the team, bowl, be potential, field gully, manage rehab, etc. It's the lack of a defined role, and managed expectations.

If he can bat 7 and average more than 30 with the bat and less than 40 with the ball, he clearly offers value over the option of not picking him, even if it's slight and marginal across both batting and bowling. Some games he might take 3/60. Other games he scores a 40 and 25. Overall it's still above replacement level.

The issue is that none of his management and communication has been this bit part player. It's clear that when he bats he's in his own head, and trying to be overly technically proficient. If we don't expect him to be the next great hope top 6 averaging 50 player, he can relax at the crease and be satisfied with small and not bit contributions.