Play Nice AFL Womens - General Discussion

Viewership and attendance suggests the only 'footy fatigue' comes from trying to squeeze 18 games into 72 hours across 16 venues. Curtain-raisers have also already been tried. Not heaps but enough to show they are mostly disastrous.

Unfortunately the AFL have not tried the intuitive alternate option for when the seasons overlap, which is to have AFL-AFLW double-headers at the best venues wherein the women play second.

Keep the turnaround short and heaps of people will hang around rather than battling with 50,000 others to get out of the stadium. And the better the game, the longer more people will stay to watch, I think we'll find.

Fortunately I've done the jigsaw-piecing to show how double-headers can work, and I'll demonstrate this in the 2026 Fixture thread (which will be created soon, either by me or somebody else).

That could work, the only downside would be if your AFL side is losing badly, and AFLW night matches would start at 10:30, if AFL matches end around 10:15.

What’s the chances of the attendance for the year (percentage filled) will hit the trigger for another couple of games in the season dya reckon?
There is no chance of hitting the automatic trigger for 14 rounds in the next few years, keeping in mind it also involves a TV component of 100k viewers required per H&A game.

Instead the AFLPA will negotiate an increase to 14 rounds as the minimum in the 2028 CBA, and the AFL will then keep the same unrealistic targets for an extension to 16 rounds. I reckon.

Interesting theory, it holds about as much water as a thimble, but an interesting theory none the less. She made the All-Australian Team for a reason, she is a freak with the uncanny ability to create scoring opportunities from near impossible situations, around half of her 25 goals were from situations where instinct and/or skill created a scoring opportunity (a snap in congestion, from an acute angle, or off the ground) or from defensive pressure (intercept mark and/or possession, or laying a tackle and receiving a HTB free). She also finished top 10 for Goal Assists and top 5 Score Involvements, so not only was she creating opportunities for herself, but she was creating for others or involved in scoring chains.
Also should have won rising star, except she's aged out.

She's impressive for someone in their first year and a convert from another sport but there's no way she'd be as successful in any other team, at least at this stage. She doesn't create the opportunities for her own goals, she converts the work of others. This is what I mean by moving the needle, all the players you listed are solid but take away your aging stars and that's a pretty mediocre starting team.
4 all aus players under 29 on our list

Not sure how that compares to other teams but I imagine it’s favourable

yeah what was the point of making Ikon Park the "home of AFLW" if the away team is still in stone age facilities.
Get AFLW its own home ground. Stat.
A third stadium in Melbourne for home of AFLW including finals/GF in Melbourne for Melbourne teams. And play enough AFL games there to make it worth while.

Do you believe a team with Alice O'Loughlin, Tahlia Randall, Libby Birch, and Blaithin Bogue as it's four best players will be as dominant as the one you have now?
Yes

And noting riddell is only 29 and will be around for a lot longer also

Our team is set up for a long term dynasty

Under 29 players
Bogue all aus
Birch all aus
Randall all aus
Alice oloughlin all aus
KLWT former pick 1
Tripodi 2 x premiership player
Ferguson 2 x premiership player
Oshea 2 x premiership player
Shannon premiership player
Smith 2 x premiership player
Gatt 2 x premiership player
Bresnehan premiership player
Mia king premiership player
Wall 2 x premiership player
Craven 2 x premiership player
Eddey 2 x premiership player
Amy Gavin mangan
Torpey
Our 2 draftees
And next years 2 first round picks in the top 18

I understand the arguments against running the women’s comp in the winter to give it free air but I do think there’s also a level of football fatigue that causes people who would otherwise watch to not engage as much with the AFLW as by the time the season is in full swing people are ready for a bit of a rest

Certainly I felt that way this year but that also could have been because the Tigers were terrible
I have no memory of “football fatigue” being an issue whatsoever prior to this AFLW season... a season where everyone knew the winner was a foregone conclusion before it even started.

It probably didn't help that North may as well have been handed the cup at the start of the season, but I was very much feeling the fatigue for another reason. I spent the season following Carlton's men's team but also Frankston's men's team and both its women's teams. That's a lot of football to watch and a lot of it was filled with turmoil. So when the AFLW rolled around I was absolutely feeling over football. Fortunately Carlton had a great season and it restored a lot of the passion for me. But I can understand someone wanting to forget about footy for the year if their men's team has been garbage.

Next season or two as well. Blues are the only ones who have gained some pieces this off-season. Usual suspects like Adelaide and Lions have lost from their best 22s so they are likely to take a step back in the coming year before seeing any growth. North have kept all their best 22 mainstays so it'll be hard to compete.

5peat incoming

we just need to sit back and enjoy history being made in front of our eyes

5peat incoming

we just need to sit back and enjoy history being made in front of our eyes

5peat while the comp is losing nearly 50M. This is like U18s beating every U12s out there and gloating about it.

I believe your domination will lead to some meaningful changes after all - so from that standpoint, keep it going.

5peat while the comp is losing nearly 50M. This is like U18s beating every U12s out there and gloating about it.

I believe your domination will lead to some meaningful changes after all - so from that standpoint, keep it going.
under 12s lol
belle dawes does act that age i guess

the comp is losing nearly 50M
Remains a bogus figure fed to Caro by a disgruntled pig at Collingwood who also wants to take money and academies away from the northern clubs (and is pretty sure the Lions' 5 AFL flags this century are entirely due to those factors).

Players pushing for expanded competition and AFL advised it'll lead to nearly 200M loss. But hey, your winning streak means AFLW losses don't matter - keep it going.

under 12s lol
belle dawes does act that age i guess
Its a mickey mouse comp based on current list profiles mate. Can't believe how north fans are carrying on like a badge of honour 😂

Players pushing for expanded competition and AFL advised it'll lead to nearly 200M loss. But hey, your winning streak means AFLW losses don't matter - keep it going.
"The AFL has reportedly told" -- the report being Caro's error-riddled article.

"$50m loss" and "$200m loss" figures are imaginary and absurd claims outright rejected by Andrew Dillon.

A little common sense would explain why. Start by looking at actual AFL documents detailing Total Player Payments and AFLW funding.

"The AFL has reportedly told" -- the report being Caro's error-riddled article.

"$50m loss" and "$200m loss" figures are imaginary and absurd claims outright rejected by Andrew Dillon.

A little common sense would explain why. Start by looking at actual AFL documents detailing Total Player Payments and AFLW funding.
Andrew Dillon acknowledged it but insisted its worth the investment. No one outright rejected it.

Official afl article also states about clubs being informed of 50M loss.

Andrew Dillon acknowledged it but insisted its worth the investment. No one outright rejected it.

Official afl article also states about clubs being informed of 50M loss.

Try reading it:

The AFL has reportedly told clubs the women's competition is losing $50 million a year
Once again, the report being referred to is Caro's error-riddled article.

Dillon says that's not a "line" that's ever been run by the League.
That is absolutely a rejection of the claim being made.

Try reading it:

Once again, the report being referred to is Caro's error-riddled article.

That is absolutely a rejection of the claim being made.
AFL has reported told clubs - published on their own AFL website- but the CEO does the usual spin on "exact line".. haha.

Mate, its not a fair n balanced comp currently with you not losing a single game in 2 years. Happy for you but dont expect us to regale your legacy built on this setup which lacks genuine competition.

The truth is if a more accurate figure of $15m was reported, the reaction wouldn't be any different.

Deadbeats wanting to minimise the competition would still be bashing everybody over the head with the figure as if the money was being snatched out of their pocket.