News "State of Origin is back" - Eddie McGuire, March 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

The afl throwing WA a bone with an exhibition match in presumably boiling conditions well before the actual season starts. I'm getting indigenous all stars game vibes, which I attended (and left early).

Is the whole state V state thing even relevant in 2026? I don't know the figures but I'd argue that a large portion if not the majority weren't even born in the state they are living/working, most people I know have moved interstate at least once in their life. The golden old days of tribalism is long gone, IMO.

Also ticket sales don't mean much, WA fans will always sell out an AFL game, Exhibition or not. We've been starved of footy outside of reg season eags/dockers games since 2021. I mean, i recall the indigenous all stars game crowd was healthy too.
Agree it will a bit of fun when there is no real footy

Will give us something to watch in the off season nothing wrong with it

It will even help players in their pre season to prepare for the real stuff

I don’t watch rugby at all, but for those who do, is there the same moaning about injuries from supporters, and has there ever been a season ending injury to an NRL star in these games?

There has certainly been injuries out of the league SoO. But no, won't hear the moaning from their fans about it. Completely different mentality.

In rugby league SOO is more important than the NRL premiership to most fans, particularly in QLD

People keep saying that but is there any evidence of it?
I lived in Queensland for six years (1 year in Gladstone....3 in Noosa....2 in brisbane)

Nothing mobilised all those places like origin does, when its origin time every ****ing place has maroons gear up.

And yes I went to uni and worked with loads of local people, the vast majority (around 70%) said origin is more important than their club winning the NRL premiership

I lived in Queensland for six years (1 year in Gladstone....3 in Noosa....2 in brisbane)

Nothing mobilised all those places like origin does, when its origin time every ****ing place has maroons gear up.

And yes I went to uni and worked with loads of local people, the vast majority (around 70%) said origin is more important than their club winning the NRL premiership

I'm going to assume people who say that are not in the top 10 to 20% of fans though. Hard core fans would prefer their NRL club winning. Everyone back from there might prefer Queensland winning origin

It's sold out mate

I really don't understand the people who literally attacking and wanting this to fail....I get that you won't take it as seriously as the AFL comp or other people but it seems by the calibre of players who have signed up.....the attention and interest it's getting here in WA and the fact the game is sold out more than a month beforehand means it just might be ok.

Why the **** wouldn't we as fans of the game not want an occasional rep game featuring the best to showcase the sport in another way from the usual and to get the old school state pride blood pumping

I think everybody are just hesitant and cautious more than anything.

If it's not played with Grand Final/State of origin 80`s intensity it won`t work. Are players really going to go hell for leather??

What will the fall out look like the first player that braks a leg, does. knee, gets knocked out etc?

It´s a bit of unknown at this stage.

Let´s hope it takes off but I get the hesitant narrative.

If it's not played with Grand Final/State of origin 80`s intensity it won`t work. Are players really going to go hell for leather??

What will the fall out look like the first player that braks a leg, does. knee, gets knocked out etc?

I think the WA team will go all out, and if they are going all out the Victorian team will have to as they would not want to face the media having just lost.

Right.

Let's hope it goes like that and grows organically and becomes a thing again.

AFL players are natural competitors so it could be great again.

About 6 weeks ago, there was a dead rubber Rugby League match between Australia vs England (as the Aussies had already won the series) and I don't think I saw a single person sooking about the scary possibility that their favourite player MIGHT get injured

AFL fans are ******* sooks, and as a fanbase they need to grow up honestly

Being pre season it will be good to see the best players in the comp and their skills on display

It obviously isn’t do or die but will be a good spectacle for skills on display

Looking forward to watching it as that

I'm really looking forward to it, I think the timing is perfect and it will be bigger than people think. I've said previously the success of the whole concept going forward will live and die on whether or not WA can make it a competitive game.

There's hesitant and then there is just down right negative and so many campaigners seem to be the latter, its bemusing

I’m happy to watch it for what it is an exposition match to see the best players in the competition and their skills

I suppose the negativity is there from some supporters hoping to see players throw everything at it they won’t and nor should they

But it will be entertaining

I've said previously the success of the whole concept going forward will live and die on whether or not WA can make it a competitive game.
Agreed. If the Vics smash WA then the concept is probably dead in the water, but if they can make it a competitive game then you're going to get buy in from the players + fans. However, if WA somehow win then it's really game on and you'll see other states wanting to get involved next year. There's so much potential if WA can do the rest of a Australia a solid and pull off an unexpected win over the Vics next month.

It is why I was not a huge fan of Victoria being involved right away. Should have been WA vs SA and NSW vs QLD.

I can understand that viewpoint. Unfortunately, I think the realistic nature of how the footy media works is that there wouldn't be much attention on it unless Victoria were involved. They don't necessarily always have to be involved, but I do think it was essential for the first reboot game. The prospect of seeing guys like Daicos, Bont, Rowell, Butters etc all playing together in the same midfield would be difficult for any footy fan in Victoria to turn down!

The reason State of Origin is so popular in the NRL is because the smaller state (QLD) is almost always highly competitive and actually beats the bigger state (NSW) on a regular basis. It wouldn't be interesting if NSW won it every year because that's to be expected when you consider the population differential. You need an underdog team to do well in order for this concept to work and WA will be the ones that have the first crack.

Funnily enough, there's a part of me that thinks SA might have a better shot at beating Victoria. I think SA have the kind of midfield quality that could actually match it with Victoria (Neale, Dawson, Wanganeen-Milera, Rankine, Horne-Francis, Day) and that's likely where these state games will be won. Ultimately, I think WA's lack of midfield depth will cost them.

Will Ashcroft will be the face of Queensland once they get to play origin similar to Reece Walsh at the Maroons except unlike Walsh I can't see Ashcroft drinking toilet water.

Could QLD, NSW and Tassie put together stand alone origin teams, not part of an Allies set up?

I assume Tassie couldn’t, but can the rest? Maybe even filling any gaps with statue league players?

I wonder how much interest and support a Qld v NSW AFL origin game would get.

Could QLD, NSW and Tassie put together stand alone origin teams, not part of an Allies set up?

I assume Tassie couldn’t, but can the rest? Maybe even filling any gaps with statue league players?

I wonder how much interest and support a Qld v NSW AFL origin game would get.

NSW and QLD, definitely. They are not bad teams too, better than the average AFL team actually, especially the Queensland team.

Just spent 20 minutes trying to get teams from NSW and Qld out of chat gpt, but it just can’t handle it.

Curious to see what a team might look like if anyone is across who is eligible for either..