Training Pre-Season Training '25 - '26

• Thread starter Thread starter ghostdog

If our team gets better we will only see better output from Perkins.

If Perkins adds another 0.5 of a goal and 3/4 possessions per game he will be rated among the better half forwards in the comp.
Yeah, we're going into our 7th years of 'ifs' with Perko. We should have moved him on last year.

They would be reluctant to move him on before they have tried growing his hair back

It’s a pretty big card still to play. You wouldn’t give up on him before you have given that a go.

Makes sense they have tried everything else first, but if he doesn’t dominate the early rounds, I’m
Sure you’ll see the scissors go away,

They would be reluctant to move him on before they have tried growing his hair back

It’s a pretty big card still to play. You wouldn’t give up on him before you have given that a go.

Makes sense they have tried everything else first, but if he doesn’t dominate the early rounds, I’m
Sure you’ll see the scissors go away,
Competition from Sharp, Robey, Day-Wicks, Edwards, Farrow, even McMahon for his spot
Last year there wasn't a whole lot of competition.

Perkins also struggles in a weaker team, less opportunities, as less ball coming into forwardline, if we can get better as a side / midfield he will also get more chances (if he is in the 23).

It's frustrating in every sense for me because he seems like someone who's got the tools, but all he needs is the physicality and grunt and to me he becomes one of the first picked each week. I honestly thought last year was going to be his breakout year. Seeing him shirk contests and not put his head over the ball on a number of occasions made me think he's never going to get there. So I sit back yet again and hope 2026 will be the year....

I reckon if he was out of contract we probably would’ve delisted him.

A his best I never truly rated him, I could see through the high possession, low impact stats.

At his best (2021) he averaged more i50s than Dangerfield, Dusty & Merrett:

1770069521306.webp

More Goal Assists than Selwood, Boak and Merrett:

1770069575540.webp

More clearances than Oliver, Adams, Petracca and Neale:

1770069612443.webp

More Metres Gained than Kelly, Merrett and McCluggage:

1770069652530.webp

More Score Involvements than Fyfe, Bontempelli, Oliver, Merrett and McCluggage:

1770069686876.webp

None of these guys are noted 'low impact' players and yet Parish at his best managed to do a pretty good impression of matching them.

He's got flaws, he's not necessarily the best fit for the midfield mix we've had, but it's simply not reality to say at his best he's not a good midfielder. He hasn't had any level of consistent fitness since 2021 to return to that level, but if he can then there's a pretty good midfielder in there, especially alongside some stronger bodies than he has had in the past.

Attachments

• 1770069480701.webp
    1770069480701.webp
    25 KB · Views: 2
I reckon if he was out of contract we probably would’ve delisted him.
Look at Rayner for Brisbane, most called him a bust until their team improved.

Perkins lost confidence in the second half of the season, as he was shifted all around the field. But his first half had him as a top 10 rated general forward of the comp.

Hes a half forward, yet everyone expects 20 possies and 2 goals a game from Perkins.

If he was delisted there would be multiple teams fighting for his signature.

View attachment 2520494

View attachment 2520496

View attachment 2520500

View attachment 2520501

View attachment 2520502

None of these guys are noted 'low impact' players and yet Parish at his best managed to do a pretty good impression of matching them.

He's got flaws, he's not necessarily the best fit for the midfield mix we've had, but it's simply not reality to say at his best he's not a good midfielder. He hasn't had any level of consistent fitness since 2021 to return to that level, but if he can then there's a pretty good midfielder in there, especially alongside some stronger bodies than he has had in the past.
How many of the inside 50s actually hit a target? That the frustrating thing with him, a) his disposal, b) him having the final responsibility to hit a target inside 50.

View attachment 2520494

View attachment 2520496

View attachment 2520500

View attachment 2520501

View attachment 2520502

2021 our midfield depth was shot. Parish played nearly 120 minutes a game as a no defence midfielder. Merrett and parish were a 2 man band with stints from langerford and stringer. Hence I can see through the stats

You missed McGrath. Don't you remember McMerrish the trio, plus stints from Stringer who was arguably best in competition for a month that year. All playing good footy under Truck.

1770070901975.webp

You missed McGrath. Don't you remember McMerrish the trio, plus stints from Stringer who was arguably best in competition for a month that year. All playing good footy under Truck.
Stringers second half of the year was unbelievable. I thought from memory McGrath was more of a skinny wing. But regardless literally had parish and Merrett play the entire game in the middle collecting possessions at will.

Look at Rayner for Brisbane, most called him a bust until their team improved.

Perkins lost confidence in the second half of the season, as he was shifted all around the field. But his first half had him as a top 10 rated general forward of the comp.

Hes a half forward, yet everyone expects 20 possies and 2 goals a game from Perkins.

If he was delisted there would be multiple teams fighting for his signature.
Rayner had injury issues.

I think you’re overrating the demand for Perkins. He’d get a train on position somewhere or maybe someone would give up some junk picks for him. He’s 24 in March. He’s had loads of opportunity and hasn’t put it together.

Rayner had injury issues.

I think you’re overrating the demand for Perkins. He’d get a train on position somewhere or maybe someone would give up some junk picks for him. He’s 24 in March. He’s had loads of opportunity and hasn’t put it together.
I’m not saying he would be worth trade currency though am I?

But we both agree he would likely remain in the afl?

Statistically he isn’t far off being far off being well above average for his position.
In fact he would be in the top echelon for his position if he added the stats I proposed before. It’s also not out of the question he would get at least half those stats inside of a better team.

Seems to me it's not really that.

Parish was good in 2021. He's 'good' offensively, but he's not Dusty or Dangerfield that are so good offensively and such strong hard ball gets players that they can get away without defending.

So everything says Parish was a good midfielder in 2021. Not a great one, but a good one. He hasn't been fit enough since to see if he can be that level of player again, or whether our midfield mix is such that his role needs to change to stay relevant to the current team and gameplan.

It's one of those football oddities where if a player isn't great, they suck.

I’m not saying he would be worth trade currency though am I?

But we both agree he would likely remain in the afl?

Statistically he isn’t far off being far off being well above average for his position.
In fact he would be in the top echelon for his position if he added the stats I proposed before. It’s also not out of the question he would get at least half those stats inside of a better team.
I disagree with this “If he was delisted there would be multiple teams fighting for his signature.”

If he held his form from last year then I reckon he’s seeing a lot of VFL footy and will struggle to find a new home.

I haven’t looked at the stats. But if he’s well above average for his position then those stats hold little weight.

I disagree with this “If he was delisted there would be multiple teams fighting for his signature.”

If he held his form from last year then I reckon he’s seeing a lot of VFL footy and will struggle to find a new home.

I haven’t looked at the stats. But if he’s well above average for his position then those stats hold little weight.

I think someone would pick him up as a reclamation project. A past top-10 pick that's been pretty durable, with some good physical tools to work with but hasn't quite cemented himself as the level of player you'd hope from a top-10 pick.

A lot of clubs would take a guy like that on the cheap to see whether they could get more out of him. He's the sort of guy that's almost a good AFL player.

I think someone would pick him up as a reclamation project. A past top-10 pick that's been pretty durable, with some good physical tools to work with but hasn't quite cemented himself as the level of player you'd hope from a top-10 pick.

A lot of clubs would take a guy like that on the cheap to see whether they could get more out of him. He's the sort of guy that's almost a good AFL player.
I reckon the top 10 sheen has worn off and he’s had plenty of exposure. Even Will Phillips didn’t get an opportunity and will be playing VFL (not quite apples and apples, but a higher draft pick from the same draft).

I think he might get a chance somewhere as an SSP. But I doubt there’d be a fight for his signature (as footy guru posted). In any case, I hope he puts it together.

Even Will Phillips didn’t get an opportunity and will be playing VFL (not quite apples and apples, but a higher draft pick from the same draft).
Will Phillips plays in a more of a Tom Mitchell role, and he a former Brownlow medallist got no takers either.
Similar to Ben Hobbs IMO - early pick but lack of positional flexibility and not a star in that position.

Perkins offers more height, positional flexibility, goal kicking prowess, experience, talent, won matches off his own boot / influence , (crows and hawks)
His knocks - Inconsistent, hasn't been able to nail down midfield position, is probably one that could do with more development. Imagine Mitchell would love a project like that. When you look at Hawthorn forwardline.
HF: Jack Ginnivan, Mabior Chol, Dylan Moore
FF: Nick Watson, Mitch Lewis, Jack Gunston

He would likely be a bench rotation, but could essentially fill Jack gunston 3rd tall role in a couple of years, and bring what they wanted from Petracca - talented Forward/Mid

Just think of Massimo D'Ambrosio, he could only use his left side when he went to the hawks, they had to retrain him as he would keep getting caught/shutdown due to his one sidedness.

Their still is potential within Perkins, and even if went to a side like Sydney they could turn him into a valuable foot soldier.

Will Phillips plays in a more of a Tom Mitchell role, and he a former Brownlow medallist got no takers either.
Similar to Ben Hobbs IMO - early pick but lack of positional flexibility and not a star in that position.

Perkins offers more height, positional flexibility, goal kicking prowess, experience, talent, won matches off his own boot / influence , (crows and hawks)
His knocks - Inconsistent, hasn't been able to nail down midfield position, is probably one that could do with more development. Imagine Mitchell would love a project like that. When you look at Hawthorn forwardline.
HF: Jack Ginnivan, Mabior Chol, Dylan Moore
FF: Nick Watson, Mitch Lewis, Jack Gunston

He would likely be a bench rotation, but could essentially fill Jack gunston 3rd tall role in a couple of years, and bring what they wanted from Petracca - talented Forward/Mid

Just think of Massimo D'Ambrosio, he could only use his left side when he went to the hawks, they had to retrain him as he would keep getting caught/shutdown due to his one sidedness.

Their still is potential within Perkins, and even if went to a side like Sydney they could turn him into a valuable foot soldier.
Hence my “not quite apples and apples” comment 😉

I reckon the top 10 sheen has worn off and he’s had plenty of exposure. Even Will Phillips didn’t get an opportunity and will be playing VFL (not quite apples and apples, but a higher draft pick from the same draft).

I think he might get a chance somewhere as an SSP. But I doubt there’d be a fight for his signature (as footy guru posted). In any case, I hope he puts it together.

Philips was far more limited though, totally wrong athletic profile plus all the injury setbacks, he's played less than half the AFL games Perkins has and not all of that was just being stuck in the VFL.

Perkins has all the physical tools to actually make it; a good size, good tank, decent speed, has shown the ability to stand up in tackles. Generally decent by foot, overhead and kicking at goal. I think for him it's upstairs more than anything.

parish also averaged more medals than Jobe in his brownlow year

Parish - Yookien (BOG Dreamtime), Anzac (BOG Anzac Day), Tom Willis (BOG Country game) B&F Runner up (Merrett won Crichton), ESPN most improved player, Brownlow equal 5th 26 votes, Coaches association 9th (Oliver won), All Australian

Watson - Crichton Medal, All Australian, (most Brownlow votes but stolen the medal and gave to a nice bloke Cotchin and a flog Mitchell) Coaches Association 6th place (Trent Cotchin won), Anzac Medal - Dane Swan, Yiooken - Brett Deledio

the other thing about Perkins are his maturity issues. Adrian was warned pre draft about Perkins maturity. His confidence and severe form drop shows it’s still not there.

I think Perkins might be a slower burn than the most other draftees.