2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

You go to AO and they have stands of sponsored vendors, same at Marvel. McDonalds, Ben and Jerry, etc. etc. We continue to have the horeshit rolled out by the Gabba's caterer. How are we not renegotiating these contracts and trying to retrofit changes into the Gabba?! We are consistently selling out games each season and corporate businesses don't want to be a part of that environment? You have 32k people stuck in a venue for three hours - hungry, thirsty, cold/hot (cricket season) and we're serving up mid beer and chips? Why wouldn't you be pitching to local and national businesses to cash in on that through multi-tiered sponsorship? You could also do the same at BHA - stop inviting the food trucks and have national sponsors with big money making it an evening out for families and reinvesting back into their pockets
Agree with a lot of the rest but this is all out of our hands. We don't manage the Gabba, that's the government, and they are the ones that sign the deals for food and drink providers and the like. We can lodge complaints but as long as the current vendors know the right guys they'll be in there until the place collapses around them.

I set ‘em up; you knock ‘em down, Weevs.
It's easy to knock em down when there's rods being pulled out all over the place.

Agree with a lot of the rest but this is all out of our hands. We don't manage the Gabba, that's the government, and they are the ones that sign the deals for food and drink providers and the like. We can lodge complaints but as long as the current vendors know the right guys they'll be in there until the place collapses around them.
There's only so many places at the Gabba for food and drink too. Hopefully we see a wider variety of food and drink options at the new larger stadium in Victoria Park

Hey not being a negative nelly here, just curious about if anyone here works in the SM / Online market space, who actually has insight into the industry?
Does anyone work in the industry & also have experience partnering with a national sports club / or strong national brand and can discuss (in general terms of course, nothing specific), brand awareness growth, added value to sponsors via cross promotion, membership growth, etc.
Obviously it's not easy to generalize, the ability of staff & individuals at a company will vary greatly as will the quality of the customer they get to work with (not everyone can be back to back premiers lol), just curious if anyone has experience they can relay on cost vs tangible return etc.

I’ve been against those that have petitioned for more website content - because I simply don’t know what the metrics are in terms of output and input.

But you have to be in the social media game. And we aren’t.

Most of the content the club will produce will be completely uninteresting to me (like the stuff hawthorn produces) but many will love it and it’ll get eyeballs.

I have nfi but you almost need a marketing influencer type who understands the engagement and they can learn anything they need to about footy on the job.

We seem very 2010 online presence.

Pumping the massive majority of your content into socials while pretty much ignoring your home page is called “Digital Sharecropping”, and it’s recognised as an amateurish and dangerous thing to do.

Number one, you are freezing out the boomers... i.e., a huge part of the fanbase and oh, I don't know, the people with the most money.

Boomers don’t gaf bout a 15-second clip of Charlie Cameron dancing to a trap beat. But they’ll happily read a 1,000-word tactical analysis or a detailed injury update... and they’ll buy little things like memberships for the grandkids, corporate boxes, you know, just little things...

The other group it mostly ignores is the hardcore footy nuffy; the more detail and depth you give them, the more locked in they get. They don’t have the bank balance of the boomers, but they spend up to 6x more annually than casual fans. They are the ones sharing the content, they are the ones dragging their friends to games, and they are the ones defending the club in the comments section.

So that’s two fairly important groups the club is basically ghosting.

And number two, you are putting virtually all your efforts and resources into boosting Zucc's, Elon’s and the CCP’s platforms.

Now I don’t want to sound too judgmental, but I don’t reckon investing almost everything you have into those guys while letting your own property wither and die is the smartest strategy. It goes without saying that none of those guys cares in the slightest about the Club and would change their algorithms or policies in a heartbeat if it helped their bottom lines.

Social media should be the "Trailer" and the website should be the "Movie". Use TikTok and Insta to hook the kids, but drive everyone back to the website for the full story, the full interview, and the deep dive. Right now, we are giving them the trailer and forgetting to show the movie.

So, we ignore two of the most important demographics. And we’ve spent years building our mansion on land we rent from some of the least trustworthy people on earth.

Sigh.

Pumping the massive majority of your content into socials while pretty much ignoring your home page is called “Digital Sharecropping”, and it’s recognised as an amateurish and dangerous thing to do.

Number one, you are freezing out the boomers... i.e., a huge part of the fanbase and oh, I don't know, the people with the most money.

Boomers don’t gaf bout a 15-second clip of Charlie Cameron dancing to a trap beat. But they’ll happily read a 1,000-word tactical analysis or a detailed injury update... and they’ll buy little things like memberships for the grandkids, corporate boxes, you know, just little things...

The other group it mostly ignores is the hardcore footy nuffy; the more detail and depth you give them, the more locked in they get. They don’t have the bank balance of the boomers, but they spend up to 6x more annually than casual fans. They are the ones sharing the content, they are the ones dragging their friends to games, and they are the ones defending the club in the comments section.

And number two, you are putting virtually all your efforts and resources into boosting Zucc's, Elon’s and the CCP’s platforms.

Now I don’t want to sound too judgmental, but I don’t reckon investing almost everything you have into those guys while letting your own property wither and die is the smartest strategy. It goes without saying that none of those guys cares in the slightest about the Club and would change their algorithms or policies in a heartbeat if it helped their bottom lines.

Social media should be the "Trailer" and the website should be the "Movie". Use TikTok and Insta to hook the kids, but drive everyone back to the website for the full story, the full interview, and the deep dive. Right now, we are giving them the trailer and forgetting to show the movie.

So, we ignore two of the most important demographics. And we’ve spent years building our mansion on land we rent from some of the least trustworthy people on earth.

Sigh.

That makes a lot of sense, my opinion has shifted re the website.

Wouldn’t be a bad idea to get a media / comms person on the board.

Don't we already have one!?

I had a look before I made my post and couldn’t see anyone with that specialist skillset. A lot of business people and a film maker + ex footy people.

Sigh.
First go to the AFL website
Then click on any club including the Lions you will see basically the same format.
This tells me the AFL runs the websites with designated people reporting on stuff
Whiting regularly for us and Suns

So, i don't see the Club could break away and do their own thing without AFL approval.

Then click on any club including the Lions you will see basically the same format.
This tells me the AFL runs the websites with designated people reporting on stuff

So, i don't see the Club could break away and do their own thing without AFL approval.

I think early days Essendon did. Whether or not they still do (I doubt it) I'm not sure, but the link on the AFL site certainly doesn't take you there lol.

Yes, it does as with all the 18 clubs They are all located across the top of screen on a PC anyhow.
My android phone is ... then scroll down to Teams.
Most people would not get to their club sites that way anyhow.

I was just using the AFL site as a starting point to show no matter which club you go to the format is the same.

We certainly did in the (very) early days. Our website was very independent in the late 90s and maybe into 2000. It even had a forum (imagine that these days 😅)

But then the AFL took it over and it became pretty boring really.

Yes, it does as with all the 18 clubs They are all located across the top of screen on a PC anyhow.
My android phone is ... then scroll down to Teams.
Most people would not get to their club sites that way anyhow.

I was just using the AFL site as a starting point to show no matter which club you go to the format is the same.

Yeah, I meant that the link at the top of the screen takes you to the AFL version of the Essendon site, not the custom site they had years back. It might have been called the hangar. Not sure if it even exists now.

Thanks to all posters incite and information on the recent intraclub sim.
The first time in many years i have not been able to get to one.

I am hoping to get to the Blues game 5 pm BHA this Wednesday.

Our first real hit out against opposition and with AFL umpires. 4 x 30 minutes and an extended bench
Live on Fox and Kayo

Thanks to all posters incite and information on the recent intraclub sim.
The first time in many years i have not been able to get to one.

I am hoping to get to the Blues game 5 pm BHA this Wednesday.

Our first real hit out against opposition and with AFL umpires. 4 x 30 minutes and an extended bench
Live on Fox and Kayo
I don't think the game is this Wednesday 😬

But please feel free to give us a report if you head out there!

That's just the template, which is controlled by the AFL and hated by the clubs.

The clubs get the pool content from the AFL, but can add to it in any way they want.

I don't believe anyone is asking for this type of stuff.

No one is asking for Charlie Cameron dancing.
This is what everyone here is talking about. We're no getting this stuff. We're asking can we get this stuff on our social media feed.

Right now, the club is giving us almost nothing. On any platform, to any target group.

Sigh.

Pretty sure this was asked last year, and someone mentioned the BIG guy on the bench during matches is our media guy.
That chap's name is Nick Brown. I've heard him referred to by Kingy and Kane along the way who have a high regard for him. They say he is great to deal with among all the various club media managers.

I assume from that he is the guy who is responsible for teeing up people from the club to speak with TV and radio stations etc. Whether more could be done here I guess is partially a factor of both supply (ie the willingness of our people to make themselves available) and demand (the desire for media people to talk to our guys).

On that basis, I'm not sure he has much to do with the social media side. But I could be wrong.

Didn't see him yesterday actually but he might have been around.

He certainly isn't on the board tho, which is how my original question was intended.

you all are a bunch of whingers in relation to social media content, we've gone longer in the season than anyone in both the men and women's, this means that the people who do the social media take holidays later, the women's grand final was on the 29th November, one of the girls who does the social media only returned back to work recently

on top of that they've been doing the cup tour taking the premiership cup places, who do you think does the socials on that? just appears out of no where????

Sigh.
completely disagree with all of this, the website is not an appropriate place to place most content, social media is and have about 1000 times more engagement not to mention the lions website will only have traffic from lions supporters not the general public

The website should be an official place for club information

you all are a bunch of whingers in relation to social media content, we've gone longer in the season than anyone in both the men and women's, this means that the people who do the social media take holidays later, the women's grand final was on the 29th November, one of the girls who does the social media only returned back to work recently

on top of that they've been doing the cup tour taking the premiership cup places, who do you think does the socials on that? just appears out of no where????

So how do other clubs manage to produce a significant amount more social media engagement then we do?

Maybe you employ more people?