Training 2026 Bulldogs Pre-Season

• Thread starter Thread starter MaxiBont

What can be done to boost the interest of SOO and have it as the number one priority?
I honestly think far too much would need to change for it to be taken seriously.

For a start it would have to be mid season, realistically during a bye round. That then means any player selected would need to be given a bye either before or after State of Origin.

But the players picked would almost always come from the better teams, similar to how All Australians are selected. So you end up with the top teams effectively playing one or two games across the season at less than full strength, by design, just so those players can play State of Origin.

We already see supporters lose their minds over a pre season version of it because of injury risk. If people are worried about that now, imagine the reaction when it has a very real and measurable impact on the actual premiership season.

A lot would have to change for it to work, and I just don’t think supporters and members would accept what they’d be asked to give up.

We've become way too accustomed to our footy team and supporting FFC / WB is just a part of our psyche because of tradition. Over a century of history passed over through generations finds us all being strongly emotionally connected to our footy team.

Use a time machine to travel back to the late 1800s and put in the foundations for SOO football where the number one motivation is representing your state year after year and the landscape would look a lot different.

It would feel very different but imagine if the passion we have for our footy club was the passion we had for Victoria in SOO football. Suddenly we'd feel a lot more connected to a much larger supporter base. No disdain or dislike for Geelong and their supporters. We'd have over 1,000,000 fans supporting Victoria.

That landscape would allow for the highest level of footy to be played year after year.

I reckon that would be awesome. Just like QLD v NSW in the Rugby League. That was a rivalry and a thing before the ARL / NRL so the SOO for them will always take priority.

I honestly think far too much would need to change for it to be taken seriously.

For a start it would have to be mid season, realistically during a bye round. That then means any player selected would need to be given a bye either before or after State of Origin.

But the players picked would almost always come from the better teams, similar to how All Australians are selected. So you end up with the top teams effectively playing one or two games across the season at less than full strength, by design, just so those players can play State of Origin.

We already see supporters lose their minds over a pre season version of it because of injury risk. If people are worried about that now, imagine the reaction when it has a very real and measurable impact on the actual premiership season.

A lot would have to change for it to work, and I just don’t think supporters and members would accept what they’d be asked to give up.
I will say it again. They need to scrap the pre finals bye, have the bye between the Preliminary Final and the Grand Final instead. Make that week and weekend to play State Of Origin, All Australian announcement, AFL awards, Browlow etc. Also allows players with concussion and injuries to make the Grand Final, and any injuries obtained during State Of Origin, players have a few weeks of the offseason to recover. Of course the Grand Final participants wont take part in state, big deal if a couple of stars miss it.

The way to build it is to have Toby Green or some other villainous type belt someone and kick off an all in brawl.

Follow up next year with some pay back violent acts and you have instant rivalry and intensity.

Not gonna happen but that is a big part of what origin was built on.

The NRL state of origin is great. It's a competition within a competition. It's a 3 game series. It's us against them mentality.
How do you format that into AFL.
Victoria Vrs who..? What about SA vrs WA.?

The best way I see to do it is in the pre-finals bye. Players can only be selected from the teams that didn't make finals, which gives supporters of clubs that miss finals something to look forward to, and the sides are the states with the most players that didn't make finals. With finals out hopefully players would actually be willing to try instead of it being a glorified cardio session.

Too many problems with it - don't know which states it will be until the last game most of the time, a lot of players will be cooked or going into surgery at that point, most of the non-Vic teams will be scrapping the bottom of the barrel - but I don't see another way to do it that will get any interest without fans crying out about injury risk. Not to mention the dumb wildcard games have taken this spot now.

Unless it's fundamnetal like NRL, or there are so many games that individual losses don't matter as much like NBA, SOO isn't really going to work. Hell even the NBA can't get it right as none of the players take it seriously.

State of Origin should have gone the way of black and white TV. It should no longer be of this world.

The best way I see to do it is in the pre-finals bye. Players can only be selected from the teams that didn't make finals, which gives supporters of clubs that miss finals something to look forward to, and the sides are the states with the most players that didn't make finals. With finals out hopefully players would actually be willing to try instead of it being a glorified cardio session.

Too many problems with it - don't know which states it will be until the last game most of the time, a lot of players will be cooked or going into surgery at that point, most of the non-Vic teams will be scrapping the bottom of the barrel - but I don't see another way to do it that will get any interest without fans crying out about injury risk. Not to mention the dumb wildcard games have taken this spot now.

Unless it's fundamnetal like NRL, or there are so many games that individual losses don't matter as much like NBA, SOO isn't really going to work. Hell even the NBA can't get it right as none of the players take it seriously.
This is the way - with a $$$ bonus for players from the winning team to incentivise them to play well, and a portion of it going to their club to incentivise the teams to support the format.

Any game where the games elite players are quarantined from playing due to finals commitments is DOA.

It’s much the same reason that SoO died in the first place when clubs hrr er ld their playback. The only way it will ever work is for the afl to follow the nrl example and sacrifice the h&a season at its alter. But then we run into the issue of it being a 3-4 cornered contest of scheduling nightmares.

To me the only viable alternative is a red v blue all star game that would be held during a defined break in the fixture but that is as problematic as all the other Alternate scenarios being put about.

That’s how we’ve arrived at the half arsed version of SoO that we’re about to get. Which no doubt will be as meaningless as it will be a rating success.

State of origin is dead in the form we remember it.

The only way it comes back successfully is like everything the AFL does….copy America with an East v West style match. I mean everything is Americanised. Terminology such as the quarterback role for a half back and. Ow the players want to do walk ins like NBA stars in a fashion parade.

Just split up the teams 1 WA, 1 SA, 1 NSW, 1 QLD and the VIC sides split up as an even spread.

Play it at the end of the season when players are selected on that seasons performance

Kids today don’t know the state rivalry and don’t care

You know it makes sense

I think the only way to make state of origin relevant and not a trip down memory lane is to replace the pies and bombers with th Vic's and WA on Anzac Day. You know it's the right thing to do..... apologies to all the crow eaters.

Any game where the games elite players are quarantined from playing due to finals commitments is DOA.

It’s much the same reason that SoO died in the first place when clubs hrr er ld their playback. The only way it will ever work is for the afl to follow the nrl example and sacrifice the h&a season at its alter. But then we run into the issue of it being a 3-4 cornered contest of scheduling nightmares.

To me the only viable alternative is a red v blue all star game that would be held during a defined break in the fixture but that is as problematic as all the other Alternate scenarios being put about.

That’s how we’ve arrived at the half arsed version of SoO that we’re about to get. Which no doubt will be as meaningless as it will be a rating success.
I haven't run the exact numbers but I reckon you'd have a decent Vic v Everyone Else from the non final teams last year? Dog players, butters, Cripps, Merrett etc

It does drop off a bit though and I am struggling to finish the teams 😂😔

Spot on. The fact that Australian Rules Football is the major code in 4 States and 1 Territory alone makes any meanigful SOO need to be a carnival not a one off game.

Any form makes it meaningless unless a full carnival is played at the start of the season with a shortened regular AFL season. The economics makes zero sense.

SOO only works in the NRL due to only 2 states with rivalry outside of the NRL and the fact that when pokies were introduced into NSW they decimated Queensland league, so the concept started in Australian Rules fitted League like a glove giving Queensland the opportunity for revenge against their southern antoganists.

IN over 40 years it still represents those 2 states whilst the AFL has competetive teams representing most of Australia.

Dont care at all about the game, result or anything other than no injuries to out players. This farce is a step above AFLX

The only way any such game will get any traction is if the players are serious about winning. The only way that happens is to have a huge financial incentive.

So ...

Nominate the AFL's top two coaches who pick their sides with alternating picks from any AFL listed player. Just like we did in the school yard. Squad of 25 players each.

The team selection alone would make fascinating TV. I reckon the AFL and the networks could make drag it out for about 3 hours. I mean look at what they've done with the draft and the Brownlow coverage.

Every player gets $100k base payment (but zero if you withdraw from the side, whatever your excuse). Coaches get the same.
Winning side gets a $5m bonus to share. No drawn game allowed (5 mins extra time each way if scores are level at full time).
Best on ground gets another $100k.
Total salary bill for coaches and players is a tick over $10m. Should pay for itself pretty easily with ticket sales, sponsorships and TV rights.

So you earn at least $300k each from just one game if your side wins. Losers get "just" $100k per player. (Poor bastards.)

Then we'll see how serious they are.

If $300k per player isn't enough, make it $400k each. The AFL is loaded.

The only way any such game will get any traction is if the players are serious about winning. The only way that happens is to have a huge financial incentive.

So ...

Nominate the AFL's top two coaches who pick their sides with alternating picks from any AFL listed player. Just like we did in the school yard. Squad of 25 players each.

The team selection alone would make fascinating TV. I reckon the AFL and the networks could make drag it out for about 3 hours. I mean look at what they've done with the draft and the Brownlow coverage.

Every player gets $100k base payment (but zero if you withdraw from the side, whatever your excuse). Coaches get the same.
Winning side gets a $5m bonus to share. No drawn game allowed (5 mins extra time each way if scores are level at full time).
Best on ground gets another $100k.
Total salary bill for coaches and players is a tick over $10m. Should pay for itself pretty easily with ticket sales, sponsorships and TV rights.

So you earn at least $300k each from just one game if your side wins. Losers get "just" $100k per player. (Poor bastards.)

Then we'll see how serious they are.

If $300k per player isn't enough, make it $400k each. The AFL is loaded.
All true enough.

The other thing that could be done to give the concept more substance is to have a title/trophy attached.

It will always feel like little more than an exhibition game otherwise.

This could be easily done.

Year 1 - Vic v WA, SA v Allies

Year 2 - the 2 winners play off for the trophy, title, the 2 losers play for the right to challenge in year 3.

From then on there are 2 games per year, a title game and a challenger game.

Everyone is up for 1 game per year and a tradition will pretty quickly be established.

If a state can win a few in a row, each game will have a narrative/history to give the game far more impetus/interest.

Lets face it SOO will never mean anything again. The fact there are so many different opinions on how to make it work is evidence that it will not work. The reason NRL works is there is a just natural passion for it born form having 2 states with similar ability to win it each season with the players and supporters saying bring it on.

Not one dominant state and two lesser states.

SOO is done and dusted it doesn’t even have a pulse.

Anything arranged with regards to SOO is manufactured and artificial.

And there is no harm in admitting to that and calling as it is.

Given that it's happening again in a week and the match is sold out. I'd have to argue it does indeed have a pulse, even if it's on a respirator.

I know what your saying but
What’s happening in a week is not SOO

I’m not sure what it is tbh buts it’s not SOO

I know what your saying but
What’s happening in a week is not SOO

I’m not sure what it is tbh buts it’s not SOO
Exhibition game? AFL test to preview audiences and sponsorships?

Whatever, fans suffering from Footy deprivation syndrome will obediently trot along or tune in.

The only way players will 100% buy in is if one player absolutely flatlines someone from the other team. Complete dog shot