Training Training updates 2026.

• Thread starter Thread starter Jen2310

Not an ideal start to 2026 for HDM post going into concussion protocols for 12 days during Jan / Feb.
HDM spent the first half of the 2024 injured, where his first pre-season derailed post undergoing finger surgery, which sidelined him for 10 weeks. He then played 13 VFL games, out of position, in a reserve team that was simply dreadful.
2025 he was more than serviceable. He'll start to rack up 30 possession + games this year in the VFL, a debut is closer than we think.
As a former Stingrays and Vic Country captain, I've no doubt internally they know what he can produce. His speed, quick hands and tackling pressure are an attribute we dearly need in the middle / stoppages (replacing the void left by Tom Mitchell).
I look forward to seeing how this young fella develops in the 1st half of the year (along with another dasher, Wil Parker).
Let's just hope he has a healthy season, and he can apply his craft, I reckon we've got one here.

DeMattia stands out in new inside role

VFL stats Harry DeMattia
For a start the protocols last 11 days but even then, in terms of pre-season training, presuming he progresses through the stages, he would only miss a few days of actual physical training.

NRL its 11 days. AFL remains 12 days.
Under the new community football guidelines, the earliest that a player suffering a concussion can return to play is on the 21st day post the concussion incident.

tbf, you wouldn't have even known Harry was in protocols. Maybe one session he was restricted to running, but otherwise, he's been in drills ever since
Must have been really minor.

By the end of the season all Collingwood supporters will appreciate HDM. I think he's about ready to shine. He doesn't seem to have many supporters but old manic likes him
I’m not as hopeful manic. HDM and Allan are entering their 3rd and 4th seasons as mids. One hasn’t played a game and one a handful of average ones. Those are not the usual trajectories of good mids. Where they were picked is irrelevant. If they can’t match it with the best then onto the next we turn. Picking 3 mids last off season to me suggests the club doesn’t have a lot of faith in either. Reports on prindable and swaddling is positive however and will be interesting to see how they go against HDM and Allan as 1st season players. I hope in a few weeks someone quotes this proving me wrong.

That’s HDM - but where do you stand on Allen, Manic? We can’t fit all these promising young mids in the side, including the new batch drafted last year.

I read all the reports on Allen and they’re not very satisfying. I’m not getting much sustenance out of them. They mostly say he was ‘involved’. But is ‘involved’ enough? I’d be happier if the reports said he was ‘smashing’ it, or ‘tearing it up’. But no…
I think the biggest problem with Ed is the supporters impatience. He's only 21yo and hasn't fully developed yet. The club would be patient with his development because he's not physically ready yet. Has won a rising star nomination. He has all the skills to make it but not the body yet. Didn't play much footy in his draft year either. We kept Pendles, Sidey and crisp this year because we have quite a few on the cusp but just need another season. I really like Prindable and Swadling but they would have to be outstanding this year to get regular games. Anderson is the one most likely to play ahead of all of them. Next year we'll see these guys demanding a spot.

his kicking is sub standard

has a tall frame, but doesn't use it. plays like a medium size mid. needs to make himself a marking target mid. then he will have a point of difference to make up a little for his iffy disposal

Under the new community football guidelines, the earliest that a player suffering a concussion can return to play is on the 21st day post the concussion incident.
AFL protocol is return to play on the 12th day. That means the protocols last 11 days. Community footy is irrelevant.

Counting is fun.

I hope so mate. 1 mid from the below first round picks kicking on is not ideal and why there’s currently a large hole
2020: Macrae
2021: Nick
2022: Allan
2023: HDM

Let’s hope for 2 from 25 🤞

his kicking is sub standard

has a tall frame, but doesn't use it. plays like a medium size mid. needs to make himself a marking target mid. then he will have a point of difference to make up a little for his iffy disposal
I agree. If he could impose himself in marking contests he'll be a great player. A lot depends on what role they give him each week. The fact that he plays a few different roles when he plays AFL just means it's part of his development.

Also as supporters we can't have it both ways. From 2023-2025 we've clearly been in "win now" mode so we're always going to prioritise experience over kids.

I don't see how we would've prioritised Allan and HDM in the midfield over Long, Daicos x 2, Pendles, Sidebottom, DeGoey, Crisp, Perryman, Mitchell and even players like Sullivan. I thought Allan played ok in the roles given to him though the list changes mean we need to start seeing what him and HDM can bring to AFL level.

Also as supporters we can't have it both ways. From 2023-2025 we've clearly been in "win now" mode so we're always going to prioritise experience over kids.

I don't see how we would've prioritised Allan and HDM in the midfield over Long, Daicos x 2, Pendles, Sidebottom, DeGoey, Crisp, Perryman, Mitchell and even players like Sullivan. I thought Allan played ok in the roles given to him though the list changes mean we need to start seeing what him and HDM can bring to AFL level.
Ed played 13 games last year, that's a pretty good go although I don't know how many of those he might have been a sub.

Yep, another overlooked scenario. I really believe those 2 will get games over Prindable and Swadling this year. I remember Gavin Brown spent a whole pre season practising his marking skills, he ended up playing FF. Maybe we should get him back to help Ed with this.

Which is far from ideal for a (reserves) player, attempting to gain a spot in the team before it becomes fully settled. Hard to ‘leapfrog’ other aspirants once the season proper commences.

He would only have had to miss a session or two before he started building up his gradual training. It will have negligible impact on his selection prospects.

I agree. If he could impose himself in marking contests he'll be a great player. A lot depends on what role they give him each week. The fact that he plays a few different roles when he plays AFL just means it's part of his development.
I no longer have high hopes for Allan, but I think one of the areas I’ll rein it in on him this year is around how he imposes himself at ground level. My 2025 take was that he wasn’t competitive enough and lacked urgency. My 2026 take is a little more nuanced in that while they don’t look like strengths it’s potentially because he was struggling to be his best self within our system. It takes some longer than others to figure that out and some are better than others while they are.

I ultimately doubt both he and HDM go on to be impactful players at senior level, but circumstance could well play a part. Specifically for those two the use of Jaicos and fitness of our midfield will dictate opportunities.

The talk of delayed impact with Allan and HDM is fascinating. Allan the high pick project player who will take time. Built for modern football. HDM immediate impact player off the back of 2023 flag. Hard at it, leadership and hair. Both please.

I've always thought HDM's main problem was his rushed disposals. If Pendles can teach him how to slow down time then he could be great.
I have heard glowing endorsement of HDM from VFL experts. I have not felt the same. I want him to click, to be more than a promising VFL player. Last year I felt Frampton clicked against Coburg. With confidence he gained a presence on the field. Some of this for Allen and HDM would be wonderful. With the right mix they could deliver so much. Hoping.

He would only have had to miss a session or two before he started building up his gradual training. It will have negligible impact on his selection prospects.
Jen said it has been fairly negligible. Which is good to see. He is not in a position to be giving fellow aspirants any ‘headstart’ whatsoever.

Yep, another overlooked scenario. I really believe those 2 will get games over Prindable and Swadling this year. I remember Gavin Brown spent a whole pre season practising his marking skills, he ended up playing FF. Maybe we should get him back to help Ed with this.
Was interesting in his podcast with Titch, that Ned Long said one of his main priorities this off season was to improve his overhead marking and take advantage of his height

Interesting also to note that both Long and Allan were small midfielders until they both had big growth spurts when about 17. So both did not have marking as a strength coming through the juniors

Was interesting in his podcast with Titch, that Ned Long said one of his main priorities this off season was to improve his overhead marking and take advantage of his height

Interesting also to note that both Long and Allan were small midfielders until they both had big growth spurts when about 17. So both did not have marking as a strength coming through the juniors
Neds biggest issue is his disposal efficiency ..he needs to be working on this more than anything else

If they can both add strong marking to their game it would make us much more dangerous