AFL Autopsy Practice Match - St. Kilda vs. Essendon - Mars Stadium 3:10pm 28/02

Not bad boys, that looked like a 70/80 blowout , fought it out.
Now go and flog that filth Saints.
Get on board with us next week, not much unites us like playing the Pies!

Count me an unabashed Archie Roberts fan. Kids got a real campaigner streak but plays it the right way. Good luck this year

We need to have an honest conversation about Bradley Scott, he needs to sacked once the seasons over cause he’s holding us back. Need to start having dialogue with John Longmire or pick an elite assistant coach from a hawthorn, Brisbane, Geelong and keep it moving.

Merrett’s been a Liability with his kicking for the last 12 months, he’s really been essigntoned. Durham had a smelly game, idk if he’s been impacted by the knock from last week. Blackiston is dog 💩. Perkins I like as a player but he’s not developing into the player I envisioned for him. Prior is another list clogger that needs to be delisted come the season ends. Fiorini is a solid player but he looks too passive and just doesn’t offer any physicality. Ben McKay is bloody awful, I used to hate BZT, but McKay might honestly be worse. When we signed him I had low expectations but holy f*** he is 💩.

Positives, we really have a nice young core which we just need to get games into. We need to just keep investing In the draft and give Rosa more opportunities to pluck elite, physically imposing players cause we looked very vulnerable today. However the boys we selected in 2024 & 2025 look super impressive.

Feel like we've been out coached.
We barely got any i50 marks, yet Saints got many.
Our mid to fwd transition doesn't seem to have improved in all the years Scott's coached us.

Saints are a class above, got the coach, star players. Looks like they'll go far this year.

Been into town so missed Q2-4, and have opted to read the game day thread for insight.
Interesting.
Blakiston seems to get a tick.
Mids nowhere. Wondering if they were going half pace? ...if Brad was experimenting a bit and they knew this; Prior on wing, Merrett forward, Roberts mid etc.
Pleasingly, a number of 'Sharp to Caddys'.
Johnson it sounds like, had a good game.
...and apparently Roberts got heaps of ball but can't kick and is undisciplined.

Disappointingly, sounds like May didn't get much tog/opportunity?

Accurate?

No injuries, some good signs from young guys. Those that were out for a bit last season starting to find some touch.

NWM …good lord what a player!! Will watch Saints games for this bloke

Feel like we've been out coached.
We barely got any i50 marks, yet Saints got many.
Our mid to fwd transition doesn't seem to have improved in all the years Scott's coached us.

Saints are a class above, got the coach, star players. Looks like they'll go far this year.

Scott is a transition coach for us, to bring us stability.

This is the year where we don't see evidence of improvement in the form of a gameplan that'll win games (once the list matures), effort and intensity, we should look for a new coach.

Been into town so missed Q2-4, and have opted to read the game day thread for insight.
Interesting.
Mids nowhere. Wondering if they were going half pace? ...if Brad was experimenting a bit and they knew this; Prior on wing, Merrett forward, Roberts mid etc.
...and apparently Roberts got heaps of ball but can't kick and is undisciplined.

Accurate?
Accurate

Interesting.

Accurate?

Mids started good early especially in the wet really cracked in. As the game wore on and the ground dried up the Saints bigger bodies got on top and started doing whatever they wanted.

ghostdog

Wright was getting tripple teamed in the wet for 3 quarters while also rucking. Thought he played well.

May got a couple of touches at the end of good transition touches in the final minutes. Played about a quarter. Was outmatched as a ruck. Took 1 good contested mark. Was on the receiving end of the best kick of Archie Perkins Career

Mids started good early especially in the wet really cracked in. As the game wore on and the ground dried up the Saints bigger bodies got on top and started doing whatever they wanted.

ghostdog

Wright was getting tripple teamed in the wet for 3 quarters while also rucking.

May got a couple of touches at the end of good transition touches in the final minutes. Played about a quarter. Was outmatched as a ruck. Took 1 good contested mark.
So Tsatas is still phobic about contact. I hope he looks at Phillipou's game, gets revved and finds a pair. He might not be contracted next year if he doesn't find something soon. I would have liked today to have had some last chance saloon kind of vibe for him and see if he cracks in.
Hopefully Calders is okay... maybe Elijah does get a go though if not.

So Tsatas is still phobic about contact. I hope he looks at Phillipou's game, gets revved and finds a pair. He might not be contracted next year if he doesn't find something soon. I would have liked today to have had some last chance saloon kind of vibe for him and see if he cracks in.

I think Brad Scott just shit lists players and your not going to play if your on it. Didn’t play today.

Can’t say I understand much of what Scott’s doing with the midfield beyond trying to recapture the success of the Parish Merrett Sheil trio with various combinations of Parish Caldwell Roberts and Merret

We need to have an honest conversation about Bradley Scott, he needs to sacked once the seasons over cause he’s holding us back. Need to start having dialogue with John Longmire or pick an elite assistant coach from a hawthorn, Brisbane, Geelong and keep it moving.

Merrett’s been a Liability with his kicking for the last 12 months, he’s really been essigntoned. Durham had a smelly game, idk if he’s been impacted by the knock from last week. Blackiston is dog 💩. Perkins I like as a player but he’s not developing into the player I envisioned for him. Prior is another list clogger that needs to be delisted come the season ends. Fiorini is a solid player but he looks too passive and just doesn’t offer any physicality. Ben McKay is bloody awful, I used to hate BZT, but McKay might honestly be worse. When we signed him I had low expectations but holy f*** he is 💩.

Positives, we really have a nice young core which we just need to get games into. We need to just keep investing In the draft and give Rosa more opportunities to pluck elite, physically imposing players cause we looked very vulnerable today. However the boys we selected in 2024 & 2025 look super impressive.
Nice melt

Calders came off injured?

I thought it was an okay showing, solidified my belief that we will be competitive most weeks but finish somewhere in the 12-16 range.

Pretty much all of the young crop showed some good signs. Nguyen, Johnson, Kondo and Sharp in particular impressed me.

Parish, Caldwell and Durham all putting in stinkers wasn't ideal, but hopefully just blowing out a few cobwebs.

I think Brad Scott just shit lists players and your not going to play if your on it. Didn’t play today.

Can’t say I understand much of what Scott’s doing with the midfield beyond trying to recapture the success of the Parish Merrett Sheil trio with various combinations of Parish Caldwell Roberts and Merret

How I miss those glory days

Scott is a transition coach for us, to bring us stability.

This is the year where we don't see evidence of improvement in the form of a gameplan that'll win games (once the list matures), effort and intensity, we should look for a new coach.
Yeah I've been a Scott supporter, but if there isn't improvement the drums will be pretty loud.
Longmire is available but probs for Tassie? I bet we look at Kenny.

Actually drove down to ballarat as had no plans today and my wife is a saints supporter.
As others have said NWM is a star, we also had no answer to Liam Ryan, as usual.
Midfield seemed to be operating in 2nd gear so was hard to get a read and lets be honest theres not much to take out of these games.

Probably the biggest issue I noted is we still seem to have the issue where too many of our guys get drawn into the contest instead of maintaining their width so if saints win the contested ball they have heaps of free guys on the outside (probably a by product of our mids being down).
Other common issue was kicking poorly into 50, lots of deep kicks to goal square that just got rushed through.

On positive side thought blakiston was very impressive as were johnson and nguyen. Langford seems to be very mobile again and reid/mckay built into the game (although got very frustrated with them both trying to clunk marks with a slippery ball instead of spoiling to the boundary).
Huss also looked very lively in first half even if the opportunities dried up in 2nd half.

Their ruck duo was better which you would expect.
They had the advantage at CC. We were okay at stoppage.
Kicking efficiency from a few of our guys was poor. Too many under 35%.
Marking in front of the ball still a work in progress.
We had a crack, but we are where we are at. At least there was some positive stuff in parts from Johnson, Nguyen, Sharp, HEA.
It is what it is. We are a team that is still transitioning.
They would want to look better than us given how they have recruited recently.

Interesting.

Accurate?
always has been.jpg