Arsenal, Ferrari
ROUND 3, 2026: PORT ADELAIDE vs. WEST COAST EAGLES

1774438752503.webp

Well.

A week certainly is a long time in footy, eh?

Let's cast our minds back to the Monday after Round 1. For the second season running, we'd been absolutely pantsed in our season opener by the most forced, manufactured, propped up sporting franchise on the face of the earth. Nepo Babies FC defeated us to the tune of 59 points, and for a lot of Eagles fans the feeling can be summed up with this image:

herewego.webp

To compound that, our next opponents had just shocked the footy world by not only beating Port Adelaide, but thumping them. North emerged 46 point victors in a game that not many gave them a chance in.

Coming into the season, a lot of us would have circled Round 2 vs. North as a potential win. That perception was all but shattered at the end of Round 1.

And by quarter time vs. North, not much had changed. After Willem 'Big Willy' Duursma opened the scoring - and his AFL account, North would go on to kick 7 of the next 9 goals to lead us by 24 points at the first change - with the only other highlight for Eagles fans in the first quarter being Cooper Duff-Tytler bobbing up eloquently to kick his first career goal in red time.

View attachment 2263606-556fee232676dfb9e2a100ca18bee790.mp4
Full credit to DorothyG for the footage I've shamelessly stolen

Little did we know what our Eagles had in store for us though. After leaking 7 goals in the first quarter, North would only score 8 more for the entire game.

West Coast came out hunting the man, hunting the footy, hunting the win. It was a sight not seen at Optus Stadium for some time.

There was attack on the ball, there was intent, there was accountability, and there was some pride in the ****ing jumper.

Many fans will remember the day that Jordan De Goey sniped Elijah Hewit Hewuit Houghit Hewett as the day where not a single senior player remonstrated as one of their junior talents got absolutely dog shot behind the play.

The circumstances with Harley v Charlie on the weekend were quite different, with Harley largely the cause of his own demise (but flying the flag for his teammate who got clotheslined is in no way a bad thing, do it again Harls.)

The response from his teammates indicated a clear cultural shift at the footy club, as almost every player in blue and gold rushed in to fly the flag for HR9.

1774441133158.webp

1774441068154.webp

This was a huge moment not only in the game, but the rebuild for mine. How long has it been since we've seen a West Coast side play with so much pride in the jumper?

For the first time in a while I saw the vision. Yeah it was still rough around the edges at times, but this side can play some ****ing good footy when it clicks.

OUR NEXT BIG TEST?
Our challenge this week is a unique one, as we bounce down at the inexplicable time of 9.30am WST in Adelaide. Earliest game in AFL history for a travelling side to have to play. Thanks Dillon.

Port are coming in off a training session against a bunch of red and black traffic cones who genuinely may not win a game this season. But hey, they got to keep their mercenary Zach Merrett. Good for them.

It's hard to get a gauge on Port as they've had one lopsided result in each column: made to look very average by North at Marvel, followed by looking a million bucks at home against the mighty Bombers. One thing to take into account is they've lost their skipper, Connor Rozee, which will certainly hurt their distribution off half back. Miles Bergman is also expected to miss.

Jason Horne-Francis has had an injury interrupted pre-season and spent a lot of time forward against Essendon as he continues to build match fitness. He kicked 3 goals against Essendon, but I reckon I could camp my Dad's urn in the goal square against Essington and he'd still kick a bag.

One department Port do have thin stocks in is the ruck, with Darcy Visentini dropped after his performance against North, and Jordan Sweet only managing 25 hitouts against the duo of 13 gamer Lachy Blakiston and whatever is left of Peter Wright. A rare reprieve for Matt Flynn? Or a potential chance for BBW to come in and show the footy world that he's now the greatest ruck on Earth with the new rules? Time will tell.

Also, let me know when Jordan Sweet does this:

Seriously, Blamires has only been on an AFL list for a month and he's already had his ankles broken by Matthew Flynn. Back to Sandringham me thinks.

KEY MATCHUPS

MUMMYS BOY v DADDY HARLEY
1774442211478.webp

1774442264596.webp
Punters may remember this fixture from last season, where Harley and Jason 'The Horny One' Horne-Francis had a perfectly respectful conversation regarding how loyal Jason has been to the football club that drafted him.

Expect these two to resume hostilities, where Harley will emerge victorious but the AFL media will still find something to crucify him for. Harley is coming in off a career best game with 30 touches, 5 tackles, 1 unpunished elbow to the jaw, and literal millions of triggered grown adults because he dared fly the flag for his team mate who was decapitated on national televison.

1774442515031.webp
He ducked into it ump, I swear!

WHERE'S BUTTERS? IN THE FRIDGE!

Butters! He's the one for mine. Port may be missing Rozee, but their main man Zak Butters could be in for a big day if we let him off the chain. Butters enjoyed 36 disposals vs. the Jabbers, 26 of which were kicks, resulting in 771 metres gained. Defensive mids Jack Graham and Dev Throbinson will have their work cut out to keep this downhill skier under control if Port get a run on.

1774442908675.webp

MY HOPES AND DREAMS vs. MILAN MURDOCKS HAMSTRING
1774443098555.webp

Come on man, let me enjoy my new toy for more than 2 ****ing weeks before the footy gods take him away from me. A month ago he wasn't even on the list and suddenly Milan Murdock is shaping as a big loss for the Eagles. A fan favourite after just 2 games, Milan has set the standards in both games with his hunger, tenacity, goal sense, and general campaignerism. No doubt he is a huge out for us.

CAN WE DO IT AGAIN?
Absolutely. If we bring the same hunger for the football we did against North, we can absolutely give Port a sucker punch and come away with the points here. Last week needs to be the standard though. We've shown we can do it at home, now it's time to do it on the road.

No doubt Murdock and Edwards are big outs but in a refreshing change of scenery for the club, we do have cattle to plug the holes.

Prediction: West Coast by however much profit the club has already pocketed off the Ochre range.

Changes:

1774612048909.webp

Final Lineups:

1774612251072.webp

Love it. Hey I’ve got a feeling Port who were already so ever reliant on the big three ain’t gonna be shit down one, plus Bergman out doesn’t help. I think their depth is thin regardless which leaves them vulnerable.

Definitely hard to get a gauge on 2026 Port but it’s likely they’ll be inconsistent at the best of times this year with a new coach and middling list, not to mention the hot and cold nature of them for years proceeding the change.

Getting spanked by North and then beating the clear worst current team in the league on form isn’t overly scary if we can bring some of the same intent from Sunday. I think we are very much in this one, as per my thoughts going into the North game

You know what, I've just realised the footage of CDT I included isn't even his goal, it's him handballing it to my boy Jamie 'better than Banfield' Cripps.

You campaigners get the idea, ill fix it tomorrow (probably)

Port in the preseason did a great job of protecting the corridor and forcing us wide/to win with precision skills. Same shit as Q1 North, where we were winning the contest and not playing poorly by any stretch, then killing everything with one disgusting turnover that led straight to a goal.

Keen to see how we’ve adjusted since that preseason game, because they put something of a blueprint out there, so we’ve had a chance to adjust.

Port also elite tier flat trackers who can’t fire a shot if you take it up to them but will run away from teams who don’t, interesting times ahead.

Port in the preseason did a great job of protecting the corridor and forcing us wide/to win with precision skills. Same shit as Q1 North, where we were winning the contest and not playing poorly by any stretch, then killing everything with one disgusting turnover that led straight to a goal.

Keen to see how we’ve adjusted since that preseason game, because they put something of a blueprint out there, so we’ve had a chance to adjust.

Port also elite tier flat trackers who can’t fire a shot if you take it up to them but will run away from teams who don’t, interesting times ahead.

That entire game was like us in Q1 v North. Just burning the ball every time we had it. Even though we did it all game, we still ended up with more F50 entries than Port.

Provided we're not half-asleep(unlikely) and have our skills tidied up before the start of the game, we should expect things to go a lot differently than the preseason.

Maybe not a win but should be a good showing at least.

We get them at a good time. Rozee is out injured, Horne-Francis isn’t at full capacity yet and they’re coming off pantsing who could be the worst side of the year.

If we can nullify Butters and Horne-Francis then we’ll go along way to being competitive. There looked like we had some sore bodies by full-time on Sunday, so I’m not against bringing in someone like Hall or The Berg to support our on ballers. We can do it, but backing up from last week’s win might be a mountain too steep for our kids at this stage of the cycle.

Sux Murdoch is out. Will the club depress us even more by bringing in Owies? Or will they let the excitement continue by giving either Champion or Tyler a game.

Port in the preseason did a great job of protecting the corridor and forcing us wide/to win with precision skills.
We went wide so often in that game that I'm not sure we weren't just trying out a plan B game - wide, long down the line, don't play on. Every. Time. Maybe it was because Port were putting on elite pressure, or maybe it was preseason and we were keeping our powder dry?

Thats why im having trouble on how i feel, buzz sawed by GC but second half was better, bitch slapped in q1 then dominated roos. port got bent over by roos but dominated essendon who stink. so who sits where in the power rankings

The outcome this week is much attitude reliant. Port Adelaide despise us. They are playing in front of their home ferals. Our teenagers have never seen this before and it will be the polar opposite atmosphere than last week. Expect to see more clangers, missed shots, poorer decisions from our youth. Yeo, Cripps, Waterman, Kelly massive this week for their experience and leadership. Glad Yeo is with Harley. Dev allows Kelly some more freedom. McCarthy shows poise kicking from def 50. Who can go with Butters? We will see. We will need to be close enough in clearance differential and to kick straight I feel.

Thats why im having trouble on how i feel, buzz sawed by GC but second half was better, bitch slapped in q1 then dominated roos. port got bent over by roos but dominated essendon who stink. so who sits where in the power rankings
buzz-sawed, bitch slapped and bent over - exciting life!

As long as we're in the contest for the majority of the day I'll be fine.

Don't wanna get smoked early and then "save face" when the result is already well gone.

Got a feelin' we're gonna have a down week this week. Kids tried their guts out on Sunday and will probably struggle to back it up in a dawn fixture. Thats just the way it goes with young sides.

Rudimentary 5 goal loss for mine. So long as we dont sustain any injuries and dont let the margin blow out, I'll be happy.

is lindsay expected to play?
Unlikely imo if Baker is cleared to play. Mini didn’t give much away in his presser but we might go small in defence.

Also didn’t except him to be dropped last week so who knows.

Young - Whitlock
Ginbey - Georgiades
Allan - Lukosius
Hough - JHF (when forward)
Duggan/Baker/McCarthy - Berry/Richards/Durdin

They might go with one of Maric, Cole or Lindsay incase they never to swing McCarthy into the midfield. Maric might be best suited because he should be able to play the tall and small role but that’s still yet to be shown