Autopsy Round 3 - Saints v Lions

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

I don't think Ro is slowing down at all. He has only ever been effective as a starting ruck and right now he's at the peak of his powers. That's why he tried to leave, because we decided to make him a backup ruck/forward when he should be in the AA ruck conversation.
I agree. Marshall is not a full time forward at AFL level and should have been traded last year. He is 30 and I’d be looking at Dodson for a future TDK combo.

Philipou needs to hone his midfield craft in the VFL, he is not getting it done in the AFL, with Garcia, Nas(all 3 are not even full time mids in the juniors and only started playing full time mids in AFl this year) also in the middle, we are too inexperienced and not good enough in the middle. compared that to Neale, Berry, Ashcroft * 2, no wonder we got slaughtered in the middle.

Should have Windhager, Hall and Flanders in there, it’s still lacking in size and speed, but at least it should break even.

I'm actually more concerned with Flanders lack of impact on ball so far. He's helping my fantasy teams but his actual impact on games feels minimal.

All of his best work at the Suns was on the outside, running through halfback and the wing, linking up.

The problem is we lack on proper on ball bulls to feed that sort of style consistently so he has to start on ball all the time.

I'd love to have him in a rotation with Naz, Sinc and Windy through halfback, just get him some easy ball in space.

Let’s not forget we just played against a Brisbane side that’s won the last two premierships and had five players in the All-Australian under 22 team. We only had 1 player, Nas.

They have some much elite young talent it’s ridiculous.

Meanwhile our first round NGA kids are either drafted by other clubs or denied access outright...

Gotta love that "equalization" policy 🙄

In the perfect world of health and happiness.

Is this the ideal forward line

Sharman Tauru Ryan
Owens King Higgins

There’s some outrageous marking in that lot

Doubt we get King.

If he leaves the Suns he'd have to be a lock at Collingwood.

He looked sore today. He seemed to have a back issue.

I thought he was actually doing a tag job on Zorko at one stage.

Was a weird game all around...

More annoying letting the Pies and Dees games go rather than getting beaten by the nepos.

Was good to see Sharman find some form again.

Just put Hall in the middle 70/30

I'm liking Viking up forward.

Pou needs to drop a couple kgs and get his mobility back.

Flanders is building

Missed a senior experienced midfielder in the last.

Carroll out and Hastie in

I reckon Carroll has been alright lately.

Meanwhile our first round NGA kids are either drafted by other clubs or denied access outright...

Gotta love that "equalization" policy 🙄
We've actually gained access to most of our nga's.
Who went elsewhere that we couldnt get?
Just saying
Not agreeing with the rules around it.

They had the class in the last ten minutes didn't they. We fumbled while they took clean hands. They won probably 90% of the clearances in that period.

They're really a formidable side and will go very close again this year. I'm still filthy we lost though, would have been such a sweet victory.

Pretty spot on with your post however not sure what Butler added apart from lack of pressure & defence, had little impact with 9 d's, 2 tackles & 8 pressure acts. Not suprised after his VFL game with similar low impact. Hope he shows up against Port.

Agree we just gotta keep playing Taru, he'll gain consistency with more experience and if we don't he'll be tempted by Tassie. Solid kicking technique

Probably set up at least 2 goals.

Agree with Carroll

I think with Garcia & Wilson you are being generous, both were brilliant last week but very meh the other 3 games

The guys that improved most are guys around 100 games. Owens, Windhager, Sharman etc. Young players are going to be a lot less even. In a gun side kids don't have to do the heavy lifting so tend to look better.

When I saw the club statement I thought surely not him again?
If true, another 6 weeks suspension probably. Sounds like he’s playing frustrated, but still not ok.
Reckon he’ll be off home end of season.
6 he will get 10 at least since it looks like he doesnt learn from his mistakes , i was talking to someone today who has a mate high up at Sandy and he was saying every time Lance was sent back to play for Sandy he carried on like a sook .
Talent will only take you so far , im affraid this kid hasnt got the drive to make it

I can only say this so many times.

“ we need more from Pou” he literally played 60% game time.

The second lowest for us.
I think the Poo has read too many of your posts and got well ahead of himself , he needs to lift big time like the Viking who gets 4 touches a game

I mean sure… but that’s just not how the rules work
I'll put it this way. The umpire blows time on for a mark then play on if that's what the player does ie "advantage". A player on the deck now stops that? Sure. What's your rule?

Put Flanders hbf where he would accumulate at GC.
Windy, Hall, Nas, McRae, full time midfield rotation. Why wouldn't you put your best mids in the midfield?
Owens has improved up forward. Thought he was good, and Wilson is building nicely.