VAFA General Discussion

Someone mentioned $900 at one club. If you’re a battler with the mortgage or a student doing casual work to get by, not having to cover that sum has some meaning. None at all if you’re monied.

You seem a bit confused.

Mate, you're crapping on about if it's within the ammo ethos if a player has a sponsor to cover their subs. It is. What were you trying to insinuate?

As I said, who gives a shit how they are covered. Getting them paid means any bloke/kid can play footy. That's a good thing and fits the ammo ethos perfectly.

Some pretty average comments on the Preston Facebook page regarding them missing out on the Preston City Oval facility. It’s a pretty impressive facility and imo wouldn’t really suit an Ammo club.

Nothing wrong with an amateur club pushing to be bigger and better, especially at a time when clubs are unfortunately disappearing from the VAFA. No reason why it couldn't have been a shared facility with the Ammos and other tenants. The ground clearly means quite a lot to Preston people.

Someone mentioned $900 at one club. If you’re a battler with the mortgage or a student doing casual work to get by, not having to cover that sum has some meaning. None at all if you’re monied.

You seem a bit confused.
A couple of A Grade clubs are well above $750. That’s alot of money. You add Gala Ball and A presentation night plus plus it really adds up

The boys up the road from us pay $750 an they are a professional league. Image who pays, not the new guns, just the little back i pop coat in the 2’s.

Nothing wrong with an amateur club pushing to be bigger and better, especially at a time when clubs are unfortunately disappearing from the VAFA. No reason why it couldn't have been a shared facility with the Ammos and other tenants. The ground clearly means quite a lot to Preston people.
Nothing against clubs pushing to be better but the carry on from their members is ordinary when realistically they aren’t a related entity to the VFL or VFA programs.

Should still be a VFL team there , they were reemed to allow St Sooks in

A couple of A Grade clubs are well above $750. That’s alot of money. You add Gala Ball and A presentation night plus plus it really adds up

The boys up the road from us pay $750 a they are a professional league. Image who pays, not the new guns, just the little back i pop coat in the 2’s.
Actually Max the senior men pay $675, senior women less, and uni, apprentice or part time is about $495

As for who pays - they ALL have too or it must be declared/added into the salary cap as a benefit to the player as per AFL Vic rules and that gets audited, unlike ammo clubs.

So before you get on here having a pop at us, Id suggest you think about it .... would not want it to get out on what's happening at the lodge with your 'guns'.

Actually Max the senior men pay $675, senior women less, and uni, apprentice or part time is about $495

As for who pays - they ALL have too or it must be declared/added into the salary cap as a benefit to the player as per AFL Vic rules and that gets audited, unlike ammo clubs.

So before you get on here having a pop at us, Id suggest you think about it .... would not want it to get out on what's happening at the lodge with your 'guns'.
No pop mate. It is a genuine question. Not being part of a professional league, I’m not sure of the process.

I do like the discount for students/apprentices.

Northern have grabbed it back for finals too which could spark panic at HQ as I know they were very pleased with it.

It's been an NFNL finals venue for some time now and as such has played a big role in showcasing the best teams in the North playing at a venue in the North. The NFNL do not have and EP.

The reason it was not played there last year and opened the door for VAFA use in 2025 was that the previous NFNL management and Preston FC could not come to an agreement. As both parties have seen change in the past 6 months negotiations we reopened between NFNL and the council.

Further to that, the Northen Knights program serves ALL competitions across the north, so I suppose letting them have tenancy there also makes sense if you look at this as the premier venue in the North, serving the North and not just Preston.

So all players have subs deducted from match payments? Just interested

It's been an NFNL finals venue for some time now and as such has played a big role in showcasing the best teams in the North playing at a venue in the North. The NFNL do not have and EP.

The reason it was not played there last year and opened the door for VAFA use in 2025 was that the previous NFNL management and Preston FC could not come to an agreement. As both parties have seen change in the past 6 months negotiations we reopened between NFNL and the council.

Further to that, the Northen Knights program serves ALL competitions across the north, so I suppose letting them have tenancy there also makes sense if you look at this as the premier venue in the North, serving the North and not just Preston.
That's fair enough but given the struggle HQ has in landing finals venues outside of EP and Sandy complicates matters. Coburg will see more use this year (if the EDFL don't decide to grab it) and Box Hill is also unavailable.

It is indeed a shame somewhere like a Latrobe Uni can't be used as a venue after what I saw yesterday with 2 grounds (although the 2nd ground needs a scoreboard).

My understanding of the rules I have read are players must pay their subs separately to what they get paid.

But only how I have interpreted things I have read, not involved so maybe others would have better insights.
Its very easy to give a player a link to to discount voucher through the PlayHQ rego process. Happens in cricket all the time

Our blokes pay about 600 and that includes free meals every Thursday night
At about 550 for us, with students around the 420 mark.

Re: sponsors, we have players who can organise their own, e.g., dads mate owns a landscaping company and shouts his subs, and we have old boys and businesses who offer to sponsor a player or two as part of their general sponsorship package to the club