List Mgmt. 2026 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

EHollands and ZWilliams should be our half forwards. They both kick goals when playing there and offer good run and carry options through the middle. It’s not hard.
Agree they are both very good there.

I really liked EHollands game against roos in particular...whether it was coaching instructions or just him taking the game on in the best way he could but he seemed to make things happen...and score goals.

It was refreshing to see some footy nous in our players.

Recruiting is drafting.
National Recruiting Manager's main role and responsibility is the draft.

List Manager is in charge of the overall list strategy, salary and contract management, targeting players from other clubs.
There's obviously collaboration, but that's the basic breakdown.

That may have been the case at our club in recent times, but other clubs operate differently

Mark McKenzie is the National Recruiting and List Manager at the Hawthorn Football Club, overseeing list management and recruiting strategy.

One person that has the final say on all list management decisions.

That's no excuse to give someone a 3-year contract.

FMD

To get Reidy across it was probably needed and it's apparently low money spread across three years

We needed another Ruck on our list so IMO it's not a big deal. I actually think he will be more than handy

Running after someone else’s guy after they haven’t paid attention to them all day, nah mate, I’m good, but I'll make it look like I'm trying.

When I was working in the NBL one of the players during a timeout on national television screamed at his teammates "turn around and find a ****ing man."

It was funny watching the higlights later but the team was getting pantsed because of the lack of defense. Wide open shot after wide open shot.

This has become a catch cry for me watching this team the last 18 months.

You're right about the skipper too. He and a few other leaders are among our biggest culprits.

Slowly starting to remind me of the final year of Marc Murphy. Nowhere close to that level yet but the signs are there.

To get Reidy across it was probably needed and it's apparently low money spread across three years

We needed another Ruck on our list so IMO it's not a big deal. I actually think he will be more than handy

I hope you're right about this guy Soap...

I'm not keen on him based on what I saw.

I went to Sydney for opening round and seeing a guy who let's face it, was given a life line by us with an opportunity to step up and prove himself absolutely gassed in the later stages of the third quarter really turned me off. I mean, he's 25, not 18... if he couldn't motivate himself to get his fitness to standard and run out a game by now then I have big doubts he ever will. Then there's his ability... very limited based on what I saw but admittedly, very small sample size.

What had Reidy shown at his time at Fremantle to demonstrate he was worth a 3-year contract?

If I can be critical of one thing Austin has repeatedly done it's hand out long-term contracts to undeserving players.

We haven't been successful enough in developing players to be doing this.

Much of the other issues afflicting list and recruitment management I'll put on Agresta. I'm excited to see who we bring in to address these issues moving forward.

What had Reidy shown at his time at Fremantle to demonstrate he was worth a 3-year contract?

If I can be critical of one thing Austin has repeatedly done it's hand out long-term contracts to undeserving players.

Agreed. Contracts is his biggest problem.

Seen too many now to not be concerned with what he's doing.

Walsh 8 years was way overboard too... if we were a serious club, we wouldn't sign off on that... but rather, we're worried about losing Sam Walsh the brand...

Sam Walsh the player... I think we're all deep down hoping a change of coach next year will ignite something in him because let's be real here, he is not the player he was projecting to become... some of that is attributed to Voss and the other coaches, but some of that is on him too...

Much of the other issues afflicting list and recruitment management I'll put on Agresta. I'm excited to see who we bring in to address these issues moving forward.
Why does the length of the deal matter if the salary cap cost is low? Gives us a guaranteed ruckman at either senior or VFL level for 3 years. At his age, potentially warranted too. Mountain out of a molehill imo

What matters is, so many lengthy contracts means list spots are taken and we have to pay them out to get rid of them...

Don't care what anyone says, that is poor list management.

I hope you're right about this guy Soap...

I'm not keen on him based on what I saw.

I went to Sydney for opening round and seeing a guy who let's face it, was given a life line by us with an opportunity to step up and prove himself absolutely gassed in the later stages of the third quarter really turned me off. I mean, he's 25, not 18... if he couldn't motivate himself to get his fitness to standard and run out a game by now then I have big doubts he ever will. Then there's his ability... very limited based on what I saw but admittedly, very small sample size.

He isn't go to be a Star. He is a Handy List player. Every list needs these players. TBH last week he was quite good.

We need him as back up to Pittonet. At the end of the year we need a young project or potential gun ruck. TBH what more could we have done? Most lists have 3. We have Pitt, Reidy supported by HOK & Young

I don't think it's an issue

Constant as in same type of thinking/culture/errors etc..not same people.

It looks like we might be finally on the right track with GWright...

Even that has changed dramatically.
We've gone from a 13 person board controlled by the Pratts and the Mathiesons to an 8 person board.

Even that has changed dramatically.
We've gone from a 13 person board controlled by the Pratts and the Mathiesons to an 8 person board.
Ok, so what hasn't changed and what is the cause of our crapness for so long?

Why cant we get a good footy department going?

And don't say bad umpiring decisions 😂

That may have been the case at our club in recent times, but other clubs operate differently

Mark McKenzie is the National Recruiting and List Manager at the Hawthorn Football Club, overseeing list management and recruiting strategy.

One person that has the final say on all list management decisions.

Yes, and we are restructuring our List Management department, although they haven't announced what the new structure will be.

He isn't go to be a Star. He is a Handy List player. Every list needs these players. TBH last week he was quite good.

We need him as back up to Pittonet. At the end of the year we need a young project or potential gun ruck. TBH what more could we have done? Most lists have 3. We have Pitt, Reidy supported by HOK & Young

I don't think it's an issue

I'm not expecting him to be a star... and I get why we got him.

But you don't need to be a star to show the commitment required. Let's see how he goes... wholistically, we have much bigger problems...
He's been excellent in the VFL the last fortnight. Hopefully OR was an aberration.

Ok, so what hasn't changed and what is the cause of our crapness for so long?

Why cant we get a good footy department going?

And don't say bad umpiring decisions 😂

Well, look at who our Heads of Football have been.
Davies seems to be a dramatic improvement there, but these changes take time to have influence on the field.

More broadly with the club, we were an absolute basket case post Elliot and the destruction he wrought. It wasn't until LoGiudice took over as President that we actually got serious, and went about fixing the off field. Hopefully the changes made last year mean that we can fix the on field.

Been thinking through the list, and where we find ourselves. I've gone over our contracts year by year, and looked at what the priorities are. You can already get a snapshot of where the list team thinks the list is at, based on how few we've got locked in beyond next year. Some of this is obviously subject to change - it's obviously very early in the season, and much can change (except our likelihood to be involved in finals). Some of these players could come on, and I think by seasons end, we'll have a better idea about many of them. It's also just one person's opinion, too, but I've tried to be objective about it and tried not to overestimate anyone's potential, or lean too much into personal favourites. That said, I'm sure a few of my takes are controversial, especially Cripps...

2026 Contracts

Keep:

• Elijah: Complicated by the fact that he’s a lifetime DFA now. If it’s on talent, then he gets two years. We should be pushing for a behaviour clause, but you can see a contending team swooping in with a better contract offer.
  • Oliie: You’d think he gets at least a 2-year offer, given he's an established member of the team. But right now, I’d drop him and make him earn his spot back before there’s a contract conversation.
  • Billy Wilson: We need to give him a proper run at AFL level this year to see if he can make it. I reckon he can and would offer 2 years. Of all our developing players, he’s the I really want to work out.
  • 2 x Campos: I think it’s 2 years apiece. They are both still developing. Unless they stall out this year, in which case I’d still be inclined to offer 1 more. Ben probably doesn’t fit our mix until Crippa moves on, but that could be sooner than later.
  • Boyd: 1 year. Still one of our best kicks. Let the next coach make a call on him.
  • Frankie: Happy enough with another year on the rookie list. Unless he really regresses this year, in which case we delist.
  • Newman: If he doesn’t retire, I’d offer him another year if the body is ok – I want him mentoring HOF and Dean on the field. A transition to coaching, if that’s what he wants.
  • Williams: He should explore his options, but I’d be inclined to offer him another year on a contract weighted towards match payments. He’s still best 23 for us and makes us a better team when he’s fit, but he's probably fairly close to the end.
Move on:
  • Lewis Young: Should explore the market, but if there's no interest, then we should delist. I know we need KPD depth, but if he’s our depth, then we’re not going anywhere.
  • Fog: Sorry Fog, we need to move past you, and if we don’t delist you, the match committee will probably keep selecting you.
  • Saad: I hope it’s a retirement rather than a delisting. We need his skillset, but we need it in a young player who can do it in our next premiership.
  • Monahan and Duffy: – Monahan’s last year as a Cat B, Duffy might have one more? I don’t watch enough VFL, but it doesn’t seem like either are close to the senior list.
  • McGovern: Same as last year. explore your options, doubt there’s much interest. Delist/1yr deal depending on how trade period goes.
  • Haynes: Potentially 1yr as cover for Dean and HoF, especially if we let McGovern and Young go. Probably opts to retire, though.
Wait until the end of the year:
  • Flynn Young & HOK: Like Wilson, they need games this year. I’d favour a one-year extension on both if we’re not sure.
  • Charleson & Derksen: Too little info to know if either are AFL standard yet. It’s make or break for Derksen this year (hope he makes it!), Charleson, we might want to give another year.
2027 Contracts (to action this year):

Keep:

• Matt Carroll: - Has DFA status next year, so we should lock him in later this year if we want to keep him, before other clubs get in his ear.
  • HOF: I’d be inclined to offer two years this year, provided we know the knee is tracking well.
Tough Conversations:
  • Cripps: Probably my biggest call. Sorry, Crippa - it hasn’t been the career you deserved. He won’t be captain next year, and there should be no guarantee beyond his current contract - at best, it'll be a year at a time, and waiting until the end of trade season. Any trade value disappears next year, so if there's a contender that he wants to roll the dice with, or if he wants to go mentor Harley Reid for a couple of years, we should look to do it this year.
  • Acres: We shouldn't offering another contract next year, so he should explore his options this year - happy to facilitate a trade.
  • Kemp: As above, although we may offer a contract if it all finally clicks. If SOS has a future 3rd, I’d take it.
Can wait until 2027:
  • Pitto: I’d imagine that a modern ruck in on the shopping list, but that's no guarantee. Wouldn't be surprised if we offer him another year as cover.
  • Hewett: I’d keep him on for another couple of years, but I want to see him out of the midfield, playing a defensive forward role – basically Fogarty replacement. But no need to commit this year.
  • Chesser: Hasn’t started well, but he’s more of what we need. He’s got to put it together, tough. Would be great in a better-structured team. We can make a call next year.
  • Moir: By next year, he’s a regular, or he’s gone. He needs to want it. But I don’t want to trade him out this year, even though I reckon there will be some interest.
  • Motlop: Injury timing wasn’t great for either him or the club. We have to see how he comes back, but next year has to be a big year for him. Wouldn’t be opposed to trading him this year if there is interest.
  • Cottrell: I think he’s the kind of role player we need and makes us a better side. But he’s missed a lot of football, and by the end of next year, he won’t be a spring chicken.
  • Ison, Byrne: Plenty of time to see how they come on before we have to decide, but both have upside, but we have to see how they develop (or we develop them...).
Contracts 2028 and beyond:
  • Dean (2028): I’ve seen enough – he’s a key part of the future, so lock him in as soon as we can.
  • Cowan (2028): If we want to keep him, I think we probably need to lock him in for longer next year. If we don’t want him, then Tassie can sign him at the end of 2028, and we will get a compo pick, but if we think he's going to go, we might be better to trade with them next year (as they will have picks that they need to trade).
  • Harry (2030): I think we’re in trouble if we lose him, but if we want to get value out of him, his value will start to drop significantly from next year.
  • Cerra (2030): Probably has some value on the market, provided he stays on the field this year. I’m happy to keep him– seems a good bridge for a few years until Cody is ready to take over, but I'd also be happy to take a decent pick for him.
Keep them, because they have little trade value:
  • Reidy (2028): Not worth anything currently. Didn’t start well, but he cost nothing, and with a bit of time to gel, I think he will take over from Pitto next year.
  • Ainsworth (2029), Florent and Hayward (2030): We’ve got them until they retire, because I can’t see anyone taking on their contracts. All should be solid role players supporting the next generation.
Locked in, this is who we are building around:
  • Lord (2029)
  • Jagga (2030)
  • Weitering (2031)
  • Walsh (2034)
Overall:

Out in 2026:
Likely:
L Young, Fog, Monahan, Saad, Haynes
Maybe: Newman, F Young, Charleson, Cripps

Out in 2027:
Likely:
Duffy, McGovern, Acres
Maybe: Cottrell, Pitto, Williams, Frankie, Boyd, Kemp

Carlton in 2028:
  • Definitely:
    • Lord, Jagga, Weitering, Walsh, Dean, Ainsworth, Florent, Hayward, Carroll, HOF, Hewett, Elijah.
  • Likely:
    • Cowan, Harry, Cerra, Chesser, Ison, Byrne, Moir, Derksen, Ollie, Wilson, Reidy.
  • Maybe:
    • HOK, Motlop, Campos
Apologies for the novel, but once I started thinking about who we let go this year, it made more sense to go through it all and think about who we want to keep.
Cripps is 31 years old. Personally I see him playing until he's 34 at least.

Obviously it's early days, but I think we're going to look back at the 2025 trade period and really regret picking up Hayward, Florent and Ainsworth instead of hitting the draft harder and regenerating that way. I thought they were good moves at the time as it built our overall list depth in an age bracket we have a gulf of talent in, but the reality is we've probably overestimated our list capabilities yet again (see acquisitions of Williams, McGovern, Saad for reference) and now we've acquired three more players who at 27-28 years old probably won't be a part of our next flag tilt. Chesser at least is young and has plenty of development left in him.

Tasmania compromising the upcoming drafts means it's a critically bad time to be a bad team, and I fear we are doomed to be stranded in precisely that position. Very interesting off-season coming up for us, which might well define our next decade.

Obviously it's early days, but I think we're going to look back at the 2025 trade period and really regret picking up Hayward, Florent andd Ainsworth instead of hitting the draft harder and regenerating that way. I thought they were good moves at the time as it built our overall list depth in an age bracket we have a gulf of talent in, but the reality is we've probably overestimated our list capabilities yet again (see acquisitions of Williams, McGovern, Saad for reference) and now we've acquired three more players who at 27-28 years old probably won't be a part of our next flag tilt. Chesser at least is young and has plenty of development left in him.

Tasmania compromising the upcoming drafts means it's a critically bad time to be a bad team, and I fear we are doomed to be stranded in precisely that position. Very interesting off-season coming up for us, which might well define our next decade.

You can't just have kids. We need some senior players to bridge the gap when our older players move on.

We could conceivably lose all of Haynes, Newman, Saad, McGovern, Williams, Fogarty, Boyd at the end of this year.

TDK going threw us off and there wasn't much left. We needed someone. Like you said we have much bigger issues