VAFA General Discussion

Again more volunteers needed to run the bar, be available for beer delivery’s. Also need fridges that can store the beer.

Cost cost cost.

Speaking of volunteers.

How do clubs with 3's organise volunteers for round 1 and beyond when we're 4 days away and clubs haven't officially been told who they are playing, where they are playing and what time they are playing.

The new rules that are being introduced for this season - does anyone know if they impact all teams (inc 19's/3's and womans)? Or just senior and reserve grades?

New rules are - Last Disposal between the arcs, Rucks Centre Ball Up and Shrug - Prior Opportunity.

Again more volunteers needed to run the bar, be available for beer delivery’s. Also need fridges that can store the beer.

Cost cost cost.
Yes, i reckon every club in the metro Victoria is keen to get rid of their bar due to the cost.

Speaking of volunteers.

How do clubs with 3's organise volunteers for round 1 and beyond when we're 4 days away and clubs haven't officially been told who they are playing, where they are playing and what time they are playing.
Player rosters.
The new rules that are being introduced for this season - does anyone know if they impact all teams (inc 19's/3's and womans)? Or just senior and reserve grades?

New rules are - Last Disposal between the arcs, Rucks Centre Ball Up and Shrug - Prior Opportunity.
All grades

Box Hill North in Recession

The VAFA has conveniently omitted the fact that BHN had numbers for a Thirds Team and requested a move to the Thirds on March 10th after it became clear we couldn't field 2 teams.

A petty, vindictive and arrogant decision by VAFA HQ.

The VAFA has a duty to facilitate playing opportunities for member clubs as part of its core purpose ... they have failed.

The VAFA has conveniently omitted the fact that BHN had numbers for a Thirds Team and requested a move to the Thirds on March 10th after it became clear we couldn't field 2 teams.

The VAFA has a duty to facilitate playing opportunities for member clubs as part of its core purpose ... they have failed.
Head to a league that will accommodate your needs and listen to clubs eg: Southern or Eastern. I think you will be more than welcome in both of those competitions

Should've put Old in front of your name

Mate, you're crapping on about if it's within the ammo ethos if a player has a sponsor to cover their subs. It is. What were you trying to insinuate?

As I said, who gives a shit how they are covered. Getting them paid means any bloke/kid can play footy. That's a good thing and fits the ammo ethos perfectly.
It's a means of attracting players. And the VAFA "gives a shit"

No they don't, it's subs mate not match payments. All it covers is a blokes fee to be able to play, which helps clubs...which helps the VAFA.

giphy.gif

No they don't, it's subs mate not match payments. All it covers is a blokes fee to be able to play, which helps clubs...which helps the VAFA.

What a stupid thing to fire up about but you do you
I pay my grandsons' subs.
One is at Monash, the other at St Ks, and happy to help them play with a good club in a good competition.

Just rumours of clubs in the east and north look. By design? Please elaborate
From the outside looking in, it appears 2-3 clubs are leaving per season with very little resistance from HQ.

Box Hill appears to have done that to themselves but I remember Prahran 3rds organising a stripper pre game at Elsternwick some years ago & are still in existence. Different times I guess.

By 2030 I predict there being more 3rds divisions than divisional teams & there only being A, B, C & a 12 team D grade

VAFA cutting teams to cut costs on umpires & finals grounds to be sustainable?

Teams out north have seen Old Parade & Ivanhoe flourish & others are taking notice that the grass may be greener

From the outside looking in, it appears 2-3 clubs are leaving per season with very little resistance from HQ.

Box Hill appears to have done that to themselves but I remember Prahran 3rds organising a stripper pre game at Elsternwick some years ago & are still in existence. Different times I guess.

By 2030 I predict there being more 3rds divisions than divisional teams & there only being A, B, C & a 12 team D grade

Teams out north have seen Old Parade & Ivanhoe flourish & others are taking notice that the grass may be greener
Seems to me to be a big reduction in 19s teams

9.20 is an early time in ANZAC day,
Be there hour before ??
Not much time for remembrance .
Ok with Sen/Res times..
maybe could have used 11 April for some of the early games ?
Maybe should've used April 11 full stop , or would it throw Stillman out of whack

Some big rumours flying around about clubs wanting out of the VAFA. In 10 years I honestly wouldn’t be surprised to see ABC and maybe 1 division at best.
Yes if you are not a $30k per year minimum private schoolboy, you wont be able to play in VAFA

I think that’s a stretch. Their admin costs are now split between much fewer clubs. Clubs fees always covered umpires as well so im not sure how that’ll “cut costs”.

I don’t think they’d be paying any costs on finals grounds either, there usually a deal cut with canteen earnings etc.