Hot Topic Michael Voss resigns from Carlton. Best of luck Vossy.

• Thread starter Thread starter The Toad

Was JSoS continually disrespected at Carlton. Signed last every renewal and lowballed each time. Yes.

Carlton shot themselves in the foot.

I'd also hazard a guess Jack went out on a limb to try for houston and Carlton aboujt-faced making Jack looking a little silly after they asked him to make contact. But only guessing on this.
JSOS and his old man can GAGF

Just heard a bit of Voss's post-match press conference vs. Freo. I swear he thought we won that game. He was going on about how we responded, etc. Mate we didn't respond - we got so far behind Freo could coast to the end and still win.

For such a ultra competitive beast as a player he's become an absolute loser as a coach. He accepts losing and reacts as if it's acceptable / or even good.

After other games he goes on about "moments" non-stop. Again loser mentality. He should be talking about how we were the better team and should have destroyed the opposition and kicked away to win by 8+ goals. Instead he's moaning about moments where we could have fallen over the line.

The only "moment" I'm interested in is the moment we get this bloke and his loser mentality out of the club.

Managers assistants, meetings, mentors players, media, MC, coaches group during breaks.

We have assistants to run training, fitness staff and development coaches to develop players.

Voss address players during breaks, motivates and guides standards from the bench. Voss doesn’t make positional changes or in game tactics, assistants are doing that from the box.
He sounds like a great Assistant Coach!

I think we've spent more than enough time talking about an average past player than we need to, im looking forward now, not back. Hes just another opposition player now, not relevant to our future.
Average....

Jack tried his absolute guts out for the club, every single time he pulled on the jumper.

You can do and say whatever you want. But please don't tell me what I can talk about on this forum.

Average....

Jack tried his absolute guts out for the club, every single time he pulled on the jumper.

You can do and say whatever you want. But please don't tell me what I can talk about on this forum.
Jack was a borderline liability on the field for more than half his career. If he wasn't a Silvagni he would have been cut.

He came good in the end and left at the first opportunity he got for a big payday despite the club sticking by him for years.

He and his dad can rot at the stains the rest of their careers.

He was slipping over 24/7, shanking practically every shot on goal he got and getting pushed around and smashed in aerial contests inside 50 on the regular.

I loved the player Jack developed into but he was horrendous early in his career despite busting his arse as best he could. His biggest asset early on was literally that he tried hard...

He was slipping over 24/7, shanking practically every shot on goal he got and getting pushed around and smashed in aerial contests inside 50 on the regular.

I loved the player Jack developed into but he was horrendous early in his career despite busting his arse as best he could. His biggest asset early on was literally that he tried hard...
Fair enough. Should have been a backman from day one.

Average....

Nobody told you what to talk about, :p We had wasted too much time talking to eachother.......you and I. You can obviously talk abt whatever you like, just like i can.

Going a bit over the top there?

His biggest problems for me were being played out of position and getting injured way too often.

3rd tall to Charlie/Harry is starvation corner. Did a decent job but should have been a backman. Then he had to play 2nd ruck for a few years.

I never heard him complain.

Had 19 pos vs. Port, 10 hitouts and 4 goals playing ruck. Not bad for a bloke who shanks everything and falls over.

Going a bit over the top there?

His biggest problems for me were being played out of position and getting injured way too often.

3rd tall to Charlie/Harry is starvation corner. Did a decent job but should have been a backman. Then he had to play 2nd ruck for a few years.

I never heard him complain.

Had 19 pos vs. Port, 10 hitouts and 4 goals playing ruck. Not bad for a bloke who shanks everything and falls over.
Early days is when I was referring to, his first few years at the club. As I said, Jack ended up a quality player after a very ordinary start to his career.

Then he bailed on us.

He complained under Bolton, complained under Teague and complained under Voss, and it was him that initially didn't want to play as a backman because he didnt want to be compared to his dad. Just as he accepted it as his best position and he started playing some good football he missed half the season then decided to take off.

His injuries unfortunately didn't help him. As a Club we supported him through ten years of his career, I don't think he had it bad at Carlton.

The only Silvagni that I have any respect left for is Serge, he was Carlton through and through to the end.

SOS was a Champion at Carlton .. You don't get 'Full back of the Century' for being a good B-Grader.
SOS is a Carlton legend.

I separate their footy Days from what they do after they retire as a Player. Same goes for James Hird imho.

You can't take away the Champion that both SOS and Voss were as Players.. and the value to their Clubs during that time.

SOS didn't go so well as a recruiter and Voss not the Hero we wanted him to be ... oh well...... next.
You give it your best shot ... and sometimes that's not good enough...

He complained under Bolton, complained under Teague and complained under Voss, and it was him that initially didn't want to play as a backman because he didnt want to be compared to his dad. Just as he accepted it as his best position and he started playing some good football he missed half the season then decided to take off.

His injuries unfortunately didn't help him. As a Club we supported him through ten years of his career, I don't think he had it bad at Carlton.

The only Silvagni that I have any respect left for is Serge, he was Carlton through and through to the end.
What is the bolded based on (especially the first two)?

Some factual context would be useful as well. Given that many on this board have spent a lot of time complaining while Bolton, Teague, and Voss have been coaching us, I imagine it wouldn't necessarily be seen as a bad thing if a player was voicing similar concerns to coaches while they were in a position to do something about it.

Def the old man. But I'm hoping Voss and Austin GaGF as well. Both losers.

Austin is so weak.
He had missed 2 full seasons since 2020, had multiple other injuries - including OP - then left to chase the money at the club where his dad works, and got 2 years at $250k more per year than he would’ve received at any other club. Good move in that sense for him, but it was such a weak move when teams in the window wanted him.

Failing to see how Austin gets lumped into this conversation

What is the bolded based on (especially the first two)?

Some factual context would be useful as well. Given that many on this board have spent a lot of time complaining while Bolton, Teague, and Voss have been coaching us, I imagine it wouldn't necessarily be seen as a bad thing if a player was voicing similar concerns to coaches while they were in a position to do something about it.
Based on what I was told at the time by people associated with the club.All I can say is that it was in terms of having being wronged personally rather than anything to do with the team.
I was told he hated Bolton by the end of his tenure as he felt he wasn’t being treated fairly He and Teague fell out afte he took offence at something the coach said to him at the time Stephen left the club. I don’t have specifics over Voss.

Based on what I was told at the time by people associated with the club.All I can say is that it was in terms of having being wronged personally rather than anything to do with the team.
I was told he hated Bolton by the end of his tenure as he felt he wasn’t being treated fairly He and Teague fell out afte he took offence at something the coach said to him at the time Stephen left the club. I don’t have specifics over Voss.

Migh be wrong but i thought he got pissy after Voss told the media he was one of the more pessimistic or glass half empty guys on the list.

Voss puts on his neutral face in the media as if nothing is wrong and all going to plan at Carlton.

Many in here (like myself) believe that with being 1 Win 6 losses and bottom 4 ... Carlton aren't exactly convincing that this is the case. It's a bit of a hard sell.

So ... those believing things are going ok and focus on the green shoots are the Glass is half full folks.
Those of us who want Voss (and maybe Austin) gone .. are the Glass half empty folks who want a full Glass from the Club, Coach and team. If SOS is like many of us in here and complaining about the missing half Glass, I don't see a problem with that. I reckon Weiters would be annoyed our backline is half full ... and it shows ... I get it.

I mean ... good on the optimists but us complainers have a pretty strong case that has developed over a long period of time. A bloke can only take so much before the optimism takes a hit.

SOS was a Champion at Carlton .. You don't get 'Full back of the Century' for being a good B-Grader.
SOS is a Carlton legend.

I separate their footy Days from what they do after they retire as a Player. Same goes for James Hird imho.

You can't take away the Champion that both SOS and Voss were as Players.. and the value to their Clubs during that time.

SOS didn't go so well as a recruiter and Voss not the Hero we wanted him to be ... oh well...... next.
You give it your best shot ... and sometimes that's not good enough...
your correct SOS was a champion at Carlton, I went many times to Princess Park watched SOS, Sticks, and other
great Carlton players when were a great team winning flags!

Voss puts on his neutral face in the media as if nothing is wrong and all going to plan at Carlton.

Many in here (like myself) believe that with being 1 Win 6 losses and bottom 4 ... Carlton aren't exactly convincing that this is the case. It's a bit of a hard sell.

So ... those believing things are going ok and focus on the green shoots are the Glass is half full folks.
Those of us who want Voss (and maybe Austin) gone .. are the Glass half empty folks who want a full Glass from the Club, Coach and team. If SOS is like many of us in here and complaining about the missing half Glass, I don't see a problem with that. I reckon Weiters would be annoyed our backline is half full ... and I get it.

I mean ... good on the optimists but us complainers have a pretty strong case that has developed over a long period of time. A bloke can only take so much before the optimism takes a hit.
One thing Ive often seen in underperforming teams professionally is this idea that you need to be supportive and positive about everything to be a team player. And if youre not then you're bad for culture and part of the problem.

Often those that speak up and criticise are the ones pointing out hard truths that need to be addressed. Usually those "negative people" get pushed out and youre left with the "head nodders". Then the team/organisation is confused when they still dont improve now their "culture is amazing".

Of course there are better and worse ways to go about these things. You want people who can be brutally honest about where you're at, but then also focused on solutions, not just 100% stuck on the problem.

I get the feeling we have a lot of head nodders at the club and while challenging of each other happens, its on a more superficial level, because people are mindful of ruffling feathers.

Just the vibe I get from our leaders in particular.