Dunn - Well Done

Mar 30, 2008
Buddy
*note* a player considered to be a rookie by me is a player of the value of 150k or less. We are talking about players as rookies regarding their price and not the actual 6 rookies in each AFL squad.

The rookies this year seem harder than ever, however their seems to be more and more names popping up each week. In past years its been easy to rely on players that a ready made and high draft picks. Players such as Pendlebury, Gibbs, M.Murphy, J.Selwood over the years have always been picked knowing that they will get games. Also last year was probably the easiest year for picking rookies, you could rely on Rioli, Palmer, Bird act to play games and score reasonably well. Whilst this year it seems very difficult to back and individual in to play week in, week out.

So i thought i would go through each player that i think has a chance of playing games in 09 that are rookie priced.

Things that have to be considered when deciding on rookies are:
- role in their team and if their is a vacancy (Rioli = small forward pocket)
- injuries in the side, has the team lost many players (Hawthorn 09)
- Are they ready made, do they have the build to step up and play at AFL level
- Are they in a side that will play plenty of youth through trying to develop their youngsters (WCE, Melb, freo)

Backline:
Players
Petrenko (86k):
Hes been all the talk over the pre season with plenty of Adelaide fans saying he is best 22. But do they say that about everyone? Hes been used as a small forward and a running small back. He scored 31 being a small forward whilst against the eagles he showed with 31 posses he scores better playing as a back with 91 points. He also put in another good performance against the hawks which was said by Craig "it would not harm his round 1 chances". His job security is the thing that worries me most the crows always have a solid amount of youngsters ready to take the next step. Hes one of them and with players like Basset (retired), Symes (injured), Van Berlo (injured), Porplyzia (shoulder) could give him an opportunity to play early games.

Prestigiacomo (110k): Now this may suprise people with him being considered we all know hes a bit of a spud when it comes to DT but he could be just as good as any other pick in the backs. Hes scored 29,30 and 25 so far in the NAB cup. Which is anything but good. However he could avg 35 with increased time during season proper and could be that player that you know will be playing if fit.

Hill (142k): An impressive performance against Richmond scoring 79 points showing his worht of a quality future dtmer. He has been aermarked to play round 1. Harvey has said more than once he will playing against dogs round 1. But Harvey isnt the most trusted coach when it comes to these comments. I think Hill will play round 1 but the question is how long can he stay in the side. Looks like he will play as a small forward that pushes up the ground.

Suban (86k): Plenty of talk about him early. I question his job security and best 22 position the most. However freo look like they will continue to blod the youngsters with Hill,Suban, Broughton, Pearce, Ballantyne along with last years youth. He scored a very good 68 against north and was named in the best for freo against the coast. He could still be a good pick and play as a small back or rotate off the bench. Looks like he can score well.

Broughton (75k): It must be said hes a big chance to get games even as a rookie. Hes ready made and could fill a void down back as a back pocket. I cant see him and Suban in the same side just yet but both look like they will get games. Has also has scored solid 53,63 in round 1 and 2 of NAB. He could be a cheap get who plays games. Freo have the opportunity to give 2 of their rookies the opportunity to be put on the senior list due to no veterans and also Buccovaz could be an LTI chance, making a 3rd rookie a chance to play season proper.

M.Suckling (75k): He plays for hawthorn and is a rookie so he wouldnt be expected to play too many games. But i have given him a mention due to the injuries at hawkland. The hawks are struggling with injuries and will need some youngsters to step up and play games. Hes and outside chance and has had a very fine NAB cup. with scores of 67,25 and a BOG against the crows for the hawks. Hes been a big improver and been aorund for a few years now. He could find a few early games through an LTI but dont expect too much from him.

Schoemakers (90k): He also plays for the hawks so he could be pushed out of best 22 very quickly and he probably isnt even best 22 with the injuries anyway. Although with big men Gilham and Croad both struggling they could throw him in the deep end and say play CHB until Croad returns. No doubt he will be trialled after Thorp and Dowler down their but hes still a chance with talls missing. Also scored 40 in round1 of NAB to show he has some potential with DT points.

K.Cheney (86k): Hes one i would rather not mention. Because i think he could be a very good pick. He plays for the dees and expect them to chance their arm on plenty of youngsters. He has played solid in all NAB games. He will still struggle for best 22 IMO but expect him to be given ago when a few chips for down around him. Could be an interesting one, certainly keeping an eye on him. Scored 47,50 in NAB 1,2 respectively.

Rance (86k): No doubting his potential future but i just cant see him getting regular games nor being best 22. Thursfield, Moore, Mcguane, Bowden and Schulz look to be all ahead of him. Could be a downgrade target.

Midfielders
Otten (126k): Is an expensive bench option but may be used as a 6th mid. Hes displayed some very good scores of 64,61 and another solid performance against the hawks. The only problem with him is i cant seem to see where he will fit in. Maybe he could play instead of a Vanberlo for the first couple of weeks but than get the flick. He may have to fight for a spot with D.Mckay and Dangerfield. For his price he could be a bit to risky. Look at adelaide board for best 22 thought.
Sloane (86k): Could be used at either end of the ground but again i see to many players ahead of him and his job security will be under stress each week.
Cook (86k): Also another good player who crow fans are talking up but he will also struggle for best 22 IMO. With scores of 30 and 65 so far he seems like an okay dtmer. But doubtful about how many games he will get. Will be interesting to see how many of Cook, Petrenko, Sloane, Mackay, Dangerfield, Otten get regular games.
Dangerfield (115k): Well Craig has only spoken negativly of him so far this pre season. But i dont think many would argue about how much talent he has. He kicked 8 goals and had the pill 32 times in a TAC game last year and also is going into a 2nd year. However again he will have to challenge others for a regular spot and i reckon Craig will choose the ones that have done the hard yards. Everyone was saying him and Rich were locked for next year. Not really being literal but now am doubting both however they both possess heaps of ability.
Polkinghorne (133k): Has been very good in pre season. The lions have spots to fill about 3 or 4 and i think Rich and him could fill these voids. Hes been playing up froward i here and the lions need small forwards especially if Hooper doesnt keep his head. Rich and Polkinghorne arnt in their best 19. The next 3 will be picked from Hooper, Polkinghorne, Rich, Sherman, Harding, Roe, Proud Hawksley (only 3 will make the cut).
Rich (126k) All the talk about being the most AFL ready from the draft but he hasnt really delivered anything in the NAB that says hes ready for AFL. The modern game doesnt suit him and he could struggle for best 22. You may be better off getting 3 x 86k players with more money in the kitty. He could however be a gun and just be settling into AFL mode.
Robinson (86k): Hes a talented player and touted similar to cooney like. He will play as a small forward if he gets games. Looks to be a solid dtmer with scores of 52 and 58 so far but not playing against cats with many starts sidelined. Im doubtful about his best 22, hes also ready made but he may be competing for a spot with Yarran. Houlihan, Betts have sealed theirs and the blues will play 3 talls.
Beams (86k): He caught our eye when he was BOG in an intraclub match racking up 17 posses in a half of footy or something like that along with a goal. Hes a good player and has now played 2 very solid games at AFL level. with 14 posses and 17 posses respectivly giving him scores of 56 and 70. He shows that he can score very well when he gets games. The only doubt is best 22 like most draftees and rookies priced players.
Sidebottom (110k): A superb display against the dons with 19 posses and 7 marks giving him 70 dt points. He looks like a natural dtmer and will be good for the future. But he didnt play the opening two games which questions whether or not hes in best 22. I think Beams is ahead of him anyway. With him being a forward option aswell he could be a good pick. Look at pies best 22 to see if Beams and Sidey have a chance or are the pies depth wise too strong.
Muston (86k): Quite a good dtmer for memory can play inside and outside. He comes with 2 weaknesses and they are best 22 and injury problems. Hopefully he can get up and play especially with the opportunity of Gilham, Croas, Ladson, Ellis, Lewis, Birchall, Hodge, Brown, Crawford all have a possibiliy of missing. I think at least 6 of them will. So he could get an early oppportunity. Hodge also picked him in his DTM or mentioned him to DTTALK which gives a good indication of how hes going.
L.Anthony (86k): Gee, i hate how all the roo rookies carve it up during the NAB cup. They seem to always do well but never get played. Im unsure of his best 22 and also he has the Laidley factor. Has scored extremely well thought with 32 think he was a sub in round 1 at half time. 104 with 30 posses. Than another dominant display against port with another 25 posses. People are starting to jump on him but i cant wait to say to them he isnt best 22 and i told you so (laidley).
Ziebell (118k): Probably better considered as a forward but yes hes a mid and hes a great footballer. Looks to be a good dtmer for the future. Hes ready made along with Anthony but will he be best 22. Not much mention of him after his round 1 display. Only scores of 54, 31 and no talk of him against port (may not have played). But i havnt heard much of him as of late. Laidley factor again come to mind. Would think that him and Anthony will only come in for an injury.
Meyer (75k): Any chance he will be taken off the rookie list and promoted for Trengove i would think so. A talented player at juniors that hasnt reached his potential but i think Williams likes him and will give him every opportunity. The power have a very depthy list and he may not make the cut come early on. Williams is the best at getting the most out of players just ask Rodan. W.Thompson may get promoted before him.
Davenport (86k): Hes ready made and from Geelong. Will he get games or is he best 22? Its a tough one to anwser but i doubt it. Williams has already said he would need to put in another good display to get picked. Hadnt been giving the best opportunity in round 1 or 2 in NAB with scores of 43 and 13. However IIRC that 43 came in just a half of footy being a sub. He also was BOG against Roos with 30 posses.
Hartlett (138k): Well i doubt he will be ready for round 1 or early season. I think hes a downgrade target and lets leave it at that.
J.Steven (86k) Havnt seen him play yet but by hearing hes going along fine and a real chance for round 1 season proper. Really keeping an eye on him. However i have seen it before with Armitage when they get played in NAB but not season proper. Is he another one to add to the list?? Solid scores of both 50 and 57 though. Who will he replace in their best 22??
Cockie (75k): Im really considering picking him now. Hes been played every week of NAB and keeps on displaying solid efforts. Hes ready made and already played senior footy before. He may be a rookie but not for long with B.Waters on LTI. He will be the first to replace him IMO. Also expect him to get early games a few of the eagles are struggling still. Rosa, Hunter, Ebert, Hurn, Butler, Embley, Waters.
Swift (86k): What has happended to him after NAB 1. He played very well with 14 posses gaining a score of 51 and Woosha came at and said he was a really good chance to play against brissy round 1. No sighting of him since and would think Cockie is ahead in the pecking order now. Everyone jumped on him but i think i will be jumping off him. Surely if he was right to play they would play him especially if he was to play round 1. Im off him for now.
E.Wood (86k): The freako email reckons he might play round 1 but its unlikely he probably isnt best 22. But hes another one to consider. The doggies dot seem to have many injuries either and also havnt lost any players from last year.

Forwards
Sloane (86k): was said not long ago he was a chance for round 1. I have heard that he gets trhown around a bit ATM and probably isnt ready for the highest level just yet. With the crows saying 4 guns are returning for round 1 could worry me alot, i think their are other players with a higher chance to play before he does.
Hentschel (122k): I wouldnt think they would leave him out if fit. It looks like they will go with Walker, Hentschel and Tippett as a 3 prong tall attack. Ask yourself a few questions though, will Craig see them as too top heavy a sideline one tall?? who will it be?? When Burton returns a tall will miss who will it be (unsure of his return)?? Will he score well enough to be warranted selection at 122k. He for me was going to be my 7th forward but he has all the problems injury, job security and scoring potential. Ha started to improve in NAB with scores of 34,47 and than 4 goals but against who ?? B graders from box hill
Sellar (86k): He killed a few last year and i would think most will stay away. He has done quite well in NAB but he did last year. Enough said, he has too many talls ahead of him and he cant score to save himself.
T.Walker (86k): Now i reckon he will be the most popular forward rookies to start with in 09. The crow fans have talked him up like hes the next W.Carey. But they do it for every half decent player. Dominated SANFL but AFL's a whole new ball game. Same goes for what was said about Hentschel he has plenty snapping at his heels for best 22 but i would think hes their 2nd best tall forward. Scores of 20 (in a half i think), 50 and than 3 goals and against Box hill. He may be secure for job security but his scoring potnetial as a tall wouldnt be great.
Yarran (130k): Well he put in a very fine performance against the cats. With a score of 55 after just 3. Hes got talent and hes best 22 i here from blue fans. Houlihan, Betts, Yarran and a resting Stevens across Half forward sets the blues for a very positive year. Expect to see him score well if the blues are firing really considiring him for my 7th forward.
J.Garlett (86k): Dont be fooled by his price, hes still a rookie. He has to be promoted and for as i know he hasnt and may not be. Another classy small forward, will be an awesome downgrade option during the year. Has scored extremely well as well. 57 with limited time, 41 after coming on after half time and scoring pretty much all of it in last qtr and than 57 against a solid cats line up. If hes named to play after being elevated jump on board. Could also be a good duo Yarran/Garlett as 7/8 forwards.
Gumbleton (86k): As the days go by im becoming more and more unsure about him. I think the dons will need someone to miss at of the big 4. Lucas could play goals square admirer whilst Neagle leads from goals square with Gumby and Lloyd playing further at. Knights has plenty of praise for him and wants to play him. Expect him to get games but how long will he be in best 22 for. Scores of 40,31 and hes only at 50-60%.
Ballantyne (86k): Will also be a popular choice but his injury and his bad start will cause you to keep away. Hes set to return to WAFL at round 3 so do think he will be in freos side until round 5/6ish. Or until Hill needs to go back to the 2nds. Will be another good downgrade option during year.
Hogan (86k): He knows how to find the footy with 19,16,19 posses over the 3 games although he loves a handball. So he has scoring potential with 75,66,38. But the problem he is he plays for Geelong they dont have many injury problems or losses since their GF. Harley will be the only missing cat for round 1. The disappointing thing is Mckenna (i think) is getting all the praise form the coach and is the best chance to play round 1.
Thorp (86k): No Croad, No Gilham does he get a chance down back or up forward and push Roughy back for the start of season. Hes a high draft pick (number 6??) and obviousily has something that he hasnt found yet but could he find it this year. I think he will still get limited opportunity and his scoring doesnt convince me.
Dowler (86k): Probably ahead of Thorp for a spot down back, so go him before Thorp but is only my opinion. Similar to Thorp he also was a very high pick and could have a spot down back with injuries.
W.Thomson (88k): Hes a forward and he knows how to score with 66 and 42. But he has 2 problems. The strength and depth of lineup at the power. Than hes still a rookie and yet to be elevated. But he is probably the favourite along with meyer to be put onto senior list for trengrove LTI. That means little when you have 30 players still ahead of you on the list.
R.Nahas (84k): Also a rookie but he wont play early the tigers have a solid 30 ahead of him. But if the lose a few small forwards expect to see his name pop up. Similar to Garlett from blues could score when given the chance due to being a small forward. Richo had him in his best 30?? is their something we dont know? Well i think look for him later on or next year. Could be promoted for K.Johnson injury.
M.Brown (86k): Draft pick number 16 and a highly talented footballer. Has a huge tank of 15+ beep test and can play either end of the field. I thinks hes best 22 for sure but will he play back or forward. I seem as the player who plays on the versatile forwards (Pav, Riewodlt, Franklin). He has the tank, hes not slow and hes massive. I personally see more scoring potential as a FF but he still a good pick due to him being best 22. Lynch, Mckinley, Hansen, Kennedy rule him out of the forward line. Would think Glass and Spangher/Mckenzie will be down back but i see M.Brown ahead of both of them. Its also a very good sign when position coaches start arguing where you should play. You know your a hell of a chance to get games.
J.Grant (86k): I had him picked coming into the year 09. Than he gave us a dazzling display against the dons and i was just about going to write him in pencil and seal it. I havnt heard of him or seen him since. Not a good sign to see players like him and Ziebell go missing. Also lack scoring potential. He dominated against dons i heard and only scored 46 whilst his other score was only 15.

Please say which rookies you are picking. Would love to do a poll for each postion to see who gets the most votes. Its so important to pick the right rookies they are essentially 120k if you get it wrong or a keeper if you get it right. Will be giving an analysis of the forwards and rucks aswell. Please say who you are picking for each position and why??

Good write up DWD
Are you talking about these guys being round 1 starters?
If so, who do you think Cheney would replace in the Demons lineup?

• Banned
Is he best 22 (cheney?)
my picks ATM
Petrenko - scoring very well and 2 solid performance should mean he gets early games. Also with Basset and Symes out he will play a small back role.
Broughton/Suban - Broughton should be promoted for season proper and he should play games straight away. Also gives you an extra 11k not much but if it can be used than he may be good pick. Suban has played 2 good games and would think he will fight for a spot with Broughton to start.

Starting Rich - this may well change, he may have the same chance as an 86k player regarding getting games and scoring potential.
Robinson - Also will change we will know whether hes playing round 1 or not?? wont get regular games.
Cockie - should get promoted and will get games with eagle injuries and is ready to go

Graham - between him and Currie he has been impressive and currie hasnt. Also think J.White wil be number 2 ruck anyway. He can score a solid 40 avg i will be very pleased. Defiatnly looks to be 2nd ruck at tiger land.

Pyke - he has a chance of promotion and getting games, not expecting much form him though.

Hentschel/Ziebell - Hentschel because he is best 22 material and has started to perform quite well. kicked 4 goals although he probably had a no hoper on him. Ziebell may not be best 22.

Gumbleton - will get games and thats why im picking him, however could Walker be a better pick. Next round will tell. Better chance of Gumby in best 22 than Walker only my opinion though. Walker has gone quite well in NAB kicked goals and thats what matters.

M.Brown - dominant display for WCE, against Pavlich. If he plays back he wont get much ball but if he plays forward i can see him kickig goals with higher points. Would probably have Walker and Gumby ATM.

what are peoples thoughts on rich? he has been in my 22 for a few weeks however i am now a little worried about he's scoring potential.

Have a look at Palmers NAB last year and what he scored ??
Also remember he has avg 41.5 this is still quite good and remember that NAB games a shortened alot compared to the real games. I think the only concerning thing is the vibe you get when you watch him he doesnt look interested and also his job security. His scoring potential might not be a 70-80 like some are expecting but i think hes very capable of a 50 which will do fine. Im questioning him only because of best 22 issues.

How are Black and Brennan going??

what are peoples thoughts on rich? he has been in my 22 for a few weeks however i am now a little worried about he's scoring potential.

i had this dilemma as well. In the end i've decided to make a few changes around the park and put rich on the bench and see what happens after we've played a few rounds

Rich (126k) All the talk about being the most AFL ready from the draft but he hasnt really delivered anything in the NAB that says hes ready for AFL. The modern game doesnt suit him and he could struggle for best 22. You may be better off getting 3 x 86k players with more money in the kitty. He could however be a gun and just be settling into AFL mode.

Another quality post DWD, fantastic job :thumbsu: I'm not going to start any rookies, Mitch Brown is priced as one but i see him as the standout. As for Rich i'm seeing more and more best 22's on the Brisbane board with him as an emergency and with Selwood still on the outer. His form in the pre season has been far superior and he'd have to be ahead of Rich for a spot at this stage. So i'm strongly considering not even having him on the bench. Obviously we all take the risk of our rookies not being in the 22 but if that's going to happen I'd take beams and spend the $40k elsewhere. Love your work mate.

How are Black and Brennan going??

Brennan apparently hurt a quad but i haven't heard that it's serious so i'm expecting him to come up alright for rd 1 unless we hear otherwise. He's on my watchlist.

i had this dilemma as well. In the end i've decided to make a few changes around the park and put rich on the bench and see what happens after we've played a few rounds

yeah but see i dont really want to have $130 k sitting on the bench. For me either he starts or i replace him with someone such as robinson in the 22.

same here mate. was my 1st rookie picked and had him in my 22 since i first made my team. but i have jumped ship and have beams as my midfield starting rookie.has impressed me immensly during the nab cup and i think he could make sum big cash.malthouse loves bringing through young talent and i think he will give young beams every chance this season.also by doing rich>beams i saved 40k and have strengthened my team in certain areas.

yeah i have done the same now. I have removed rich and put beams in the 22, that has allowed me to upgrade lockyer to sam fisher..

Another quality post DWD, fantastic job :thumbsu: I'm not going to start any rookies, Mitch Brown is priced as one but i see him as the standout. As for Rich i'm seeing more and more best 22's on the Brisbane board with him as an emergency and with Selwood still on the outer. His form in the pre season has been far superior and he'd have to be ahead of Rich for a spot at this stage. So i'm strongly considering not even having him on the bench. Obviously we all take the risk of our rookies not being in the 22 but if that's going to happen I'd take beams and spend the $40k elsewhere. Love your work mate.[/quote

although brown is great value, i have a feeling that he will play mainly in defence this year much like his brother and thus i doubt he will score well at all.

Yes he will, I expect Brown to hit about 50 and i'd be happy with that. If your expecting anymore than 60 out of any other rookies your dreaming. Palmer was an exception last year so if your starting rookies beware. All the buzz about this years guys is the same as it was last year....DT deja vu.

In the 5 AFL games Mitch has played he played back but still scored fairly well, averaged about 55 I think. I think he's going to score better than Nathan regardless of where he plays. Glass and McKenzie are probably going to be the KPP defenders with both apparently playing very well against Freo. What this might mean is that Mitch plays on the more roaming forwards, which would explain why he was playing on Pavlich if Pav was playing up the ground more. I actually think this would probably be better for his scoring than playing up forward.

Yes he will, I expect Brown to hit about 50 and i'd be happy with that. If your expecting anymore than 60 out of any other rookies your dreaming. Palmer was an exception last year so if your starting rookies beware. All the buzz about this years guys is the same as it was last year....DT deja vu.
`
Great starting thread by DWD, keep it up mate :thumbsu:

I would normally agree with the above post, but this year is different, probably better than 08:

Rich = Palmer, Davenport = Taylor, Yarran = Rioli, Suban = Ibbotson, Gumbleton = Gamble, Mike Pyke = Dean Cox, SkankDanker = Rudd...

Somebody stop me.

Swift (86k): What has happended to him after NAB 1. He played very well with 14 posses gaining a score of 51 and Woosha came at and said he was a really good chance to play against brissy round 1. No sighting of him since and would think Cockie is ahead in the pecking order now. Everyone jumped on him but i think i will be jumping off him. Surely if he was right to play they would play him especially if he was to play round 1. Im off him for now.
Swift has been playing WAFL. He got reported but got off so he's clear to play round 1 AFL. So he's fit, just a matter of whether he makes the 22. Spangher's game last night would probably make it harder.

A rookie that has been posted about on the geelong board is Simon Hogan.

Yet to play a home and away game, but has potential to score high.

Simon Hogan
Weight: 72
Height: 181
Drafted: 2007

Emergency 5 times for seniors last year
6th best and fairest in VFL side

DT performances in 2009 NAB cup of 75(19 disposals), 66 (16 disposals), and 38 (16 disposals) : Ave: 59.6

Mainly plays on-ball with spells up forward but with geelong's midfield, will probably need to find a niche up forward or back.

Only problem is best 22 material with hogan competing with Varcoe, Brynes, Djidi for the same spot. However Thompson might be afraid of a repeat of the prismall debacle so may be willing to give more senior matches.

Anyone know anything more about Hogan's chances?

09 Rookies