News 19th AFL Team Discussion

Shocked that we are 1 of the Clubs does not want a Tassie Side

Wouldn’t read too much into it Dave. Poorly written story really. Claims 3 clubs are against it but then only includes a quote from Sydney expressing reservations. I’d assume if they had a stronger quote from either us or GCS then they’d have included them as well.

As a supporter, I’m not sure why we all shouldn’t have reservations. A 19th and potentially 20th team dilutes the talent pool and signals years of compromised drafts. How does that help the CFC, or the competition?

Shocked that we are 1 of the Clubs does not want a Tassie Side

I’m not.

As we saw last year, Jeff Browne is somebody who will happily exploit a specious argument for political advantage (Blaming Mark Korda for our salary cap situation, yeah, right. 🙄)

He’s probably trying to use our support as leverage to get spme kind of concession. (More home games played at the MCG?)

Not the way I’d choose to go about business, but Jeff Browne (and others) probably consider it to be effective.

I must admit I am also somewhat apprehensive about adding a 19th club, because that by nature entails an additional 20th club, otherwise the fixture would be a complete disaster. This is not to say that Tasmania don't deserve a club, far from it - I actually wanted them to get the expansion club that became Gold Coast.

I also think it's a particularly tricky time to try and introduce these teams given the immense struggles of North.

Why would Collingwood agree to a 19th team?

On averages it has gone from winning a premiership every 16 years to now 18 years and voting yes to allow a 19th and possibly 20th team expands those averages.

It's a no from me and I hope Jeff Browne and the club agree

On averages it has gone from winning a premiership every 16 years to now 18 years and voting yes to allow a 19th and possibly 20th team expands those averages.

I get your point …

… but if you take that argument to its logical extreme, then Jeff Browne should lobby for the AFL to shut down the other 17 teams and that way we win the Premiership every year!

I don’t mind the idea of a Tassie team but a Melbourne team should go.

Either Saints or North, not fussed which.

Either that or have 20 teams with two conferences.

I get your point …

… but if you take that argument to its logical extreme, then Jeff Browne should lobby for the AFL to shut down the other 17 teams and that way we win the Premiership every year!

I like it… go for it Jeff!

We are defined by our enemies. They provide us with purpose. Without them we are nothing.

Wash your mouth out!

Obviously we shouldn’t be looking to get rid of teams though.

I’m not.

As we saw last year, Jeff Browne is somebody who will happily exploit a specious argument for political advantage (Blaming Mark Korda for our salary cap situation, yeah, right. 🙄)

He’s probably trying to use our support as leverage to get spme kind of concession. (More home games played at the MCG?)

Not the way I’d choose to go about business, but Jeff Browne (and others) probably consider it to be effective.

Do your tin foil hat ramblings extend to the Swans' Pridham expressing concerns over the feasibility of a 19th team?

Browne thinks that a 19th team is unaffordable and unlike you or I, he has set foot in AFL House, so has an understanding of the viability of many clubs and he rightly called this out over the out of whack propping up of shit clubs at our considerable expense.

As a Tasmanian I'd love to see a club there and think it should have been a priority back in the 80's and 90's. But as a general footy fan, I can't see how adding a 19th team would do anything other than weaken the competition.

What we needed and still need, are mergers to reduce some Melbourne clubs, like what happened in the NRL. The very noisey Dees / Hawks failed merger under the Oakley era, put the fear into both the AFL and smaller clubs who might have thought it was a good option. As such, we're already jammed with too many clubs.

So it ain't about leverage. It's about financial feasibility and the impact on the strength of the comp.

Do your tin foil hat ramblings extend to the Swans' Pridham expressing concerns over the feasibility of a 19th team?

Jeff Browne is our President and because of that I want to see him be successful.

But nothing that he has said or done since he became President has allayed any of my concerns. But it’s still early days.

Equally, I could cite the implicit support of 15 clubs?

Browne thinks that a 19th team is unaffordable and unlike you or I, he has set foot in AFL House, so has an understanding of the viability of many clubs and he rightly called this out over the out of whack propping up of shit clubs at our considerable expense.

Sure, it would cost something. Change always does. But it needs to be considered in the context of benefit.

As a Tasmanian I'd love to see a club there and think it should have been a priority back in the 80's and 90's.

Not a Tasmanian, but +1

But as a general footy fan, I can't see how adding a 19th team would do anything other than weaken the competition.

I know that’s always cited as a concern, but if we were truly worried about that we would never have expanded the comp beyond 12 teams or whatever size it’s been in its history (including that history before we were admitted to the comp)

I do get that when we had 12 teams in the comp, that whenever one of the best dozen or so players got injured, that they were (effectively) replaced by the 250th-ish best player. And with 18 teams that’s now gone up to the 400th-ish best player and with 19 it’d go up a little bit more but is it really that significant?

As Freo have shown this year, even that can’t be relied upon as a thing. Or Hawks showed when Franklin went to Sydney. Or Lions showed when Buckley went to Collingwood. Or …, or …, or …

It doesn’t matter how many teams are in the comp, there always has been and always will be basket case teams at the bottom of the ladder that make people question whether the talent pool is being too diluted.

What we needed and still need, are mergers to reduce some Melbourne clubs, like what happened in the NRL.

Sure, but would you be happy for that to happen to your club?

And whilst we might think that the mighty Collingwood Football Club is too powerful for that to happen to them …

… it hasn’t always been that way.

The very noisey Dees / Hawks failed merger under the Oakley era, put the fear into both the AFL and smaller clubs who might have thought it was a good option. As such, we're already jammed with too many clubs.

If people had a choice of their club relocating or going defunct, which one would they choose? The fact that nobody seems to fear their club going bust means that they reckon there is plenty of money in the competition.

So it ain't about leverage. It's about financial feasibility and the impact on the strength of the comp.

Jeff Browne is there to represent Collingwood’s interests. And as I implied in my post, I reckon he’s probably doing that.

Jeff Browne is our President and because of that I want to see him be successful.

But nothing that he has said or done since he became President has allayed any of my concerns. But it’s still early days.

Equally, I could cite the implicit support of 15 clubs?

Sure, it would cost something. Change always does. But it needs to be considered in the context of benefit.

Not a Tasmanian, but +1

I know that’s always cited as a concern, but if we were truly worried about that we would never have expanded the comp beyond 12 teams or whatever size it’s been in its history (including that history before we were admitted to the comp)

I do get that when we had 12 teams in the comp, that whenever one of the best dozen or so players got injured, that they were (effectively) replaced by the 250th-ish best player. And with 18 teams that’s now gone up to the 400th-ish best player and with 19 it’d go up a little bit more but is it really that significant?

As Freo have shown this year, even that can’t be relied upon as a thing. Or Hawks showed when Franklin went to Sydney. Or Lions showed when Buckley went to Collingwood. Or …, or …, or …

It doesn’t matter how many teams are in the comp, there always has been and always will be basket case teams at the bottom of the ladder that make people question whether the talent pool is being too diluted.

Sure, but would you be happy for that to happen to your club?

And whilst we might think that the mighty Collingwood Football Club is too powerful for that to happen to them …

… it hasn’t always been that way.

If people had a choice of their club relocating or going defunct, which one would they choose? The fact that nobody seems to fear their club going bust means that they reckon there is plenty of money in the competition.

Jeff Browne is there to represent Collingwood’s interests. And as I implied in my post, I reckon he’s probably doing that.
Don't forget that when Eddie first became president, Collingwood was in danger of going belly up.
He effectively saved the club.
What it says is any club is vulnerable.
What effect do North Melbourne's ongoing struggles have on potential sponsors and player retention?
There are already renewed rumblings about relocation.
Fitzroy & South Melbourne no longer exist as footy clubs, despite the supposed continuity - they were sacrificed on the altar of a national competition.

As a Tasmanian I'd love to see a club there and think it should have been a priority back in the 80's and 90's. But as a general footy fan, I can't see how adding a 19th team would do anything other than weaken the competition.

What we needed and still need, are mergers to reduce some Melbourne clubs, like what happened in the NRL. The very noisey Dees / Hawks failed merger under the Oakley era, put the fear into both the AFL and smaller clubs who might have thought it was a good option. As such, we're already jammed with too many clubs.

When there is talk of a 25% rise in the salary cap, I'm not sure how there can also be talk of affordability.

I worry about the lack of population in Tassie, but if Geelong can maintain a club, I don't see why Hobart won't be able to.

If you’re considering the population of Tassie, you need to also factor in that many people in Launceston and Devonport essentially never travel to Hobart, and vice versa.

Maybe that could be a reason in support of it?

Give people a reason to travel?

“Build it and they will come”

I know but Hobart has a similar population to Geelong. The big difference though is that you won't get as many opposition fans there. Crowd numbers are going to be small.

Glad to hear the clubs against Tasmania if it’s true. It makes no sense in the current environment to take on a 19th team. Relocate someone or have another look in 10 years
Clearly North should be the club to go.

If I put on my tin foil hat again …

… that Browne and Pridham have been CEO and Chairman of the same merchant bank might be an indicatation that they do have a well established working relationship?

Maybe that could be a reason in support of it?

Give people a reason to travel?

“Build it and they will come”

It might be a selling point for tourism Tasmania, but it is a bit pie in the sky for the AFL to take into consideration.

I know but Hobart has a similar population to Geelong. The big difference though is that you won't get as many opposition fans there. Crowd numbers are going to be small.

Yes it is the population of Hobart which should be considered, not the population of Tasmania.

Also Tassie has shitty demographics - something like over 20% of them are over 65 which means, unless something changes, they will eventually move to population decline.

Similar to Russia's problem. And soon to be China's. Tassie might need to start a war.

News 19th AFL Team Discussion