2003 Draft prospects?

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I have seen the following play seniors at SANFL level so far this year, some of them are regulars:

Adam Cooney, Harry Miller, Craig Parry, David Kellett, Leigh Treeby, Michael Griffiths, Adam Grocke, Matthew Stokes and Salim Hassan
;)
Thanks. I might see if any of them are playing in TV games. Would be worth a look.

Originally posted by footyman
Thanks. I might see if any of them are playing in TV games. Would be worth a look.

No worries. To make it easier here are the teams they play for:

Adam Cooney, Salim Hassan (West Adelaide / Bloods)
Harry Miller, Craig Parry (Port Adelaide / Magpies)
David Kellett (Central Districts / Bulldogs)
Leigh Treeby, Matthew Stokes (Woodwile-West Torrens / Eagles)
Michael Griffiths (Glenelg / Tigers)
Adam Grocke (North Adelaide / Roosters)

Cheers. ;)

Thanks for that guys - I've seen most of the Vics play, but apart from the Nationals it's really hard to guage where the SA and WA boys are at.

What's happened to Darren Brackenridge? Was at draft camp last year from memory.

Cooney, Moody, Bradley, Clarke and Richard Tambling all showed a bit at the Nationals last year.

There is a player from Bendigo called Colin Sylvia who was very impressive when I saw him, looking forward to having another look. Same for Lance Oswald from Murray, and Nathan Foley from Geelong.

William Gayfer, Murray Boyd, Chris Stewart and Jarrod Silvester could be key position prospects.

Best ruck I've seen is Mark Blake from Geelong, but he will go to the Cats under the father-son. Lachie McGhie is a big kid, still not sure on him though. Andrew Ericksen is 202cm so will be drafted.

Smokies for the ruck? I'd say Grant Schultz (North Ballarat) and Adam Jordan (Northern) - both genuine tap ruckman.

The interesting aspect of this years draft wont come from the top 20, there are some very good footballers espically outside victoria that will make up the top 20 the next 50 odd is goin to be a guessing game, i dare say there will be alot of surprise draftees. There are many players in the TAC cup that havn't made a name for themselves yet, as it is only 5 games in, here a a few names to look out for from here on in, adam bentick, ben clifton, steve kenny, mungara brown, toby pinwell.

Good info guys from SA.
Only query i have is that you guys name a whole lot of blokes who you think will go top 10 lol if we had your way the whole draft would be from SA :D :D

From what ive heard though Cooney is almost certain to go top 10 but at this stage would be probably the only SA kid to go that high there seems to be others from SA that will go not just that early, also it seems Matthew Moody is almost the favourite at this stage for the number 1 pick his from WA and Rapheal Clark is also a top 5 pick, but going on history and fact id say probably 7-8 of the top 10 will come from the TAC CUP with blokes like Ryley Dunn,Brock Mclean and Murray Boyd all just about certain to be going in the early fases of the draft.
The nationals of late havent been a great indicator of who will get drafted and who will not of late so i wouldnt take a whole lot from that part of the season but it does for sure help recruiters find what they are looking for.

As for Leigh Treeby his from the TAC played with Eastern Rangers and many had compared him with Buckley i thought he was a gun and was pretty unlucky not get drafted , good luck to the kid.

Another Question to the SA mob one of my good mates from football went to SA this year i think maybe to play with Wests??? im not sure use might have to confirm that but his name is David Caccamo his from Cannons and is a very stylish player a bit of a rev head he gets that footy fever to belt a bloke, but of late has returned to Melbourne, id just like to know how he was going up there and if he was in the best and so forth.
thanks guys

cheers

Originally posted by pazza
Essendon to get another via the father/son rule:

Currently playing at Calder Cannons and at St. Bernards College, is Josh Madden, Simon's oldest.

Steven Daniher, Terry's oldest, is also being canvassed (involved with St. Kevins)

Josh Maddan is an interesting one. Only about 186cm from memory, but he has an enormous leap on him so is playing in the ruck for Calder. Not quite sure where he would play at AFL level.

Has an interesting kicking style too.

Steve Daniher is playing at Box Hill this year, but has been in the reserves all year. He is going pretty well, but I doubt he will be drafted.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Josh Maddan is an interesting one. Only about 186cm from memory, but he has an enormous leap on him so is playing in the ruck for Calder. Not quite sure where he would play at AFL level.

Steve Daniher is playing at Box Hill this year, but has been in the reserves all year. He is going pretty well, but I doubt he will be drafted.

Both could end up KPP at Essendon and with their mate Jobe Watson already there, who knows (over summer, both Josh and Steve were invited down to pre-season training at Latrobe Uni - Essendon's base, by Jobe)

Originally posted by tige19
but going on history and fact id say probably 7-8 of the top 10 will come from the TAC CUP with blokes like Ryley Dunn,Brock Mclean and Murray Boyd all just about certain to be going in the early fases of the draft.
I think that'll depend a bit on whether or not the cap concessions for all clubs to retain non-locals gets brought in.

Going on history, I don't think Victoria has ever had 7-8 of the top 10...and certainly not on average.

Best ruck I've seen is Mark Blake from Geelong, but he will go to the Cats under the father-son.

Music to my ears.

I spoke to someone in the know (a scout) who believes that Mark is worthy of a top 5 pick at this stage.

Certainly will be great to get such a talent with pick 36-40 odd.

BTW Expect him to play more at CHF for the rest of the season, a directive from on high ;)

Josh is a very interesting footballer.

Whilst not tall, he has mad hops and has brilliant hands.

Given his ability to kick goals (4 last week), i'd expect him to play a Russell Robertson type role if he makes it to the AFL.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
No worries. To make it easier here are the teams they play for:

Adam Cooney, Salim Hassan (West Adelaide / Bloods)
Harry Miller, Craig Parry (Port Adelaide / Magpies)
David Kellett (Central Districts / Bulldogs)
Leigh Treeby, Matthew Stokes (Woodwile-West Torrens / Eagles)Michael Griffiths (Glenelg / Tigers)
Adam Grocke (North Adelaide / Roosters)

Cheers. ;)
Thanks mate, much appreciated.

Here in Vic tonight they show Centrals v Eagles on Foxtel, so Kellett, Treeby and Stokes will be playing in that. I might put it on and take a look.

I'd say the 2 most exciting Victorians would be Kane Tenace and William Gayfer.

Gayfer looks a genuine key position prospect who could play forward and back, has great hands and mobility and is smart as a box of foxes.

Tenace looks top 5 material. Dashing, long-kicking wingman who might develop into a ruck-rover. Classic wingman with explosive, game-bursting pace and accelaration and the ability to kick running goals outside 50.

The Vic Metro looks very even without too many standout players. Wouldn't surprise if the majority of them went between 20 and 50 this year. None really excite.

Originally posted by Weaver

Gayfer looks a genuine key position prospect who could play forward and back, has great hands and mobility and is smart as a box of foxes.

Tenace looks top 5 material. Dashing, long-kicking wingman who might develop into a ruck-rover. Classic wingman with explosive, game-bursting pace and accelaration and the ability to kick running goals outside 50.

The Vic Metro looks very even without too many standout players. Wouldn't surprise if the majority of them went between 20 and 50 this year. None really excite.

Would have to disagree here mate.
I think that Ryley Dunn is a little more exciting has the reputation and i think he will go earlier than the 2 blokes you mentioned also Brock Mclean will probably go around the top 5 mark.

On Josh Madden he has got hops and can grab but he hasnt realy got the football brain or the skills to go i would be very suprised if he got picked up becuae if his second name was not Madden he wouldnt be a look in.

One guy to look out for from the cannons is a aboriginal guy his name is Eddie Betts his in his first year and is in the initial training squad for VIC M his very small but has the aboriginal touch.

cheers

Originally posted by Weaver

Bit surprised to hear that about Gayfer. I have heard a little about him, him being brother of, and it was all good stuff, but not "most exciting".

Couchy's Son

I was at Telstra a couple of seasons back for a Roos-Geelong game and at half-time there was a social match for ex-players and their children. Couchy's son demonstrated better kicking than the senior team! I remember one pass he did to Dipper who was jogging (can't run anymore) flat out and he didn't even have to break stride or change direction. I was calling for him to be selected in the senior side there and then! :p

Also, Tony's Shaw's daughter turned out to be a better kick than him!

:D

Best ruck I've seen is Mark Blake from Geelong, but he will go to the Cats under the father-son. Lachie McGhie is a big kid, still not sure on him though. Andrew Ericksen is 202cm so will be drafted.

Lachie McGhie?

Might be a tough call for Richmond next year - McGhie, Raines and also Thomas Roach under consideration!

I umpired Tassie on the weekend they have some pritty good crumbing players there They have a really good centre dont know his full name but wore no.4 and think his last name maybe Robinson he picked up about 40 possesions and i was very impressed as to seemed to be a Port scout.

Harry Miller is another Port Lincoln kid as was Daniel Wells last years No2 pick. I recall in junior footy Harry Miller was a stand out whereas Wells only came good in WA. Back when i was there he was very small but had an outstanding leap was Malle Parks best player each week amassed thousands of possesions kicked extraordinary goals and i had a funny feeling he would play AFL footy.

Originally posted by markstaners
I umpired Tassie on the weekend they have some pritty good crumbing players there They have a really good centre dont know his full name but wore no.4 and think his last name maybe Robinson he picked up about 40 possesions and i was very impressed as to seemed to be a Port scout.

Interesting..

Which club was this? Might see if I can find a bit more info on Mr. Robinson.

Could you keep an eye on this kid (purely for the draft's sake, dont grant him any advantages on field, lol) if you umpire a match in which he's playing and get back to me with how he does? It'd be greatly appreciated. :)

Mark LeCras is playing Colts in the WAFL at the moment, and apparently he has got what it takes to go get drafted.

Younger brother of Brent who plays CHB for West Perth in the WAFL, he trained with WCE this year to try and get a rookie list spot, but wasn't drafted.

Eddie Betts is too young for this year. He is also very small.

Lachlan McGhie is not available to Richmond via father/son.

Ryley Dunn has a great leap and a good mark but he is undersized for key position, not mobile or skillful enough for a flanker and still needs to improve his kicking. He will drop down the draft because of uncertanties about his AFL position.

Josh Madden is slow, has an ungainly running and kicking style because he holds his head so far foward and is hunchbacked as a result. He is not tall enough to ruck but does have that great leap. Really in the too hard basket.

The rush for key position and ruckman types may push McLean out of the top 5 as it did with Spriggs and plenty of other players of that type.

Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Interesting..

Which club was this? Might see if I can find a bit more info on Mr. Robinson.

Could you keep an eye on this kid (purely for the draft's sake, dont grant him any advantages on field, lol) if you umpire a match in which he's playing and get back to me with how he does? It'd be greatly appreciated. :)

He is playing for the Tassie Mariners which is Tassies state team i guess that will play in the carnival doubt i will umpire them again unless i do the national carnival.

Originally posted by tige19
Good info guys from SA.
Only query i have is that you guys name a whole lot of blokes who you think will go top 10 lol if we had your way the whole draft would be from SA :D :D

I only rate Adam Cooney and Josh Willoughby as a top 10 material. Adam Grocke might sneak in there because he is a Key forward but for the Crows sake I hope he doesn't. I think Crows might be looking at him VERY closely.;)

There seem to be few WA players that will be drafted, especially from the under-18s, kinda like last year really.