2003 side

Originally posted by The Doctor

as an understudy for West I'd be looking at Birss for that role.

and Harris would seem the logical understudy for a key defensive role.
I would like to see Cross given a few more minutes this year as to me he has all the attributes to be a very good in and under midfielder.Very clean hands,runs all day and hard at it.

Originally posted by dogboy23
I would like to see Cross given a few more minutes this year as to me he has all the attributes to be a very good in and under midfielder.Very clean hands,runs all day and hard at it.

do you see Cross as a run with player or free running?

Originally posted by OldSchool
Our most pressing needs for next season are:

A tall forward/ruck combo
A class in and under midfielder/forward
A tall defender.

When you look at the team in general there is really only two positions that we are deficient in.
I have not counted on Kretiuk with the following team as he is yet to commit but he would be a bonus.
The top line would be my projected starters with the back-up listed underneath

B Robbins Croft Harrison
Birss Penny Hargrave

HB Smith Grant Murphy
Hahn Penny McGuiness

C McMahon West Giansiracusa
Alvey ????? Dimattina

HF Power Bandy Johnson
McGuiness Grant Robbins

F Bowden Hunter Brown
Hargrave ?????? Garlick

R Darcy Eagleton Garlick
Bandy Brown Dimattina

We look to be well covered in most positions and whilst we should always look at class players as trade options our most pressing needs are really obvious

You are one of the true believers when it comes to Bowden, Old School!

No Hahn or Alvey in the best 22 but Eagleton makes it? No Penny?

There certainly are a lot of views (or as Doc would say 'a plethora of views". Tell me Doc, what is a plethora? ) on the 2003 team but for mine Hahn is an essential given our lack of hard nuts in the middle and Penny too give our lack of height.

( I also think Garlick is needed as a goal kicking forward but I know I am in an ever decreasing minority)

Originally posted by Mr. Walker

Tell me Doc, what is a plethora?

Here you are Mr Walker from the Macqurie dictionary :)

plethora noun 1. overfullness; superabundance. 2. Pathology Obsolete a morbid condition due to excessof red corpuscles in the blood or increase in the quantity of blood. [NL , from Greek plethorefullness]

I used no.1 above in my description not the one on the morbid condition of red corpuscles :D .

thanks Doc.

PS I still say we should go for the best player avaialable with our first draft pick. If that plethorates further our plethora of on ballers then so be it.

FB: Kritter Penny Hargrave
CHB: Smith Grant Murphy
C: Johnson West Power
CHF: Guido Bandy Garlick
FF: Brown Croft McGuiness
R: Darcy Hahn Robbins

Interchange: McMahon, Alvey, Bowden, Harris

Highlights: Strong centre square combo West, Hahn and Robbins. The three players who get the ball out. Throw Johnson and Browny as the change centre squares guys.

Settled backline with height in key posts with Grant and Penny. Skilled support on the CHB line with Grant, Murphy and Smith. Toughness on the full back line with Kritter, Penny and Hargrave after a summer in the gym.

Crofty listed at full forward yet plays a drifting forward role to allow space for Brown, Johnson and McGuiness. Crofty there to make a contest, and fight it out as he does, play on etc and play his natural game. Many years undermanned in the backline have taken there toll and he deserves that chance to finish his career as a forward.

Lots of Run. From the Back flanks to the forward flanks all these players could push for on-ball roles.

At our best we can match it with most sides and nothing less than finals will do. The time has came and we should be there next year!

I like your side, in fact it is nearly as good as mine. But I do have two questions;-

1. Who in the backline minds the other teams quickest small forward. It is a problem we have now I think with players like Farmer and Burns (if he has his one day in twenty against us).

2. Do you really feel confident that Bandy can hold down CHF and perform well there every week. Without Grant there IMO the possible replacments on the current list are too iffy to be relied on . I can just see us getting to a GF (please, Oh please) and being slaughtered in the key forward posts. Give me a guy who always contests and always puts pressure on his opponent over the flashy type any day.

3. I know I said two questions but this is more of an opinion. IMO Croft is a defender who in the past has pinch hit at FF for very short periods. As a defender I rate him very highly, up forward I think it is asking too much for 100 minutes of effort.

I like your side, in fact it is nearly as good as mine. But I do have two questions;-

1. Who in the backline minds the other teams quickest small forward. It is a problem we have now I think with players like Farmer and Burns (if he has his one day in twenty against us).

If only Robbo had the concentration to keep these guys under control, he could be a great rebounding BP like Mark Johnson or Chris Scott.

2. Do you really feel confident that Bandy can hold down CHF and perform well there every week. Without Grant there IMO the possible replacments on the current list are too iffy to be relied on . I can just see us getting to a GF (please, Oh please) and being slaughtered in the key forward posts. Give me a guy who always contests and always puts pressure on his opponent over the flashy type any day.

3. I know I said two questions but this is more of an opinion. IMO Croft is a defender who in the past has pinch hit at FF for very short periods. As a defender I rate him very highly, up forward I think it is asking too much for 100 minutes of effort.

Good post, Mr. Walker.

1. Hargrave gets first go, Birss is also a chance. I also like the idea of using Smith - most clubs try to take him out of the play anyway, and Murphy can carry the ball out of defense as well as Smith can.

2. No confidence at all.

3. Croft can't be measured as a FF in goals - he won't kick enough. He will provide a great contest and make sure the ball always comes to ground and doesn't leave our F50 easily.

Originally posted by jim440

3. Croft can't be measured as a FF in goals - he won't kick enough. He will provide a great contest and make sure the ball always comes to ground and doesn't leave our F50 easily.

I dont neccessarilly agree with this. He is strong and fairly big, and takes a fair contested mark. Give him a preseason at FF and let him settle intothe role, and see how he goes.

This is the backline I want to see in 03

Robbo, Penny, Hargreave
Smith, Grant, Power

This is the forward line I want to see in 03

Guido, Keating, Bandy
Brown, Croft, McGuiness

I reckon that would kick arse, and leave

Westy, Murph, Hahn, Gilbee, Johno, and Dimma rotating through the centre square.

Originally posted by stefoid
This is the backline I want to see in 03

Robbo, Penny, Hargreave
Smith, Grant, Power

Guido, Keating, Bandy
Brown, Croft, McGuiness

Westy, Murph, Hahn, Gilbee, Johno, and Dimma rotating through the centre square.

Great to get back to the footy.

I don't think Robbo has the concentration for the backline, he's way too loose. I would play him on the forward flank. Move Smith back to the pocket, McGuinness to the HBF.

Originally posted by stefoid

Guido, Keating, Bandy
Brown, Croft, McGuiness

Just on Keating:

I read on the Brisbane board that he's in the top 3 earners at the Lions - given the talent on their list, we're talking 500K+ - I'm not prepared to pay that price for a 27 year old who'll essentially play second fiddle in our ruck department and who'll be an average key forward at best.

Also have serious doubts on Croft as a permanent key forward, and think our expectations on McGuiness might be a touch high.

Lade's 26 this year. Dunno how much money he'd be on, i think he might be out of contract this year in any case.

Originally posted by Westy_Boy

Just on Keating:

I read on the Brisbane board that he's in the top 3 earners at the Lions - given the talent on their list, we're talking 500K+ - I'm not prepared to pay that price for a 27 year old who'll essentially play second fiddle in our ruck department and who'll be an average key forward at best.

Also have serious doubts on Croft as a permanent key forward, and think our expectations on McGuiness might be a touch high.

Really, top 3 earners? bloody hell! Youd think they would be glad to let him go then.

Originally posted by jim440

We couldn't afford him, mate.

And even if we could, would you be prepared to give up a Murphy or a Giansiracusa?

Clark Keating will cost us about the same as Brown. Obivously I wouldn't trade Bobby or Gian but I don't think we would need to do so anywho. Alvey, Robbo, Harrison would look good in the purple, green, red and white.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
Thanks Porthos.

Do you think he will be leaving Port? He seems to be regarded behind French.
Mostly because Lade was having trouble finding form coming off the bench after spending two years out with leg injuries.

I dunno who'll be leaving Port...it'll all depend on the offers. I do think that any or all of Lade, French, Brogan and Ackland will be seriously up for trade.

Originally posted by Porthos
Mostly because Lade was having trouble finding form coming off the bench after spending two years out with leg injuries.

I dunno who'll be leaving Port...it'll all depend on the offers. I do think that any or all of Lade, French, Brogan and Ackland will be seriously up for trade.

How do you rate each?

French is more of a genuine ruck
Lade more of a genuine forward
Brogan is an athlete and Ackland a key position type.
I would be interested in Lade out of that quartet.

Thurstans or Morgan might be worth a look at as a tall defender

Originally posted by OldSchool
French is more of a genuine ruck
Lade more of a genuine forward
Brogan is an athlete and Ackland a key position type.
I would be interested in Lade out of that quartet.

Thurstans or Morgan might be worth a look at as a tall defender

Lade sounds good. He can buddy up with Penny and they can bich about loosing two years to leg injuries.