Flying Joey

Jul 5, 2005
Joeys Red
any players from sa college footy that have improved out of site this year to give the draft/rookie lists a shake.... shc have phil raymond, craig fitzgerald and daniel caire (only 17 so more chance next year)...

Flying Joey said:
any players from sa college footy that have improved out of site this year to give the draft/rookie lists a shake.... shc have phil raymond, craig fitzgerald and daniel caire (only 17 so more chance next year)...

Craig Fitzgerald possibly too small ? Midfielders and wingman these days are 6 foot tall, unless they are freaks like Bell, Davey etc. etc.

Hugh Minson, he's 201cm and his brother is will at the bulldogs. Has spoken to a few clubs already.

I agree with Straylan minson is a big chance i rate him highly. Also on the original post if Fitsy was taller he would be a certaintity to get drafted but i dont think clubs will touch him because of his lack of size, maybe an outside chance for a rookie list. D Caire is a good footballer but i dont think he will get drafted, once again size would be an issue and maybe even pace.

Raymond though, i wouldnt be surprised one bit if a club takes a risk with a late pick or rookie list selection with him, he is tall, athletice, has a good vertical leap and is a great kick especially for goal. I actually expect him to get taken.

On a side note the player that will definately get drafted from SHC is only in yr 11, Button, the kid will be a gun, i think he is finally starting to realise his size and how good he actually is.

Flying Joey said:

Phil Raymond and Craig Fitzgerald are definite possibilities and will probabaly go but Caire will not go.

Button, Day and Ogrady are definite possibilities also to watch out for next year.

Tim Davey winning Rostrevors B&F in a canter would have to increase his chances. Played his 1st game for norwood on the weekend since college footy finished and bagged 4!!!

Has anyone heard anything about the Gleeson Boys?? Being the first year of college footy @ that skool they got thrown in the two's but easily accounted for the likes of CBC 1sts near the end of the season. Also heard some scouts had been showing an interest in two or three of those lads. I never got to see them play

RooDog said:
I agree with Straylan minson is a big chance i rate him highly. Also on the original post if Fitsy was taller he would be a certaintity to get drafted but i dont think clubs will touch him because of his lack of size, maybe an outside chance for a rookie list. D Caire is a good footballer but i dont think he will get drafted, once again size would be an issue and maybe even pace.

Raymond though, i wouldnt be surprised one bit if a club takes a risk with a late pick or rookie list selection with him, he is tall, athletice, has a good vertical leap and is a great kick especially for goal. I actually expect him to get taken.

On a side note the player that will definately get drafted from SHC is only in yr 11, Button, the kid will be a gun, i think he is finally starting to realise his size and how good he actually is.

daniel caire lacks pace???? riiiiittteee. compared to shirvo yeah is is slow but jeeesus. have u seen him play??

speaking of pace, anyone seen george whiting play? runs 100m in something like 11 sec and has consolidated a firm position in the sts 1sts this year. Kicked 3 goals on debut against st mic. only yr 11, very underrated

MJ101 said:
Tim Davey winning Rostrevors B&F in a canter would have to increase his chances. Played his 1st game for norwood on the weekend since college footy finished and bagged 4!!!

Has anyone heard anything about the Gleeson Boys?? Being the first year of college footy @ that skool they got thrown in the two's but easily accounted for the likes of CBC 1sts near the end of the season. Also heard some scouts had been showing an interest in two or three of those lads. I never got to see them play

I have mates that go to Gleeson, as i go to Pedare. They gave us a belting in the first intercol between the teams. They have some guns - Jon Cheetham will play AFL, a kid called Obieshek is also a gun - he won the medal for BOG. The captain, dunno his name, is also good.
Of the young kids, there is this one kid who played full back in the twilight cup, mylray, who is classy.

Dunno bout gettin drafted tho.

A Warrior named Lica said:
I have mates that go to Gleeson, as i go to Pedare. They gave us a belting in the first intercol between the teams. They have some guns - Jon Cheetham will play AFL, a kid called Obieshek is also a gun - he won the medal for BOG. The captain, dunno his name, is also good.
Of the young kids, there is this one kid who played full back in the twilight cup, mylray, who is classy.

Dunno bout gettin drafted tho.

G'day all I go to gleeson am in year 12 dont take to much notice to my name as i am a guy not a girl , There are some guns at this skool. Ryan Roberts Mathew Mylrea and William Rowe who are year 10 playing in two games most saturdays for the year 10 and the Open team. Mylrea and Roberts are more of a half forward players strong pair of hands hard at the ball. Rowe is a very good wingman plays like hes 8 feet tall and not afraid of any 1. Mark Obieshek is a gun plays A grade for Golden Grove, John Cheetman plays for North each week and was selected in the All-Australian team. Brett Sparnon is a gun solid built and is not afraid to take any of then one on.

Roberts Plays for the Redlegs (Dont no if he still dose) Mylrea played for North but the zones have changed and he is now forced to play for centrals. Roberts and Mylrea Where given best on ground agiants C.B.C Roberts played on a half forward flank kicking 1 goal 2 in a very wet day and his tackling was superb.Mlyrea played half backflank and keep is player to no goals. You cant miss Roberts with his helment! Both are highly skilled players Mlyrea is a left footer that can hit a target 50meters away. Roberts is a both sided player cant kick as far but has the best vision have ever seen

Yeah but I dont reckon those kids are as good as some of the year 10's at Pedare.
We played Gleson in the twilight cup and admittedly lost but had the best two or three players in the competion. We were favourites
You are right aboyt Rowe - he is a gun. Small but quick and hard
Mylray is also a gun. Dunno about Roberts.
Yeah that kid Sparnen is the SRC captain as I saw him speak at the joint assembly. He is a gun also but is he big enough?
i rate cheatham as the best player at gleeson by miles - noone else is close

until you pedare, gleeson blokes are good enough to play with the big boys, stop talking your schools up cos we all know that you cannot even beat most teams 2nd's. so until you prove to us that you can match it with anyone, take your bull******** elsewhere!!!

shooter#9 said:
speaking of pace, anyone seen george whiting play? runs 100m in something like 11 sec and has consolidated a firm position in the sts 1sts this year. Kicked 3 goals on debut against st mic. only yr 11, very underrated

he is a gun..... if he is only yr 11, he has a massive chance for draft

shooter#9 said:

Agreed... hes a gun, very underrated, bloody quick. where would he be playing next year? midfield?

bigfishtrain said:
Agreed... hes a gun, very underrated, bloody quick. where would he be playing next year? midfield?
yeah probably more of a winger tho is better in space than in traffic, isnt quite as good as in an under altho is quite a strong player for his position but hasnt really worked out how to use it yet, will play a role in sts06 gun midfield tho

shooter#9 said:
yeah probably more of a winger tho is better in space than in traffic, isnt quite as good as in an under altho is quite a strong player for his position but hasnt really worked out how to use it yet, will play a role in sts06 gun midfield tho

i heard he was bloddy adgile! someone told me today that he was only in year 10, is this true? people talk highly of him, i bet hes actually crap! so in 2006 where will he play? wing or midfield? :confused:

whiting is ok, but he is nothing special...there are better players than him in the sts team next yr such as henry white, christie etc...

so hes not a possible draftee? is hes as quick and as adgile at everyone says, then wont clubs pick up on this and build him up? (whiting, that is)

i had the honour of playing with whiting this year, great to see how much he has developed this year, both physically and in the way he plays his football. The more his confidence grows the better he gets. Will surely catch some teams off guard next year with his acceleration.. a quality that rates highly with recruiting managers

i agree with shooter he does love a whinge every now and then but who doesn't? Watch out for the exciting Whiting nxt yr very big chance at getting drafted and probably one of the most underrated players in the sts team.

oh ok, i'll watch out for whiting. another sts boy i keep hearing about is that botten fella. midfeild or wing or something, year 11. anyone know anything about him, apparently hes really good. i think sts is going to have a good outfit for 2006; shultz, harry, christie, white, whiting, botten... and aren't their year 10's pritty good too? i think sts might be the team to beat in 2006! mind you, sacred heart have a bloody good team aswel!

st michaels seemed to come from nowhere this year in the k/o comp. was this due to some mid-season inclusions?? either way, does this team have any stars and if so do any of them have any chance of getting picked up this draft or the next???