2009 delistings

big al the dee

Draftee
Does anybody have any news on potential delistings for 2009, I am not sure what the standings are but the club has loosely stated that it wants to draft 6 players this year, which means we will have to lose 7 players from the list assuming that Spencer is upgraded to the senior list.

Newton has 1 year left on contract
Healy, McKenzie and Hughes to be retained on the rookie list

Delistings/ Retirements so far:
Robertson
Wheatley
Whelan

Future delistings ? but not sure of contract standings
Bell
Bartram
Buckley
Johnson
Meesen

Buckley soon to be 23 and only played a handful of games, has potential but that is an ugly word, we have to delist someone sooner or later. Personally I like Johnson but he has just not done enough.

Well if Bailey is eyeing out 6 new kids then some heavy moving will have to happen.

Bell at 25 (next year) is an interesting one. Apparently Bailey likes him in the side but with limited senior footy under his belt and at an age where he still could be traded it will be a big pointer to where Bailey's priorites are IMO. Is he contracted next year?

Bell and Johnson are the only ones I can see getting the chop, which means 5 spots available on the list.

Priority Pick 2009 Draft
Pick #1 2009 Draft
Pick #17 2009 Draft
Pick #33 2009 Draft
Upgrade Shane Valenti to main list

I would like perhaps one more spot available and use another pick in the draft.

Bartram was playing some solid footy towards the end of the season so I can't see him getting the chop.

We won't be delisting Bartram, Johnson or Meesen. As for Buckley and Bell, I have no idea.
I'd probs keep them all tbh.

FFS Last and we've got people wanting to keep, keep keep.

Already gone. Robertson, Whelan, Wheatley.

Not knowing contracts but MFC can live without.

Bail, Bartram, Bell , Cheney(70/30 like to stay), Buckley(40/60), Dunn(50/50), Paul Johnson, Miller, Newton.

4 or 5 out of the 9 should go. *I like a few there but if push comes to shove, I'll be more then happy to show Cheney, Buckley, Dunn the door.

No to Valenti, Hughes, Zomer, Healey.

wouldnt it be great if we could steal a very good to elite player with it, we certainly would have plenty of CAP room.
Unlikely but would be pretty handy. Pick 1 is a great card to have up our sleeve although players can play hard ball and I am not sure if now is the time to open the cheque book (yet).

FFS Last and we've got people wanting to keep, keep keep.

Already gone. Robertson, Whelan, Wheatley.

Not knowing contracts but MFC can live without.

Bail, Bartram, Bell , Cheney(70/30 like to stay), Buckley(40/60), Dunn(50/50), Paul Johnson, Miller, Newton.

4 or 5 out of the 9 should go. *I like a few there but if push comes to shove, I'll be more then happy to show Cheney, Buckley, Dunn the door.

No to Valenti, Hughes, Zomer, Healey.

I can understand why you'd want to rid people like Bell but... Why would you want to delist first year players!? We drafted them for our future, not for one year contracts so we can kick them to the curb. Not everyone is gonna be a gun player in 1 year, give them a chance ffs.

BTW: Buckley is a keeper.

Bell and Johnson are as good as gone IMO, if Buckley's contract is up, he might be in trouble too. I also believe Bartram's contract is up, but I reckon he might have done enough this year to jump ahead of Bell and Buckley and retain a spot.

They all have some currency though, so we should try to offload them before we chop.

cheney shown the door, you have got to be kidding.. kid will be playing in the back pocket for us for a long long time... great mark, strong and not the worst skills (will improve)... great body size and is bloody tough...

this year isnt going to be the year for many trades, next year however will be

- why would we get rid of both meesen and johnno? that would leave us with the russian, spence and big stef - hardly a very imposing ruck division. meesen has potential if he stays fit - he was a top-10 draft pick, no?
- not a fan of bell, he has to go. not sure about bucks either.
- dunn has been fairly solid this season, as has bartram.
- what is the status of miller's contract? not a huge fan of him either, and with our forward line taking shape at long last, he's not in the picture. trade bait?
- surely we can just pay newton out and get rid of him - he can't be on a huge packet and is just dead weight atm.

Unlikely but would be pretty handy. Pick 1 is a great card to have up our sleeve although players can play hard ball and I am not sure if now is the time to open the cheque book (yet).

I have faith, trade week can get pretty hectic and any player thats about success > money may take this chance to get to a club going places rather then lpay the lottery wiyth the new cluybs setup.

How about for a ridiculous curly one: Delist a younger player, say Mc Namara and rookie him? Not saying i think its a good idea, its just that he may struggle for games if all players are fit.

Just a idea. Does not mean I suport it.

Why would you want to delist first year players!? We drafted them for our future, not for one year contracts so we can kick them to the curb.
I agree with this.

There is a fine line between flooding the list with youth and injecting the list with the cream of players. Last year we pretty much flooded the list with young players who could use the ball and had agility or pace. This year IMO is about consolidating that with picks 1,2 and 18 to get some purpose players (the cream if you like) to give us a real edge - I see at most 3 or 4 filling this role. Retirees and delisting players without a future is fine but replacing a 1st year player like Bail with another speculative late pick is kind of pointless.

Reckon it's just plain silly to be overreacting because of our ladder position this year and talking about delisting players willy-nilly, that's for sure.

The quality of our squad was not the problem this year. Injuries were a far greater issue, and cost us at least 5 games.

With fewer injuries and the draft picks we have, I honestly think we're a legitimate chance to play finals next year.

- why would we get rid of both meesen and johnno? that would leave us with the russian, spence and big stef - hardly a very imposing ruck division. meesen has potential if he stays fit - he was a top-10 draft pick, no?

Well I agree that we should be keeping PJ & the Meese, but the Russky is close to, if not one of THE best rucks in the AFL right now IMO.

He's won every ruck duel he's had this year, and his foot skills have improved incredibly in recent weeks as well. He's got real potency up forward too, especially with that 5-goal haul against Carlton...

I have faith, trade week can get pretty hectic and any player thats about success > money may take this chance to get to a club going places rather then lpay the lottery wiyth the new cluybs setup.
Admittedly losing Robbo, Wheatley and Whelan would free up some cap space and $ but as you say it will take a fair bit of faith/luck to get a good prospect who doesn't cost the earth.

we'd almost be willing to pay the earth for a premiership at this point. who wants to live here stuck on 12 flags?? :cool:

No arguement there mate but we have a lot of hard work and development to go before we are in a premiership window not to mention that our existing players will get pay rises as well. No doubt we will try and get some good talent from other teams at some stage but you strike when the iron is hot. If someone falls in our lap this year in the PSD then great but if we are paying top dollar then I will have reservations.

yeh true but our loss to gain ratio isn't in our favour i dont believe, unless the player is willing to walk out on their club and be taken at 1 in the preseason draft... at least we could do a cheap deal that way