2009 Draw Leaks

• Thread starter Thread starter CHBench

Anyone got any?
Due to come out in the next week or two.

From what has been printed:

We play Adelaide twice
Port once
Home game @ GC vs Brisbane week before bye
6 Friday Night Matches
Playing Hawks in Tassie in the first 4 or 5 rounds

Rnd 1:

Thursday 26th March:
Richmond V Carlton, MCG (n)
Friday 27th:
Hawthorn V Geelong, MCG (n)
Saturday 28th:
Collingwood V. Adelaide, MCG
St.Kilda V Sydney, Telstra Dome (n)
Brisbane V West Coast, Gabba (n)
Sunday 29th:
Melbourne V North Melbourne, MCG
Port Adelaide V. Essendon, AAMI
Fremantle V Western Bulldogs, Subiaco

Fixture released on Friday 24th

Adelaide and port are already whining about the draw over here:

"The Power's 11 home games include a heavy burden of Sunday matches, challenging the club's campaign to increase attendances at AAMI Stadium.
Only one of these home matches is on Friday night and just two on Saturday night – the preferred timeslot of Port fans."

Adelaide and port are already whining about the draw over here:

"The Power's 11 home games include a heavy burden of Sunday matches, challenging the club's campaign to increase attendances at AAMI Stadium.
Only one of these home matches is on Friday night and just two on Saturday night – the preferred timeslot of Port fans."

Is that because most of the population will be at Church?

Gee so are those GC "home games" confirmed? If they are, that means like -4 to 8 premiership points.. Stupid club, selling wins for bloody money. It's not like we're Melbourne and desperate for $$. Very stupid decision. Going interstate like 20 times is a certainty for us, it's always like that every year.

MCG one day, Launceston the next

Mark Stevens | October 15, 2008 12:00am

ST KILDA is heading to Aurora Stadium for the first time since abandoning Tasmania at the end of 2006.
A draft version of the AFL's fixture is believed to include a Round 19 Hawthorn-St Kilda clash in Launceston.

The preliminary final re-match will test the ground's capacity of 20,000.

The match would attract 50,000-60,000, at the MCG, given the clubs' supporter bases.

The Saints played two home games a season for four years in Tasmania, but then put a push for a premiership ahead of cash for selling games.

Despite an imposing record at their home ground, Telstra Dome, in that period, the Saints could manage only a 4-4 record at Launceston.

The draft fixture has the Saints starting the season with a home game against Sydney.

The Saints have just one visit to Perth, but may not have been offered all the Friday night opportunities they wanted.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24498586-19742,00.html

Sydney again at TD to kick off the season. That's not too bad :thumbsu:

Struth, why don't they get us to play the Doggies in flipping Darwin as well! If we get the Cattery as well, oh my goodness will I be ticked.

I'm in that line of work, and I can tell you, no. Krusden's not far off the mark...
... I actually totally missed the "Church" pun yesterday as I was half asleep. If indeed it was a pun regarding Church niteclub that is ha ha!
... Inre: the draw - one perth trip isn't too bad. Good to see we're going to tassie again. Have copped a bit for "abandoning" tasmania in the papers however.

... I actually totally missed the "Church" pun yesterday as I was half asleep. If indeed it was a pun regarding Church niteclub that is ha ha!
... Inre: the draw - one perth trip isn't too bad. Good to see we're going to tassie again. Have copped a bit for "abandoning" tasmania in the papers however.

Ha ha , no I had forgotton the Church nightclub. I think I may have been to that particular Church very early one Sunday, when I used to visit Adelaide for the Grand Prix ( look how old I am!), but it's a bit of a blurr.
Actually I was just having a dig at "The city of Churches" and Adelaide's reputation as a big country town.:D

Anyone got any?
Due to come out in the next week or two.

From what has been printed:

We play Adelaide twice
Port once
Home game @ GC vs Brisbane week before bye
6 Friday Night Matches
Playing Hawks in Tassie in the first 4 or 5 rounds

Rnd 1 Leaks:

Richmond V Carlton Thursday Night Season Opener
Hawthorn V Geelong Friday Night Round 1
Collingwood V. Adelaide, MCG
Port Adelaide V. Essendon, AAMI

Richmond, Bulldogs, Fremantle, West Coast, Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, North - Rnd 1 Possibilities

Anymore? :cool:

I know you guys probably don't care, but this is set in stone.
Has been for some time now.

So will we be travelling more than 6 times? I reckon the GC & Tassie games will be at the expense of a Perth and Adelaide game. I don't mind that really. We said we're not willing to give up a Melbourne game for the GC and Tassie should be no different.

My understanding is that the 6 interstate games will be one in each place (Gold Coast, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth & Launceston).

I'm just waiting for the official draw to come out so I can see if I can get to any interstate games next season. Have been to Brisbane & Launceston for footy, but not the other places.

Yeah, both of those games were losses, to PA in 2003 and Brisbane last year. Wouldn't mind going to Adelaide to see us win there against the Crows, or to Sydney (where I've never been at all). Gold Coast seems like a stretch to me, and I don't really think we're much of a chance of beating Hawthorn in Launceston.

Doesn't sound too bad :

When quizzed about St Kilda’s opposition on the Gold Coast, Fraser was coy.

“I could tell you, but I’d have to kill you,” he said in a thick Scottish accent, sounding decidedly like his famous super spy compatriot.

“I know who we play; I think fans will be pretty happy when the draw comes out. There was certainly one club we didn’t want to play there and we made sure we got that outcome. It’s a good outcome for us and will certainly be a home game advantage.”

The St Kilda Football Club is currently finalising all membership options for the 2009 AFL Season and will advise supporters of arrangements once the fixture is released by the league.

“We’ll obviously have a make up game in Melbourne which means our members still have 11 games to go to,” Fraser said.

“We haven’t seen the (full) draw yet, so we won’t know which game it will be, but we’ll make sure that our members are still well and truly looked after and will have the opportunity to go to at least 11 games.”

Monday Night Footy:
Rnd 7 - Collingwood vs StKilda, MCG

According to Caro on 3AW

Gee whiz.

Better organise a late start for Tuesday.