2009 Trade Discussion Part 9

Higgins trouble...

Bare in mind everyone in my league has Buddy. Im leaning towards him as my other fowards are marginally better than most in my league.

If you could have any of the above who would you pick?

I am pretty sure I am going to go Higgins > Buddy this week for that very same reason.

Apart from the 3 tons on the trot I am picking him up mostly as a blocking tactic because most others in my league have him. I am trying to hold on as overalll points leader in my league so I think its better to have as many players the same as then as possible. Bringing in buddy helps this.

Slightly uncharted territory here - first time DTer so not sure about how to time trades at the end.

I've got 3 trades left, and my injuries are Cox in the ruck and Higgins & Warren in the Forwards (with one of Ballantyne/Sidebottom covering).

I think I'm due to swap Cox -> Petrie/Sandilands, and I was thinking of doing Warren -> Pavlich next week. But now that Higgins is down, should I do Higgins -> Pav and carry Warren through the season?

I'm going for a league win, and i'm guaranteed top 3 even if I lose this week (playing a strong team). Obviously Higgins might still come back, but upgrading him over Warren leaves me with more money for my last trade (currently have 115k).

What are you guys doing?
Anyone, please? Really not sure how many trades I need and when to use them...

I am pretty sure I am going to go Higgins > Buddy this week for that very same reason.

Apart from the 3 tons on the trot I am picking him up mostly as a blocking tactic because most others in my league have him. I am trying to hold on as overalll points leader in my league so I think its better to have as many players the same as then as possible. Bringing in buddy helps this.

Interesting tactic, not one that I prescribe to personally.

I always think the best option is to get your best option. If your best option is Franklin then take him, if he isn't, pick whoever you believe is best for you.

I never look at the team I'm playing or that I'm going to play when I trade.

That's just how I look at it..... But I haven't won a car yet.... :D

Says you who can't spell 'because'

Whoops!!! I wish I could say I meant that :eek: Talk about hypocritical!

The occasional word slip-up is alright (although, not when telling someone else to spell correctly), but I'm talking more about using 'ur' instead of your/you're or 'u' instead of you - things like that. In fact, I think it says in the bigfooty rules to keep msn language to a minimum.

But anyway, enough of me making a fool of myself, back to the footy :thumbsu:.

I have 4 trades left and unsure what to do with Higgins (ranked 641)

Option 1:

No trades - Play Ballantyne for Higgins and wait a week to see if anyone drops in value

Option 2:

Higgins -> Harvey or Goodwin (can't afford anyone else that is decent)

Option 3:

Sam Wright -> Walters (2nd forward reserve behind Ballantyne)
and
Higgins -> Brad Johnson or Davis

Option 4:

Davenport (have Anthony as an emergency) -> any mid under 180K (Shiels/Joseph/Sheldon/Redden/Swift - will be my 2nd bench midfielder so may never actually need to play)
and
Higgins -> Any forward (Chappy/ROK/Stevie J - have everyone else worth getting)

Midfield at the moment: Swan, Bartel, Gibbs, Murphy, Kornes and Selwood (Davenport and Anthony)

Forward line at the moment: Pav, Didak, Buddy, Deledio, J.Brown, Voldt and Higgins (Ballantyne and Wright)

Opinions?

I have 4 trades left and unsure what to do with Higgins (ranked 641)

Option 1:

No trades - Play Ballantyne for Higgins and wait a week to see if anyone drops in value

Option 2:

Higgins -> Harvey or Goodwin (can't afford anyone else that is decent)

Option 3:

Sam Wright -> Walters (2nd forward reserve behind Ballantyne)
and
Higgins -> Brad Johnson or Davis

Option 4:

Davenport (have Anthony as an emergency) -> any mid under 180K (Shiels/Joseph/Sheldon/Redden/Swift - will be my 2nd bench midfielder so may never actually need to play)
and
Higgins -> Any forward (Chappy/ROK/Stevie J - have everyone else worth getting)

Midfield at the moment: Swan, Bartel, Gibbs, Murphy, Kornes and Selwood (Davenport and Anthony)

Forward line at the moment: Pav, Didak, Buddy, Deledio, J.Brown, Voldt and Higgins (Ballantyne and Wright)

Opinions?

Option 4, use 2 trades and u will make the norm trades for finals, 2: Best option IMO :thumbsu:

Hey everyone, just a small question I have:

I have 150k in the bank and two trades with my only injury being Higgins. I am ranked 2300 (not nearly close enough to go for the overall) and am first in my league. The team I am playing this week is not a danger game.

I would like to trade Higgins if only to continue my rise up the ranks (around 25,000 places since round 7), but don't want to take the huge risk of trading too soon. I have cover in Hogan and Sidebottom.

So should I trade Higgins?

Hey everyone, just a small question I have:

I have 150k in the bank and two trades with my only injury being Higgins. I am ranked 2300 (not nearly close enough to go for the overall) and am first in my league. The team I am playing this week is not a danger game.

I would like to trade Higgins if only to continue my rise up the ranks (around 25,000 places since round 7), but don't want to take the huge risk of trading too soon. I have cover in Hogan and Sidebottom.

So should I trade Higgins?
With Hogan and Sidebottom as cover, and 1st spot sewn up, it's probably worth holding onto Higgins for a week. You never know what will happen to players this week in other positions where your cover is lacking.

I've got four trades left. Two will be downgrades and two will be upgrades. At the moment I'm thinking M.Brown > C.Wilson, and Sidebottom > J.van Berlo. I'm not sure whether or not to risk making these trades now, as Brown (particularly) and Sidebottom both have high breakevens. Every bit of cash is going to count.

3 trades left, 400k (don't ask how that happened! I had cash lined up for upgrades and then 3 or 4 season ending injuries hit me)

B: goddard, lockyer, fisher, hargrave, drummond, broughton, grimes (suban, post)
C: selwood, bartel, kornes, corey, hasleby, s.tuck (l.anthony, muston)
R: cox, mcintosh (jacobs, browne)
F: riewoldt, chapman, deledio, s.johnson, pavlich, franklin, higgins (ballantyne, mckernan)

I've highlighted in red three areas of major concern.

1. S.Tuck: is unlikely to make the final 22 this week for Richmond given his poor performance for Coburg and our win last week. At 400k, I could upgrade him to swan and still have 300k left over.
  2. Cox: may not play again this year...if there is no chance I may aswell trade him out now as I have been coping a 0 for a few weeks now. I think Sandilands may be the best option.
  3. Higgins: I have so much money I'm almost tempted to cop 3 donuts from him until he comes back in the prelims and just deal with ballantyne scoring 50s.
I really want to keep a trade until the grand final (if I make it). Sitting on higgins and tuck for now and trading cox seems like the best option, what do you guys think?

400k goes a long way...how am i going to effectively use it up? Mckernan (giving his injury is about as serious as higgins i may as well get rid of him instead to burn the cash and maybe get higgins back for 1 or 2 instead of mckernan) for jono brown and s.tuck for swan?

I've made a royal mess of what was just a few weeks ago a top 100 side! :(

gday fellas, im ranked in the top 500 and im still on my way up i feel. i need to trade higgins out, and money is no issue. id love to get okeef but then id have about 3k left over, which i dont want as i need money for later trades. my options are didak, davis, pavlich and harvey. harveys form has been pritty good, pav looks good, davis and didak have been pritty consistent. pleaaassseeee helppppp?

Didak or Pav. Both pritty good options.:thumbsu:

Trading out Cox and Adcock (Or just Adcock if i think Nicnat can be enough cover)

Options for Cox: Sandilands, Mitch Clark and Jolly
(Have HMac and NicNat)

Options for Adcock: Ryder and Lockyer

5 trades and 108k left and even though Sandi has a huge b/e, that part of it isn't too worrying.

Thoughts?

Trading out Cox and Adcock (Or just Adcock if i think Nicnat can be enough cover)

Options for Cox: Sandilands, Mitch Clark and Jolly
(Have HMac and NicNat)

Options for Adcock: Ryder and Lockyer

5 trades and 108k left and even though Sandi has a huge b/e, that part of it isn't too worrying.

Thoughts?
Do you have any downgrades left? If money isn't too much of an issue then I'd go Sandi + Lockyer.

I'm in a similar position. Want to get Sandi for Cox, and trying to weigh up if its worth leaving it an extra week for his price to drop a bit more (doubtful i'll win my league game this week, but already guaranteed top 4).

3 trades left, 400k (don't ask how that happened! I had cash lined up for upgrades and then 3 or 4 season ending injuries hit me)

B: goddard, lockyer, fisher, hargrave, drummond, broughton, grimes (suban, post)
C: selwood, bartel, kornes, corey, hasleby, s.tuck (l.anthony, muston)
R: cox, mcintosh (jacobs, browne)
F: riewoldt, chapman, deledio, s.johnson, pavlich, franklin, higgins (ballantyne, mckernan)

I've highlighted in red three areas of major concern.

1. S.Tuck: is unlikely to make the final 22 this week for Richmond given his poor performance for Coburg and our win last week. At 400k, I could upgrade him to swan and still have 300k left over.
  2. Cox: may not play again this year...if there is no chance I may aswell trade him out now as I have been coping a 0 for a few weeks now. I think Sandilands may be the best option.
  3. Higgins: I have so much money I'm almost tempted to cop 3 donuts from him until he comes back in the prelims and just deal with ballantyne scoring 50s.
I really want to keep a trade until the grand final (if I make it). Sitting on higgins and tuck for now and trading cox seems like the best option, what do you guys think?

400k goes a long way...how am i going to effectively use it up? Mckernan (giving his injury is about as serious as higgins i may as well get rid of him instead to burn the cash and maybe get higgins back for 1 or 2 instead of mckernan) for jono brown and s.tuck for swan?

I've made a royal mess of what was just a few weeks ago a top 100 side! :(

I'd do Cox > Sandi
then McKernan to best available.

Keeping Higgins on the pine will help you come grand final time if one of your forwards doesn't come up, and with the amount of cash you have, it would be most sensible and plausible IMO.

I'm currently sitting Roughy and Ballantyne on my bench in the forwards, which has been super handy with Pav, Stevie J and Skippy going down recently.

You'll love the depth come the pointy end.

As for Tuck, i think that Anthony is scoring well enough to start if Tuck doesn't come through. But it looks as though he is back.

I'd do Cox > Sandi
then McKernan to best available.

Keeping Higgins on the pine will help you come grand final time if one of your forwards doesn't come up, and with the amount of cash you have, it would be most sensible and plausible IMO.

I'm currently sitting Roughy and Ballantyne on my bench in the forwards, which has been super handy with Pav, Stevie J and Skippy going down recently.

You'll love the depth come the pointy end.

As for Tuck, i think that Anthony is scoring well enough to start if Tuck doesn't come through. But it looks as though he is back.

Just what I was thinking mate I still value trades come finals, especially with players being rested.

I have 4 trades left with higgins on the bench but I have Hogan, and ballentyne to sub with, I was thinking of upgrading to neon leon or something but I think trades are worth more still.

Decisions Decisions :(

2009 Trade Discussion Part 9