2010 Season Begins

And for those on annual leave elsewhere... sorry, I forgot. Centrelink don't offer annual leave do they?! No Border Mails in Brisbane until Wednesday. Another intelligent assertion from the shallow end of the gene pool no doubt... Run Straight provided the answer - thanks RS.

Considering most people in the area aren't a tight arse and can spend the $1.20 to buy the paper on monday to see the reults and ladders, I don't think it's a real concern.

Big Dirk?............you sound more like a Big Dork!!!
Considering the so called GM is a paid employee, the scores on the website should be done after each result is sent to him, of which is later on the day the matches are played. Can't be too diffuclt a job to do, unless the GM is now tired of doing the job. Maybe a time for a new GM to take over?
Also I have heard that the executive of the TDFL do not listen to the wishes of the clubs and have their own little "mob" to look after their own concerns. Time for a change?

I'm a bit confused as to where these results are not updated? Is it just the website. I know that I get the senior game results sms to me and the ladder every Saturday night around 6-7pm. Sign up to sporting pulse? I think that's why I get em, otherwise I'm not sure why, but I know a few blokes at the club and I all get the sms. It's all good.
So the results must be being processed fairly quickly by the league. Get off your high horse's, it's probably got nothing to do with the league and more to do with the website admin!!! Maybe ask someone at your club, to who & by when do the results need to be entered?:confused:

I'm a bit confused as to where these results are not updated? Is it just the website. I know that I get the senior game results sms to me and the ladder every Saturday night around 6-7pm. Sign up to sporting pulse? I think that's why I get em, otherwise I'm not sure why, but I know a few blokes at the club and I all get the sms. It's all good.
So the results must be being processed fairly quickly by the league. Get off your high horse's, it's probably got nothing to do with the league and more to do with the website admin!!! Maybe ask someone at your club, to who & by when do the results need to be entered?:confused:

Match results need to be entered on the club's sporting pulse website by the home team before 6pm on match day. (The same area where team sheets are done) All newspaper/website/sms results are generated from there. Match Day paperwork not received by League GM until Tuesday.
You get the sms because you are registered as a player/official on your club's VCFL players list and the sms goes to everyone who has their mobile listed. If you don't currently receive it, and want to, just let your club secretary know and he can enter your mobile on the club database.

Once again RS provides the answers. Not sure of the technology, but all sounds pretty straight forward. Onto it - as soon as I get back... Thanks Pluton Man. Beam me up Scotty!

All this talk about online results not being in on time just becasue one selfish prick who apparently lives in Brisbane wants the GF moved and the TDFL board overthrown.

Move on people

RS, Your posts are first clsss as always.

All this talk about online results not being in on time just becasue one selfish prick who apparently lives in Brisbane wants the GF moved and the TDFL board overthrown.

Move on people

RS, Your posts are first clsss as always.

Well BD I'm sure a lot of people found it annoying that there were a couple of games that weren't updated online untill about monday (not necessarily the leagues fault). Also I think most people would want the grand final moved into Wodonga.

Have been a long time reader of this thread and it seems to have died again. We have one of the most exciting, competitive tallangatta league seasons ever and yet no one can seem to talk about footy. Seems every round there is at least 3 critical game whereas in previous seasons there would perhaps only be one, maybe two. Just to throw up a bit of a topic, I thought i'd have a crack at giving premiership odds at this early stage with and AFL equivelant of the teams.

Kiewa
Equivelant: Geelong
Best team of the past three years. Lost a couple early but yet to get the best team on the park. Despite others starting the year stronger still the team to beat.
Odds: $4.50

Yackandandah
Equivenland: Collingwood
Cashed up and promise alot every year, but when the pressure of finals comes will they be able to hack it mentally and physically? Have the most depth of any team
Odds: $5.00

Beechworth
Equivelant: St. Kilda
Young team on the rise stung by last years grand final loss. The question is has everyone else caught up to them?
Odds: $5.50

Thurgoona
Equivelant: Western Bulldogs
Have one of the most talented lists and certainly building up to something big but will fall just short again.
Odds: $8.00

Mitta
Equivelant: Sydney
Former powerhouse snuck under the radar a bit early on. Might not be in the top echelon but can never be discounted.
Odds: $10

Rutherglen
Equivelant: Fremantle
Surprised everyone outside their own club with a blistering start to the year. The question is how long can they sustain it and are they true challengers?
Odds: $15

Tallangatta:
Equivelant: Hawthorn
Looking like the flag was not so much a fluke but more a matter of good timing. After the mitta dynsaty but before this seasons ultra competitevness. Lack alot of depth but certainly capable on its day

Barnawartha
Equivelant: Brisbane
Started in a blaze of glory and wouldnt surprise to see them come back strongly with the return of players but 5 goals behind the pack leaders
Odds: $18

Chiltern
Equivelant: Melbourne
Have come out of the doldrums in fine style and playing some great footy. Probably wont play finals but will have a say in who makes it and who doesnt.
Odds: $25

Wahgunyah
Equivelant: Kangaroos
Will win alot of games but not enough to play finals or being a serious threat but definite nuisance value.
Odds: $ 35

Dederang MtB
Equivelant: Port Adelaide
Played in a grand final a few years back but no one knows how. Will finish in the bottom half for sure
Odds: $50

Wodonga Saints
Equivelant: Fitzroy
Nothing needs to be said

Have been a long time reader of this thread and it seems to have died again. We have one of the most exciting, competitive tallangatta league seasons ever and yet no one can seem to talk about footy. Seems every round there is at least 3 critical game whereas in previous seasons there would perhaps only be one, maybe two. Just to throw up a bit of a topic, I thought i'd have a crack at giving premiership odds at this early stage with and AFL equivelant of the teams.

Kiewa
Best team of the past three years. Lost a couple early but yet to get the best team on the park. Despite others starting the year stronger still the team to beat.

Yackandandah
Cashed up and promise alot every year, but when the pressure of finals comes will they be able to hack it mentally and physically? Have the most depth of any team

Beechworth
Young team on the rise stung by last years grand final loss. The question is has everyone else caught up to them?

Thurgoona
Have one of the most talented lists and certainly building up to something big but will fall just short again.

Mitta
Former powerhouse snuck under the radar a bit early on. Might not be in the top echelon but can never be discounted.

Rutherglen
Surprised everyone outside their own club with a blistering start to the year. The question is how long can they sustain it and are they true challengers?

Tallangatta:
Looking like the flag was not so much a fluke but more a matter of good timing. After the mitta dynsaty but before this seasons ultra competitevness. Lack alot of depth but certainly capable on its day

Barnawartha
Started in a blaze of glory and wouldnt surprise to see them come back strongly with the return of players but 5 goals behind the pack leaders

Chiltern
Have come out of the doldrums in fine style and playing some great footy. Probably wont play finals but will have a say in who makes it and who doesnt.

Wahgunyah
Will win alot of games but not enough to play finals or being a serious threat but definite nuisance value.

Dederang MtB
Played in a grand final a few years back but no one knows how. Will finish in the bottom half for sure

Wodonga Saints
Nothing needs to be said

very humurous and for good measure i'll have $100 each on the top 4 selections worstcase scenerio i end up $50 up

Kiewa

Yackandandah

Beechworth

Thurgoona

Mitta

Rutherglen

Tallangatta:

Barnawartha

Chiltern

Wahgunyah

Dederang MtB

Wodonga Saints
Nothing needs to be said
Thats great work, my thoughts are similiar those top 4 sides are the ones to beat although i reckon Kiewa is going to leave there run to late, they will drop to many early games and will fight for the last 2 spots for finals, i cant see anyone winning it from an elimination this year. I reckon rutherglen may frighten a few, we will see this weekend if there a serious contender or not. My tip is Beechworth for the Flag against Thurgoona.

Couldn't help but notice several catering trucks heading down the highway to Chiltern today! Tells me that Dale Andrews is definately a non starter tomorrow against Thurgoona. Rumour has it he has a strained a stomach muscle due to extreme hunger pain. :eek::eek::eek:
Chilterns canteen staff have called for all hands on deck apparently.

Went down the freeway and watched the Doggies roll the ugly ducklings today and can confirm that Butterbean didn't play.

Showed his true class by strolling through the middle of the ground during the breaks though with hot dogs and carlton draught cans under both arms yelling abuse at anyone who'd listen to him. Either that or his big gut was rumbling, couldn't really tell the difference.

Went down the freeway and watched the Doggies roll the ugly ducklings today and can confirm that Butterbean didn't play.

Showed his true class by strolling through the middle of the ground during the breaks though with hot dogs and carlton draught cans under both arms yelling abuse at anyone who'd listen to him. Either that or his big gut was rumbling, couldn't really tell the difference.
Hhahahah the porch monkey, that is a rippa(were the hell did you come up with that one), i was at that game to and one thing i did notice is that there ground is an absolute disgrace:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:, if the league is trying to get better players out to this comp then this ground would frighten anyone of them off, if any one of the league heavys were there get some glass's because this ground should be closed for ****n lets say ever:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:.
Or porch monkey was it in such a rooted state because your mate Andrews was running around on it earlier in the day.:D

Hhahahah the porch monkey, that is a rippa(were the hell did you come up with that one), i was at that game to and one thing i did notice is that there ground is an absolute disgrace:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:, if the league is trying to get better players out to this comp then this ground would frighten anyone of them off, if any one of the league heavys were there get some glass's because this ground should be closed for ****n lets say ever:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:.
Or porch monkey was it in such a rooted state because your mate Andrews was running around on it earlier in the day.:D
[ Good call on the ground JTJ.There is more grass on the road works happening on the old Melbourne road roundabout thats going in. See Big Dirk , your comment 15.04.2010 you wrote
" More Money, better surface? Both of which are not wht this league is about.
If you want to play on those surfaces then you should join one of those clubs mentioned.
For those that enjoy playing "country" footy then you need to take the good with the bad, so if it means a bad bounce or a cow shit then so be it, soft ****. "
More so called Soft ****'s around that you think. ]

It's country footy and we are going to play on some surfaces which are not great, but how bad does it get before someone says the the surface is unsafe, and not fit for play. Happy to get out of Chiltern on Saturday with three wins and a dubious loss, with no injuries.
Does anyone know anything about the uncovered cricket pitch at Eskdale ??

[ Good call on the ground JTJ.There is more grass on the road works happening on the old Melbourne road roundabout thats going in. See Big Dirk , your comment 15.04.2010 you wrote
" More Money, better surface? Both of which are not wht this league is about.
If you want to play on those surfaces then you should join one of those clubs mentioned.
For those that enjoy playing "country" footy then you need to take the good with the bad, so if it means a bad bounce or a cow shit then so be it, soft ****. "
More so called Soft ****'s around that you think. ]
I dont think that you are a soft **** if you think that some of the grounds are not up to scratch, i was only commenting about Chilterns, but lets be fare on this, you could break a leg or do a knee on a ground like this, although on this occasion the worst thing that happenened on this ground on sat was a bloke getting lost in one of the holes in the middle of the ground whilst he was searching for the ball, he could not see the hole because he could not see out of his oxygen mask from all the dust.
Any how lets move on from this, i am sure it will get raised when something serious happens in i reckon a week or two.

Rutherglen well i will be buggered, you are a improved out fit, good to see, you must be talking premierships at work this morning.

Boy, seems Mr Porch Monkey still has his nose out of joint from when Andrews had to rescind on his contract with the Dogs a few years ago for strong family reasons and decided not to play anywhere for 3 years. Might as well get over it now and get a life mate......a real one.

It's country footy and we are going to play on some surfaces which are not great, but how bad does it get before someone says the the surface is unsafe, and not fit for play. Happy to get out of Chiltern on Saturday with three wins and a dubious loss, with no injuries.
Does anyone know anything about the uncovered cricket pitch at Eskdale ??

What happen with this loss Run Straight?

Boy, seems Mr Porch Monkey still has his nose out of joint from when Andrews had to rescind on his contract with the Dogs a few years ago for strong family reasons and decided not to play anywhere for 3 years. Might as well get over it now and get a life mate......a real one.

Only happened last year knob jockey and obviously Whale Andrews hasn't let it go either judging by his barrage on two bob on Saturday.

I am now officially over it and in pursuit of a life.......a real one (whatever the hell that means??)

Back to the footy talk I reckon. Great work by Two Up on the previous page with his odds & AFL equivalents. Loved the Yack & Dederang references. Hillarious and should be more of it from you creative folk out there. A third of the way through the season and the big surprises are Rutherglen and Tallangatta. The Cats have dispatched Wahgunyah, Chiltern at Chiltern, Mitta at Eskdale and Barny in their first 5 rounds, their only loss being what appears to be an anomaly against Dederanf at home. If there where any doubts about them being contenders, it must certainly have been dispelled on the weekend with a great win at Beechworth, which most teams will find hard to do. I would like to review it at the end of the year and see if any other teams have won on what would probably be the 3 harder road trips in the TDFL. Who are their stars ? Glossop obviously in great form as per last year with 5 out of 6 in the best, others are Sibraa 4 times and Jamie Seymour, Oats, Kotzur & Chamberlain with 3. Goalkickers O'Keefe 18 & O'Neill 11. Seeded draw will also help the Cats. Tallangatta on the other hand started with a good win against Beechworth and have been ordinary since, with losses to Thurgoona, Kiewa & Wahgunyah and only wins against Chiltern & Dederang since then. It looks like the rumours that they spent up big last year to win a flag and now there's not much kanga left. Pashley & McKimmie in best 4 times each & then Smith Russell & Wood 3 each. Goalkicker Bradshaw with 16 playing a lone hand.
Any early tips on the Final 5 or Barton Medallist ?

Seems 3 times have made a bit of a break on the pack now sitting a game 2 games clear at the top. Its a bit early to say these teams will all be sitting top 3 at the end of the year but i'll guess that at least two will. It will be a very difficult year to win out of the top 3 but would not be surprising as they would all be very close unlike last year where the top 3 where 5 goals better than the rest. Kiewa, rutherglen and thurgoona should win easily this round. Beechworth and yack will win but a bit tougher but match of the round goes to tallangatta vs mitta. The winner will stay in touch the loser go a game behind and possibly wont make it up. Toss of the coin really but i think mitta will get over the line. Whatever the result I dont think anyone disputes the tallangatta spent up big and are probably running out of coin fast. Seems that wodonga saints will have most say in deciding the top 5 as whoever gets the most percentage out of them is likely to sneak over the line. Must of been absolutely woeful on the weekend. I was going to praise them and say they werent as bad as thurgoona of old but I may be wrong. As for tipping the top 5 at the end of year I think its still to early to call. There will be lots of twists and turns before the season is out. Might have to wait till the end of round 11 when everyone has played eachother before making and educated guess. As for picking a barton medallist. Does anyone really care? Nothing against anyone who has won the award but I think it rarely goes to the player who is the best/most damaging in the league. Paola didnt even get in the tdfl team of the year.

We are very happy with our start down at Catland but also well aware that there is plenty left in season 2010. In an even comp such as this if anybody is off their game even slightly they will have their pants pulled down. Having said that, we have been getting over the line against very capable opposition and these early wins can only be good. Unfortunately the end of Round 11 does not signal the point where everybody has played each other. It appears that everybody plays their Round 1 opponent for the second time in Round 11 before playing their last remaining opponent the following week (eg. Rutherglen plays Wahgunyah twice before playing KSC)

Seems that wodonga saints will have most say in deciding the top 5 as whoever gets the most percentage out of them is likely to sneak over the line. Must of been absolutely woeful on the weekend.
wouldn't say it was a great game to watch. Lets face it, were no world beaters, but only 1 left on bench after quarter time and none after half time, leaving nothing in the tank and injured players all over the field to play out the match. Was going OK to half time, with some good plays and hard work. Then after half time they piled them on and we ran out of players. Its certainly no excuse, but does make it more of a challenge for us.

I think that a few teams will regret a few early season losses towards the end of the year with it all being so close, should make for an interesting run to the finals...

2010 Season Begins