2011 NAB AFL Under 18 Championships

• Thread starter Thread starter Chip_

It's that time of year again, probably slightly less interest this year as we don't (or at leat weren't before the season) expecting to have as low a pick/s as the last few years, but none the less we'll draft someone who's playing here.

Champs Start on 29/05/2011 & go for 7 weeks, you can find out everything you need to know including the draw, game times & locations & Squads here

And Jack Viney is playing, that'll interest us all. He's one of only 5 under-agers named for Vic Metro. He's listed as 178cm & 77kg, which is pretty decent size seeing as he's just turned 17, looks like he'll be a clone of Todd's size.

GWS take most the first big chunk of draft picks, but them being seen as a team needing more immediate success to get a fan base than GC could see them more active in tradeweek & more willing to give up picks.

Not really sure what sort of we'll be targeting, my guess is we'd just go best available with our first pick as usual, but we definitely need another KP Forward option (Hawks showed you could never draft too many) & a promising young ruckman could be high on the wish list. Guessing our first pick will be around early to mid teens again unless we can trade for an earlier pick.

A good thread here from the Draft & Trading board about the prospects & some reviews by BF posters who know there stuff about juniors

With KPF & ruckman in mind, I've copied some of Snoop Dog & Humble Minions posts from the above thread about these sorts of players. The general opinion is the bulk of good KP players are from the 2 Vic teams.

Comments are from the 2 BF posters, there details are below from the Squad lists, it's jumper number, name, DOB, Height, Weight, Club.

No chance of getting Patton, he's the benchmark & surely GWS bound. Outside of Patton from what I know & who we are maybe a chance to get, Longer from VM a ruckman who is also good forward, Marusic from VC who is a different type to our current KPF & Brown from TAS if he can get his knee right. What I do like is plenty of big bodies in this group of 18-19 y.o, guys who we could hope won't take quite as long to develop

From Humble Minion's VM & VC players to watch

Metro

Jon Patton - dominant 197kpf with size, strength, speed, skill, marking talent, kicking ability. Gun who has it all. Not much more to say
38 Jonathon Patton 20/05/1993 197 95 Eastern Ranges/Scoresby

Michael Talia - solid kpd who is probably the best lockdown defender I've seen this year. Reads the ball well, marks and spoils strongly, beats his opponent. Possibly the only man to beat Patton this year.
27 Michael Talia 11/02/1993 193 87 Calder Cannons/Greenvale

Billy Longer - well-built and talented 202cm tap ruckman who takes a strong mark around the ground and is a lethal forward option. Throws his weight around with great effect and doesn't mind getting involved when the ball's on the ground. Generally gives mids first use. Matchup with Bolger should be interesting
40 Billy Longer 12/05/1993 202 95 Northern Knights/MacLeod

Country

Nic Haynes - skinny overaged sorta-kpp, athletic, can take a mark, incredible hands below his knees. Kicking will be the deciding factor on him, but has upside to burn.
5 Nic Haynes 18/05/1992 191 70 Dandenong Stingrays / Frankston Bombers FC

Shaun Marusic - 19yo husky kpf, very mobile and physical, big engine and good above his head. Kicking probably stopped him getting drafted last year, but he seems to have sorted that out.
32. Shaun Marusic 24/03/1992 193 92 Gippsland Power / Koo Wee Rup FC

Jordan Staley - probably a kpp at afl level, but playing ruck for Gippsland. Athletic, kicks goals, gets more ball around the ground than most ruckmen
39. Jordan Staley 14/07/1993 194 90 Gippsland Power / Foster FC

Todd Elton - slightly shorter mobile ruck who hasn't played all that much this year. Hitout work genuinely brilliant at times, reads the play well and good with the ball on the ground. Haven't seen much of him this year since he absolutely burst onto the scene late in 2010, looking forward to seeing how he develops.
38 Todd Elton 29/04/1993 197 87 Dandenong Stingrays / Somerville FC

From Snoop Dog's WA, SA, NSW, QLD, TAS & NT players to watch

WA
Myles Bolger - Very impressive ruck who will be a first rounder for sure.
36 Myles Bolger 25/03/1993 199 80 South Fremantle Football Club

Fraser McInnes - probably their best KP player from what I can ascertain. Was in the squad last year am told he is well worth keeping an eye on bc he could be pretty highly sought after at years end with good performance at Champs.
25 Fraser McInness 19/07/1993 197 91 Perth Football Club

NSW
Jarrod Witts - Big lad who is tied to Collingwood and has improved out of site. Pies need some big kids to come through so will be watching closely.
30 Jarrod Witts 13/09/1992 207 107 Sydney Uni

Michael Hartley - Another Collingwood kid and is developing well as a key back. Terrific size kid and could end up hurting someone at this Champs if they aint careful.
58 Michael Hartley 07/06/1993 196 94 Sydney Uni

Oliver Tweedale - Probably one of the most draftable kids in their squad but hasnt backed up with results just yet. Keep an eye for though as very athletic and lots of draftable attributes.
55 Oliver Tweeddale 25/02/1993 194 89 Belconnen

QLD
Sam Cabrebra - Very talented ruck prospect.
26 Sam Cabrera 23/03/1993 203 98 Rookie Search

TAS
Ben Brown - huge talent but very injury prone and not sure if he will end up playing as recently inj.
38 Ben Brown 20/11/1992 198 90 Glenorchy

Larry owen are worth watching
30 Larry Owen 08/08/1992 194 85 Hobart

We need someone with elite kicking skills to get us out of our back half, and another Ruck would be nice. It'll be interesting to see if they factor in the fact that we're taking Viney the year after in their drafting decisions at years end (eg. going for 'what we need' rather than best available, knowing that we'll be getting jet the year after).

e: Reading through Chip's post, there's some bloody big kids playing. 202cm, 207, 203...
Billy Longer sounds tops.

Depending on how Strauss and Blease come on during the year, I would look at taking the best players available, placing a premium on leadership.

Despite our abundance of talented youngsters, pressure from other talented youngsters can only get the best out of them (and the senior players)

The more good players and leaders we can get coming into our club the better off we will be

We need a Scott Lycett type, or a slider like Jack Darling methinks. Going of this year. Or a talented young mid.

Results are in from the first few games.

Game One

Northern Territory 0.0 4.5 7.9 9.12 (66)

Western Australia 2.5 3.8 5.13 11.14 (80)

GOALS
Northern Territory: Tipungwuti 3, Turner 2, Stafford 2, Collinson, Stokes 
Western Australia: Williams 2, Coniglio 2, Peters 2, Hamling 2, Eardley, Taylor, O'Meara

BEST

Northern Territory: Egger, Tipungwuti, Collinson, Turner, R Smith, Wilson

Western Australia: O'Meara, Coniglio, Hamling, Newman, Taylor

Queensland 2.3 3.4 4.5 6.7 (43)

South Australia 5.2 7.8 10.15 14.16 (100) 

GOALS

Queensland: Oxley, Thurlow, Russ, Oxley, Cabrera, Starcevich

South Australia: Mayes 4, Carger 2, Wingard 2, Grigg 2, McDonough, Murdoch, Simpson, McDonough

BEST
Queensland: Yagmoor, Newell, Wagner, Joyce, Boston, Murphy
South Australia: Waldhuter, Raikiwasa, Grundy, Mayes, McKay, Wingard, Neale

NSW/ACT 1.4 5.6 6.7 9.7 (61)
Vic Metro 6.3 11.5 17.6 21.15 (141)

GOALS

NSW/ACT: Flagg 3, Cummins, Moller, Johns, Moody, Guthrie, Breust

Vic Metro: Gotch 3, Paine 3, Atkins 2, Crozier 2, Frost 2, Tyson 2, Haynes, Greenwood, Wooffindin, Haynes, Tomlinson, Patton, Richards

BEST

NSW/ACT: Potter, Hartley, Witts, Flagg, Breust

Vic Metro: Ellis, Frost, Richards, Tyson, Woodward, Wooffindin

Vic Country 4.4 6.7 13.5 15.15 (105)

Tasmania 0.0 4.1 6.1 13.5 (83)

GOALS
Vic Country: S Gordon 4, J Elliott 4, L Whitfield 2, N Haynes, N O'Brien, J Crisp, J Staley, T Elton

Tasmania: J Dobosz 7, B Cox-Goodyer 2, Z Hislop, N McCulloch, J Harper, J Thurlow

BEST
Vic Country: J Elliott, C Smith, L Whitfield, B Crouch, T Adams, J Kelly
Tasmania: J Dobosz, L Owen, J McKenzie, B Mihocek, B Cox-Goodyer, Q Byard

All game reviews are on the AFL site here

Particularly interesting performances: 7 goals in a losing side to Dobosz from Tassie who is a an older (19 in November) 192cm forward
best on & 4 goals from Elliott (192cm & 87kg) for VC
3 goals & a strong performance from Paine for VM in a game where the supposed best KP prospect Patton flopped.

Also, Viney did not play for VM.

That's interesting... he must have been playing for Carey. The general agreement with the APS and the TAC system is that the players are made available for State games, but play for School over TAC... so that's strange.

Or maybe he was injured.

That's interesting... he must have been playing for Carey. The general agreement with the APS and the TAC system is that the players are made available for State games, but play for School over TAC... so that's strange.

Or maybe he was injured.

He played for Carey. Word is VM want to play guys still trying to get drafted, which is understandable but at the same time not that fair on Jack if his form warrants selection.

Reckon he'll play play at least a game or 2, but just giving other guys a chance at the top level.

He played for Carey. Word is VM want to play guys still trying to get drafted, which is understandable but at the same time not that fair on Jack if his form warrants selection.

Reckon he'll play play at least a game or 2, but just giving other guys a chance at the top level.

I saw Jack playing for Carey on Saturday vs Xavier. He dominated in the first quarter, many contested marks and possessions which were highlights, and then got tagged in the 2nd half but still was a focal point in Carey's suprise challenge to Xavier. Towards the end of the match he was awesome, the game only had a kick in it, and Viney was everywhere and at every contest, carelessly backing back into massive packs to kill the ball or flying into them double fisting it away.

Also saw Todd there looking on as a good father should

I saw Jack playing for Carey on Saturday vs Xavier. He dominated in the first quarter, many contested marks and possessions which were highlights, and then got tagged in the 2nd half but still was a focal point in Carey's suprise challenge to Xavier. Towards the end of the match he was awesome, the game only had a kick in it, and Viney was everywhere and at every contest, carelessly backing back into massive packs to kill the ball or flying into them double fisting it away.

Good info, thanks... if I had known he was playing I might have gone for a look! Shame.

Some fantastic names that I'd love to hear commentators stuttering over in a few years time: Tipungwuti, Coniglio, Starcevich, Yagmoor, Waldhuter, Raikiwasa, Wooffindin, Dobosz and Mihocek.

Also, is Vic Metro's top goalscorer any relation? Because that would be... good!:p

Viney was everywhere and at every contest, carelessly backing back into massive packs to kill the ball or flying into them double fisting it away.

I hope Todd told him, that if he can double fist the ball he can mark it.
Sorry pet hate of mine along with falling over.

I think we should be going for best available with pick 1 for sure.

But we should place a premium on fleet footed ball carriers with good foot skills (half back flankers) and flexible key position players that can pinch hit in the ruck.

Sounds like there might be a few of those ruck options available for our first pick this year.

Yeah if one looks at one Dyson Heppell has done for Essendon, that half back flanker type. Quality there would definitely help.

Also, is Vic Metro's top goalscorer any relation? Because that would be... good!:p

Son of. Only 172 cms, but said to have great footy skills. Wouldn't think he'd be drafted too early because of height, but the likes of Hooper (172) drafted to the dogs & Blair at Collingwood, I think he'll get drafted/rookied if his form stays strong

I think we should be going for best available with pick 1 for sure.

But we should place a premium on fleet footed ball carriers with good foot skills (half back flankers) and flexible key position players that can pinch hit in the ruck.

Sounds like there might be a few of those ruck options available for our first pick this year.

I think with the guarantee of Viney the following year & only Watts & Cook as young developing KP forward types (I mean genuine height, Jurrah is 3rd tall height & Howe is undersized for KP) we need to look tall. That's not to say if there's a too good to pass up mid available we don't take him, but I'd be leaning towards KPF.

They might even identify a tall who'll get left to our 2nd pick & take a mid 1st, but with that in my head I'm taking a particular interest in KP forwards

Son of. Only 172 cms, but said to have great footy skills. Wouldn't think he'd be drafted too early because of height, but the likes of Hooper (172) drafted to the dogs & Blair at Collingwood, I think he'll get drafted/rookied if his form stays strong
I'd rate that as very solid!

I think with the guarantee of Viney the following year & only Watts & Cook as young developing KP forward types (I mean genuine height, Jurrah is 3rd tall height & Howe is undersized for KP) we need to look tall. That's not to say if there's a too good to pass up mid available we don't take him, but I'd be leaning towards KPF.

They might even identify a tall who'll get left to our 2nd pick & take a mid 1st, but with that in my head I'm taking a particular interest in KP forwards
Don't let STING2 find that post!

I haven't read the rest, but are you talking about Seb Gotch?

Far from committed to football, he is a prodigious cricketing talent as well (played some games for the Victorian 2nd XII).... I don't know if he will nominate... I would expect CA/CV to through a fair bit of money at him (like a certain A. Keith)

I think best available with our first pick is what will happen. If that happens to be another tall then BP will be smiling. We do need to put faith in our youngsters though, I wouldn't draft more than two more tall forwards (if we get rid of one of Bate and Newton) and only one if none or one of those two get delisted.

Best available is the go, you can never have too much quality.

Don't let STING2 find that post!
I never typed that we didn't need a key forward, I just thought that going for 4 talls was over the top.

I wouldn't say that Howe is under sized for a key forward, unlike Dunn and Bate he can actually take an overhead mark and he can also jump.