2011 Player Discussion Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Super Hans

With Ablett scoring like he did last year without any communication from his coach for 3/4 of the year, is he underpriced? Considering his new coach will be building his own gameplan with Ablett as the centrepiece and not many other stars will be taking the points off him...what a quandary this is, preseason games will be interesting.
Im going to wait and see how the traded players go at Gold Coast before picking them up...

One, because im not sure how the players will perform in a different team, a team new to the competition, and a team based around youth.
And two, because they have a bye in round one, forcing me to put them on the bench: IMO a waste of money.

However I do plan to fill (or mostly fill) my bench with GC youth which I will play in round two.

Back on topic, Mitch Wallis? Should be cheap considering the pick he was taken at, and should perform pretty well.

Hard to see Mitch getting enough games in such a strong midfield, in a team that is still aiming for a premiership. Seems like Eade does not like playing too many kids.

Bryce Gibbs given Dual Positioning , Def/MID

i have done a team in the fanfooty website. its not all perfect yet obviously ill watch the nab cup games and check out the kids im still tossing up with a few... let me know what you think.

Backs: Goddard, Hodge, Enright, Malceski, Hargrave, Otten, X Clarke.
Subs: Toy, Iles, Mzungu

Centres: Swan, Judd, Corey, Cotchin, Foley, Harris,
Subs: Krakouer, Weller, Blease

Forwards: Chapman, N Riewoldt, Pavlich, fevola, Knights, Petrie, Callinan
Subs: Ablett, McNiel, Smith

Rucks: Sandilands, Jolly
Subs: Smith, Daw

i have done a team in the fanfooty website. its not all perfect yet obviously ill watch the nab cup games and check out the kids im still tossing up with a few... let me know what you think.

Backs: Goddard, Hodge, Enright, Malceski, Hargrave, Otten, X Clarke.
Subs: Toy, Iles, Mzungu

Centres: Swan, Judd, Corey, Cotchin, Foley, Harris,
Subs: Krakouer, Weller, Blease

Forwards: Chapman, N Riewoldt, Pavlich, fevola, Knights, Petrie, Callinan
Subs: Ablett, McNiel, Smith

Rucks: Sandilands, Jolly
Subs: Smith, Daw

Hodge will be Mid only

Mcneil may be more useful later in the year when injuries start to bite and MPP starts to kick in. Can't imagine him playing early.

Sammy Gilbert given dp, forward/back

surely everybody will be having ian callinan in the team. his 27 the crows would not of drafted him if he wasn't gonna get a game this year. his a gun and will be making me a lot of cash!

Plenty of players get drafted as insurance.

Bailey might be a worthwhile bench option if he is selected for round 1, although the hawks bye clashes with the dockers.

not this fella mate he is a jet!!
Just wondering how you'd know considering you're a Freo fan from Perth and this guy got recruited from SA and hasn't even played a practice game yet? I'm not saying he won't be a good player, just seems a little strange to call him a jet when he's an overage player from a lesser league who has obviously been overlooked in 9 or 10 drafts and gets picked up as a rookie in a weak draft.

more cases could be made against pods but look at how well he scored

callinan is an absolute lock for me providing he is 77,400

more cases could be made against pods but look at how well he scored

callinan is an absolute lock for me providing he is 77,400
True, but Pods is a fully developed forward who was playing really well in the VFL for years and had been on AFL lists before. He was also playing his 1st year in the reigning premiers side with not much competition and plenty of good players kicking the ball to him. His NAB cup form was also good.

I hope Callinan is good, but unless you've seen him play and play well against AFL opposition it's a bit too early to say if he'll be a good pick or not. He might not even get a game next year.

Thats ridiculous. He's spent all of 90 minutes in the forward line.

If that during the H&A Season. If Gilbert gets F/B then Goddard should be F/M/B and Gazza has to be M/F

Just wondering how you'd know considering you're a Freo fan from Perth and this guy got recruited from SA and hasn't even played a practice game yet? I'm not saying he won't be a good player, just seems a little strange to call him a jet when he's an overage player from a lesser league who has obviously been overlooked in 9 or 10 drafts and gets picked up as a rookie in a weak draft.

well i follow footy right across australia mate... from premier leagues to country leagues. this is why this fella is a gun.

VFL J.J Liston medalist 06 while playing for tassie devils also won tassie's b&f.

07 b&f winner for centrals and leading goal kicker in a premiership year. 4 goals in that granny i might add... they say he was best on but was overlooked. was also favorite to win the magarey that year but got ripped.

10 b&f winner again, 4 goals in the grand final AGAIN and finally got a best on ground in a granny which might add he should of had 2 or 3 from his 4 premierships.... was favorite for the magarey again but overlooked. was voted best player in the sanfl for 2010 by the public.

i can keep going but no need if you cant see why this bloke is a jet your not well... his cheap as chips should be a lock for every supercoach team going around!!!! he will kick 2 or 3 goals a game you just wait and see.

While Adelaide have do a free spot to upgrade a rookie- he's at least gunna need to claim that before he could be a lock surely? :)

they are aloud to play 9 games while on the rookie list cant they??? if he dont get upgraded he will make money in them 9 games... i sure he will get elevated tho.

First I've heard of it. Elevations can be used for fill a clubs 2 alloted veteran spots (if the club hasn't filled them with veterans) - *or* can be elevated to replace someone who is on the LTI (Longterm injury list). To qualify for that, someone has to be out for at least 8 weeks, and I think the Crows have been fortunate with their injuries so far this pre-season.

That said, Adelaide's veteran list is looking pretty skinny at the moment- Doughty is the only one who qualifies I think.

Yep, he needs to be evevated before he gets a game. LTI are 8 games minimum, or I think clubs can elevate players in the 2nd half of the year because of GC coming in? Not sure on that.

But it looks like he has the form in the 2nds and whether that stays the same in the seniors I guess we'll find out. I will keep an eye on his NAB cup form, but until he's elevated and selected to play/talked up by the coaches you'd be stupid/ballsy to select him in your team unless he was a DPP.

I was also reading through the Adelaide board the other day, most of their supporters think he'll play 0-8 games this year.