2013 SEQAFL Division 3

Lovely little country town inland from Noosa Swoopa, population no more than a couple of thousand i reckon, that has the reputation of a green sweet smelling haze wafting over the ground during matches but also produced more AFL players than any other club on the coast in recent times!

I Like the idea of promotion/relegation - one idea discussed last year was the possibility of a play off game from those in the relegation/promotion positions. For instance on current ladders Wynnum would play say Coomera if they win the flag. The winner to go to div 2 the loser to div 3. This means you need to beat the lowest team in the division above to have a chance of moving up.

With four sides coming down from NEAFL you would imagine they would have to play at the top level of the AFLQ. Not sure if it is as simple as dropping the bottom four sides down a division though. Perhaps there needs to be a tender process for spots in each division. 35 sides into how many divisions? you could do 12 in div 1 12 in div 2 and 11 in div 3 and perhaps have a div 4 side try and get the numbers to come up and have 12 sides there as well.

So many possabilities I am glad we have the chance now though to discuss it and give feedback to the AFL. We as the general AFLQ public need to use this oppurtunity to have our say.

There is - nothing stopping a Beenleigh for instance applying for the State league if they feel that their footy club stacks up on the 6 criteria.

Lovely little country town inland from Noosa Swoopa, population no more than a couple of thousand i reckon, that has the reputation of a green sweet smelling haze wafting over the ground during matches but also produced more AFL players than any other club on the coast in recent times!
Hmmmm, you sell it well! Are you starting your own "where the bloody hell are ya?" campaign?!

Could make for an almighty road trip. Maybe we could resurrect the bus!!

A Sunday final? Please say it isn't possible!! We get a very good and vocal contingent to finals and Sundays don't go as well as Saturdays!!!

yeah, that's the negative of a sunday final at springwood. the positive would be you get to have a crack at our steamed dim sims. positive outweighs the negative IMO

Hmmmm, you sell it well! Are you starting your own "where the bloody hell are ya?" campaign?!

Could make for an almighty road trip. Maybe we could resurrect the bus!!

Bring your own banjo. Is a different breed. Run a reknowned "King of the Mountain" every year (the town, not the footy club) that attracts ppl from everywhere. Will smash Div 4 this year - win the GF by 10 goals + with a bunch of kids and a couple of blokes who are their dads!! Unique. Rhys Magin's dad, Billy plays there - record number of games 700. Is the only community AFL player in the AFL HoF I think. Trust me, its an experience and we only played juniors against them!!

I'm sold, Pomona '13! Give them the Div 3 GF I say. As long as they have an almighty pub in the town!

Had the pleasure of locking horns with KP yesterday (albeit at opposite ends all day). How'd the leg pull up mate? Not from the injury from the thousand kicks? Surely a senior recall is on the cards!

Formal complaint has been made to the league about the actions of Troy Morris in the final quarter of the senior game yesterday. More news as it breaks.

More likely is a complaint against the Sports Club next door for not allowing a community footy club to sell beer!!! For shame!

Do tell, do tell? We have them next week so please inform so I can add it to multiple scenarios I already am expecting..., ;)

Ok Looks like Morro's not going to comment so I will fill you in.
Mid way through the last quarter on Saturday Coomera player Smith took a mark 35 out on a slight angle. Morris chose to engage in what has been deemed level 1 sledging offense (due to his good record he has no carry over points and wont receive any disciplinary measures). Upon Smith kicking the goal his hand was offered to Morris to to slap palms in the timely tradition that some know as a "High Five". Morris chose to not slap palms and Smith was what could only be described as "Left Hanging".
Now making a club drive past 40 suitable ovals to play a game in butt **** nowhere is acceptable by AFLQ but they have taken a very strong stand here and have asked Morris to explain his actions. More info to come.

Ok Looks like Morro's not going to comment so I will fill you in.
Mid way through the last quarter on Saturday Coomera player Smith took a mark 35 out on a slight angle. Morris chose to engage in what has been deemed level 1 sledging offense (due to his good record he has no carry over points and wont receive any disciplinary measures). Upon Smith kicking the goal his hand was offered to Morris to to slap palms in the timely tradition that some know as a "High Five". Morris chose to not slap palms and Smith was what could only be described as "Left Hanging".
Now making a club drive past 40 suitable ovals to play a game in butt **** nowhere is acceptable by AFLQ but they have taken a very strong stand here and have asked Morris to explain his actions. More info to come.

I find these accusations baseless and that they are said without merit. :eek: Is it not true that player G Smith Umpired almost three Quarters prior to the game and could have been experiencing fatigue in the way of seeing Troy Morris "Leaving him Hanging?" o_O

As a witness to the goings-on last Saturday I do recall player Morris offering his hand to many a Coomera player. Unfortunately it was generally with a closed palm and in every attempt he missed the players hand and accidentally hit a variety of other body parts instead. His arm brace also makes him Beenleigh's answer to the "Million Dollar Man". Taking into account the currency conversion in the area his new alias therefore is "Half-a-Slab man".

Correction it was a full 3 quarters and a disgusting effort hence why he was replaced at 3/4 time. Although Smith was fatigued there were many witness' including his missus who asked him "What sort of person does that? I wish one of the Buffs cleaned you up", referring to Smith and not Morris.
Anyway it's in the hands of the MRP now. I Expect Morris will have a lengthy stint away from the game to think about the pain he has caused.

On a serious note when talking about the beenleigh v coomera game, was the send off in the first quarter a premature decision by the umpire because of the player/s involved ??
I missed the incident but perhaps it was setting a precedent? Then the 2nd send off was a square up because he was definitely unlucky to go IMO. Literally didn't see a punch thrown as if there was it would've been a red?

I believe the Beenleigh player involved in the first incident was given time served which would deem it not a serious offence. I tell you what though it would've been a good game to watch for the neutral observer with some very good footy from both sides in patches!

I missed the incident but perhaps it was setting a precedent? Then the 2nd send off was a square up because he was definitely unlucky to go IMO. Literally didn't see a punch thrown as if there was it would've been a red?

I believe the Beenleigh player involved in the first incident was given time served which would deem it not a serious offence. I tell you what though it would've been a good game to watch for the neutral observer with some very good footy from both sides in patches!

Has this rule disappeared somehow? I have seen a few punches thrown this year and not one deemed worthy of a red card...

Also, regarding the beenleigh v coomera game, why was there a 10 year old kid acting as a boundary umpire. He couldn't throw the ball 5 metres when throwing in, and it made the game look very amateur. Under 16's would be disappointed with that sort of boundary umpiring, let alone a top of the table clash senior game!! The on field umpiring was very good though, apart from the send offs.

Agree umpiring was good for most of the game. The boundary umpire was sharing the duties with another doing half each just because he is very keen to help. Great kid and umpires didn't mind.

All in all it was a great day. In all seriousness I was disappointed to hear that the Sports Club had stopped the Buffs selling alcohol. Such an important revenue stream. Not good for the community!

2013 SEQAFL Division 3