D1 2016 discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter AM

Yup - the whole thread is now dumber for having read that post from bundles. Friar Park surface is bloody awesome.....now.

I also concur with the great man Bedford re: beer pricing in The Dungeon. Thursday selection was a rather expensive exercise when the 6 coaches started shouting rounds and we obviously went full circle until everyone was covered. Driving home was always a cautious undertaking.

Nine months on, my liver and bank balance have finally recovered (due to the Lions being basically a dry footy club, save for one or two post match froffs only).
And here's me thinking you'd be a top-shelf man Scribe.;)

Drop another grade or two and then I reckon you'll see some interesting jumpers and shitholes! Good luck chief.
Ormond-Jumper-large1.jpg
Monash-Blues-jumper-large.jpg

Im astounded that an Ormond supporter can say another club's jumpers are terrible. Honestly these would be two of the worst in the VAFA with honorable mentions to Yarra's cartoon bushranger, MHSOB, and Bulleen Cobras

In fact potentially you could have Peninsula, Kew, Ormond and Ivanhoe in premier C next year. That is a whole lot of brown. Monash's jumper would brighten up the place a bit

I had no idea where Beeders was from, but thought if he followed someone like MHSOB or Ormond it would be a bit 'glass houses'
LOL!!

Ormond-Jumper-large1.jpg
Monash-Blues-jumper-large.jpg

Im astounded that an Ormond supporter can say another club's jumpers are terrible. Honestly these would be two of the worst in the VAFA with honorable mentions to Yarra's cartoon bushranger, MHSOB, and Bulleen Cobras
The Ormond one is the colours from the field ambulance from Gallipoli and was started by 2 Vets from there and I reckon the other one came from the Vets from Darlinghurst Rd

In fact potentially you could have Peninsula, Kew, Ormond and Ivanhoe in premier C next year. That is a whole lot of brown. Monash's jumper would brighten up the place a bit
Watched the OM vs OAFC game on the weekend.
It was difficult to differentiate at times the two teams.
Would the VAFA look at introducing kit clash jumpers for away teams that sport similar colours?
It would be visually better for the punters.

Ormond's first real test for the year coming up this week against Old Geelong at the wide open spaces of Como Park.

Will see where both teams are at as it seems a 3 horse race at this stage between OAFC, Kew & OGGS.

Not enough talk about the actual footabll around here I reckon. Here's my thoughts on the season so far:

1. Kew - had a great start so far, have shown again the ability to recruit/improve on last season's team/depth and settle comfortably as a top team. A couple of tough games with St.Marys and Ormond should be good encounters.

2. Ormond - 2nd only by %, have also had a ripping start. Haven't seen them yet but apparently well structured and drilled. Wealth of experience and talent, so they'll be there at the business end of the season you would think. Old Geelong at Como Park will be a challenge and then Round 10 vs Kew will be just as big.

3. Old Geelong - Youngish team with some skilled midfielders and a potent forward line, but lack a bit gr(c)unt. Have dominated games against the lesser teams since dropping Rnd 1 to Kew. Ormond, Prahran and St.Marys in 3 of their next 4 will certainly test whether they're fair dinkum or not, but at this stage appear to be not far off the top two, and slightly above 4th/5th.

4. St.Marys - Up and down start so far. Close wins over Prahran and Whitefriars will be pivotal if they're fighting for 3rd/4th come season's end. Play their ground well generally and have a young team, but backline depth may be an issue if they're missing Tanner and Gatehouse.

5. Old Mentonians - Have been soundly beaten by the top teams but have beaten those below them. 5th/6th is probably an accurate position for them. They're a blucky team that play pretty scrappy from what I've seen, but fall away a bit after their top players. Can't see them threatening the top teams too much.

6. Whitefriars - Probably exceeding expectations at this stage. Looks as though they'll be good enough to stay out of relegation. Have a young team and I believe their 19's won the flag last year or the year before so if they can hold onto the good kids they'll be alright. Will trouble some teams like they did St.Marys but will also have the odd down game like against OM's.

7. NOB's/St.Pats - Similar to OM's, will beat the teams below them but generally are a fair while off the top teams - see Saturday as an example. Not bad enough to be relegated though. Should finish somewhere between 6-8.

8. Prahran Assumption - Very surprised to see them this low. A % of 98 with only 1 win suggest they haven't been able to get it done in the close games. Have a good midfield and Robbins is a very craft goal sneak (loves himself though) and I fully expect them to improve their position in the 2nd half of the year and push for a finals spot.

9. Bulleen-Templestowe - Older side with some young kids that are generally competitive. Have a couple really good young mids and forwards but just don't have the depth across the board unfortunately. If they snag a few unexpected wins they'll probably stay up, but at this stage I think D2 is on the cards

10. Yarra Valley - Too much left to too few unfortunately. Not sure if they've had injuries or if they generally just don't have the manpower to compete with teams. Either way it looks as if they've got a tough battle staying out of relegation.

Ladder Tip:

1. Ormond
2. Kew
------
3. Old Geelong
------
4. St.Marys
5. Prahran Assumption
------
6. Old Mentonians
7. NOBs St.Pats
8. Whitefriars
-----
9. Bulleen Temp
10. Yarra Valley

Not enough talk about the actual footabll around here I reckon. Here's my thoughts on the season so far:

1. Kew - had a great start so far, have shown again the ability to recruit/improve on last season's team/depth and settle comfortably as a top team. A couple of tough games with St.Marys and Ormond should be good encounters.

2. Ormond - 2nd only by %, have also had a ripping start. Haven't seen them yet but apparently well structured and drilled. Wealth of experience and talent, so they'll be there at the business end of the season you would think. Old Geelong at Toorak Park will be a challenge and then Round 10 vs Kew will be just as big.

3. Old Geelong - Youngish team with some skilled midfielders and a potent forward line, but lack a bit gr(c)unt. Have dominated games against the lesser teams since dropping Rnd 1 to Kew. Ormond, Prahran and St.Marys in 3 of their next 4 will certainly test whether they're fair dinkum or not, but at this stage appear to be not far off the top two, and slightly above 4th/5th.

4. St.Marys - Up and down start so far. Close wins over Prahran and Whitefriars will be pivotal if they're fighting for 3rd/4th come season's end. Play their ground well generally and have a young team, but backline depth may be an issue if they're missing Tanner and Gatehouse.

5. Old Mentonians - Have been soundly beaten by the top teams but have beaten those below them. 5th/6th is probably an accurate position for them. They're a blucky team that play pretty scrappy from what I've seen, but fall away a bit after their top players. Can't see them threatening the top teams too much.

6. Whitefriars - Probably exceeding expectations at this stage. Looks as though they'll be good enough to stay out of relegation. Have a young team and I believe their 19's won the flag last year or the year before so if they can hold onto the good kids they'll be alright. Will trouble some teams like they did St.Marys but will also have the odd down game like against OM's.

7. NOB's/St.Pats - Similar to OM's, will beat the teams below them but generally are a fair while off the top teams - see Saturday as an example. Not bad enough to be relegated though. Should finish somewhere between 6-8.

8. Prahran Assumption - Very surprised to see them this low. A % of 98 with only 1 win suggest they haven't been able to get it done in the close games. Have a good midfield and Robbins is a very craft goal sneak (loves himself though) and I fully expect them to improve their position in the 2nd half of the year and push for a finals spot.

9. Bulleen-Templestowe - Older side with some young kids that are generally competitive. Have a couple really good young mids and forwards but just don't have the depth across the board unfortunately. If they snag a few unexpected wins they'll probably stay up, but at this stage I think D2 is on the cards

10. Yarra Valley - Too much left to too few unfortunately. Not sure if they've had injuries or if they generally just don't have the manpower to compete with teams. Either way it looks as if they've got a tough battle staying out of relegation.

Ladder Tip:

1. Ormond
2. Kew
------
3. Old Geelong
------
4. St.Marys
5. Prahran Assumption
------
6. Old Mentonians
7. NOBs St.Pats
8. Whitefriars
-----
9. Bulleen Temp
10. Yarra Valley
good overview work horse. Thumbs up

Ladder Tip:

1. Ormond
2. Kew
------
3. Old Geelong
------
4. St.Marys
5. Prahran Assumption
------
6. Old Mentonians
7. NOBs St.Pats
8. Whitefriars
-----
9. Bulleen Temp
10. Yarra Valley

Yep. Can't see that top 4 being any different come the end of season. Had Prahran performed better than 1-5 then you could argue they would be in the finals mix, but as it stands they have a fair bit of work to do from here. I certainly agree that they are alot better than their record so far shows, however from what ive seen I think theyre a good side but nothing more. Cant see them being a real threat unless they seriously up their game. Expect them to finish 5th but I reckon there will be a bit of a points gap between 4th-5th. SMS in a similar boat in that they're definitely above the sides currently below them, but I dont think theyre strong enough to really trouble the top 2 at the pointy end of the year. I think the only side in this league that is currently a wildcard is Old Geelong, couple of defining games coming up for them.

It does, but there was no clash. Must be a worry for OM , having such an ordinary reserves side

Don't have any particular liking for OMs but it's not good for football generally when a side fails to score.

Good final quarter for the Monders on Sat with no bench.

So I can contemplate my tip v OGGS, is the injury list reducing?

Can anyone from Ormond give further detail about the retirement of young player Jordan Tabakman? Just popped up in my news feed (along with a selfie) that he is retiring from football to focus on his personal training career? Interesting move from him to announce his retirement at 19 and to do it in such a public fashion as well.

Retired from VFL and will be playing at Ormond