2016 Indian Wells

My opinion on Kyrgios almost seems to change week to week. He was brilliant in February by winning Open 13 in Marseille and he performed well in Dubai, but his attitude since then stinks.

I'm really trying to get behind him but making comments like "I don't want play anymore" is not going to endear potential supporters who want to get behind him and it reeks of someone who has a poor mentality toward tennis despite possessing a world of talent.

If Kyrgios learnt to channel his anger and aggression in a positive way then he could be a seriously great player but these blow ups will continue to hold him back. He's only 20 so age is on his side but he needs to sort it out sooner rather than later.

Pretty much how I feel about him. I love to watch him play when he's at his best but can't support some of what he does when he is losing. It's not surprising our opinions change form week to week...so does his behaviour!

FWIW I heard Craig Gabriel say on SEN this morning that he thought Nick had been hard done by in this match as far as officiating goes. Apparently he was just talking to himself down at the baseline (not swearing) and an officious linesperson complained to the ump who then penalised him when Gabriel thought he should have just had a chat to him at the change of ends. It was at a critical time of the match too apparently. After that Kyrgios did carry on and swear etc. apparently. (Now you'll all tell me Craig Gabriel is a flog or something).

One other thing... When he won that event in Marseille he didn't look at all happy or excited about it, Cilic looked more pleased to be the runner up than Nick did to win. I still maintain, despite all his bluff and bluster he is a very insecure person who is struggling big time with being a tennis player and being in the spotlight.

I don't disagree but this whole "I don't like tennis, I like basketball" thing can't be a shtick. It has to be something like what Agassi went through.

Yep, it's quite possible to like and not like something at the same time. He clearly likes aspects of tennis (what it can do for him in terms of money, fame, success, getting hot chicks I suppose :rolleyes: ) but purely as a sport he likes basketball better. Sometimes you do things just because you can (or think you should) even when your whole heart is not in it.

Anyone got a tennis tv subscription? Im tempted but my internet is so shit.

People are expecting/hoping the world from Delpo, thinking he'll fill the void of a flailing Nadal and Federer. I wouldn't be suprised if he never got top 50 again or falls over with another injury.

Yep, it's quite possible to like and not like something at the same time. He clearly likes aspects of tennis (what it can do for him in terms of money, fame, success, getting hot chicks I suppose :rolleyes: ) but purely as a sport he likes basketball better. Sometimes you do things just because you can (or think you should) even when your whole heart is not in it.

He honestly thinks he's African American. Its weird.

Another day, another autistic tantrum from Kyrgios. Nothing will ever change with that flog.

More importantly, Tiafoe went down in a tight 3 to Goffin. Frankly, I'm more interested in him and Fritz than Australia's Ding-a-ling Bros Circus.

Anyone got a tennis tv subscription? Im tempted but my internet is so shit.

People are expecting/hoping the world from Delpo, thinking he'll fill the void of a flailing Nadal and Federer. I wouldn't be suprised if he never got top 50 again or falls over with another injury.

He honestly thinks he's African American. Its weird.

Another day, another autistic tantrum from Kyrgios. Nothing will ever change with that flog.

Spreading joy and optimism again I see.

Remember Wimbledon 2014 when everyone fell in love with Kyrgios. He was so likeable then, the change in him after that tournament has been so hard to watch.

Love his game, hate his immaturity and personality. Want him to succeed and then at times I don't give 2 sh**s. So frustrating.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Remember Wimbledon 2014 when everyone fell in love with Kyrgios. He was so likeable then, the change in him after that tournament has been so hard to watch.

Love his game, hate his immaturity and personality. Want him to succeed and then at times I don't give 2 sh**s. So frustrating.

Wrong. He hasn't changed a bit, he's been the same he always has. You only think he's 'bad' now because that's all the media has shown of him the last 12-18 months (his negative side). He's their villain now, as soon as he hits a ball away in frustration it's a chance for the media to bait the masses into kicking him while he's down, it's easy money for them.

Watch him for yourself, from start to finish in his matches instead of going by what media feeds you and you'll see he's not all doom and gloom like the media continually suggests.

Wrong. He hasn't changed a bit, he's been the same he always has. You only think he's 'bad' now because that's all the media has shown of him the last 12-18 months (his negative side). He's their villain now, as soon as he hits a ball away in frustration it's a chance for the media to bait the masses into kicking him while he's down, it's easy money for them.

Watch him for yourself, from start to finish in his matches instead of going by what media feeds you and you'll see he's not all doom and gloom like the media continually suggests.
You really think I haven't followed him or tennis at all over time? I just listen to media?

What an average response to my post

Millman lost 6-4, 6-2 to Johnson, really showed his lack of a killer weapon and especially his serve, just can't win any free points off it. First set had a few breaks of serve but John just couldn't captialise.

Djokovic had a weird match against Bjorn Frantanglo 2-6, 6-1, 6-2. Novak was hitting error after error.

I've watched him a lot, his demeanor has changed. He was quite humble when he first came on the scene, not so much now. Maybe now we are seeing the real Nick but I think there is a difference from when he first started out.

Millman lost 6-4, 6-2 to Johnson, really showed his lack of a killer weapon and especially his serve, just can't win any free points off it. First set had a few breaks of serve but John just couldn't captialise.

:cry:

After a wobbly start I thought Johnson played really well. Agree re Millman's serve, I don't think he has been serving particularly well in his last few matches/tournaments. Even if he can't get more power into it he needs to hit his spots a bit better. I was pleased to see him come into the net a bit more even if a lot of the time it didn't work. He can play better than this though. Hardly hit any winners today.

Edit: Have to add that he saved four match points on his serve and made Johnson serve it out :thumbsu:

A couple of surprises in the doubles. 2nd seed, Dodig/Melo go down to Delpo/Mayer. Top seed Mirza/Hingis go down to King/Kudryavtseva.

I've watched him a lot, his demeanor has changed. He was quite humble when he first came on the scene, not so much now. Maybe now we are seeing the real Nick but I think there is a difference from when he first started out.

Ya reckon????? :rolleyes:

I am in the same boat. i watched nick heaps when he was 16 and thanassi. i was impressed by both of them and always thought nick would have a huge future. he seemed the type of kid that wanted to work hard and was striving for success. he impressed me a lot in AO playoff 3 years ago and made the quarters.

i really dont know whats happened but im with most people on this forum. i prefer to support thanassi at the moment. i am glad that the officials are making sure that all junior players are behaving in national tournaments because we cant afford to have another nick or bernard. i am sure they are going through a phase however i hope it stops soon.

Djokovic had a weird match against Bjorn Frantanglo 2-6, 6-1, 6-2. Novak was hitting error after error.

That's a weird scoreline, we dont often see Novak losing a set 6-2 unless it's against a top 10 player

Bit hard to be a bit of a tool like he has when you've got nothing to show for it, which was the case just before he started to come onto the scene and started grabbing attention. I'm not too sure but I don't recall him being getting too hot headed prior to the QF appearance in Wimbledon 2014, but I could be wrong.

Imagine Kyrgios acting like a spoilt brat when he was ranked outside of the top 200 or something. He'd be a laughing stock. Only reason it's even mildly acceptable and a "breath of fresh air" is cause he is actually very talented.

2016 Indian Wells