List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Discussion II - Draft Day

Wasn't Dangerfield a HBF?

Exactly.

U18 coaches often play their most skilful & best decision makers across half back.

The skill in recruiting these days is determining whether kids being played out of position (especially as under agers) will be as dominant when they get senior opportunities back in the midfield.

we must draft Stephenson.

Yep will be the best player in the drat by a huge margin. Kevin Sheehan said that this morning too. I have no doubt that if he gets on the field he'll be a superstar.

Interesting stuff from a poster on the dogs board:

On Wednesday:

Just discussed the Stephenson situation with a HRO at the Saints. Says that he is exactly what the Saints need (elite outside runner) but they will more than likely pass on him because of the heart risk. Stephenson’s Mum has the gene and his sister has the gene and they both play netball at the elite level. The condition can only be confirmed by a DNA test that won’t be completed until well after the draft so it’s a real roll the dice situation for the teams with picks 4-12ish. After those picks he is too talented to pass up but amongst those picks the players around him are of a similar standard so the thought is it’s safer to pass.
At the moment the Saints will pass on Stephenson and will take Coffield if he’s available.

This morning:

Saints have Australia's best Cardio Sports surgeon all over it and 2 days ago were still undecided.
They definitely want him.
RE Coffield: My Saints contact tells me that he might not be a Saint but he's sure he won't be a Bulldog

I don't understand how Stephenson's mum and sister had gene testing done previously, but didn't test Jaidyn at the same time?

Anyway about that Coffield bit, I can't see Dogs passing on Coffield given how much they supposedly love him - Dogs diehard, best mate at the Dogs, being of good character etc. Makes me think that he doesn't make it to the Dogs at all, and Collingwood could still take him, perhaps if Fogarty goes earlier to North/Fremantle?

Hoping our medical team has given Stephenson the all clear. Coffield and Stepho still the dream.

Change Coffield to Clark and I'm with you.

I came across this excellent tweet of Carlscum’s Draft putridity on Twitter...

51034E79-6E64-4A28-AF7A-163DFAF452B9.jpeg

So naturally, after laughing for ten minutes, I decided to see if we could match it...

Using his template for completeness;

FB: L. Miles, W. Johnson, J. Ferguson
HB: B. Murdoch, J. Lever, W. Andreoli
C: N. Winmar, R. Eddy*, T. Ledger
HF: A. Siposs, S. White, R. Gamble
FF: J. Cripps, D. Archer, D. Markworth
Foll: A. Pattison, J. Smith, D. Polo
Int: S. Crocker, J. Saunders, T. Walsh, J. Allen
Em: B. Maister, L. Pierce

*2010 Rookie Draft

All in all, what that tells me is we’ve done ok at the draft table, with the majority of our shockers coming during the flag push years...

Yep will be the best player in the drat by a huge margin. Kevin Sheehan said that this morning too. I have no doubt that if he gets on the field he'll be a superstar.

Not quite all-in on that, however I agree, if we pass on him, strong sense we'll regret it! Potentially big-time.

I reckon in the unlikely but stiffy producing likelihood that Cerra slides then we grab Stephenson too.

Cerra a dead set cert to be a very high level performer. Allows us to take a risk on Steph for star factor.

Not quite all-in on that, however I agree, if we pass on him, strong sense we'll regret it! Potentially big-time.

If you watch him play he just makes you love watching footy. He's at the driver of his team often and is in everyone else's highlights getting the ball to them. He's my favourite player to watch of all the 2017 kids as you might have noticed. I will be devastated if he goes on to be a champion at another club and we didn't take him when we could have. I have a sense of mourning about it already because I don't think he's coming.

FB: L. Miles, W. Johnson, J. Ferguson
HB: B. Murdoch, J. Lever, W. Andreoli
C: N. Winmar, R. Eddy*, T. Ledger
HF: A. Siposs, S. White, R. Gamble
FF: J. Cripps, D. Archer, D. Markworth
Foll: A. Pattison, J. Smith, D. Polo
Int: S. Crocker, J. Saunders, T. Walsh, J. Allen
Em: B. Maister, L. Pierce

*2010 Rookie Draft

All in all, what that tells me is we’ve done ok at the draft table, with the majority of our shockers coming during the flag push years...
That side really is a "Sam Crocker" :eek:

On Wednesday:

This morning:

I don't understand how Stephenson's mum and sister had gene testing done previously, but didn't test Jaidyn at the same time?

Anyway about that Coffield bit, I can't see Dogs passing on Coffield given how much they supposedly love him - Dogs diehard, best mate at the Dogs, being of good character etc. Makes me think that he doesn't make it to the Dogs at all, and Collingwood could still take him, perhaps if Fogarty goes earlier to North/Fremantle?

Interesting stuff, from the dogs board, you'd think his contact would have to be Chris Liberatore

If you watch him play he just makes you love watching footy. He's at the driver of his team often and is in everyone else's highlights getting the ball to them. He's my favourite player to watch of all the 2017 kids as you might have noticed. I will be devastated if he goes on to be a champion at another club and we didn't take him when we could have. I have a sense of mourning about it already because I don't think he's coming.

Yeah being in other players highlights is a solid indicator.

CHBench posting above guy on the Dogs board saying as of 2 days ago we're still undecided.

Maybe Richo had a dream last night and we're gonna take the jump...

Aware that Shifter Sheehans job is to talk these kids up, and probably has a close relationship with Stephenson - talks about him from 5min40sec https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=156918

Says no issue, he's got the all clear, and that the AFL would step in if there were.

I'm not particularly worried he's going to drop and have a cardiac arrest whilst playing. My concern is that his body, by way of his medications - whatever they are - physically won't let him reach the levels of fitness required to play AFL. Yes he's got good endurance now, he's also rake thin, what about after +8-10kgs closer to ideal playing weight - will his body be able to handle it then?

This was posted on Saintsational re Coffield

Coffield spent more time outside, but that's in part because he's the best kick in the draft. Dismissing him as a flanker is incredibly reductive. Coffield had 30 contested possessions for the carnival. LDU had 31. Cerra had 34. Clark had 22. Stephenson had 17. Coffield looked composed under pressure. He moves well in traffic and makes good decisions. I don't see any reason why he couldn't play more midfield at the next level, except Richo might prefer him on the outside too. I don't believe there's any suggestion that his tank is deficient. His yo-yo test was 21.2. Stephenson's was 21.8.

So much for Coffield not being able to win contested ball

Also kid averaged close to 5 marks a game in TAC and can take a contested grab when required
Which is why Freo will take him at 5.
:greenalien:

On Wednesday:

This morning:

Perhaps because its an internet rumour.

I suppose its more sensational than the truth otherwise you'd believe this comment which came from his manager a few days ago AND was posted on the AFL website.

"On medical advice that we've received there is no risk in picking Jaidyn Stephenson in this year's draft," D'Orazio told AFL.com.au. The information that has been received and handed to the AFL clearly states that the specialists are happy for Jaidyn to enter the AFL and have a long career."

I’d be most keen for us to go:

One of Coffield or Clark

One of Stephenson or Bonar

One safe, one high risk/high reward

In 10 years time, we’ll probably all be laughing that the bloke we took at 34 was he best of the lot making the Port Adelaide trade a stroke of genius ;)

Brayshaw or Cerra are still on the board at the Pies pick & they select someone else, the huge cheer you’ll hear on the coverage will be from me! ;)
Give 'em hell mate.