List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

Draft Rumours thread, so obviously big grain of salt. But he's now been linked to us, St Kilda, Collingwood and Fremantle and I think I remember someone said North at 4 even.

It just seems unusual for a player that didn't end the year on a great note in regards to performance and that didn't test amazingly well (was well below average for speed, agility, leap) to come from nowhere to become a top 10 pick. I'm trying to think if that's ever happened before.

I'm a little bemused by all the arguments for "best available". Our picks at 9 & 16, you would have to think that the difference between 'best and 2nd best available' are more than likely to be seriously marginal at the very most. Sure, if you have top 3-5 picks the differences could be significant, but I doubt they likely are later in the draft. That aside, who is the 'better' player is totally subjective any way, given with 17-18 y o's you have no objective data of their performance at AFL level anyway to base assessment on, merely underage performances to go on, which isn't exactly comparable. I'm thinking that if differences are going to be marginal, go for the player who most nearly meets our list weaknesses, if we are looking at marginal differences. If one player available is clearly head and shoulders above anyone else left available, then that is different, all be it improbable I'm thinking.

Dont be bemused its simple - best available means you are looking at the entire pool, as opposed to 'only the key forwards' or 'only the quick outside players', i.e. needs based selection

Panics too much when he doesn't have space.

I have it down to two players at 9 atm.

Get on board with the rangas mate ;)

So Dalyrmple spends his days off at the Ginger Pride Rally.

If we get Redhead with our last to top it off, I will have a bit of a chuckle.

Dont be bemused its simple - best available means you are looking at the entire pool, as opposed to 'only the key forwards' or 'only the quick outside players', i.e. needs based selection

Stef., do you really think Dal. will be considering some kids from up in the nose bleed seats in the first round ? The 'experts' may get their order a little fuzzy, but there aren't often kids picked in the 1st round that came from outside the group that was widely under the microscope. Yeah that occasionally happens in the later rounds, but first round ? Highly unlikely I'd have thought. By the time you get to pick 9 and 16, I'd expect there are only a handful of kids still in the mix that are serious options for 1st round selection to choose between. Despite what the Club will say post draft, most of the kids who would be our 'best of' picks will already be gone, and it will be 'best left' scenario, so with great differences in quality unlikely, why not go for most suitable ?

Talk of Murphy at pick 5 now. Our chance of getting him keeps getting smaller.

Surely we take him over Naughton if he's there.

Can someone with much more insight than me, explain the appeal of Murphy. I have never seen him play live, nonetheless, his highlights do not excite or inspire me anywhere near the others who have been discussed around our picks.

Panics too much when he doesn't have space.

I have it down to two players at 9 atm.

Get on board with the rangas mate ;)
Seems like a very sound kick off both feet technically though, am I right in saying that he's spent a heap of time at half back and only just started playing in the guts. Might still be adjusting to the pace of the midfield. If his decision making really is that poor then it makes me think twice about him for sure but I just see so many other quality attributes in him that I'd be willing to take a chance in the hope that he can sort that out. If his kicking was technically awful I.e clay Smith then id definitely rule him out.

Whose this fiesty redhead everyone's thinking Pan is referring To?

Can someone with much more insight than me, explain the appeal of Murphy. I have never seen him play live, nonetheless, his highlights do not excite or inspire me anywhere near the others who have been discussed around our picks.

He's a quick decision maker, with good vision and a smart footy brain. Got a booming kick on him, capable of breaking lines with his kicking and he's pretty accurate with it too. Good overhead mark and posses some good goal sense. Tested very well in endurance.

His highlights don't show his work in traffic where he has midfield potential and that's where I think recruiters are getting excited. Personally, I think they are getting a little too excited if those rumours are true of him going top 5 because he hasn't really done anything in the midfield yet. First round I agree with, but I've always thought that a top 10 pick is too much of a gamble.

So I work with a guy who is friends with Simon... he was at his 50th Bday party recently so fairly credentialled.

Anyway...
He brings in a copy of a Proscout article on the likely top draft prospects and points to Coffield & D.Fogarty...
Claims that we are massive wraps on both..

I think it is safe to assume we will select D.Fogarty, N.Coffield at 9 if available.. potentially in that order of preference.

But he did say that the Saints were into Coffield.. so it may mean that both are gone by 9..

Then becomes a next best talent call.. and Brander, Stephenson & Naughton loom large..

J.Stephenson becomes a very interesting prospect.. seems a chance that he is also availableat 9 as you'd assume Saints would perhaps select a different style player than Coffield rather than two outside runners? Just speculating here...

I mentioned to my colleague whether J.Higgins at 16 was also a chance & he made comment to effect that this would be highly unlikely.. (in that highly unlikely we would select him)

Perhaps much has changed.. but it does all seem logical and in line with many of our views... has to be plausible right??

Top 5 is obviously set.. but 6,7 & 8 are just so hard to get a read on..

Murphy is a redhead, Richards is a redhead.

I would be chuffed if that's who we took at respectively, 9 & 16.

Whose this fiesty redhead everyone's thinking Pan is referring To?

AFL Draft 2017: Ed Richards the ‘bright ranga’ surging into first-round contention

October 27, 2017 6:00am
Ben WaterworthFOX SPORTS

aa123165b3ad3f4dfc5be8a7215a1fb8

Ed Richards is a first-round draft bolter.
THE Richards surname is arguably the most synonymous at Collingwood.

And few are prouder of his family’s black and white legacy than draft bolter — and mad Magpies fan — Ed Richards.

Ron Richards, Ed’s grandfather, was quintessentially Collingwood.

Ron, the grandson of 179-game Pie Charlie Pannam, grew up in Collingwood then went on to become Magpie royalty. He played in the club’s 1953 premiership then served the club as a coach, match committee chairman and director. Overall, he was involved in more than 1300 matches involving various Collingwood teams.

But for Ed, Ron was simply grandpa.

“He always used to come watch my games. He was a bit of a role model for me,” Ed tells foxfooty.com.au.

The late Lou Richards, Ed’s great uncle, is fondly remembered as a pioneer of footy media and entertainment. But his influence at Collingwood is just as influential, as his record — 1953 Collingwood premiership captain and three-time club leading goalkicker — can attest to.

“Lou had a great life, didn’t he?” Ed reflects.

“He influenced a lot of people, as was shown at his funeral with 1000s of people there to send him on his way.

fbf0b57f1fba8e20decfbc436837a8b5

Collingwood legends Ron and Lou Richards.
“I wouldn’t say I had a whole lot to do with him, but he’s part of the Richards name. He’s the one driving that whole hype.”

As expected, Richards had little choice when choosing which AFL team to support.

“Yeah definitely,” Richards says with a great big smile when asked if he is a Pies supporter. “I wouldn’t have it any other way.

“I used to love Daisy Thomas and, for a bit there, Heritier Lumumba when he was Harry O’Brien — he was actually my favourite player running off half-back.”

Richards could view his predicament — a famously-named Under 18s prospect that has the potential to be taken as early as the first round of this year’s national draft — as a daunting burden.

Instead, the laid-back Carey Grammar student embraces the hype with pride and a no-fuss confidence.

“I’m proud to have a really famous name at Collingwood, being such a prominent club in the AFL,” he says.

Until 12 months ago, an AFL career wasn’t front of mind for Richards.

Yes he loved representing his school in APS footy — he was determined to change Carey’s “winning culture”, or lack thereof — but a gruelling AFL draft combine campaign 12 months later wasn’t a top priority.

“This time last year I was on holidays somewhere. I definitely wasn’t thinking about an AFL career,” Richards says.

“I was more just thinking about getting an invite to Oakleigh and working from there.

“I knew I was probably good enough. I was always undersized through Under 15s and through bottom-age year, so I never really got looked at.

“But I’ve had a massive growth spurt over the last year.”

58699a6ae92d605859b35391a735bc36

It’s been a sudden rise for Ed Richards.
And not only has he surged up the height ladder in the Richards’ kitchen, he’s rapidly risen up several draft boards as the 2017 season has progressed.

It all began with a starring role in an Under 17s Oakleigh Chargers trial game at Warrawee Park late last year.

Richards only played one half, but he caught the eye of Oakleigh’s talent staff, who promptly offered the promising defender a spot on the club’s Under 18s list.

“It was a wet day, bucketing down, so it was a pretty sloppy game. But I was pretty clean in that first half,” Richards remembers.

Chargers talent manager Craig Notman says Richards was one of two standouts that game.

“It was a filthy wet night, which wasn’t a great night to try and pick talent out. But after five minutes, I think we’d seen enough in all honesty,” Notman told foxfooty.com.au.

“He stood out, well and truly, with what he did in a short space of time. We didn’t need to see anymore because from that brief glimpse we knew he had made considerable improvements from what we’d seen previously and he was a kid that could fit in to TAC Cup footy quite comfortably from there.”

A promising pre-season then led to selection in the Chargers’ opening round TAC Cup clash against the Sandringham Dragons at Ikon Park.

But just when Richards’ journey to the AFL draft had genuinely kick-started, he was dealt an early setback within the opening stages of the Round 1 clash, suffering a pinched meniscus to his left knee.

“I didn’t last long. I reckon it was around eight or nine minutes before I was sidelined for the rest of the game,” Richards says.

He would miss the next three TAC Cup rounds and a Vic Metro trial game. Had he have impressed in the latter game, he would’ve pushed for Under 18s national championships selection.

The setback had the potential to be an untimely turn-off for Richards.

But instead of getting bitter, he got better.

“It was frustrating in the sense that you couldn’t play any football because you’re just doing rehab and mobility and everything like that,” Richards says.

31b73364f8288203ad7c4a2f173ec417

Ed Richards is one of this year's AFL draft bolters.
“I was told just go out there and play. Trust your strength and your attributes and results will come if you just play consistent football.

“I worked hard and played consistent football throughout the season, which is what’s brought me to my situation now.”

Upon return, Richards starred for Carey in the APS, turning heads with his pace, intercepting and play-making off half-back. He then produced a dominant, best-on-ground performance in the APS v AGS representative game, where he had 33 disposals and six rebound 50s.

But what Richards was most proud of during his APS season was Carey’s stunning team success turnaround, which saw the school finish runners-up with nine wins.

“In previous years, Carey have been the walkovers of the competition. We didn’t really win many games — in my Year 10 year, we only won one and the year before that it was zero games. The winning culture wasn’t really there,” Richards says.

“In Year 11, our coach wanted to drive home that we go into every game wanting to win. We improved that year then this year, all the Year 12s really got behind our coach and we helped the Year 11s and Year 10s buy into that winning culture.”

The 18-year-old then transferred that strong, consistent school footy form to the TAC Cup, winning 15-plus disposals and 80-plus ranking points in six of his last seven games.

Richards was duly rewarded with selection in the Under 18s All-Stars game on AFL Grand Final day, where he booted one goal from 10 disposals.

“It’s all come on really quickly,” Richards says.

placeholder.jpg

“With Oakleigh finishing on top and school having a solid season, I think my success has come off the back of the team success.”

Richards compares his playing style and role to GWS defender Heath Shaw, who also likes to run and carry the footy, take kick-outs and feels confident when defending deep.

It’s that Shaw-like drive and dependability down back that has seen Richards bolt into top-20 draft calculations over recent months.

“I can understand the hype, having had a relatively good back-end to the season,” Richards laughs.

“My mates are probably the ones who get more hyped about it than me. But at the same time, to have that publicity isn’t a bad thing.”

Notman has been mightily impressed by Richards’ ability to constantly improve throughout 2017.

“He’s a quality kid, a quality trainer that just wants to get the best out of himself and it’s a credit to him to where he’s been able to get himself,” Notman says.

Another Richards trait that makes him stand out on a football field is his fiery mop of red hair.

As to which side of the family those red locks come from, though, he’s at a loss.

“I don’t know, Mum doesn’t know, Dad doesn’t know — it just sort of happened,” Richards laughs.

“Mum’s brown, Dad’s brown, my sister’s blonde and I’m just the bright ranga.”

A “bright ranga” with an even brighter footy future.

ED RICHARDS

Clubs: Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro

Position: Medium defender

Size: 184cm, 77kg

Draft Range: 15-30

Prefer Naughton. Brander has more problems with his game.
Both would be great selections.. I think Id lean toward Brander however as he is much more versatile and his disposal seems level above Naughton..

Both players' disposal is pretty abysmal. Brander's production is wildly inconsistent and doesn't play a game style that is really suited to success at either end of the ground too. Naughton's one-on-one ability needs quite a lot of work and his straight line speed isn't amazing.

All the talk seems to be that Stephenson is going to drop quite considerably because of that heart problem. Think the top few picks will go:

1 - Bris - Cam Rayner
2 - Freo - Luke Davies-Uniacke
3 - Carlton - Paddy Dow
4 - North - Andrew Brayshaw

After this there are a few possibilities but I think one of Collingwood or Freo will take Darcy Fogarty and it is possible one will take Aaron Naughton. Adam Cerra could go here or drop through if both draft on needs based.

After this I think St Kilda will go with two of Nick Coffield, Aiden Bonar or Hunter Clark. If Adam Cerra drops through I think they will pick him.

Then comes us who will probably go with our player X who will turn out better than them all :p

Both players' disposal is pretty abysmal. Brander's production is wildly inconsistent and doesn't play a game style that is really suited to success at either end of the ground too. Naughton's one-on-one ability needs quite a lot of work and his straight line speed isn't amazing.
Naughton is the more natural footballer out of the both of them though. His reading of the play is as good as I've seen in a junior footballer.

I don't even have Brander in my most recent top 20 rankings...

So I work with a guy who is friends with Simon... he was at his 50th Bday party recently so fairly credentialled.

Anyway...
He brings in a copy of a Proscout article on the likely top draft prospects and points to Coffield & D.Fogarty...
Claims that we are massive wraps on both..

I think it is safe to assume we will select D.Fogarty, N.Coffield at 9 if available.. potentially in that order of preference.

But he did say that the Saints were into Coffield.. so it may mean that both are gone by 9..

Then becomes a next best talent call.. and Brander, Stephenson & Naughton loom large..

J.Stephenson becomes a very interesting prospect.. seems a chance that he is also availableat 9 as you'd assume Saints would perhaps select a different style player than Coffield rather than two outside runners? Just speculating here...

I mentioned to my colleague whether J.Higgins at 16 was also a chance & he made comment to effect that this would be highly unlikely.. (in that highly unlikely we would select him)

Perhaps much has changed.. but it does all seem logical and in line with many of our views... has to be plausible right??

Top 5 is obviously set.. but 6,7 & 8 are just so hard to get a read on..

Not sure the top 5 is really set yet, pick 1 hasn't exactly been decided upon. Brisbane were still going to interview Rayner and then make a decision on pick 1. Cerra and Dow are rumoured to be flight risks which may change things as well. Some still give it a chance that Cerra slides down to our pick, even if I'm finding that a bit unbelievable.

I'm hoping we pass on Brander at pick 9. There's too much of a gap between his best and worst to warrant a top 10 pick IMO, he can be a pretty frustrating player to watch at times. Would be better at pick 16 if he lasts.

fair call... hopefully Naughton is taken before 9 which would likely mean that one of Stephenson or Fogarty slip through..