Preview 2017 Player Predictions

Matty411

Sep 21, 2012
Thought I'd take a minute to preview a few players for 2017 and their expectations by looking at a few categories; making some predictions; then throwing it out to you.

Breakout: Charlie - by all accounts seems to be fit, healthy and firing at training early on. I'm predicting a big 2nd year for Curnow Jnr as he cements a spot in our forward line, kicks 25+ goals and plays 15+ games.
Career Crossroad: KJ - has now been at the club for two years and made few inroads in his development. Needs to commit to weights program and attack 2017 with drive if he wants to stay in the AFL and at Carlton.
Surprise packet: Gus Sheehan - if this man has a good pre-season, I can see him breaking into the back six very early and staying there ala Byrne in 2016. Also think Cuningham could go under the radar here.
Best new player: Marchbank - seems a bit obvious, but there is some serious man-love for this guy and it's warranted. Should he hit Round 1 fit, will stay in our Best 22 and make a bit impact. Big rising star chance.
The Forgotten One: Murph - the captain was reduced to 10 games in 2016 and was missed greatly. With him and Pick 5 in our midfield, we'll be in a far greater position.
On the Decline: White or Rowe - with the addition of a few young, talented talls, I can see these great servants falling away as they're made to fight for positions. Won't be in our next flag side so 2017 could see the beginning of this transition.
John Nicholls Medallist: Crippa - arguably improved on his incredible 2015 campaign by becoming the best clearance player in the comp this year. Will improve his speed and become a genuine AA contender in 2017.

Post yours below, and discuss.

Breakout: David Cuningham - Was raved about during the '16/17 pre-season, although his form in the VFL did not necessarily live up to that hype however he did get a taste of AFL action late in the year that'll be really important for his development. Like most youngsters he probably needs to work on his fitness and clean up his disposal. If he can start getting 20 odds touches per game and use his speed he could become a real asset to the side.

Career Crossroad: Kristian Jaksch - Really needs to pull his finger out, improve his fitness and put on some size. The club also need to decide where they want him to play and leave him there to develop.

Surprise packet: Rhys Palmer - I think he'll play a lot of games for us and prove a handy contributor across half-forward along with stints in the midfield.

Best new player: Caleb Marchbank - Should play all games, taking each teams no.1 KPF.

The Forgotten One: Ciaran Sheehan - With Tuohy gone and Byrne spending a large chunk of '17 on the sidelines, Sheehan will play all games and be a solid player - if fit of course.

On the Decline: Dale Thomas? - 2017 will likely be his last year, injuries have taken a toll on his career.

John Nicholls Medallist: Patrick Cripps - do I even need to explain this?

Thought I'd take a minute to preview a few players for 2017 and their expectations by looking at a few categories; making some predictions; then throwing it out to you.

Breakout: Charlie - by all accounts seems to be fit, healthy and firing at training early on. I'm predicting a big 2nd year for Curnow Jnr as he cements a spot in our forward line, kicks 25+ goals and plays 15+ games.
Career Crossroad: KJ - has now been at the club for two years and made few inroads in his development. Needs to commit to weights program and attack 2017 with drive if he wants to stay in the AFL and at Carlton.
Surprise packet: Gus Sheehan - if this man has a good pre-season, I can see him breaking into the back six very early and staying there ala Byrne in 2016. Also think Cuningham could go under the radar here.
Best new player: Marchbank - seems a bit obvious, but there is some serious man-love for this guy and it's warranted. Should he hit Round 1 fit, will stay in our Best 22 and make a bit impact. Big rising star chance.
The Forgotten One: Murph - the captain was reduced to 10 games in 2016 and was missed greatly. With him and Pick 5 in our midfield, we'll be in a far greater position.
On the Decline: White or Rowe - with the addition of a few young, talented talls, I can see these great servants falling away as they're made to fight for positions. Won't be in our next flag side so 2017 could see the beginning of this transition.
John Nicholls Medallist: Crippa - arguably improved on his incredible 2015 campaign by becoming the best clearance player in the comp this year. Will improve his speed and become a genuine AA contender in 2017.

Post yours below, and discuss.
Great OP. :thumbsu:

Breakout: C Curnow. I just loved the very little that we got to see of him this year and physically will be AFL ready.

Crossroad: so many but if players like Sumner, Lamb, Smedts arn't best 22 but the end of the season they will be out the door.

Surprise: Fingers crossed Boek.

Best new player: I think Palmer will have the biggest influence next year

Decline: Rowe only because I can't see him being as good as he was this season also I think Simpson will get exposed more often if he plays backline. Teams will Be constantly trying to drag him and Doc deeper and without Touhy I don't really know who they can rotate with in the backline.

JN Medal: Cripps

BREAKOUT: Jack Silvagni. Jack showed some subtle signs of the type of football he's capable of. But it felt more like an audition than a start. The smarts, the intensity, courage, tenacity and the polish this kid possesses will serve him well in 2017 and beyond. I believe he'll come like a bolt from the clouds and will cause many a headache for many an opposition defender.

CAREER CROSSROAD: I hate to say it, but Casboult. I love Levi and I love what he adds to our side. But his kicking has become heartbreaking, deflating and dare I say, a liability. He must improve this part of his game. He doesn't need to (and won't) become an elite kick. But he needs to, at the very least, become a competent or adequate kick. If not, it doesn't make for a great future at Carlton.

SURPRISE PACKET: Palmer. Rhys is a quality footballer. For some reason, on the outer at GWS. But can play. I think, with a point to prove and some Bolton guidance, he'll show just how good he is, and surprise plenty of people.

BEST NEW PLAYER: Has to be, hoping like hell it is... Marchbank. Granted, it's not a huge sample size, but from what I have seen of him, he looks "Rance like". Strong, powerful, good runner, great hands. Can perform a lock down role on the gorillas whist still providing run, rebound and can create.

THE FORGOTTEN ONE: Rhymes with "orange".... Doesn't get a lot of love around here, but I'm a fan. Daniel Gorringe has all the tools, just needs to learn how to use them. But he is NOT a ruckman. Playing him in the ruck, even as a part timer/backup will destroy him. Huge upside in my opinion. Will be a player to watch.

ON THE DECLINE: I'd say Thomas, but I'm not sure he can fall any further.... Can't actually find anyone for this category. Can only see improvement across the list next year. Some players may just hold their ground, but can't see anyone going backwards.

JOHN NICHOLLS MEDALIST: Bryce Gibbs... Because I love him !

Breakout: Jack Silvagni - Truly exceeded expectation in his first year, seems to have put on a bit of size and will come back bigger, smarter and better for the experience. 25+ goals.
Career Crossroad: Kristian Jakcsh - With the addition of Marchbank and the emergence of Harry Mckay, Kristian has a lot more competition for a spot this season and it is going to take an almighty effort to break into the squad. He had a free hit to take a spot in the forward line last year with Mckay and Curnow injured and he didn't take the opportunity. I still think he's young enough and good enough to be given another season but the pressure is certainly on. Nick Graham is another who will be slightly nervous.
Surprise packet: Rhys Palmer - Will be handier then people think and with Rhys, Murphy and pick 5 (Brodie?) added to the midfield I think he'll have enough around him to provide a quality short term service.
Best new player: Jarrod Pickett - I think that Marchbank will be the obvious choice but in terms of output expectation, Jarrod will be the one that really gets us excited. There's a spot for him as a small forward and with Andrew Walker to mentor the kid I think it will do wonders. Rising star nomination atleast this year.
The Forgotten One: Blaine Beokhorst - I think some are writing him off prematurely, keep in mind that he did have an injury interrupted season on the back of a promising latter half of 2015. With a stronger midfield and a healthy competition for a spot I can see Blaine somewhat solidifying a place in the 22.
On the Decline: Dale Thomas - Without a doubt his last year. Contract is up and we are better of blooding the likes of Cunningham, Sumner and Beokhorst.
John Nicholls Medallist: Patrick Cripps - Got a good taste of a heavy tag this year and I feel he adapted quite well. With Murph back he will flourish and he is going to go from strength to strength. All Australian to add to the accolades too.
Leading Goal Kicker: Jack Silvagni

Breakout: Weitering - 2017 will be remembered as the year this champion arrived. Top 3 finish in the B&F
Career Crossroad: Jaksch, Jones, Smedts, Buckley, Graham, Lamb, Gorringe, White, Casboult
Surprise packet: Palmer - I've got high expectations on this bloke (avg. 20+ possessions, 20+ goals)
Best new player: Marchbank - he's bloody singled out in every Club interview, clearly something special going on
The Forgotten One: Sheehan - PLEASE get your body right big fella, it would be such a shame if we didn't get to see the best of your immense talent
On the Decline: Thomas - should have retired, hopefully he can help develop our VFL side
John Nicholls Medallist: Murphy - I still don't think we've seen the best of Marc yet, doing a great job as captain :)

My take for 2017 is

Breakout: Jaksch - Kristian finally finds his desire to play at the top level and locks down a place in the best 22 as a highly effective key forward.
Career Crossroad: E. Curnow - Still plays at a great level but is under pressure to hold his spot from a number of brilliant young mids that are banging the door down playing for the NBs
Surprise packet: Smedts - Has always been highly talented but finally in 2017 he manages to get his body right and plays every game dominating off a wing.
Best new player: McKay - Hitman Harry forces big Levi out of the team with pack busting brilliance, strong contested marking and most importantly accurate kicking for goal.
The Forgotten One: Boekhorst- Had previously shown glimpses but under the tutelage of Bolts Blane finally kicks it to a new level using his mature body to win contested ball and his exciting pace to break away from packs.
On the Decline: Kreuzer - Provides a serviceable supporting role to Phillips in the ruck but injuries finally start to take their toll and blunt the big fella's effectiveness around the ground.
John Nicholls Medallist: C. Curnow - We all thought this guy could be anything but in 2017 he explodes onto the scene as a big bodied goal kicking mid creating an awesome midfield monster duo with the ever brilliant Cripps.

Breakout: C. Curnow, a healthy 2017 and 15+ games strung together could see him making a serious impact. You could already see him athletically dominating opponents in patches this season. The fact he is almost a year older than SOJ and Big McK leads me to predict he will make a large impact sooner than those boys, although I do have huge wraps on them also.

Career Crossroad: KJ in particular because of his potential and price paid for him, he knows what he needs to do and that it is his last chance, all we can do is watch and hope. Can add Casboult, Armfield, Thomas, Jones etc to this category.

Surprise Packet:
Sumner, the phrase is used far too often, but a full preseason under his belt will do him wonders after missing the 2015/16 one. Has elite speed and the inside grunt that is lacking in our other quick flankers (Boek, Army, Lamb). Was obviously rated high in the Draft so there is quite a high ceiling for him, hopefully he can reach it in 2017.

Best New Player: Marchbank, and by a large margin assuming pick 5 doesn't have a Weitering-like debut season. Really looks athletically ready to be a prominent member of the back 6. Also has the deep passion to play for the Navy Blue which is an unfortunately-rare characteristic in our recruits of recent years.

The forgotten one: Lamb, watching over early season highlights, he provided some really good run and in fact a good inside 50 target when the team was playing well. This obviously died down as poor results followed, and exacerbated by injury late in the season. A good start to 2017 season could see him find his form again, increasing competition from Pickett/Cunningham/Boek may also help.

On the decline: Thomas, just physically doesn't have it anymore. More than happy with his off-field output and on-field leadership, but unfortunately is far from his best and should be far from our best 22 in 2017. Will be unfortunate to watch his increasing decline next year of a former elite player, but I suppose that is the power of a contract (Yes they still have power... sometimes).

John Nicholls Medal: Cripps. Assuming pick 5 gets rotated and Murphy comes back to the midfield, there will be increased mobility and freedom in Big Pat's game, compared to the one-man show of 2016. I don't like to exaggerate BUT, should lead total clearances by 100 at least, and win the Charlie in a landslide...

Breakout: I think most of our list are either established or promising youngsters, the latter are probably a couple of seasons away from breaking out. But I think C Curnow and SOSOS will each take a noticeable step forward and make solid contributions beyond the promising cameos they showed in 2016.

Career Crossroad: KJ - he shows something this year or he is gone. Casboult - I still hold out some hope he puts it all together this year. If not, traded/FA/delisted at the end of the year.

Surprise packet: Sumner. Skilled and hardworking, he looked dangerous every time he was near the ball. Yet despite all that, he had little influence on games. I assume the missing ingredient is fitness and he will be much better in 2017.

Best new player: Palmer - Maybe he was steak knives as part of wider wrangling. But I think he will play much better football in 2017 than many are expecting. I see a bigger future for Marchbank, but he's still a baby for a KPD. Weiter-bots are the exception. Marchy will need more time.

The Forgotten One:
Sheehan. IF his hammies can stay in one piece (or how ever many pieces they are supposed to be), he will be best 22 all year round. I see him as virtually a free mature age addition this year.

On the Decline: Armfield. Played some good footy this year, but will have more competition for HFF spots next year. He has been written off every year since drafted, so could make me look stupid (more than usual). God I hope I get this one wrong, love me some Army.

John Nicholls Medallist: Cripps. How the hell is he only 21? Keeps getting better and better. Always looking to improve. With age, more strength and size, another pre-season under his belt and hopefully niggle-free, he could tear apart teams from the inside next year.

Breakout: Big Harry
(hopefully)

Career Crossroad: Buckley

Surprise packet: Smedts & Daisy

Best new player: DFA?
(much like Wright did)

The Forgotten One: Lamb

On the Decline: Simpson
(sadly i just don't think he can keep up his form of previous seasons)

John Nicholls Medallist: Cripps

breakout ; Cunningham , Silvagni , Weitering will all go up a level !!
Crossroads ; Casboult , L.Jones
Surprise ; Palmer
Newbie ; Marchbank
Forgotten ; Murphy
Decline ; stick a fork in him Daisy
B&F ; Cripps

Breakout: SOSOS: Make no mistake, can read the play very well and has talent in spades. Combine that with his bulk-up over preseason and I think he may just turn some heads.
Career Crossroad: Nick Graham: Has some skill but very little ability to read the play. Fades in and out of games too much. Unsure he's got what it takes at AFL level.
Surprise packet: Harry McKay: Will settle in as a Key forward faster than expected.
Best new player: Pick#5: Taranto ;)
The Forgotten One: Murphy: Will get some form back a few weeks into the season and remind us why he is Captain.
On the Decline: Has been for a while but I think we will start seeing Daisy give up his spot a lot more this year in favour of the young blokes pushing through.
John Nicholls Medallist: Cripps. Too good not to be.
X-Factor: I expect Charlie Curnow to play some ripping games and deliver some highlights.

Breakout: Caleb Marchbank: A few of the names on this list will continue their development quite solidly. I believe that Marchbank is going to be the breakout player of 2017. This is due to the continued development and progression of Weitering and Plowman and the continued stardom of Docherty and Simpson. I'm squarely convinced that by the end of 2017 (if not, 2018) that we'll all believe that we got an absolute steal with GWS.

Career Crossroad: I usually look at the least performing 22-25 year old. Nominations here include Kristian Jaksch, Nick Graham, Blaine Boekhorst, Jed Lamb, Billie Smedts, Dan Gorringe. I'll nominate Jaksch more so than any of the others. We lack midfielders (at the moment) so Graham, Boekhorst and subsequently Lamb and Smedts will continue getting their opportunities easier than Jaksch will. By Smedts and Lamb getting opportunities I mean to say that there wont be many midfielders keeping flankers/pockets out of the side. Jaksch has at the very least Weiteirng, Marchbank, Plowman and Rowe ahead of him as a tall defender and will have to battle it out with Casboult, Silvagni, Curnow, McKay and the resting ruck up forward. Unless he has a career defining preseason I can't see him breaking into the side.

Surprise Packet: Blaine Boekhorst. He has a lot of the physical tools required to realize some of his potential next season. He is in a contract year. It would not surprise me if he had a 2015 Tom Bell-esque 2017. This will bump his trade value up. Whether or not we keep him depends upon how the future makeup of our midfield is shaping and whether Fremantle/West Coast choose to overpay for him.

Best New Player: Caleb Marchbank: While pick #5 should have a solid debut season I am very excited about what Caleb can give our backline. Let's stop putting the pressure on the first year to AFL players and expect more from those that have multiple AFL preseasons under their belts instead. (Yes, I know Caleb is the overwhelming choice here as he should be)

The Forgotten One: Matthew Wright: I really love what he provides the team. He'll never be a star but he will always be a solid contributor both on and off the field.

On the Decline: Although it may be difficult to see how he could dip further, Daisy. Further, if things go according to plan Sam Rowe will lose his spot in the defensive end of the ground. If things go better than expected then both Rowe and Casboult could be on the outside looking in come the end of the season.

John Nicholls Medalist: Bryce Gibbs. I believe that he'll have the best year of his Carlton career in 2017. In fact, it wouldn't completely shock me if he were a Brownlow smokey. Unfortunately, I think it'll ultimately mean that he's off to Adelaide for a price both clubs deem fair.

X-Factor: While not consistent enough to be the breakthrough player of the year I expect Charlie Curnow will have some games and periods in other games that just leave everyone's mouths agape with anticipation for what the future will bring.

Excited about 2017. Not expecting too many wins, but if we get some improvement from our green shoots and get a better understanding of our game plan then it is a success

Sorry in advance. couldn't keep to 1 player for some categories.

Breakout- Sumner- Had a reasonable year last year with no preseason. Is a hard nut who has some X factor. Will surprise a few with a full preseason under the belt.

Charlie Curnow- Glandular Fever and a knee injury really screwed his year last year. Has some swagger about him and will be keen to stamp his arrival to the competition.

Career Crossroad - Matty Kreuzer-Has had a hard run with injury. Bleeds blue and was a number 1 pick, but could find his position in jeopardy if Phillips has a real break out year.

Graham- Make or break year. Carlton need to give him a good crack as a full time midfielder like he plays in the VFL. Graham needs to translate that VFL form and composure to AFL. Good luck Nick, I still hold out hope.

Suprised packet- Gus Sheenan -been in the injury wilderness, but with 2E gone and Byrne injured a spot in the backline is there for the taking. Will make it his own.

Best New Player- Marchbank- Obvious choice here. Will prove to many why we rated him so highly and so keen to get him in. Gun. Will slot in seamlessly.

The forgotten one- Thomas- Almost everyone has completely written him off. Just get a feeling he is going to have a surprisingly good year. He will not go quietly into the night.

On the decline- Simpson- Unpopular opinion, and I love him more than anyone else on our list, but will be hard for him to replicate 2016 form. Will drop back a notch.

BnF- Cripps. Will have more support around him in the midfield and will have a ripper year.

Breakout: jack sos. number 1 on his back. sloppy gait. courage, want and talent dropping off him. yikes.
Career Crossroad:
Sumner can be great or an also ran. Needs to find the will. Saw him embarrassingly shirk contact against hawks last year. Thought that was him done. Didn't want to go, pulled out of the contest - obvious to all at the ground. He needs to decide if he wants it or just fade out.
Surprise packet: Pickett. Tiny bit of luck and LOOK THE **** OUT.
Best new player: Marchbank - And everyone will go "ohhhh that's what the fuss was all about". will be our most important player structurally. freeing up quality ball users across half bank .
The Forgotten One: Murph. will poll heavily in the brownlow. steal votes off crippa. crippa brownlow by a short half head.
On the Decline:
all of armfield, rowe,white, Jaksch, jones, graham, Boekhorst*, Buckley, Casboult & Thomas will be delisted next year. Just not ever going to be good enough going foreward.
*happy for boak to correct me. Looks too light though - physically and mentally.
John Nicholls Medallist: Crippa by a furlong. given support.

Mod Edit: Don't evade the swear filter

Last edited by a moderator:

A few "Outside" thoughts.

Breakout:
Plowman. Did well from limited pre season. Will really step up
Career Crossroad: Kruezer. Game has changed and needs to step up. Gets beaten to often and doesn't influence games enough
Surprise packet: Gorringe. Second ruck/fwd. Has talent just needs to turn it in to consistent football
Best new player: Palmer. Can play but inconsistent. New club and midfield role will see him step up. Will help Cripps a lot
The Forgotten One: Sheehan. If fit can play. Fills a role that needs filling
On the Decline: Thomas - gone already. Casboult - as others stand up we will realise how limited he is
John Nicholls Medallist: Cripps - by a mile. Outsider - Palmer

Breakout: Weitering. 45 goals and people will be scratching their heads wondering why they pigeon-holed him as a defender.
Career Crossroad: Jed Lamb. The honeymoon is over, baby.
Surprise packet: Boekhorst. Finally delivers.
Best new player: Wilson Pickett, slow start then BAM!
The Forgotten One: Dan Gorringe. (touch wood) Injuries will force our hand and he'll play some good footy in a Jordan Roughead manner.
On the Decline: Army as he settles into the women's team match-committee. Juice ambassador.
John Nicholls Medallist: Murphy. He ain't dead yet.
Leading goalkicker: Weitering, see above.
X-Factor: Jack has stolen a few hearts already. He'll be beating the young ladies off with a stick come Brownlow night.

Gee reading some of these assessments and predictions is making me excited, which was half the point. Getting excited about a large array of talent on our list for the first time since I started this crazy journey. Now we just have to hope all of these guys have full preseasons and hit R1 firing.

Breakout: Pick 5. I know that sounds vague but with the addition of mature mids like Palmer and Smedts, whoever we take at pick 5 will have that bit of extra freedom and plenty of role models to learn the caper from. The fact that Murphy, Gibbs, and Cripps will all be the main targets plus mature mids such as Palmer, Ed Curnow and Smedts should allow pick 5 to run through half forward a bit and create some grief for the opposition. Personally, I think it will be Brodie or maybe Taranto. I don't think we will bid on the academy kids. If it's Taranto, then he'll be a serious Rising Star contender. Brodie will have to be in the thick of it more and won't get the same freedom.

Career Crossroad: Buckley. A very late 1 year deal and the arrival of Pickett means that Buckley probably has more pressure on him than anyone at the club. His bombs from outside 50m are up there with the best of the competition but he needs to add more tricks to his game and start racking up more numbers at a better efficiency rate.

Surprise Packet: Pickett. Once he gets fully fit there will be no holding him back. Has all the skills, just needs an injury free run.

Best New Player: Depends on who maintains their fitness the longest throughout the season. If Pickett stays fit, then he will add pace and class that we haven't had for a long time. If not, then Marchbank will be the best new addition from the players with previous AFL experience. As already stated, pick 5 will be right in contention here as well.

The Forgotten One: Sheehan. I was surprised that he was retained but I think that he can thank Byrne's injury for that. He will get plenty of opportunity so it's just a matter of whether or not he can take them.

On the Decline: Casboult. Extremely lucky to still be on the list and another year like 2016 will certainly ensure that it is his last at the club. Even if he does improve his output, it will most likely do nothing more than boost his trade value, especially if Silvagni, McKay, C. Curnow, Jaksch/Gorringe can make contributions. It will get even worse for Casboult if Korcheck develops quickly because that will give the option of having Kruezer in the forward line more often. Kruezer may not be much of a forward but neither is Casboult.

John Nicholls Medalist: Cripps. Add All Australian selection as well. (Maybe even the Carlton Captaincy too?)

X-Factor: Pickett. With experience added to the midfield, once this guy gets fit he will cause all kinds of nightmares for the opposition. I can't wait to see him in action.

BREAKOUT YEAR-might be a few running warmish to hot for a breakout year-Charlie so strong will be improved,Weitering new heights,Pickett late in season,Plowman to improve,Marchbank will improve,SPS will improve,Byrne will improve,Jack,Harry,Cunners,Sumner..
Career crossroads-Jaksch has been more like a top 30 pick, not no.12 all the way through,on top of this he gets crook a bit and seems to have no mongrel,the least ever...Maybe we all got it wrong and he doesnt play that well anyway and will have to move on with our assessments.Boekhorst is quick but doesnt get the ball,often unsighted,Buckley,Lamb,Sumner,Kerridge,White,Rowe,Phillips,Armfield...must improve
Casboult,Jones,Thomas etc will all be gone etc...obviously will be another big clean out next yr as well.
Surprise-Pickett,SPS,Smedts
Best new player-Marchbank should play at least 16 games and contribute a lot to defence.
John Nicholls-Mr Gibbs...seen nothing yet
The forgotten one-Smedts is an Afl grade player,who along with Palmer will be solid contributors in 2017 if they stay injury free ,they are both capable to assist us in scoring contributions easing the pressure on the big forwards ..they may define our ladder spot next yr.
Leading goal kicker-Jack...he will work and work hard...35 goals!
Decline-a few of them...big clean out next yr....its still not a pretty thing.

Preview 2017 Player Predictions