List Mgmt. 2018 Draft/Trade/FA Thread

He owes the Suns precisely nothing- in fact you could argue the opposite
He can say and do whatever he wants
No doubt he's not looking for a job at Metricon anytime soon though! lel
He's bitter about things and entitled to be. It wasn't going to get better. He is a high character bloke, yet he can't help but think he's good enough to be top 22 when then coaches didn't think so. Is that moronic? No. Is it potentially something that would be divisive if Barlow remained on the list? Yes. Only one moron thinks otherwise.

**** no, if this is correct we are ******. Communication is king, good, bad or ugly.
Ignoring people rather than having the hard discussion is a massive **** up. Nothing good can come from it
The only thing that makes me think it might be a problem just for Barlow is that I remember him saying similar things in his last year at Fremantle where basically the same thing happened. I guess it's a bit easier to tell a young player 'this is what you need to improve to play ones' than telling an older player 'you wont be here next year, so theres just no point in us playing you'. even if we all thought he should have been.

Gromma & Sunraysia how would you rate Dew as far as his transparency and communication is concerned

So should we be concerned about Dew? If true that's a character trait that needs to be addressed for the good of the club.
I am not sure about his character trait , but having Lemmann and Shoenfield around for three and two more years plus Risca will be a massive challenge for him.

**** no, if this is correct we are ******. Communication is king, good, bad or ugly.
Ignoring people rather than having the hard discussion is a massive **** up. Nothing good can come from it
then there's the rumours about May not gelling with him of course

I don't know how the Suns work but surely Dew would have an afternoon set aside where he sits down individually with each member of the playing list to keep the lines of communication open.

Listen to the SEN podcast of Dew and Sewell and tell me you think he isn't the right coach for the Suns. Not 8 minute version, the 53 minute one. Barlow's interview with Sam McClure reveals nothing. It is a pissed off player who is spruiking his wares to other clubs. Kudos to Sam for jis delicate handling, but I am disappointed in Mick for venting when he was injured quite badly for most of the year and had been given the indication that he may not be extended. If he gets an AFL contract and plays even one game I'll eat my words.

So instead I should be more like you and GCTigersFan and just change my story all the time with no justification
? I never said the Suns would keep Spencer, I said they should. Large difference. Also, I didn't predict West Coast would finish outside of the Top 4, I hoped for the good of the club and value of our draft pick that they would. And the Eagles still can finish outside of the Top 4 if they lose to Collingwood because then they'd travel to either Sydney or Melbourne and more than likely lose which would give the Suns the best possible outcome for their pick at this stage of the season.
You realise if West Coast lose week one they player the winner of the elimination final at home. 2 guaranteed home finals for top 2.

The only thing that makes me think it might be a problem just for Barlow is that I remember him saying similar things in his last year at Fremantle where basically the same thing happened. I guess it's a bit easier to tell a young player 'this is what you need to improve to play ones' than telling an older player 'you wont be here next year, so theres just no point in us playing you'. even if we all thought he should have been.

Gromma & Sunraysia how would you rate Dew as far as his transparency and communication is concerned
Its been a big year for Stewie...Im sure he will take a lot of learnings from this year into next but communication and honesty is everything in a footy club IMO.

I spoke with an AFL recruiter this evening. He thinks the Suns will get priority access to a couple of state league players, but doesn't think we'll be given extra list spots to fit them in.

So should we be concerned about Dew? If true that's a character trait that needs to be addressed for the good of the club.
yes and yes, it was a surprise to me because I thought he was the ultimate communicator and players coach but apparently he has some faults in that area
Also has a prickly relationship with May

Listen to the SEN podcast of Dew and Sewell and tell me you think he isn't the right coach for the Suns. Not 8 minute version, the 53 minute one. Barlow's interview with Sam McClure reveals nothing. It is a pissed off player who is spruiking his wares to other clubs. Kudos to Sam for jis delicate handling, but I am disappointed in Mick for venting when he was injured quite badly for most of the year and had been given the indication that he may not be extended. If he gets an AFL contract and plays even one game I'll eat my words.

Finally. Someone who realises their is two sides to a story and listens to all their available research broadcasts to gather intel on both men before forming an opinion.

Facts: Dew is 1 year in working hard on building the club from the roots up, relationships communication. Predominantly working with today’s softer 21st century young blokes who need grooming in a certain way. Then you have the next generation who like it a little harder, the likes of May etc who are used to Coaches screaming at them to get results. Dew isn’t that way inclined, yet. Remembering he’s 1 year In.
Then you have the next-gen again, fighting for their last breath and game of their careers.
Struggling with injuries and trying to get out of the NEAFL to play on the real field. But their bodies are struggling with the demands.

Assumption: Their may be some areas both coaches and players need to work on as they are only human but for the most part their are always going to be egos at play especially at this level where everyone is paid over $400k p.a.

Opinion: I like you guys, like Barlow. But would I keep him on the ground, probably not when I have to think of the rest of the team and our game plan. I’d keep him in NEAFL training the boys so they can out do him. A bit like in cars 3. lol, sorry got 2 under 2. But the fact remains. Everyone has to fit in the new game plan.
Remember; Stew has played in a Hawks game plan, coached in a Sydney roll and also been in a Port setup. Have some faith in your Coach just because you herd a one sided opinion, doesn’t mean it’s all fact. Their is a bruised ego in their talking also. But maybe their was some truth, but usually in most stories, allow for 10% truth. I also herd from May he wants to be coached harder, nothing against Dew as they get on well, but every player in your club has different requirements and it’s going to take more than 1 year to gel with them all and get your routine down-pat. Especially your first year coaching full-stop. It will happen, I can assure you, coach is only just getting the right support staff around him. Ps GHS seems to be coming who is a more polished version of Barlow and in the right age point.

There’s always 2 sides to the story and unless you’re in the inner circle we’ll never know what is fact or fiction. I like Barlow, but there’d be a reason Dew isn’t keeping him, and the rumours about Steven May not gelling with him.

I’ve watched May chucking the sooks in the backline when things aren’t going our way - maybe letting him go will help with the negative rot that’s set into the place.

We do need to clear some old wood who’ve come used to losing and get a positive outlook around the place - bit like us fans too.

This is pure conjecture on my part, no supporting evidence, no link to a stat sheet, and no inside word from my brother's mechanic — but I just know it to be true.

I reckon there'd be seventeen other list managers in the league that would cast an eye over our list and find a one year deal for Barlow. They'd then turn around and have a quiet word with Rischa, 'mate I think you've given all you have, here's your watch'.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
Totally absolutely agree. Dew is (in my head at least) on shaky ground already. Frustrating dealing with Big Brother tactics in Victoria and inept management here.

I only listed to the first 5 mins of the Barlow interview.

I feel for Barlow as he was actively pursued by Rocket, Ashcroft and Clayton and 12 months later they are all out the door, and the people who replaced them have no affinity or responsibility for that decision.

I recall Clarkson doing something similar with Nick Holland when he first arrived. Although it sounds like Clarko was a bit more upfront and told him his career was over at their first meeting.

http://www.hawkheadquarters.com/article.aspx?articleid=1946

Not so concerned with how Barlow was treated as he is not a long time servant or the future of the club. Just don't want this communication issue to have an affect on blokes like Scrim or May who are part of our future.

Let's
Finally. Someone who realises their is two sides to a story and listens to all their available research broadcasts to gather intel on both men before forming an opinion.

Facts: Dew is 1 year in working hard on building the club from the roots up, relationships communication. Predominantly working with today’s softer 21st century young blokes who need grooming in a certain way. Then you have the next generation who like it a little harder, the likes of May etc who are used to Coaches screaming at them to get results. Dew isn’t that way inclined, yet. Remembering he’s 1 year In.
Then you have the next-gen again, fighting for their last breath and game of their careers.
Struggling with injuries and trying to get out of the NEAFL to play on the real field. But their bodies are struggling with the demands.

Assumption: Their may be some areas both coaches and players need to work on as they are only human but for the most part their are always going to be egos at play especially at this level where everyone is paid over $400k p.a.

Opinion: I like you guys, like Barlow. But would I keep him on the ground, probably not when I have to think of the rest of the team and our game plan. I’d keep him in NEAFL training the boys so they can out do him. A bit like in cars 3. lol, sorry got 2 under 2. But the fact remains. Everyone has to fit in the new game plan.
Remember; Stew has played in a Hawks game plan, coached in a Sydney roll and also been in a Port setup. Have some faith in your Coach just because you herd a one sided opinion, doesn’t mean it’s all fact. Their is a bruised ego in their talking also. But maybe their was some truth, but usually in most stories, allow for 10% truth. I also herd from May he wants to be coached harder, nothing against Dew as they get on well, but every player in your club has different requirements and it’s going to take more than 1 year to gel with them all and get your routine down-pat. Especially your first year coaching full-stop. It will happen, I can assure you, coach is only just getting the right support staff around him. Ps GHS seems to be coming who is a more polished version of Barlow and in the right age point.
Let's hope GHS isn't coming! Anyone who can't get a game in the big league down south should be considered very closely. Miles from Richmond might be the only one I'd look at based on names bandied around.

Don't reckon you can judge any new coach until the end of their 2nd year when they have had 2 pre-seasons to implement their plan. If we still look as negative next year with no light at the end then yes you can start to worry. But using the word of a disgruntled ex player who still thinks he should still be playing big time and rumours of a disconnect with a player to write off a coach completely is pretty rough IMO.

There’s always 2 sides to the story and unless you’re in the inner circle we’ll never know what is fact or fiction. I like Barlow, but there’d be a reason Dew isn’t keeping him, and the rumours about Steven May not gelling with him.

I’ve watched May chucking the sooks in the backline when things aren’t going our way - maybe letting him go will help with the negative rot that’s set into the place.

We do need to clear some old wood who’ve come used to losing and get a positive outlook around the place - bit like us fans too.
I've been thinking exactly the same and wondering if it was just me. Not saying l 100% agree with it l've been told there is still just a bit of black cloud left from the terrible initial set up.

There is a black cloud that lives within every true Suns supporter

What do you think he’d be worth nowadays? I was thinking late second / early third rounder?
Sure. We'd happily take that pick 41 you have.