List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II šŸ“ƒ

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Everyone dreaming if you think we can trade for Bergman. We have massive issues. Who would want to come to us. Club is about to implode

It's amazing how fast a list can suddenly implode. I can't see any real upside. None of our kids really show anything to be particularly excited about.

Hollands tries but not going to be a star.

Who else really is there?

Everyone dreaming if you think we can trade for Bergman. We have massive issues. Who would want to come to us. Club is about to implode
Probably right.

Draft over the next 2 years is our friend. I’m convinced we need to get a fair few picks in over the next 2 years and reset

Delist/Trade at all costs: Boyd, Binns, Pittonet, Evans, Cincotta
On a knife's edge (at least 2): L.Young (utility), Lemmey (KPF), Monahan (medium utility), E.Hollands (fwd/mid)

Retirement possibilities: Saad, Docherty, Newman, McGovern, Fantasia, Haynes

Trade opportunities (at least 1): Motlop (mid/fwd), Durdin (fwd), Fogarty (fwd/wing), Acres (wing/mid)
Mega-trade opportunities: Walsh, Curnow

Probable incomings: Dean, Ison
Possible incomings: Gresham, Clark

Delist/Trade at all costs: Boyd, Binns, Pittonet, Evans, Cincotta
On a knife's edge (at least 2): L.Young (utility), Lemmey (KPF), Monahan (medium utility), E.Hollands (fwd/mid)

Retirement possibilities: Saad, Docherty, Newman, McGovern, Fantasia, Haynes

Trade opportunities (at least 1): Motlop (mid/fwd), Durdin (fwd), Fogarty (fwd/wing), Acres (wing/mid)
Mega-trade opportunities: Walsh, Curnow

Probable incomings: Dean, Ison
Possible incomings: Gresham, Clark

Even if you get all your delistings (Pittonet crazy if TDK leaves) and a few retirements, we are pretty stuck. We have little trade currency and with a FA leaving we can’t offer too much for anyone new.

A list that was in the top 8 for 23 weeks of 2022, played in a prelim in 23, was 2nd after round 16 in 2024, has not all of a sudden lost the ability to play. Our list has some issues no doubt but there is still a lot there.
When people dont like or dont trust the coach, everything drops off, plenty of quality teams have big losses and turn things around.

Austins habit of giving excessive contracts makes things an issue refreshing the list but it could happen quickly

I’d trade Charlie in a heartbeat. Conditional footballer who goes missing in big games and over paid.

Individual
Hard to argue, but very tough call.

If he pulled the appropriate draft capital or a player of need would have to consider despite the kick back. Looking back to our run to finals in ā€˜23 it was almost Koutaesque (before disappearing in finals when I reckon was cooked). Has been a shadow since and certainly his intent is far from genuine.

Going to be off air for much of the next two days. Feel I will have a lot of catching up to do if I can’t find windows to check in.

Sad as it is say but Docherty Saad Fantasia along with TDK and one other high paid player need to go

I would also clear out the plodders like Fogarty Binns and Evans. I reckon Boyd is done as well

Severe refresh coming with a minimum 8 changes
We don’t have the draft capital to do too much mate. There are some great pieces coming. We do have to somewhat clear the decks to remove any on going negative influences. Having said that wouldn’t be against some long overlooked VFL staples getting a shot in the SSP window as well as adding a couple of partially hidden young talents (Flynn Riley definitely tops list for me)

I simply don’t get the ā€œlet’s trade our best players to improve our listā€ approach.

Keeping our best players but getting them fitter, making them more accountable and supporting them better would be a much more sensible approach.
The right coach/coaching group will quickly reinvigorate the group, but a conservative approach will put us in pergatory for another generation.

Hope Wright is up for it. Needs a confidante placed in Lloyd’s role ASAP to bounce things off of. Names like experienced Bartel or perhaps rising young star with a clear eye to senior management in Phil Davis might be a candidate. Clearly a thinker, but is connected and experienced. Having a prime role in the development of GWS in the formative years and the pitfalls along the way has some parallels with where we are heading. Our ā€œbarbellā€ list structure lends itself to comparisons to a start up.

Smith and Walker in particular are going to head up our list rejig. Existing O’Farrell, O’Keeffe, Cowan, Lord, Campos and the slightly older Hollands head our future block along with Dean, Ison and other acquisitions. I may be delusional, but still see Moir as a piece of that. The Voss way of addressing weaknesses over strengths is not conducive to get where we/they need to be.

I simply don’t get the ā€œlet’s trade our best players to improve our listā€ approach.

Keeping our best players but getting them fitter, making them more accountable and supporting them better would be a much more sensible approach.
Agree simply because we don’t have replacements on our list for any of them. By the end of next season we could have Williams, Doc, Newman, TDK, Gov and Saad off our list. We should have cash.

If we are talking draft and trade capital then we are somewhat in a crap position as we instantly have to replace our big name players for similar types which won’t leave much left over to chase more then cheap options to fill our holes, something we should be able to do anyway. We would also be a very unattractive club atm. There is also a weak draft this season, potentially we may not be able to get above a Walker bid next year, then Tassie draft.

We don’t have the draft capital to do too much mate. There are some great pieces coming. We do have to somewhat clear the decks to remove any on going negative influences. Having said that wouldn’t be against some long overlooked VFL staples getting a shot in the SSP window as well as adding a couple of partially hidden young talents (Flynn Riley definitely tops list for me)

A good LM would make it happen. There are ways