2026 Pre-Season Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr Ripper

Absolutely they will report and it starts with the season kick off with the Opening Round clash between the Brisbane Lions and the Western Bulldogs, and from there we should absolutely get weekly reports tracking Hugh as he quite literally plays the field.

And a sample update would go something like this:
Wow, it’s sounds like Hugh’s field is the shape and size of Tassie.

Our injury list over the last two years suggests that we're no better than anyone else at keeping players on the field.

But we are better than everyone else at managing player absences.
💯 for every Daniher there is a Doedee. But the club can afford to take a risk here and there due to mature list and inane depth.

Hipwood running around with a torn knee tendon shows that this club isn’t some miracle place when it comes to medical.

Still not as bad as the Voss-era reserves player who was sent back on after a head clash and it turned out had a fractured skull.

WTF. Will’s a teenager, still growing, still learning, and like most young people, he’ll probably go through a few relationships before he finds his footing. That’s completely normal. Honestly, what kind of reporter thinks it’s responsible journalism to turn that into a headline? It’s baffling that anyone would put their name to such shallow, sensationalised rubbish. Beggars belief.
Reckon they should boycott both rubbish media outlets .

Typical Murdoch garbage. Must be worried the Lions are impacting the Broncos (which they own) so have to try to pull them down. Helped by the Daily Mail whose editor came from the Courier Mail. They really are bottom feeders.

💯 for every Daniher there is a Doedee. But the club can afford to take a risk here and there due to mature list and inane depth.

thats not really accurate, he had a partial tear, who knows if they knew about it or not but it doesnt really matter because a partial tear is almost always the same as a complete tear anyway

The club did pay for The Roar Deal podcast. Then they decided not to.
Now they still get the promotion and engagement of the podcast (and associated watch parties and live events) but don’t need to pay for it. Sounds like sound business management to me.

Business models based on getting people to work for zero money suck. Especially when the company benefiting from the unpaid work are making millions. Scabby.

Don't pay them for the podcast but pay them to run events for the club, or MC events etc. Plenty of ways to support them back.

I have bought roar deal merch, not club merch, for myself and other adult members of my family in the past two years. Hopefully they expand their range (pre order is fine by me). my grand kids are currently wearing hand me downs but I'd happily buy them roar deal stuff.

Friend of mine grabbed his number at a coffee shop, she never did anything with it. I was hoping to go on double dates too. 🤣
Sounds nice in theory, but double dates didn't really lead to good times for Jules Neale.

I reckon he wants to stay but he’s waiting to see how much inside mid minutes he gets. He’s mentioned it a bunch of times & he seemed his happiest last year at the backend of the year when he got those w Lachie out.

He has likely been told he will continue to get those but probably just needs to see it first given how many guys are also after that same thing in the middle. He’d be looking around like yeh ur promising me this but how is it going to work out when you’ve probably said the same to washy Levi Rayner and maybe even Annable, and you’ve already got the best starting mid 3 in the league.

If he gets pushed out to a wing/ half forward too often I think he’ll take those crazy offers we won’t even be close too.

As a side step to this chat - has anyone been emailed access links to today’s preseason ticket period? I can’t remember what happened last year but I figure the prac matches will be pretty popular this year.

Also on Dom and Fish it’s a double edged sword - could Fish be paid by the club and AFL media to do the podcast? Does it become a conflict of interest if he’s then paid to do events. Not sure. However I do think Dom has received a few more events since the podcast went off on its own. I also enjoy supporting them through merch and events because we have such a limited footprint compared to others clubs (socials, media, etc) and it’s nice to have other avenues to celebrate lions and the footy.

However, I do think it’s incredibly poor form that the club took a lot of the Roar Deal’s finals events and sort of claimed them as their own while dropping down their own event schedule. I also agree on the social media discussion they would benefit from more of a personal touch. I used to enjoy the longer-form videos like locker talk and the Josh Walker era disaster chef series. It was nice to see a bit more character and it’s not like Wilmott or Morris wouldn’t be a good host for them. Even Zorko/Bez/Cam would be a good pairing with the younger boys for something like that. Especially if Zorko’s angling for a career in media would be good to boost his social media numbers before retirement.

As a side step to this chat - has anyone been emailed access links to today’s preseason ticket period? I can’t remember what happened last year but I figure the prac matches will be pretty popular this year.

Also on Dom and Fish it’s a double edged sword - could Fish be paid by the club and AFL media to do the podcast? Does it become a conflict of interest if he’s then paid to do events. Not sure. However I do think Dom has received a few more events since the podcast went off on its own. I also enjoy supporting them through merch and events because we have such a limited footprint compared to others clubs (socials, media, etc) and it’s nice to have other avenues to celebrate lions and the footy.

However, I do think it’s incredibly poor form that the club took a lot of the Roar Deal’s finals events and sort of claimed them as their own while dropping down their own event schedule. I also agree on the social media discussion they would benefit from more of a personal touch. I used to enjoy the longer-form videos like locker talk and the Josh Walker era disaster chef series. It was nice to see a bit more character and it’s not like Wilmott or Morris wouldn’t be a good host for them. Even Zorko/Bez/Cam would be a good pairing with the younger boys for something like that. Especially if Zorko’s angling for a career in media would be good to boost his social media numbers before retirement.
Pre season Email just hit my inbox box.

Of all the prospects for 2026, I'm most concerned about draper, and not entirely upset now that he has to come into the side gradually because of injuries. I formed this view on the basis because of watching one of those channel 7 shows I never normally watch, where they get some young players to talk amongst themselves. it's a weird, often awkward format. Anyway, the time I saw it Draper was on, probably mid-season for the bombers. And my conclusion from watching him was that he sounded like and absolute dickwad, and I was glad we didn't have blokes like that at Brisbane. When Motty is your rebel character in the changing room, you know that things are pretty good. So I feared that Draper might bring that attitude to Brisbane, and infect some of the players. Fages has recruited a lot of hardworking country boys, blokes like Berry and Hugh and it seems to have been reflected in the culture when it comes to conducting themselves when they're at the club. They are polite, nice respectful blokes. Anyway, hopefully he'll adapt himself rather than corrupt others, but I have me doubts. I'd be very careful about touching ex-Melbourne FC players for the same reason.
Anyway, that's my 2 cents