Mong

Crows
I know the operating profit is discussed in another thread but I just want this discussion to go in a different direction.

Firstly, with another $2M profit on top of the huge profits that we seem to make every year, what does the AFC do with all this money?

And secondly what SHOULD we do with this money? And should we be using it to fund player development officers and that sort of thing, esentially funding what should be the domain of the SANFL?

This is also perhaps another example of a situation where the SANFL appointed board of the AFC are doing what is best for the SANFL rather than what is best for the AFC. I know Dave W understandably asked for examples of this recently after I suggested the SANFL want people on the board who will look after them first.

We are already funding the SANFL to the tune of $500,000 and I assume Port are doing similar. Yet on top of this we are agreeing to fund development officers which will help the development of players in this state, yet they will eventually go into the draft and have a 15/16 chance to play for another team. Where's the benefit to the AFC? Surely this should be SANFL funded or AFL funded.

I am pretty sure no other team directly fund the development of juniors, they leave it to the AFL.

We already fund player development more than any other club. This is because the AFL spend loads of money developing talent in Victoria, NSW, Queensland and to a lesser extent WA. So basically all 16 clubs equally share the responsibility for funding those areas. Yet in SA the AFL barely fund it at all, because the SANFL put so much money into it the AFL think they don't need to. Where does the money come from that the SANFL use to spend on development? The Crows and Power. So while the Crows fund their sixteenth share in the development of talent across the country, they basically fund the SANFL by themselves along with Port while the other 16 clubs do nothing for SA footy. And to top it off we are now offering more assistance to the SANFL in terms of development officers.

Good on the AFC for playing their part in junior development but are we being short changed and funding way too much compared to other teams? We won't get the benefit when it comes to recruiting in these areas that we are heavily funding.

And why are we so obliging to continue this and now even increase our contibution?

Any comments?

My position on the AFC and any money it comes across is well documented on these boards. I'd like to see a bit more money put back into the people who make the majority of the profit happen - the supporters and members. I realise it would be a novel idea for the club and the SANFL, but a clear profit of $2m is an earthshattering financial result, and the members who've been at the back of the queue for so long, are entitled to a slice of it. Whether this means a further upgrade of Footy Park or greater members facilities I don't know.

The players have got their whizz-bang facilities, the club has got its whizz-bang admin block and Footy Park has it's new stand, video scoreboard, corporate boxes and is in the process of upgrading to bucket seating.

Isn't it time the AFC members and supporters, so long neglected, were given a tangible reward for their loyalty and support?

Anyway, re the junior development I'm not too familiar with its workings as far as the AFC goes, but as you say, surely that would and should be the AFL's, SANFL's and the nine clubs' responsibility? What responsibility does the AFC have to junior footy in this state past the players going to schools and conducting the odd clinic? As far as a financial responsibility goes, surely the money we already kick in to the SANFL is enough.

We've made a $2m profit. Let's see where it goes... doubt we'll be seeing much of it though.

Originally posted by yob
My single biggest concern with footy is football development - I look around me at home games and worry that 90% of people around me are 50 year old women.

I mean no disrespect to that demographic, but yes! What the hell is up with that?

But I don't think that is player 'development'. That comes under 'marketing' and aiming at a target audience.

Maybe that's where the money could be spent. We do rest on our laurels from a marketing sense, probably because we can't fit any new fans into the stadium so what's the point of attempting to attract more people to the games?

That's definately one area that I'd like to see more money spent. Get the next generation of kids onside. I know Port seem to put a lot of resources into that area. You won't change existing fans so why try, but you can attract the kids.

Everyone knows the Crows so it's not about public awareness. But it is about creating an impression on potential young fans and attract them to the Crows.

That is something that will benefit the Crows down the track. Developing talent that will go into a draft lottery will not.

I cannot beleive the "negativity" of us investing into development. I think its a ripper.

We are the club thats taking charge and puting our money back into the grass roots. I am extremely proud of AFC for this. We are sponsoring U13s, U14s and U15s championships and if we filter down through to the underage we will get some younger supporters through.

Triggy was on 5AA yesterday and he explained the working of this in a bit more detailed. I really think its a great idea. If it wasn't for grass roots footy there wouldn't be any players playing in the AFL.

You can't build a house without strong foundations.

I agree that we need development for the greater good of the game. But what return does the AFC get for it's money? And how does it benefit the members who provide the profits?

Development of the game is essential. But either the AFL fund this on behalf of everyone OR teams can fund their own development and have priority on players from the resulting talent pool.

Unfortunately the AFC are paying for player development and these players will be snapped up by other clubs in the draft. The AFC members are funding player development more than any other club. Surely this has to be shared evenly, particularly when the distrubution of players is spread evenly.

I am all for player development but the system has to be fair.

There is definately a benefit in this to the SANFL. But does the AFC get sufficient return on this from it's investment? At this stage, I don't see how it would?

Originally posted by dyertribe
...<snip>...
What responsibility does the AFC have to junior footy in this state past the players going to schools and conducting the odd clinic?

And we wonder why "grassroots" footy is struggling?

I understand your lament dyertribe but it's got to come from the AFL (and it's clubs). That's where all the money is.

Going off on a slight tangent, I would love to see a return to some form of zoning. At least the AFL clubs would get a direct return for their investment then.

Yeah, as much as it sounds like a big gift to the SANFL, it looks like being more about getting junior footballers to be Crows supporters. I guess its a good compromise of the SANFL & Crows best interests.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I cannot beleive the "negativity" of us investing into development. I think its a ripper.

We are the club thats taking charge and puting our money back into the grass roots. I am extremely proud of AFC for this. We are sponsoring U13s, U14s and U15s championships and if we filter down through to the underage we will get some younger supporters through.

Triggy was on 5AA yesterday and he explained the working of this in a bit more detailed. I really think its a great idea. If it wasn't for grass roots footy there wouldn't be any players playing in the AFL.

You can't build a house without strong foundations.

Your talking sense again Stiffy! I really am amazed at the negativity on this board. It is really getting on my goat. Your voice of positivity is a breath of fresh air.

I reckon that a 2m profit is fantastic. It proves what I have always thought - we are a very well run club. Being a part of the AFC is an honour.

k
xx

Originally posted by Porthos
Yeah, as much as it sounds like a big gift to the SANFL, it looks like being more about getting junior footballers to be Crows supporters. I guess its a good compromise of the SANFL & Crows best interests.

I agree. Its a great way to target youngsters to become Crows fans and play SANFL footy.

We have been sponsering St George in Sydney in order to get a priority pick out of NSW. Good to see our money is now going back to SA. This scheme could also lead to us trying to get priority picks out of SA as we are putting in a fair amount of $$.

There would be no excuses in not picking up/gaining info on the best SA talent available to us now. We would have access to the best in the state with employees at every club.

From the early days of the AFC, part of our agenda was to retain the best SA footballers and provide an oppurtunity for them to play AFL. This new programme fits right in with this.

As for what to do with the rest of the money, I think thats already been decided. There was a story on Channel 9 recently that stated that AFC are looking to build a third story to their HQ.

There are two halfs to the new level. The half that faces out onto the bus/cattle station on the east side will be a new admin block. The half facing out over the stadium will become corporate boxes.

I dont remember if its been approved, but I think its not far off. I mean, more corporate boxes who'd knock that back?

Originally posted by Jerome

As for what to do with the rest of the money, I think thats already been decided. There was a story on Channel 9 recently that stated that AFC are looking to build a third story to their HQ.

There are two halfs to the new level. The half that faces out onto the bus/cattle station on the east side will be a new admin block. The half facing out over the stadium will become corporate boxes.

I dont remember if its been approved, but I think its not far off. I mean, more corporate boxes who'd knock that back?

That would be a great investment for the club,Corprate Boxes are what make the club HUGE amounts of money, we are a successful club and Im sure they are turning away sponser's at the moment, keep us upto date with any further info on this development Jerome;)

Lets face it in the end AAMI Stadium will be the HOME to only the Crows!!!!!!!!!!!:D :D :D :D Port Power, Adelaide Oval is that way ----> :D :D :D :D

Great, thats all we need.....more corporate boxes.:mad: :mad: What about a Members bar that isn't naff, or a hotel in the city for fans to congregate when the lads play away?? Once these things are in place, then we can upgrade the admin facility and build more coporate boxes.

Originally posted by yob
FFS.

Corporate boxes = PROFIT.

I see where you are coming from, but criminey, what about the fans eh? As long as the new corporate boxes are purely for the use and profit making of the AFC, that wouldn't be too bad (I doubt this will happen as IMO the SANFL pulls the strings), but surely its time to upgrade the facilities for the most important part of the club...us.

The Park Pavillions payed for themselves within 2 years, what's the SANFL been doing with the millions from those babies?

Originally posted by yob
FFS.

Corporate boxes = PROFIT.

Yeah but we already make huge profits. How about using these profits to reward the members with facilities like Still Crowing has suggested.

I will tell you why they won't, though. And that is because if the Crows build facilities like that it will take customers away from the SANFL club facilities and the SANFL clubs won't like that. And as the AFC board are puppets to the SANFL it would never be considered.

Yeah Corporate boxes mean profits but whats the point? What benefit do we get from these massive profits?

Originally posted by ****
Yeah but we already make huge profits. How about using these profits to reward the members with facilities like Still Crowing has suggested.

I will tell you why they won't, though. And that is because if the Crows build facilities like that it will take customers away from the SANFL club facilities and the SANFL clubs won't like that. And as the AFC board are puppets to the SANFL it would never be considered.

Yeah Corporate boxes mean profits but whats the point? What benefit do we get from these massive profits?

I think that's a bit harsh.

The Club has spent millions on the Shed and the Crows Tavern

A healthy corporate revenue is vital to any club.

Most people who go to teh SANFL clubs are not the people who would go to the Crows social facilities I would say. Most of these people are die hard SANFL fans.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Well you cant redevelope an old run down shed for $2 matey;) :rolleyes:

**** eh? And here I was thinking all the AFC did was bring in Susie Wilkes and Jamie Drury...

Originally posted by Jars458
Can you provide any evidence to the contrary?

Cease building your Atlantic Wall for a second, Rommel.

It was an honest question - I'd just like to know exactly how much our glorified concrete bunker cost.

Originally posted by dyertribe
Cease building your Atlantic Wall for a second, Rommel.

It was an honest question - I'd just like to know exactly how much our glorified concrete bunker cost.

I was just sparing.

More of a Montgomery type.

I seem to rememer them saying the Tav was a fair bit. Maybe the Shed was only $200,000.