Senior 30. Jack Ison

I don't know much about him on a personal level, but he also just comes across a really great kid

Be interesting to see what he ends up as in time. All of the weapons are there. Could be a Bailey Humprey like hybrid forward. He looks a lot like a slightly shorter Cripps and could easily be a rampaging mid.

One thing is for sure, he's a lovely kick and looks a good decision maker. That's half the battle won already.

This is going to sound weird, but I see him as a Gryan Miers type (and I mean that as a huge compliment, I am a huge Miers fan), especially how Miers played a couple of years ago.

Not quite a full-time forward, not quite a fill-time mid, but does some of both and most importantly is a crucial link between mids and fwds. Deadly delivering inside 50 and setting up forward forays. It's what Carlton have been crying out for for over a decade.

Obviously Ison is a lot bigger so is a different physical type to Miers but I see the same role. Trying to pin down a better comparison... maybe Jack Martin?

Reckon he's going to be our version of Dusty, big call I know but he has all the tools to be just that.

Once he builds up more strength and tank he is going to dominate in the middle and up forward for years to come.

The single most exciting prospect I can remember drafting in recent memory.

We'll look back and laugh that nobody bid on him til the late 40s. Was easily a top 20 talent on what he showed late last year.

192 cm mid/fwd with elite kicking and high footy IQ.

What a steal.
I recall watching the draft coverage, post draft wash up and media articles post draft and two draftees when asked about their surprises of this years draft and they said they couldn't believe Ison did not get bid on far earlier.

The thing that struck me most was just how natural his kicking action is. In a team that's historically been full of butchers, that element alone excited me.

His composure and humility makes him someone I don't want to see out of the side for the rest of the year (fitness permitting).
He needs to teach the team how to kick.

Beautiful natural action. The kind where you “feel safe” when he’s got the ball.

This is going to sound weird, but I see him as a Gryan Miers type (and I mean that as a huge compliment, I am a huge Miers fan), especially how Miers played a couple of years ago.

Not quite a full-time forward, not quite a fill-time mid, but does some of both and most importantly is a crucial link between mids and fwds. Deadly delivering inside 50 and setting up forward forays. It's what Carlton have been crying out for for over a decade.

Obviously Ison is a lot bigger so is a different physical type to Miers but I see the same role. Trying to pin down a better comparison... maybe Jack Martin?

Should model his game on Toby Greene.

Own everything within 80m of goal, be an aerial target deep forward or the guy delivering the ball with precision inside 50. Pull a goal out of your ass or push up to the wing and win a clearance if you have to.

His skill set is so unique and he has the confidence to go with it. Dare I say a level of arrogance. The best players in the game know they are the best players in the game.

I can't put my finger on it exactly, but I feel like there are several ingredients that this kid has in spades that our club has been really lacking for some time.

Ability to kick a footy cleanly being one of them.

But he does carry a certain aura about him in that he seems to know his skills and how to best use them. A confidence that hasn't yet been dented and hopefully won't be. The kids that have the drive to be great, know their skill set, and carry that self belief are the ones who make it. Ison looks a ripper.

It's been said quite a few times before. But he really does look like a Pendlebury clone. No disrespect to either player.
The height, the composure, the left foot, holding onto the ball until it's time to execute the disposal, even the way he stands so upright with ball in hand.

Skill, extroversion and confidence.

Can’t wait for him to shoosh the opposition crowd like he did in the Tassie game !

It's been said quite a few times before. But he really does look like a Pendlebury clone. No disrespect to either player.
The height, the composure, the left foot, holding onto the ball until it's time to execute the disposal, even the way he stands so upright with ball in hand.
I'll be the first to put my hand up and say I wasn't totally convinced after watching the U18 Championships and his highlights in the Coates league....right up until I saw this goal. Absolutely made my jaw drop to the ground - just the poise and balance and composure.

And then after the weekend, reckon this kid's got 'it'...

The play that sold me was when he was busting forward in the last with the ball and rather than blast it he made a great decision to try and fashion a kick to McGovern. Didn't directly lead to a goal but ended in one. Not many first gamers have the smarts to try that

This.
I was thinking to myself when that play was unfolding. Will he blaze away? Or will he show maturity and composure and hit that player running back towards goal.
That moment gave me instant confidence in him and that’ll he’ll make the right decision in important moments

This.
I was thinking to myself when that play was unfolding. Will he blaze away? Or will he show maturity and composure and hit that player running back towards goal.
That moment gave me instant confidence in him and that’ll he’ll make the right decision in important moments
The one-handed clean pick-up was exquisite.