Player Watch #30: Reece Conca

tend to think that come finals he may get found out.

You realise how big a loss he was in that final against Carlton? Did his his hammy just before half time and took no further part in the game.
Carlton came back and eliminated us. He was bolting hard held and doing as well, if not better than our elite class. Proved to be a big loss and a big game player no worries.

When Conca starts doing the things on the field Martin does I’ll be the first to forgive his basic skill errors.
Take Martin and possibly Cotchin out of the discussion as they are our genuine elite level talents, there are still up to 10 teammates of Concas who turn the ball over more per game than he does. Do we forgive all their basic skill errors as well or do we start holding them to account the same way we do the likes of Conca.

That’s actually exactly what RT is saying. He is saying Conca has the same DE as those other players, therefore his disposal is as good.

Yes Conca does good things and we’ve actually all acknowledged that. Even TI is saying he’s played two good games with two bad games in the last four.

Most people are saying he is still prone to bad decisions and poor skill errors, and I know for me personally, I tend to think that come finals he may get found out. He may not. Finals footy is funny like that. Conca might be great cos he is good in traffic and applies good pressure. But he might be awful cos he is prone to turning it over through either skills or decision making.

The game against Collingwood was a finals like game and he was awful. That was his first test and he failed. But he’s been good up until then so he gets another chance.
Is he as good a kick of the footy as guys like Martin & Cotchin? Not even close and I've never ever claimed that he is. What I have claimed is that in the hear of a game Conca has an disposal efficiency % that is as good as his teammates that play the same role i.e. inside/outside midfielder. Like them he can hit kicks that break the game open and set up forward thrusts and he can butcher the ball and have fans cursing. The issue I have is that there seems to be different standards for different players. If you're labelled elite it seems that you can do no wrong, because well hey you do a few outstanding things a game. On the flip side if you're a soldier if you make a few mistakes a game then you should consider packing your locker after the game(probably a little extreme, but you should get the gist). I don't think that is right, I believe every player should be held to the same standards, which for me is play the role you're asked to play and as long as you play that role you get a pass mark.

Are you still going on fmd man you have a chip on your shoulders. Give yourself a break and allow others to post.
Unlike some that seem to sit on here all day and half the night I only get limited time to be online.

given his injury history, he would be an ideal candidate to give a weeks rest to recover and then come straight back in.

Hasn’t played more than 6 games in a season since 2014.

Bloke deserves a turn of luck with injuries and I hope he makes it to the 100 this year, only needs another 8.

given his injury history, he would be an ideal candidate to give a weeks rest to recover and then come straight back in.

Hasn’t played more than 6 games in a season since 2014.

Bloke deserves a turn of luck with injuries and I hope he makes it to the 100 this year, only needs another 8.

He picked up a cork late in the game last Sunday. Reckon he might be 50:50 for Sunday.

Haere Ra

this issues aside from turnovers are his blatant and stupid basic mistakes such as giving away cheap free kicks or dumb 50's at crucial times. He cracks under pressure big time albeit that he has improved. With our VFL going so well particular midfielders if he wasn't a high draft pick I have no doubt he wouldn't be getting a game or possibly still on the list.

Conca or Prestia?????? :p

i don't wanna hear about stats, I go to every home game and conca has always had th same problems....: yes he finds the ball but he lacks any sense of composure, continues to turn it over, I cant remember him picking the ball up and Lacing it out to someone..
Doesn't really like the Richmond supporters either... and I'm not going into it

i don't wanna hear about stats, I go to every home game and conca has always had th same problems....: yes he finds the ball but he lacks any sense of composure, continues to turn it over, I cant remember him picking the ball up and Lacing it out to someone..
You cant say that then dont expand on it.

I feel a sense of deja vous. We had this exact discussion about Prestia coming back from long term injuries about this stage last year. People were ripping into him saying how shite his kicking and how poor his decision making was. Well Conca is in the same boat.
Conca's kicking will be fine. He has hit some lace out passes this year that only good kicks can. Sure he has missed some because like everyone who is watching, he probably has doubts, a bit like Richo's goal kicking. He is very creative by hand, and then coughs up a cheapy.
If Conca comes into form he will has the potential to be a top shelf mid because his agility is similar to Edwards and he makes space where there is none. That is gold when the game these days is played in so tight. He is also a ripping tackler.
He needs a breakout game. But if he loses form he has little credits in the bank so he will be dropped.

Probably got cuddled once to often by TI in that venue in coburg...

THhis was a few years ago so he probably matured a bit I'd say.... I just didn't like a few things someone told me he said and that's it

So you heard something third hand, formed the conclusion that he doesn't like Richmond supporters, and posted that on a public forum?

Haere Ra

Imo Prestia is a poor kick and tends to throw the ball onto the boot when under pressure.
What he does bring though is a whole heap of tackles contested possesions more than his fair share of clearances and is good for 20 plus disposals a game. He is good for all these things nearly every week.

Personally i dont need stats to tell me when a bloke has a poor game, i dont need stats to show me a players strengths and weaknesses i can see them for myself.

Personally i dont think Conca is best 22. I think hes been pretty ordinary in three games and servicable in the rest.
His best is good enough but he cant play at his best anywhere near often enough, any small drop off from his best makes him a liability imo.

The current regime drafted him. They have kept him on the list for a very long time when imo he should have been cut. He continues to get games despite never earning them imo. He has regularly come back from injury and got a game in front of blokes who have done plenty in the two's and easily out performed him. He was even rushed into a finals side for god knows what reason.The bloke is clearly a favorite of the coach/coaches.
Imo with this bloke there are double standards.He has rarely ever done enough to warrant automatic selection yet this is what happens he has rarelyever done enough in the two's to warrant selection in front of others who have.
Like a few others it is highly unlikely he will get dropped, he plods along doing what he does and when he has a v/good game persevering with him will be justified by all and sundry.

Personally if people cant see how poor he is in areas or dont think it matters and they think hes playing consistent good footy then theres no way anything anyone says is going to change their minds. All one can do is post his opinion and leave it at that.

Its footy and in this game one blokes favorite player is inevitably a disliked player to others.

Imo Prestia is a poor kick and tends to throw the ball onto the boot when under pressure.
What he does bring though is a whole heap of tackles contested possesions more than his fair share of clearances and is good for 20 plus disposals a game. He is good for all these things nearly every week.

Personally i dont need stats to tell me when a bloke has a poor game, i dont need stats to show me a players strengths and weaknesses i can see them for myself.

Personally i dont think Conca is best 22. I think hes been pretty ordinary in three games and servicable in the rest.
His best is good enough but he cant play at his best anywhere near often enough, any small drop off from his best makes him a liability imo.

The current regime drafted him. They have kept him on the list for a very long time when imo he should have been cut. He continues to get games despite never earning them imo. He was even rushed into a finals side for god knows what reason.The bloke is clearly a favorite of the coach/coaches.
Like a few others it is highly unlikely he will get dropped he plods along doing what he does and when he has a v/good game persevering with him will be justified by all and sundry.

Personally if people cant see how poor he is in areas or dont think it matters and they think hes playing consistent good footy then theres no way anything anyone says is going to change their minds. All one can do is post his opinion and leave it at that.

Its footy and in this game one blokes favorite player is inevitably a disliked player to others.
I was having a little joke with trib.