Player Watch #30 Tom Brown - Broken Arm - Expected Return Round 14

• Thread starter Thread starter Sterge

I wanted to try him on the wing last year (and would prefer Trainor gets a run in his preferred position in the backline).

IMO his mindset is far too defensive (considering his draft report was more that he was a running half-back with a lethal kick), so maybe we'd see the other side of his game more if he wasn't so worried about being scored-against.
He would actually make a great winger and has all the traits , He reads the play and ball well and has speed and height
great kick and a nice mark. Just dont know if he has the ability to run 15/16klms a game at higher intensity

Pretty sad really. 5th year in the system, 1st round pick, couldn't make best team with 10 players unavailable through injuries/ suspension and no Vlastuin. I'm actually thrilled he's been dropped as he's too complacent and was guaranteed a game week in week out without justification, been dreadful in the games so far. Seems lazy and plods.

Supposedly an elite runner, needs to start showing it. How many times did Houli, Deledio, Matt White, Foley come charging out of the backline run and carrying massive meters, drawing opponents in before kicking and gaining 80m+ breaking the game open. They'd do it several times a game. Has he ever really pulled his finger out besides one tackle.

Geez bit of Chicken little crap goin on.
We got Broad and Vlaustin who are gonna be 33,34 next year.
Getting the balance right developing the new guard to be able to shift in smoothly when they hang the boots up is gonna mean we can’t play them all, all the time.

I’d rather play Short, build up the currency a little and hopefully Tassie give us a sling for him.

I think they have go the side pretty right considering. Obviously there would be a few in's and outs's if the young kids weren't injured.

A little controversial to drop Brown, but his lack of preseason form cost him. Was a Trezise fan then wasn't after last season, but he was really composed and didn't lose a contest against Melbourne, so good on him for being good enough to push Brown out. Trainor is a tad unlucky, but nobody is a walk up especially when your competition is Broad who has been a great servant of the club. Won't hurt either to dominate the VFL. They won't be there long most likely.

Green is lucky we don't have any gun small forwards, although Algar is nipping away, and lucky Hotton is injured.

Ralphsmith was always going to get first dibs over Retschko and so he should. He has improved his hardness alot although some will never admit it. Knows our game and has the speed and running power to play the wing. Good to see McAuliffe on the other wing, although he should be going through the middle. Trezise can also run there.

Good to see Lalor in the middle, not that I expect him to play too much there.

This is probably the best side we have picked for a good while due to generally everyone in it having good preseasons, especially Lynch.

I think they have go the side pretty right considering. Obviously there would be a few in's and outs's if the young kids weren't injured.

A little controversial to drop Brown, but his lack of preseason form cost him. Was a Trezise fan then wasn't after last season, but he was really composed and didn't lose a contest against Melbourne, so good on him for being good enough to push Brown out. Trainor is a tad unlucky, but nobody is a walk up especially when your competition is Broad who has been a great servant of the club. Won't hurt either to dominate the VFL. They won't be there long most likely.

Green is lucky we don't have any gun small forwards, although Algar is nipping away, and lucky Hotton is injured.

Ralphsmith was always going to get first dibs over Retschko and so he should. He has improved his hardness alot although some will never admit it. Knows our game and has the speed and running power to play the wing. Good to see McAuliffe on the other wing, although he should be going through the middle. Trezise can also run there.

This is probably the best side we have picked for a good while due to generally everyone in it having good preseasons, especially Lynch.
Hahahaha improved his hardness a lot. Do you expect anyone to believe that BS?

What evidence are u basing that on?

Ralphsmith improved hardness? I don’t want to burst your bubble but how the F**k did u come up with analogy? He’s been nothing but a soft kok who’s scared of his own shadow.

With Hugo's speed of foot he can easily outrun his shadow...
Horses for courses here...
Speed against the cartooners...

Pretty sad really. 5th year in the system, 1st round pick, couldn't make best team with 10 players unavailable through injuries/ suspension and no Vlastuin. I'm actually thrilled he's been dropped as he's too complacent and was guaranteed a game week in week out without justification, been dreadful in the games so far. Seems lazy and plods.
There's 8 on the injury list and they're all irrelevant bar Vlastuin. TB is a defender.

It'll be interesting where he plays int he magoos.
I've said a while ago he has the potential to play mid, similar to Hayden Young.

Hahahaha improved his hardness a lot. Do you expect anyone to believe that BS?

What evidence are u basing that on?
Not every player is 'hard' but from where he was early in his career to where he is now he puts himself into better zones so he able to intercept and hit the ball harder.

Running wingman are not necessarily under packs and yes he could improve his contested game, but his biggest asset is is ability to run from full back line to the full forward line. He took contested marks at both ends vs Melbourne.

His biggest issue is not hardness or lack of but finishing his work with creative passing, tends to bomb it long most times but he just about the only player on the list that is an 80m player. Short can when he's not looking for the cheap possession, and Banks is developing that, but run and carry is something we need badly.

Not sure he will keep his wing, but okay with him being their right now.

He shouldn’t be playing in the maggos based purely on talent. However, I agree with Yze’s call to not pick him this week as he didn’t show enough in the two practice matches and didn’t warrant selection. It’s clear he is a potential leader and it was good to see him get around Grlj when he was told of his selection, but he must step it up and play to his strengths.

Cannot see it...
Even with multiple visits to Spec-Savers...

Geez bit of Chicken little crap goin on.
We got Broad and Vlaustin who are gonna be 33,34 next year.
Getting the balance right developing the new guard to be able to shift in smoothly when they hang the boots up is gonna mean we can’t play them all, all the time.

I’d rather play Short, build up the currency a little and hopefully Tassie give us a sling for him.

This is Broad's last year; he said it when he signed previously that he wouldn't extend.

The issue I have is Short gets named every week but really offers us nothing. Short's time has passed, no one will offer us anything for him, he seems to get worse each season now.

This is Broad's last year; he said it when he signed previously that he wouldn't extend.

The issue I have is Short gets named every week but really offers us nothing. Short's time has passed, no one will offer us anything for him, he seems to get worse each season now.
Good trainer though...shows whats required to be a footballer both voice and fitness wise...
Can kick a footy...
Loud voice out on the track both training and game days...
Good Club man...
Best faller over in the Club...
What's not to like?!

I'm ok with that as a selection policy but why are Ralphsmith and Broad playing then? Both were terrible in the Melb practice game. Broad allowed 3 Melbourne goals on his own early on through stupid mistakes. 3 more than Brown conceded.

This thread is going off the rails a bit. Geelong were shattered that we took him. I liked what I saw as a rookie. Hell, Edwards did **** all for about his first 100 games. Rance was useless for about 50 and was the scion of a weagles legend.

Not all players track straight line development and I reckon he's not far off it.

About Ralphsmith, I don't think much of him but Brandon Ellis was a ****en squib too. Worthy premiership player as well, so the truth is you don't need to be as hard as nails to be a good winger.

About Short, ex-premietship players always have currency (e.g. blumfield, marsh, etc), especially at lowly clubs with no success on their list, looking for "how to" advice. A 4th round pick is better than nothing and might even get a 3rd. Just depends if he wants to play on

I'm ok with that as a selection policy but why are Ralphsmith and Broad playing then? Both were terrible in the Melb practice game. Broad allowed 3 Melbourne goals on his own early on through stupid mistakes. 3 more than Brown conceded.
Broad has runs on the board, lots of them, that's the difference. Brown on talent should be best 23, but didn't show it when he needed to.

This thread is going off the rails a bit. Geelong were shattered that we took him. I liked what I saw as a rookie. Hell, Edwards did **** all for about his first 100 games. Rance was useless for about 50 and was the scion of a weagles legend.

Not all players track straight line development and I reckon he's not far off it.

About Ralphsmith, I don't think much of him but Brandon Ellis was a ****en squib too. Worthy premiership player as well, so the truth is you don't need to be as hard as nails to be a good winger.

About Short, ex-premietship players always have currency (e.g. blumfield, marsh, etc), especially at lowly clubs with no success on their list, looking for "how to" advice. A 4th round pick is better than nothing and might even get a 3rd. Just depends if he wants to play on
Agree with all this, however, the difference between Ellis and Ralphsmith is that Ellis used to get 25 touches a game while Ralphmalf gets half that. You can afford to carry a soft ball magnet but not a soft player that hardly touches it.

So you're confirming Yze has favorites and doesn't pick on merit then
Of course, there is not a coach in the country who would not pick Broad over Brown, one out of loyalty, Hardwick the personification of that, and two Broad has 3 premierships medals and is still a really good player. Brown's form has never been better than Broads and one dodgy practice match (the other game he played was state of origin) is not going to change that, and even then Brown did not play well either, hence Trezise getting a game.

Agree with all this, however, the difference between Ellis and Ralphsmith is that Ellis used to get 25 touches a game while Ralphmalf gets half that. You can afford to carry a soft ball magnet but not a soft player that hardly touches it.
Ellis went in way harder than Hugo ever has or would

I know I know… that’s way she said

Van Rooyen just kicked 6 today. Kicked 3 in half the called off lightning game against us in the preseason. Brown over Van Rooyen looking pretty ordinary again right now. Vlastuin back in this week so doubtful Brown back. Wonder if he's behind trainor with selection committee as well?