Player Watch #32 - Corey Ellis

Showed signs of improvement which was a good thing and similar to late vfl games he played and looks to be getting more involved and starting to attempt things, Still needs to improve confidence in himself and be stronger at the ball and the man in contests but was better, Must become an inside mid.

Re: McIntosh , Its players like Macca that make the team and do the hard running and linking, Did a few things that indicated to me that he is now also gaining more confidence to take players on and also be harder at the contest - I seen improvement and hope it continues

But to Me Macca is the new Tucky but an outside version but similar mentality - Need to keep it simple

i think i get the cellis vibe now... i say he's a lock for round 1, i reckon hardwick does too most say he's thereabouts and well and truly putting his hand up and then there's a few that seem to think he's off the pace, injury prone, too s l o w and/or not worth the trouble.... those few critics all seemed to have ha it in for Prestia too at various stages....haha....just sayin :D:D:D
Yeah, you get the feeling the selectors have players in mind. Conca is one. I reckon he might be a lock for the spot in the backline. (I would prefer Short) Bolton would get Rioli's spot, not just based on that game. CEllis looked natural playing that role as inside mid fielder.Only problem is he was playing in place of Prestia.
Very pleasing to see Short, Conca, CEllis, Usain, Marbs, Garth having good games. Injury to Astbury & Nank gave Garth & Marbs a great opp. to show their wares. None disappointed

Last edited by a moderator:

Personally, I think McIntosh is one of our weakest links.

I agree lots of thing he needs to improve. Many of his games have been ordinary. Just think with Broad gone that they will be looking to shuffle McIntosh a similar size and type into his position he did play a bit back last yr.
That would mean an outside type to take McIntoshs role to me that would be Menadue.

Comparisons to Matty Knights are a way off. Given Knighta had nearly 20 possessions on debut as a 17 year old, who started that year in the under-19s and then through the reserves and by game four had over 20 touches and two goals from seven shots on goal.
Knights won a best and fairest in year three, still the youngest ever winner of our great club's best and fairest, and in only his second full season (he played four games at the end of his first).
Season four Knights had 535 possessions and 16 goals. Impressive numbers.

i think i get the cellis vibe now... i say he's a lock for round 1, i reckon hardwick does too most say he's thereabouts and well and truly putting his hand up and then there's a few that seem to think he's off the pace, injury prone, too s l o w and/or not worth the trouble.... those few critics all seemed to have ha it in for Prestia too at various stages....haha....just sayin :D:D:D

why quote my post when you ignore everything thats said in it..OH i see your trolling.

But anyway it seems you can read the coaches mind, and apply your own personal interpretations into peoples posts as very few have called him a lock or said he's not worth the trouble.
So what else is there oh yeah, Injury prone well thats a fact, Been Of the pace your just about the lone ranger there because just about everyone agrees on that. Too slow fmd another fact he is slow oh those pesky weaknesses better to not acknowledge them eh.

lol Prestia. people critical of Prestia early in the season when he was injured and clearly struggling How dare they ask for him to be rested and give some other player a game who played well in the ressies.
Talk about spin and your one who goes crook about the way people exaggerate things., People had it in for him thats quite funny. cmon be honest and admit he was injured and he was not travelling well.

Comparisons to Matty Knights are a way off. Given Knighta had nearly 20 possessions on debut as a 17 year old, who started that year in the under-19s and then through the reserves and by game four had over 20 touches and two goals from seven shots on goal.
Knights won a best and fairest in year three, still the youngest ever winner of our great club's best and fairest, and in only his second full season (he played four games at the end of his first).

i think it was just a mild trait comparison, not a like for like comparison.

but some great info on how much of an impact knights had as a youngster!

i think it was just a mild trait comparison, not a like for like comparison.

but some great info on how much of an impact knights had as a youngster!

I was at his first game ... remarkable how a guy who started the pre-season at Mildura Imperials could progress to Richmond under-19s , reserves and then seniors. I remember his first kick and how Peter Wilson ran about 55 metres to go and pat him on the back and offer some words of encouragement.
Also remember it for the great man Phil Egan booting seven goals. Reckon it was the year that Phil and the Ghost combined to be a very potent dual key-forward set-up out of the square for a four or five weeks, til injury hot.
But remember Knighta and thinking we've got a serious player here, something I have said only three times since after a debut game fro a Tiger.

I was at his first game ... remarkable how a guy who started the pre-season at Mildura Imperials could progress to Richmond under-19s , reserves and then seniors. I remember his first kick and how Peter Wilson ran about 55 metres to go and pat him on the back and offer some words of encouragement.
Also remember it for the great man Phil Egan booting seven goals. Reckon it was the year that Phil and the Ghost combined to be a very potent dual key-forward set-up out of the square for a four or five weeks, til injury hot.
But remember Knighta and thinking we've got a serious player here, something I have said only three times since after a debut game fro a Tiger.

His final against Essendon in 95 was pretty special as well.

Dean Polo was one of the other 2 I'm guessing? :D

The other time being Dean Polo ;)

Gotta admit i barely got thru the whole game it was boring as bat shiiite. Hard to watch what was basically a traing session.Wish the real stuff was here.

Chol well i for one have always said hes a ruckman and the great thing about him is the different type he is to Nankervis.
He has a great leap he needs to use it a lot more.He is a jumping ruck opposed to a crash bash type in Nankervis.

Needs to be more involved around the ground needs to start taking marks and most likely will need to play well in the fwd half also.Because
I would not have thought we would play him soley off the bench.
A skinny long term project player who had to play kp/thirdtall because of size.Now has a bit of beef on the frame and seems to be tracking in the right direction.
Coleman -Jones is the one im interested in seeing in JLT2 if we play him.

I only mentioned Knights because of that low movement, big arse and the ability to pick the ball up while looking around. Knights knew who he was going to give it to before he got it. Saw that a bit in Ellis on the weekend, and I'm not pumping his tyres other than that. Okay game and an improvement. Knights was 'wonder boy' from day 1.

1 goal, 17 disposals and 6 tackles is a great hitout for him. I think in the book they mentioned he is a very talented player but was a bit on the slight side physically. Looks to have beefed up a bit and if he can stay fit and get that much needed confidence, I can see him cracking into the side (will be tough though with others trying to force their way in as well).

Wish I recorded the game, I want to see that clearance he did in the final quarter where he made space out of nothing.

If you have foxtel, you should be able to log into your account through Foxtel Now and the game is in the On Demand section.

But remember Knighta and thinking we've got a serious player here, something I have said only three times since after a debut game fro a Tiger.[/Q
Peter Wilson... geez I was disappointed when he went home

If you have foxtel, you should be able to log into your account through Foxtel Now and the game is in the On Demand section.

I found another replay that I’ve set to record. Will also check this way. Thanks.

I think the game stays on demand for a week (maybe 2) but isn't available until after the first replay on fox footy channel
something like that anyway

There is no doubting his football ability. At 21 he is going from a boy to a man and his football will reflect it.

I hope like hell he kicks on because we really need to start looking for the next generation of not just players but stars.

There is no doubting his football ability. At 21 he is going from a boy to a man and his football will reflect it.

I hope like hell he kicks on because we really need to start looking for the next generation of not just players but stars.
He's improving, slowly, but do you really think he can be a star? If that was on the cards I think he might shown a bit of extraordinary something by now. If we get another Grigg like player outa him that will do me.