Player Watch 33. Cyril Rioli

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsartic...7/default.aspx
List assessment: Hawthorn
By Chris Fagan
Cyril Rioli
Outstanding in the first half of the year. He was probably our shining light in the first 10 games, then he injured his hamstring and missed five weeks. He was starting to come back into his best form in the last few weeks of the season. Overall he’s had a fantastic second year after a great first year. I still think there is more to come from Cyril

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/85439/default.aspx

Burton, Rioli win mark and goal of the year

Cyril Rioli is the winner of the 2009 AFL Stores Goal of the Year

* 2009 Hungry Jack's AFL Mark of the Year nominees
* 2009 AFL Stores Goal of the Year nominees

ADELAIDE forward Brett Burton is the winner of the 2009 Hungry Jack’s AFL Mark of the Year Winner, while Hawthorn goalsneak Cyril Rioli is the 2009 AFL Stores Goal of the Year winner.

Burton will receive the Alex Jesaulenko Medal for his spectacular round 22 mark against Carlton at Etihad Stadium.

Rioli, who was nominated twice throughout the season, will receive the Phil Manassa Medal for his round seven effort against Essendon at the MCG.

Rioli becomes the fourth indigenous player to win the award since 2004 following North Melbourne’s Daniel Wells (2004), Ca
rlton’s Eddie Betts (2006) and Collingwood’s Leon Davis (2008).

Rioli also said it was a honour to receive his first goal of the year award.

”I would also like to thank my teammate Chance Bateman for giving me the handball to have the opportunity to kick the goal,” he said

“I feel privileged to follow in the footsteps of the other indigenous players who have won this award - Leon Davis, Eddie Betts and Daniel Wells. I love playing footy and it’s a real buzz to play in front of our passionate Hawthorn members and supporters.”

At the coaches awards Cyril was voted the best young player in the AFL over the last two years.

Was reported at the tail end of a story about Ablett winning the coaches award for the 3rd time.

What a fantastic young player Cyril has turned out to be well done Junior...:thumbsu:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/sam-mitchell-is-hawks-best/story-e6frf9jf-1225782526118

HAWTHORN captain Sam Mitchell's consistency in what proved to be a difficult year for his club has won him his second Peter Crimmins Medal.

Mitchell gathered votes in 21 of his 22 matches to poll 170 votes to easily defeat second-year star Cyril Rioli (123) and brilliant forward Lance Franklin (121).

In an emotional result at Crown Palladium last night, the 26-year-old was presented with the Olympic-sized gold medal depicting an image of the late Hawthorn champion by Crimmins' widow, Gwen.

Rioli was a tearaway leader in the medal count after a blistering start to the season.

He had taken an 11-vote lead after 10 rounds before being sidelined with a hamstring injury.

He managed to hold off the fast-finishing Franklin to fill the minor placings. Brad Sewell (113) and Bateman (112) were fourth and fifth.

In other awards on the night, the AFL's youngest player this season, Liam Shiels, won the club's best first year player, while Clinton Young, who endured a frustrating year with injury, won the Best Clubman award.

Story from Northern Territory News based on Simspon's comments on Sport 927 9which we don't get up in Darwin, AFAIK)

http://www.ntnews.com.au/article/2009/12/27/111961_ntsport.html

by GREY MORRIS

December 27th, 2009

Cyril_Rioli.jpg
TOP GUN: Hawks' Cyril Rioli has won high praise from Adam Simpson

HAWTHORN goalsneak and former St Marys junior Cyril Rioli has been dubbed the Hawks' best player by former North Melbourne star Adam Simpson.
Now an assistant coach at Hawthorn, Simpson also expects 20-year-old Rioli to become a midfield star of the future.
Speaking on Melbourne radio station Sport 927, Simpson has no doubts on Rioli's allround ability.
"I didn't know how good he was until I came here (to Hawthorn)," he said.
"I'd almost go as far as saying he's our best player without putting too much pressure on him."

Well people, Season 2010 is just around the corner, in fact we're on the home stretch with only a few weeks before the NAB cup games will infiltrate our summer BBQ's and we'll once again wonder just why it is that we get so excited by the sometimes scruffy preseason games that are played out all over the country.

But fear not, for in 2010 I will be stepping up to the plate that Cheeseman and Boyler Room stood before me, and bringing you the man that even our own players marvel at, Junior Boy.

In the meantime, feast your eyes on this video and thank the almighty powers that he's ours.
[YOUTUBE]9fT7sRpi1Xo[/YOUTUBE]

Groin and hip injuries force Rioli to rest
JAKE NIALL
February 8, 2010
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/groin-and-hip-injuries-force-rioli-to-rest-20100207-nku8.html
svRIOLI-420x0.jpg

HAWTHORN'S young match-winner, Cyril Rioli, will be rested from training for at least the next couple of weeks and miss the opening of the NAB Cup as the club takes a ''no risk'' policy with the forward's groin and hip injury.

But the Hawks are confident that Rioli will be ''fine'' for the regular season, the club's young human highlight reel having completed an excellent pre-season before he developed soreness in the groin and hip within the past fortnight.

Hawthorn football operations manager Mark Evans last night confirmed that Rioli had been rested from training and that the club would see how he progressed after a break. He said the Hawks would ''gradually build'' Rioli's training load once he resumed.

''He's certainly got some hip soreness and some groin soreness,'' said Evans. ''He won't play the first part of the NAB Cup campaign.
http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/groin-and-hip-injuries-force-rioli-to-rest-20100207-nku8.html

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/89471/default.aspx
rioli-v-ess-r7-l.jpg

HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson is confident the decision to reduce Cyril Rioli's training load and remove him from the NAB Cup will leave him fit for round one.

The 20-year-old's program was reduced last week after he discovered some soreness in his groin and hips.

While Clarkson conceded there was always concern when it came to groin complaints, he said the club was hopeful Rioli would be available for the Hawks' round-one clash with Melbourne on March 27.

"He was training the house down and performing really well with a lot of the stuff we wanted him to do," he said on Friday.

"We just needed to back him off and he's rested for a week and a half now so he'll rest for perhaps another week and then we'll get him going again.

"He's had a great pre-season and we want to make sure he's cherry ripe and ready to go for the start of the season."

The Hawks have taken a similar approach with Chance Bateman and Rhan Hooper, who are chances to play in the second NAB Cup game after being held back from Saturday night's clash with Richmond in Launceston.

Another to miss is recruit Shaun Burgoyne, who is set to join the main training squad next week after recovering from knee surgery.

He is expected to be available in either the last week of the NAB Cup competition or round one of the season proper.

Clarkson said the Hawks were optimistic about their chances in 2010 after putting together a longer pre-season than last year.

He also said it was pleasing to be in a position to field a strong NAB Cup outfit with Sam Mitchell, Lance Franklin, Luke Hodge, Brad Sewell and Jarryd Roughead all named to face the Tigers.

"We've selected the guys that are fit and have had really good preparations," he said.

"We're not resting any players. If they're fit and have had good preparation over the last four or five weeks, they're playing - which is most of our squad".

However, he said Saturday night's match was more about injecting match conditioning into the majority of his players than proving a point after a disappointing 2009.

"We want to make a statement in terms of having our guys fit but in terms of the win or the loss, we're not going to hang ourselves if we get beaten," he said.

"We like to win every game we go in to and it will be no different tomorrow night against Richmond."

Ruckman Max Bailey is also tracking well after his third knee reconstruction and has commenced running. He is expected to be available in the middle of the season.

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/89586/default.aspx
HAWTHORN stars Lance Franklin, Shaun Burgoyne and Cyril Rioli should all be set for round one starts despite injury problems throughout the pre-season.

"We’ve got another 10 or 12 days until we have to play again so I think he will be fine by then. If he doesn’t play I don’t think it will be because of the corkie. It will be because of other reasons.” Mitchell exclaimed.
Rioli performed even lighter duties as he trained with the club’s first and second year players after the main session.

Mitchell said Rioli was recovering from minor groin problems but would be ready in time for the start of the season proper.

“I don’t think it’s OP (osteitis pubis)," Mitchell said. "The line between OP and other injuries is pretty grey. He’s got some groin soreness and tightness and it didn’t settle down straight away.

“Normally when you pick it up it goes away within one or two days. We’re being cautious with Cyril.

"If we had to play the grand final tomorrow he could play, but there is not a lot of benefit having him run around in the NAB Cup and push himself when we’ve got 26 weeks to go in the season.”

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hawks-unsure-on-rioli-return/story-e6frf9ix-1225834089486
HAWTHORN yesterday admitted it didn't know when injured playmaker Cyril Rioli would be available to play.

Rioli has been sidelined since late last month with soreness in the groin/hip area and the club has denied he is suffering from acute osteitis pubis.

Just four weeks from the Round 1 clash against Melbourne, Rioli will increase his running load over the next fortnight.

But if the soreness returns, the brilliant young forward will be put in cotton wool for an indeterminable period.

The Hawks said yesterday the next two weeks would give the club a better understanding of his injury and that if it was the worst-case scenario, the club would be very cautious with him.

Hawks football manager Mark Evans said: "The positive sign for us was he had very good function and had only some hip/groin pain for a short period of time before we acted on it."

"He's been on a reduced training load."

http://www.footballnation.com.au/latest-afl-news/gibson-to-take-on-hall-in-dream-hawks-debut/

The Hawks will still be without Shaun Burgoyne, Chance Bateman, Michael Osborne and Cyril Rioli.

“They’ll probably come into contention over NAB three and NAB four,” Clarkson said. “Cyril Rioli is exactly the same, we’ll start to wind him up over the next week or so.

“He’s had a fair amount of rest now and he’s responded really well to that rest.

“We’ll only know the full extent of his injury once we do try to wind him up to full pace again.”

I think Cyril was always going to step things up in he nexy 10 days. The worry is if he feels groin soreness when doing so. Lets pray.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/90590/default.aspx
Cyril Rioli has not played at all over the pre-season but Evans said he was a chance to be back within a couple of weeks, as was recruit Shaun Burgoyne.

"Rioli is back and training well. He will press for selection over the next couple of weeks. A call has got to be made on him. Burgoyne will be fine.”

There have been no setbacks (with Rioli). He was taken out of running duties for a month and he’s been back into it now for a few weeks.

RioliLeft_246ab.jpg

http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/90735/default.aspx
HAWTHORN goalsneak Cyril Rioli will need to rethink his training methods this year as he attempts to overcome osteitis pubis, according to captain Sam Mitchell.

The Hawks' skipper said the 20-year-old was suffering from "a little bit of OP and a little bit of groin tightness" after injuries derailed his pre-season in early February.

Rioli is unlikely to figure in round one as the club takes a "conservative approach" to his recovery.

"He's got some groin pain and a little bit of stuff around his pelvis that's causing trouble," Mitchell said on Thursday.

"We're being pretty careful with him, because he's going to have a pretty important role when he gets back."

Mitchell said the club would manage Rioli throughout the year and re-educate him on how intensely he should train.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/rioli-chance-for-opener-20100320-qnbn.html
CYRIL Rioli will play in Hawthorn's season opener against Melbourne - if the club's medical staff give him the all-clear, Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson has revealed.

Clarkson told the club's season launch, guernsey presentation and hall of fame night on Friday that Rioli was back in full training after overcoming a groin injury and may be named in Saturday's side.

''He hasn't played any match practice at all over the course of the last four or five weeks, so we just need to make a decision, which we'll do next week, about whether or not we think it's wise to play him in round one,'' Clarkson said.

''It's a long journey throughout the course of the season and he and Shaun [Burgoyne] and Clinton Young are all back up and going and we just need to make a call.

''Shaun and Clint certainly won't play round one, but they will more than likely be ready to play round two. With Cyril, we just need to make a call about whether he plays round one or round two.''

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...aying-in-round-1/story-e6frf9jf-1225845954802
HAWTHORN coach Alastair Clarkson expects star Cyril Rioli to play next week but Shaun Burgoyne is still two or three weeks away from taking the field.

Clarkson said this morning Rioli, who has missed most of the pre-season with groin soreness, was "really close" to being available to play Melbourne tomorrow.

"We backed him off for four to five weeks," Clarkson said.

"He's probably had a full week of ball work and hopefully he'll be ready to go for the Cats game in Round 2."

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...urn-against-cats/story-e6frf9jf-1225848158542
HAWTHORN is looking at an Easter bonus with brilliant forward Cyril Rioli expected to be fit to play against Geelong on Monday.

Rioli trained strongly today and he will be picked for his first game of the season if he completed Friday’s final session.

"He trained today and he looked pretty good, so hopefully he gets through on Friday and we see him on Monday,’’ Hawk teammate Luke Hodge said today.

The Hawks are already boosted by the return of key forward Lance Franklin and midfielder Chance Bateman from suspension.

And Rioli, recovered from the groin soreness that interrupted his pre-season, will add further class for the heavyweight duel with the Cats.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,20797,26939760-5018851,00.html?from=public_rss
Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson says small forward Cyril Rioli will return from a groin injury in Monday's AFL clash with Geelong at the MCG.
Rioli, who did not play during the pre-season or in the opening round, barely participated in the Hawks' final training session at Waverley on Sunday.

But Clarkson said he was ready to play, although the club will have to manage his game time.

"Rioli's back, we backed him off for about four weeks during the summer, he just got sore in the groin," Clarkson said before training.

"He's been back in full training for three weeks, we nearly played him last week to be fair, but he hadn't done quite enough training and given that he hadn't played any NAB Cup games.

"We're hopeful he'll come in and make a contribution for us.

"He'll go as full throttle as he can, we've just got to manage his game time, we know he's going to be a little bit underdone as far as match conditioning."

Rnd 2 vs Geelong
Cyril Rioli

9 kicks
1 handballs
4 marks
7 contested possessions
1 clearance
3 frees for
0 frees against
5 tackles
1 Goal
1 Behind

It's not about stats with Cyril though, as most know. 10 possessions form Cyril are the equivalent to 25 from a lesser player, such is the damage Junior Boy can bring to the plate.

http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=1035814&rss=yes
Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson says his side can take heart from pushing Geelong all the way in their hard-hitting MCG clash and have plenty of scope for improvement.

While the Hawks lost 14.16 (100) to 13.13 (91) to the reigning AFL premiers on Monday, they signalled they will be much closer to the form that took them to the 2008 flag than their disappointing 2009 season which yielded just nine wins and no finals action.

Hawthorn led from the outset and were two goals up halfway through the final quarter, before the Cats finally swamped them, kicking the last 3.3 of the match.

The Hawks had some excuses, losing forward Rhan Hooper to a hamstring injury in the first quarter, while midfielder Jordan Lewis was lost to an ankle injury early in the last term.

Pacy forward Cyril Rioli also struggled to run out the match, in his first game for the year after a groin injury, while Lance Franklin and Chance Bateman were returning from suspension.

"We're pretty pleased with the effort of our guys, they're obviously a quality outfit and we were in front of the reigning premiers for probably 95 per cent of the game and they just toppled over top of us in the last five minutes," Clarkson said.

"They're going to do that to plenty of sides, but we'll get better, with some of our guys who haven't played much, like Cyril and Buddy (Franklin) and Chance, they'll be better for the runs.

"We'll take a lot of positives out of today's game, but we didn't get the chocolates, which is a little bit disappointing for us."

Rioli was very impressive early, particularly with his chasing and tackling, and pulled off a sensational tackle on Geelong superstar Gary Ablett in the final term, to set up the Hawks' last goal of the match.

"Some of the things he did early in the game, it was just really exciting to have him back, so he'll get better with a bit more game time I'm sure," Clarkson said.
Welcome back, Junior Boy.

533230-cyril-rioli.jpg

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/junior-ready-to-tackle-top-spot/story-e6frf9jf-1225852277525
CYRIL RIOLI has the potential and ingredients to one day become the best indigenous footballer to play the game.

Big call? Yes. I know it is.

But am I getting ahead of myself in daring to suggest this is even a possibility? I don't think so.

I accept it is a massive statement, given the indigenous champions that have come before him.

Polly Farmer transformed ruck work - and handball - in a stellar career with the Cats. Barry Cable was a star with North Melbourne, the same club that showcased the Krakouer brothers in the 1980s.

Essendon's Michael Long and St Kilda's Nicky Winmar changed the game, off the field as well as on it.

Adelaide's Andrew McLeod has played more AFL games than any other indigenous footballer.

In recent years, we have been lucky enough to see Adam Goodes win two Brownlow Medals for the Swans. And Rioli's teammate, Buddy Franklin, has already kicked a century of goals in what will also be an amazing career.

There have been countless other, too. I absolutely mean no disrespect to any of those champions past and present.

But, in my view, Cyril has the scope to be better.

The 20-year-old is rapidly changing the game in his own unique way, and he has got so much more to give than what he already shown, since being drafted in 2007.

As much as "Junior" would hate me saying it (because he is a very modest young person) and as much as Hawthorn would like to keep the expectations in check, I have not seen a player come into the game and have the sort of impact he has had in his first couple of seasons.

Let's not forget Cyril has played only 45 games.

And yet in that time he has played a key role in helping his team win a premiership, redefining the role of forwards in terms of their pressure and tackling, and has rapidly become a critical player in Hawthorn's future.

I reckon he is already the best tackler in the AFL right now. Even more than that, he is the best tackler I have seen play the game.

He did something last Monday that I don't think I have seen anyone do before in the one match - catch Gary Ablett twice. His teammate Carl Peterson did it once, but Cyril did it twice, and it was great to watch.

He is a bit like the cartoon Tassie Devil, he spins his own hurricane and before you know it, he has got you.

I'm sure opposition players must look back on their tapes and wonder "how on earth did he get me?"

That's just one of many attributes he has that I believe will drive him to be one of the game's greats.

In his first year he was instrumental in his side winning the premiership. In his second year he was going to win the best and fairest before a hamstring injury slowed him.

His third season has started out with a nagging groin injury. Yet he came into the side last week and made an impression straight away.

Sure, he wasn't at his absolute best, but he was involved in a few defining moments in the match - tackling, running with the ball and mesmerising the opposition with the swivel of his hips.

He started against the Cats on the bench, and when he came on, the Hawthorn crowd went mad. They love him. Is it any wonder that the club has started its own "Junior" Rioli club for junior supporters.

The Hawks should be happy they have him locked away contract-wise until the end of the 2012 season. If he was not, his name would have been next to Gary Ablett's on the Gold Coast hit-list.

I've always thought Buddy was a freak, but there is little doubt that Cyril is as well.

He could easily head into the midfield on a more permanent basis in the coming years, but I would be more inclined to leave him where he is. Cyril is one of those rare players who brings people to matches because of the exciting way he goes about it.

It might sound silly, but you would pay to watch him train.

One of my first memories of him came at a training session at Waverley not long after he joined Hawthorn.

He was running off half-back and he just took on a couple of players and got past them with ease.

I went over to him and said, "Cyril, that's great. Just take them on whenever you can".

His answer probably summed up his approach to the game - he simply said "I know".

It was as if he had been doing it that way for all of his life.

Rnd 3 vs Western Bulldogs
Cyril Rioli

13 kicks
11 handballs
6 marks
11 contested possessions
2 clearance
1 frees for
0 frees against
6 tackles
4 goals
1 behind

Did Cyril just play his best game for the club? Hard to tell really, as even when he's not kicking 4 goals he's a joy to watch.

[YOUTUBE]d75q5bFQDd4[/YOUTUBE]

The bigger question is looming. Is Cyril Rioli now Hawthorns best player?