5 to 30

It appears that our ole foe, TW, has been SEN recently comparing us with the Skippy's and drew the conclusions that our best 4 youngster are in front but from then on we tail off badly enough that he apparently thinks their youngsters are collectively in front ?
Something I think we have been guilty of for some time.
Now we all hope that Jack, Cotch , Martin and Lids reach their potential and appear to be tracking ok , but is there reason to be concerned for the number of players we have that are struggling to progress from being a hopefull, to a confirmed best 22 player ?

This was a massive problem in the past but I think it it something we have gone to great measures to fix, simply with the sheer volume of youngsters we've pumped into the club.

Astbury, Taylor, Griffiths, Contin, Conca, Batchelor, Helbig, Houli, Rance, Post, Vickery, Connors, Gourdis, Grigg, Edwards, Derickx, Browne have all shown enough signs that you could point to them solidifying a place in the best 22, plus there are the other youngsters on the list of which you'd assume a few more spots will be filled from.

Of course, some of these players will undoubtably fall through and find themselves delisted, but the key to establishing a solid platform of contributers, like Collingwood (or basically any other premiership side of the last decade) has, is establishing a good churn of youngsters until the list starts to fall into place, which is what we're doing now, and what Wallace failed to do in his time, often having years with an extremely minimal amount of list movement. Sheer weight of numbers means chances are that you will find enough good youngsters that you will eventually build a much stronger best 22.

I can understand why he thinks that. the young guys just need time to develop, need to compete for spots on the list with other youngsters and sure enough we will see improvement. the amount of youth we are pumping into the club will eventully give us a vastly improved list with more depth and ability.

oh and i have loved the looks of batchelor. hope he plays alot of games this season.

This was a massive problem in the past but I think it it something we have gone to great measures to fix, simply with the sheer volume of youngsters we've pumped into the club.

Astbury, Taylor, Griffiths, Contin, Conca, Batchelor, Helbig, Houli, Rance, Post, Vickery, Connors, Gourdis, Grigg, Edwards, Derickx, Browne have all shown enough signs that you could point to them solidifying a place in the best 22, plus there are the other youngsters on the list of which you'd assume a few more spots will be filled from.

Of course, some of these players will undoubtably fall through and find themselves delisted, but the key to establishing a solid platform of contributers, like Collingwood (or basically any other premiership side of the last decade) has, is establishing a good churn of youngsters until the list starts to fall into place, which is what we're doing now, and what Wallace failed to do in his time, often having years with an extremely minimal amount of list movement. Sheer weight of numbers means chances are that you will find enough good youngsters that you will eventually build a much stronger best 22.

C'mon mate you must be kidding. When have these highlighted blokes shown they signs they could be in our best 22? This is what TW appears to point out, we have little to no depth after four or five players. If we are banking on this lot to take us to our next flag we are in real strife:eek:.

Most of them are yet to run out in a fair dinkum match so the signs are only training drills or practice matches at best. The rest are far from anything to get yourself excited about.

From an external point of view the kangas have little to get excited about either so the comparison is pretty equal

It appears that our ole foe, TW, has been SEN recently comparing us with the Skippy's and drew the conclusions that our best 4 youngster are in front but from then on we tail off badly enough that he apparently thinks their youngsters are collectively in front ?
Something I think we have been guilty of for some time.
Now we all hope that Jack, Cotch , Martin and Lids reach their potential and appear to be tracking ok , but is there reason to be concerned for the number of players we have that are struggling to progress from being a hopefull, to a confirmed best 22 player ?

and he would right imo.the thing is the majority of kids we all put our faith in have only been around a couple of seasons. unlike when wallace was at the helm when he persevered with 4 5 6yr players who had not really progressed from being a hopeful to a confirmed afl player.

Of course North run deeper than us, they're a few years ahead of us in developing their list. Although, take Harvey and Rawlings out of that side in a year or two and we'll see how they fair.

i heard this on sen and i think he meant that at the moment in our development we dont bat as deep as north and i dont think he was being nasty. if anything i reckon he was sticking up for the tiges as he think while they have good foot soldiers we have a4 absolute elite players[cotchin,deledio,martin,rewoldt].

Senior list game distribution 2010 by age. (note players no longer at the club or new players not included)

North Melbourne: 1978 (22), 1981 (22), 1982 (2), 1983 (35), 1984 (34), 1985 (36), 1986 (39), 1987 (49), 1988 (85), 1989 (46), 1990 (22), 1991 (58).

Richmond: 1981 (20), 1982 (21), 1984 (34), 1985 (4), 1986 (28), 1987 (95), 1988 (68), 1989 (56), 1990 (35), 1991 (51)

While very similar between the two clubs the main thing to note is North had 190 games played by players now born 1986 or earlier which is generally the age where a player should've hit their peak. We only had 107 games come from the same age bracket. Arguably 87 and 88 should be included as players can reach close to their peak at around 22. In this instance north had 134 (87/88) we had 163. So in this case we would be in a more similar position to North.

However.... Norths best players are standout compared to their weaker players while our players who got games last year are unlikely to get as many this year as youngsters improve. North are probably a year at most ahead of us but TW assessment of our youth is incorrect. We have better youth IMO but North have more established players that make the 10-22 of their first team better.

We will out develop North in the near future.

i heard this on sen and i think he meant that at the moment in our development we dont bat as deep as north and i dont think he was being nasty. if anything i reckon he was sticking up for the tiges as he think while they have good foot soldiers we have a4 absolute elite players[cotchin,deledio,martin,rewoldt].

That group could expand by seasons end as well. I think a few of our young talls are candidates and you never know what the others will achieve.

Personally I have high hopes for all Astbury, Griffiths, Vickery, Rance and Post, I think at least one of these players will have an elite season.

He's right, but should have at least added a disclaimer that the kids we hope to add to the list of top liners have barely set foot on on a ground at this stage. At seasons end I'd expect to have added Astbury to the list with Cotch, Dusty, Lids, and Jack. With some big steps being taken by Conca, Taylor, Posty, Rance, Ty, and Batchelor. At this point, they've proved nothing.

In another two years, who knows who else will be on the top liner list.

For comparison , in 2008, our list of players who had been around for 1 - 4 season and we were hoping would make the transition included , Bling, Edwards, Connors, Jack, Graham, Polo, Pattison, Jon, White, King, McGuanne, Thurstfield.
I hope our strike rate is alot better this time around , because Jack excluded none of these IMO have truly established themselves , whilst of coarse 4 have been axed .

Correct ptf, at the moment we have a whole heap of unproven depth. I just hope Dimma keeps adding to the depth with kids, as weight of numbers will pay off eventually.

it'll tkae a few years to clean the list and add good player sint he right spots, our depth is begging to build with youngsters being added, now dimma just needs to stick to his 500 games into young guys :thumbsu:

ive liked what ive seen of batchelor and cant wait to see him in his 3rd or 4th year. looks very comfortable and more reliable. i would love to see dids back in the midfield at some point.

they're a delusional bunch over on the roos board discussing this exact topic. The following is are a couple of examples:

_____________________________________--
Exhibit 1.
Right now, if I was to rate them by their 2010, not pure potential, it would look like this:

Deledio < Swallow
Riewoldt > Hansen
Martin > Cunnington
Cotchin < Bastinac

Cotchin, Martin, Riewoldt and who? (Vickery?)
vs
Ziebell, Cunnington, Bastinac and Atley for example.

it's laughable.

they're a delusional bunch over on the roos board discussing this exact topic. The following is are a couple of examples:

_____________________________________--
Exhibit 1.
Right now, if I was to rate them by their 2010, not pure potential, it would look like this:

Deledio < Swallow
Riewoldt > Hansen
Martin > Cunnington
Cotchin < Bastinac

Cotchin, Martin, Riewoldt and who? (Vickery?)
vs
Ziebell, Cunnington, Bastinac and Atley for example.

it's laughable.
They really rated Swallow as better than Lids in 2010 ? 25 disposals per game vs 21. Swallow of course kicks more goals. Cotch v Bastinac is pretty much level. For now at least ;)

As far as the last list goes, they clearly have no idea about our list if they put Ty up before Astbury. If they're putting forward Atley, we'll put forward Cotch, Dusty, Jack, Conca, but I'd prefer to say Astbury.

Terry Wallace is a flog & i constantly laugh when he looks at richmonds list

The terrible twosome in miller is solely responsible for this & i would be intrested in what he would think if the following players were in the yellow & black

Franklin,Monfries,Lecras,Knights instead of wasteing picks on the likes of

Tambling,meyer,pattison,polo

or 2005 JON,Hughes,Casserly when Andrew swallow,Mitch Clarke,sam gilbert,john anthony & Shaun higgins were left for other teams

In the 2004 & 2005 draft we managed to get 1 player out of 10 right & that was number 1 pick brett delidio.